Unifi TV Ver 2, Formerly known as HyppTV

taqu
post Mar 2 2019, 07:22 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 22 2019, 10:16 PM)
not sure if my eyes are playing tricks or if unifi has actually improved their stream quality due to new customers now not getting STB's.

i seem to see better quality streams on playtv app.

those "HD" streams now appear more like 576/720 to me when they were more like 360/480 previously.

so, good for new users using the app.
Yes, increased bitrate from 3-4 mbps to 5-6 mbps, almost as good as Itunes movies. STB still ahead (8-9 mbps) but not far behind.

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Mar 2 2019, 05:44 PM)
1 march 2019, channel 238 "now华剧台" got removed. Most probably that hanky panky TM want to squeeze $.
Fox channels also removed from PlayTV app. Probably expired license (to broadcast on app), STB still got Fox channels.
taqu
post Nov 26 2019, 08:25 AM

864 posts

When I tried logging in to the new app, it says I'm not yet migrated to the new app. Then the rumours of new STB & 4K content might be true after all.

My wishlist:

- Playstore enabled
- Support Internet streaming without needing that VLAN 600

Too good to be true? LOL
taqu
post Nov 26 2019, 02:45 PM

864 posts

I see no reason to still use the old IPTV protocol on separate VLAN. It's painful to only use cable for the new STB, when its already year 2019 & Youtube/Netflix stream 4K just fine on Wifi.
taqu
post Nov 26 2019, 06:12 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Nov 26 2019, 03:18 PM)
Can dedicated high bitrate and multicast work without a separate VLAN? YouTube is poorer image quality than real HD on a dedicated IPTV network and it is also not guaranteed to stream flawlessly all the time subject to congestion. All streaming services like YouTube and Netflix use lower bitrate than an IPTV or satellite broadcast because they can't use multicast or broadcast to save bandwidth. They also provide multiple qualities and auto select resolution because they can't guarantee it will work at max resolution all the time. Same thing like Unifi TV on Streamyx which doesn't have dedicated VLAN bandwidth.
Nowadays I believe is mostly yes. Improvements in Internet bandwidth, latency, CDNs & advance codec like HEVC.

The existing Unifi IPTV runs around 9 Mbps. If the new STB still uses IPTV, it should use at least 20 Mbps bitrate.

At least provide option to stream via Internet at high bitrate. To use that VLAN 600, limiting where you can put that old box, is painful for me.
taqu
post Nov 27 2019, 10:06 AM

864 posts

I got this when using my existing account:

Need to wait ...
taqu
post Dec 13 2019, 04:18 PM

864 posts

From my observation, bandwidth with new PlayTV app seems higher. 5.6 Mbps average. Too bad some channels lack subtitles in the app.

This post has been edited by taqu: Dec 13 2019, 04:19 PM
taqu
post Jan 4 2020, 12:31 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(opicity @ Dec 31 2019, 05:38 PM)
Hi, unifi finally came to my neighborhood. i want to subscribe it but i want to know first whether unifi ultimate package is worth it? and do the sport channels show any good live football matches?
Ultimate Package has Nickelodeon, National Geographics, many Korean/Hong Kong/Indian channels, all Fox channels/movies/sports. Fox Movies comparable to HBO, unless you're Game of Thrones fans. AFAIK, Fox Sports only shows Bundesliga matches. EPL, La Liga, Serie A & UCL all under Astro. Astro pays millions to hold exclusive rights to broadcast these 4 in Malaysia. If you're a football fan, you still need Astro. If not, Unifi Ultimate Package is good value compare to similar offerings in Astro.

This post has been edited by taqu: Jan 4 2020, 12:32 PM
taqu
post Jan 4 2020, 05:37 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(clinton1984 @ Jan 4 2020, 02:35 PM)
I think fox sports newly covers serie A this season.
Nice.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 09:53 AM

864 posts

From the FAQ, looks like the new STB no longer needs VLAN 600 to run. That's good news 👍

OTOH I guess the new STB is actually a pretty powerful Android 9 TV box running PlayTV app. If it's the same app, some channels are still missing subtitles.

I'll wait and see first 🤗
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 12:04 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 15 2020, 10:00 AM)
So means it will using our internet bandwidth already?
I believe so.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 12:07 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 15 2020, 10:51 AM)
if your old STB is kaput, no more warranty...

and there are many channels in 4k/HD in unifi tv by using this new box.... then it may be worth it.

if not, u r right... u can get similar box for rm100 to do playtv app... and many other apps.
If the new STB uses the same PlayTV app with the rest of us on TX3/6/whatever, then no benefit getting the new STB.

