Unifi TV Ver 2, Formerly known as HyppTV

AVFAN
post Oct 22 2021, 10:52 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 22 2021, 10:16 PM)
One of my relative uses Chromecast with Google TV, and he managed to install Unifi TV app in it.
And yeah, I've done a hands-on on the app myself, so I've experience the good and the bad about the navigating the app, as well as observing the picture quality.

Unicast = the one that does not rely on Linear TV VLAN such as VLAN 600 (or VLAN 823), can watch using WiFi connection.
Multicast = the one you experience by using the Huawei white/silver box to watch Unifi TV, that relies on VLAN 600 and must use LAN cable

For me, I won't compare the picture quality I see on Unifi TV Unicast with Astro Go's one, since Astro Go is meant for on-the-go usage rather than "fixed setup" like watching on TV without relying on Astro box.
And yes, Astro Go quality is merely 720p, so of course it won't be as good as what we see on Unifi TV.
In that case, do you see any picture quality difference when watching Unifi TV over Unifi Plus Box vs any Google ATV certified boxes?
i do not have all the devices, dun use UPB or ATV box or chromecast.

what i can say is:

.. unifi playtv on regular android box is POOR.
.. unifitv on ATV TV is good, has improved over time.
.. how good also depends on the smart TV - i have one PQ better than the other.
.. it can get very close to the old silver STB which i hardly use anymore since ATV PQ is good enough.
.. previously there cannot be direct comparison with astrogo (on compatible boxes) as the channels are different.
.. now, celestial, Hits movies exist on both - they come out BETTER on my unifitv ATV TVs than astrogo on my boxes.

perhaps users tend to ignore the hardware and optimization which i m now convinced to be impt.

that UPB is a low level box, probably average PQ since it uses the app.

maybe the touted new box will have better hardware and build... but i m not sure users will be thrilled to pay much more than the UPB now.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 22 2021, 11:04 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 23 2021, 02:41 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Oct 23 2021, 10:28 AM)
If you have Androids TV is it still a wise to buy the Unifi Androids Box at RM15 per month?
if your tv is ATV, there is no reason why u want that UPB at all.

Both ATV, u do the same things - ATV apps mainly incl unifitv, iQiyi, Amazon prime, netflix, youtube, etc.

BUT if u wanna do something else with the box, then get some other regular android box.

those who get regular android boxes use them more for other purposes - local playback, browser, website streams, china apps, aztrogo, etc.
AVFAN
post Oct 25 2021, 07:36 PM

24,454 posts

many have just watched or are watching DUNE 2021... in cinemas or appletv or whatever.

there is DUNE 1984 on Lionsgate - free for ultimate users.

it is very good, PQ is excellent, enjoy.

btw, Dune 2021 is a remake of Dune 1984, covers first 1/2 of book 1 in the franchise.

there are total of 8 books for Dune written by frank herbert and his son.
AVFAN
post Oct 26 2021, 04:46 PM

24,454 posts

It is showing detective Chinatown 2.
AVFAN
post Oct 26 2021, 04:49 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Oct 26 2021, 11:03 AM)
Hi all,

I am an untimate user that just received sms to activate as below:

Visit microsite https://activate.unifi.com.my to
activate Lionsgate Play and another one (1) streaming
app of your choice (iQiyi / Viu / Simply South / ZEE5).

I don't watch much but my untie and daughter like the korean series, so which one would be better for me to choose.  iQiyi or Viu? I guess the other two is definitely out.

Oh another thing, I am using the old unifi box, but I have  Tx3.
iQiyi not bad for Chinese, not much Korean.

iQiyi hd quality good.

Dunno viu, never used.

AVFAN
post Oct 26 2021, 07:57 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Oct 26 2021, 07:42 PM)
Since you have Tx3, so confirm iQiyi can use with Tx3?
I m quite sure it can. Picture quality. Not sure.

Becos I m not using tx3... Using smart TV, v good.
AVFAN
post Oct 26 2021, 08:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Oct 26 2021, 06:37 PM)
Are you sure though? And the current movie isn't Days of Being Wild (1990). I don't know what movie it is. Both Unifi TV and Unifi PlayTV have this issue. I haven't checked UPB yet.

Update: Yup. It affects UPB too.
Hmm... i checked 3 times, all good.