The current PlayTV app lacks subtitles on some channels. So the older STB still better IMO.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 01:31 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jan 15 2020, 12:24 PM)
I no think so this is a good news. Since VLAN 600 is dedicated bandwidth for unifi channel & did not mix with our main bandwidth.
The pros for using a dedicated VLAN 600 for IPTV:

1. Dedicated bandwidth for IPTV. Very important when Unifi speed still 10-20 Mbps.

The cons of using a dedicated VLAN 600 for IPTV:

1. Need a compatible router.
2. Your STB must be connected to your router eg Port 4. If you want to put it away eg router in store room, TV on living room, you need to extend a LAN cable or use a Powerline.

As we have 100 Mbps and more with good latency, VLAN 600 is no longer necessary. Youtube & Netflix can stream 4K without problems so why not TM follow suit.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 01:58 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Jan 15 2020, 01:38 PM)
On playTV app, Love Nature HD only has bitrates lower than 1Mbps available whereas some Chinese channels that are not really in HD are available in up to 4.8Mbps. Looks like they mess up again.
Don't forget about multicast. With dedicated VLAN can use multicast so the server can easily provide high bitrate channels to many users simultaneously without congestion. Dedicated VLAN also has guaranteed quality of service unlike Internet which is best effort.
Can't compare with Netflix and YouTube. Their bitrates are not high quality enough (can still see banding and microblocking often) and they sometimes buffer.
Very true back when our Internet is still 10-20 MBps. Nowadays, with high bandwidth/low latency/CDNs, not so much. I still choose the convenience to put the STB anywhere over dedicated LAN cable requirement for old STB.

Content also matters alot. Not all movies/shows are native 4K. Many still upscaled 1080p. Older Chinese movies on SCM channel look DVD/VCD quality to me tongue.gif iTunes 4K probably still the best out there.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 02:02 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 15 2020, 01:40 PM)
this is an excellent point, everybody is asking.

why unifitv (and astri) is so slow in going HD and 4K over internet/wifi when so many others have done it, even dd5.1 audio and works smoothly?

there can only be one answer - they want CONTROL of their best quality stuff - with their own decoders, STBs... to block/minimize piracy.

unlike netlflix which probably has spent billions in developing their own security and blocks, the others are still babies learning how to do it or no money to do it.
I'm afraid TM will make their 4K content exclusive to their new STB only. Is Astro 4K available without using Astro Ultra STB?
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 02:34 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Jan 15 2020, 02:08 PM)
Some astro HD channels are not available on non-HD STB isn't it?
So far my AOTG shows all channels on Astro STB (still old one) back at kampung. But this is basic package + Malay channels. Not sure for HBO / Supersports.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 03:54 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 15 2020, 03:08 PM)
the SCM movies of unifitv (worse with playtv) are not in HD alto they claim.

if u had ever watched the same SCM stuff that originates from taiwan/hong kong/china, u will see the diff - those are in HD.

quite sure it is just unifi not paying the higher price for HD but just 576/540 but call it hd.
aotg, to me, has improved a lot in the last 2 years.

alto there isn't any 4k content, the HD ones are good enough, a couple of notches better than the "hd" of playtv.

some the best ones incl aec, afn, fn, iqiyi, celestial hd are excellent - video is as good as netflix hd, imo. supersports also good enough.
Curse you TM for downgrading SCM ranting.gif
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 08:58 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jan 15 2020, 08:09 PM)
i lazy to talk about packet tracer things, but the easier way to said is:

An ETS train direct from JB to Perlis is more FASTER compare to ETS train (JB to Perlis) but it will stop at the Major State station to fetch on/off other customer.
I Agree with your point  :thumbsup:
Dedicated IPTV infra still has benefits, but for majority of people where Youtube/Netflix is good enough, OTT is OK. More convenient to be able to put the STB anywhere in the house, without having to pull network cable from router.

My own experience of putting the white STB at living room, where router & BTU is in store room. Can't move router to living room. Powerline not very stable. Wifi no go. Don't want to pull another network cable. End up using VLAN trunk just to accomodate that STB. This is my point of convenience over top quality, like DSLRs vs smartphones.
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 09:20 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AMstrong @ Jan 15 2020, 09:13 PM)
need to cap on the download speed when downloading something that can suck all you bandwidth or later wifus will scream why the tv stuck
I'm on 500 Mbps so no need for bandwidth cap / QOS 😁

On a good router, your download speed is simply decreased abit to accommodate streaming by wifus.

This post has been edited by taqu: Jan 15 2020, 09:25 PM
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 09:35 PM

864 posts

For those getting the new Unifi Plus box, the rest of us will be waiting for your review biggrin.gif
taqu
post Jan 15 2020, 10:21 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(AMstrong @ Jan 15 2020, 09:36 PM)
not all user have those highspeed and good routher. many are still on 30Mbps and stock unifi router.
You can still use the old STB. 30 Mbps almost certainly not enough for 24/7 4K streaming.

This post has been edited by taqu: Jan 15 2020, 10:22 PM

0.0220sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:32 PM