App, stb.... same stream. Now, fatal visit on celestial, finishing.

Astrogo, same.

Think u were thrown off becos a lag betweeen astro and unifi...+diff in ads.

Unifi... app, stb same.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 26 2021, 09:07 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 28 2021, 02:14 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Oct 28 2021, 02:02 PM)
I mean VIU cost more than iQiyi and it gave many more devices that can be streamed at one time compared to iQiyi.

My question to those who've done the claim process, Why you guys still go with iQiyi?
how does viu cost more?

viu and iqiyi both costs rm9 if u pay independently.

viu allowing more devices = lower value?! tongue.gif

actually, very simple la... can check the websites, see the listed videos, have a feel of what they offer, u can decide for yourself.
AVFAN
post Oct 28 2021, 10:34 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 28 2021, 08:45 PM)
Just received a reminder that my IQiyi will expire in 2days time. Suppose to under package with ultimate.
will auto renew, dun worry.

QUOTE(tailangong @ Oct 28 2021, 09:06 PM)
Can’t connect to bbc player. When sign in using unifi, error pops up saying please connect device to unifi. But I’m already connected.
Any idea?
it means yr device is not using unifi... connected to some other ISP?

if u describe device and if wifi or ethernet, ever used before, maybe can explain.
AVFAN
post Oct 29 2021, 09:00 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Oct 29 2021, 08:20 AM)
I took iQiYi at the end. Just to be a bit beware, when I said iQiYi have running man, I was using the webpage and watch it before subscribing (hence free) and I saw there are 3 episodes of Running Man (selected old ones). I thought that when I subscribe I will get all the episodes. But not true, it is still the 3 episodes after I have log in using what unifi gave me.

Anyhow I watch a good movie yesterday on iQiYi, so it is still quite good. The app did not work correctly in tx3 mini (the loggin pop up cannot display), but I manage to watch it using Chrome browser.
Good choice.

Next tv, get one with androidtv or googletv.

Many good apps now made for this OS - optimized, comes out v well, much improved compared to previously.

As ultimate customer, u get to use unifitv, iqiyi, lionsgate, bbcplayer - all on the tv, no need other device.

And netflix, amazon prime, disney if u pay separately.

I think more china entertainment apps coming... they just need to partner with a local payment app like touch n go or shopeepay.

I m waiting for a good one to compliment iqiyi... rm10 or so a month is affordable.
AVFAN
post Oct 29 2021, 03:10 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ Oct 29 2021, 12:16 PM)
I confirm using unifi but connected using wifi.
Customer service said first.time sign in must use tvbox connect to.port 4. But my old tvbox.can't.install bbcplayer
that is strange what unifi said.

bbcplayer app no need STB, nothing to do with it, can just install app on any device, it will auto detect.

or u never used the STB at all before?
AVFAN
post Oct 30 2021, 10:24 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ Oct 30 2021, 10:03 PM)
Nope doesn’t work
I do but seems like you need to login bbc from stb first before on other devices?
My stb too old can’t install bbc app, so I’m trying using my iPad
I dun think so.

I m using old STB, never had bbcplayer there.

First time I installed on a generic android box, it auto detect unifi, worked.

Then I installed on smart atv TV, sane result, no problem.
AVFAN
post Oct 31 2021, 07:50 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Oct 31 2021, 07:39 PM)
Guys.

With Androids TV, I am able to experienced slightly better and comfortable viewing the live broadcast etc compare to the old white Unifi Androids Box that cant install anything inside the box(lagging here and there).

So...since I will be using mostly the apps in my TV, is it advisable to remove the white androids box by Unifi?

What to do with the LAN cable connected with the box then?

Reguards
if u find unifitv on yr smart tv or ATV device better than the box, can junk the box la... laugh.gif

the cable, check the markings/specs... if cat5, put in garbage bin; if cate5e or higher, can keep.

i m no longer using the old silver box, about to garbage bin it, dun need it anymore - the PQ on smart ATV is acceptable.

can't have too many boxes all over the place, time to tidy up, use the space more efficiently.

bravo Unifi for this... unlike some AssH's that refuse to allow use on ATV or any box, F them. puke.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 31 2021, 08:03 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 31 2021, 10:32 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Oct 31 2021, 09:30 PM)
Can use the port originally for UnifiTV box for my ATV?

btw, That AssH not even allowed to install on older tab(androids 5 and below), we have Huawei Mediapad M2 10.0.

Curse to them
i think cannot as it is... LAN4 port is meant for unifi box only.

but maybe can reconfigure this port to be be like any other port - this, i dun hv much idea.

maybe others can help...?
AVFAN
post Nov 1 2021, 08:18 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(singung @ Nov 1 2021, 07:49 PM)
How to terminate iqiyi subscription?
if u r paying, u can terminate anytime in the app.

if it is free under unifitv, u need no bother.

or u r thinking of terminating, change to Viu?

that is not allowed, i think.

if that's what u wish, call and ask if they can do it, let us know!

AVFAN
post Nov 2 2021, 10:33 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(singung @ Nov 1 2021, 09:08 PM)
I paid for ala carte today, but regret it, iqiyi lack of content from Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan and USA. Will terminate soon.
standalone, price should be rm8.90 - that's all u paid/lose.

can cancel anytime, it will expire on the right day.
AVFAN
post Nov 2 2021, 01:09 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(singung @ Nov 2 2021, 12:39 PM)
May I know is the payment charge to the unifi bill? I didn't make any payment when subscribe. Another thing is I can't find any option to cancel my subscription in the apps.
i do not know the details if u had subscribed via unifi, best u call or chat with them.

i had previously subscribed it standalone, not via unifitv - canceling was straightforward in the app itself.
AVFAN
post Nov 10 2021, 09:01 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Jasley @ Nov 8 2021, 06:00 PM)
Hi guys!.. Suddenly I can't see my subscription package channel (RUBY) in my unifi tv on Android box. Before this OK no problem. But the free channel like tv3, tv1, al hijrah all no problem can watch. I tried install the unifi tv app at my phone no problem, all the channel can watch. For Android TV it shows error 01999.

Anybody know what the problem?. Im ask unifi Facebook, the answer was stupid. Asking me to connect to port 4. I'm using wifi for my android box and before this no problem can run for a long time.

QUOTE(Jasley @ Nov 10 2021, 07:20 AM)
No. I didn't change any setting. Free channel all can watched. On phone no problem. All RUBY package can watched. Only on Android box. My box mecool KM2 Google certified box
the likely answer is yr box ATV somehow isn't totally optimized.

i have seen this on my smart TVs too, but not often - if it happens, just need to restart the android.

AVFAN
post Nov 12 2021, 08:45 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lattemild @ Nov 12 2021, 05:13 PM)
I have a question with regards to the Ultimate package. I have downloaded Lionsgate and iQiyi to my phone. I would like to know if I am charged at this moment when viewing the programs/shows or there is a complimentary promo until end of the year? TQ.
u r entitled to those 2 free.

BUT u need to register, get confirmation.

in any case, u won't be able to watch auto - u either do the necessary to get free or u subscribe n pay.

details on registration... so long already, i hv forgotten... search back the pages...
AVFAN
post Nov 15 2021, 09:31 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Nov 14 2021, 11:38 AM)
Anyone here received below SMS?

RM0 unifi: Choose a FREE Mesh Wi-Fi to extend your Wi-Fi coverage or unifi Plus Box for perfect home entertainment.
Learn more i.unifi.my/Upgrade
*T&C apply
Its seems cant find any T&C, which one will you guys choose?

I have ATV already and heavily use hypptv apps on TV. I still have the white old androids box, very very lagging
QUOTE(mujinkun @ Nov 15 2021, 07:20 PM)
I am with the free upgrades promo package during YB Gobind tenure.

Kudos to him.

A free upgrade to 500Mbps.

Just a few days ago  received SMS about the free mesh or Android Box.

So been thinking, is it worth to opt for their promo?
if u r using ATV tv more, u can junk the white box like i junked my silver one.

UPB... it doesn't give better picture quality than ATV tv... to me, useless as well.

mesh routers... yes, this one may be yr prime consideration.

if u do not need to pay more to get free mesh routers, can consider.

but i m not sure how good their free mesh routers are.

i m inclined to buy my own when i m forced to... no need yet as my own router own is good enuf for all corners.

36 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:00 PM