9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

nVIDIA nForce® 680i(tm) SLI discussions..., ASUS, eVGA, DFI, XFX, Foxconn, ABIT...

TStAmp0i
post Jun 14 2007, 02:58 PM, updated 19y ago

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

General discussions and issues regarding the 680i SLI chipset is here for us. Forumers please drop by and report your issues, problems and results that you obtained with this chipset.... Some tips are here to assist us to a better understanding of these motherboards. Requesting forumers to contribute for other mobo as well, as currently this is what i have. Thanks thumbup.gif

MemSet 3.3 Beta Download:
http://rv.page.cegetel.net.perso.cegetel.n...emSet33beta.exe

Striker Extreme, latest BIOS Download:
http://support.asus.com/download/download....riker%20Extreme

P5N32-E SLI, latest BIOS Download:
http://support.asus.com/download/download....l=P5N32-E%20SLI

Reviews and Infos:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ASUS Striker Extreme / P5N32-E SLI: (default and best settings, so far)
Kudos to eva2000 at i4memory for this template
AI Tuning: Manual
SLI Broadcast Aperture: Disabled
Nvidia GPU Ex: Disabled

System Clocks
PCIEX16_1 Frequency (Mhz): 100
PCIEX16_2 Frequency (Mhz): 100
PCIEX16_3 Frequency (Mhz): 100

FSB & Memory Config
FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked
x FSB - Memory Ratio: N/A
FSB (QDR), Mhz: 1066 (266FSB)
Actual FSB (QDR), Mhz: 1066
MEM (DDR), Mhz: 800 (400MHz) / 667 (333MHz)
Actual MEM (DDR), Mhz: 800.2 / 333.2

Overclocking
CPU Multiplier: 9
CPU Internal Thermal Control: Disabled
Limit CPUID MaxVal: Disabled
Enhanced C1 (C1E): Disabled
Execute Disable Bit: Disabled
Virtualization Technology: Disabled
Enhanced Intel Speedstep Tech: Disabled
LDT Frequency: 5x

Memory Timing Setting
tCL (CAS Latency): 4
tRCD: 4
tRP: 4
tRAS: 12
Command Per Clock (CMD): 2 clock (2T)

Advance Memory Settings
tRRD: Auto
tRC: Auto
tWR: Auto
tWTR: Auto
tREF: Auto
Async Latency: Auto

Spread Spectrum Control
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
MCP PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
SATA Spread Spectrum: Disabled
LDT Spread Spectrum: Disabled

Over Voltage
Vcore Voltage: 1.325V (tends to undervolt at 1.31v idle - 1.29v load)
Memory Voltage: 2.0V
1.2v HT Voltage: 1.30V (1.40V for stability)
NB Core Voltage: 1.40V (1.50V when DDR > 500MHz, DDR1000)
SB Core Voltage: 1.55V / 1.60V
CPU VTT Voltage: 1.55V (Some members suggesting maximize this for overall stability, mobo varies)
DDRII Controller Ref Voltage: Auto
DDRII Channel A Ref Voltage: Auto
DDRII Channel B Ref Voltage: Auto

680i RAM Timing Guide
Thanks to illuminati-hwt from XS
tCL:
Large influence on stability / Medium influence on bandwidth
From CAS 5 to 4 results change ~5-10mb/s. The same change will most likely be seen when going to CAS 3.
This timing is widely seen as most important (Command rate disregarded).
Recommendation: 4 for normal usage, 5 when oc'ing. Tweaked: 3.

tRCD:
Medium influence on stability / Large influence on bandwidth
tRCD going from 4 to 3 gives ~15mb/s. From 5 to 4 also yields 10-15mb/s.
This timing is considered second important after CAS, but actually it's more important on 680i/DDR2.
Recommendation: 4 for oc/normal usage. 5 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 3

tRP:
Medium/small influence on stability / Small influence on bandwidth
Results vary close to nothing when changing from 3 to 4 to 5.
Still this timing needs to finish its cycle before a new one starts, so dont set it higher than 5.
Recommendation: 4 for oc/normal usage. 5 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 3

tRAS:
Small influence on stability / Small influence on bandwidth
tRAS seems to act differently on integer/float results. Integer, going from 15 to 10 changes by ~5mb/s. Float doesnt change.
tRAS is an "end-timing", so dont go to high. And not lower than what tCL+tRCD equals.
Recommendation: 12 for oc/normal usage. 15 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 8

tRRD:
tRRD of 2 didnt change the results. Nor did a tRRD of 4. This is a delay-timing so a too low value may result in recalculation.
Recommendation: Auto for oc/normal usage. 4 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 2

tRC:
Medium influence on stability / Large influence on bandwidth
This timing is quite surprising. Going from 30 to 21 gave ~90mb/s. From 23 to 21 gave ~15-20mb/s.
tRC is last timing before ram burst (data transfer).
Dont set too high. And tRC should be greater than tRAS + tRP or you might get corruption.
Recommendation: 21 for normal usage. 30 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 15

tWR:
Small change from 6 to 3. Setting timing too low will cause ram to fail switching to "read mode".
Recommendation: Auto for oc/normal usage. 6 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 3

tWTR:
Large influence on stability / Small influence on bandwidth
From 10 to 8 didnt change results. 6 would lock up the system. This timing gives no bonus but affects stability a lot. Use with care.
Recommendation: Auto for oc/normal usage. 10 if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 8(7)

tREF:
Changing to 3,9us didnt show improvements in benchmark. It also didnt seem to affect stability. tREF was important with DDR1.
Recommendation: Auto for oc/normal usage. 7,8us if you want to push mhz. Tweaked: 3,9us

Command Rate:
Settings are 2T/1T. You probably already know a lot about this timing.
The 680i struggles running 1T above 800mhz. So do the ram - atleast 2,2v are needed.
This timing gives a great boost to bandwidth, but is fairly hard to attain.
I wont recommend any setting regarding this timing. You need to find what mhz you get with 1T, then find mhz with 2T, then compare benchmarks.

Post words:
The tRC and tRCD are two timings to take notice of. They yield good results compared to how they affect stability.
CAS isnt as important as in the DDR1 days. You might even say timings in generel arent as important as with DDR1.

This post has been edited by tAmp0i: Jun 15 2007, 11:48 AM
calvin
post Jun 14 2007, 03:20 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

finally a thread for this board.... and i'm still having problems ever since day 1.... sad.gif

is it possible to run a ddr1066 ram 1:1 with the processor?

This post has been edited by calvin: Jun 14 2007, 03:22 PM
sup3rfly
post Jun 14 2007, 04:10 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

wow sifu tampoi....finally u are back tongue.gif
TStAmp0i
post Jun 14 2007, 04:31 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Jun 14 2007, 03:20 PM)
finally a thread for this board.... and i'm still having problems ever since day 1.... sad.gif

is it possible to run a ddr1066 ram 1:1 with the processor?
Ya this motherboard is really giving a lot of troubles but i believe once you found the sweet spot, you will find something good within it... Yes no problem so far with 1102 and 1103 bios i tested with at 1:1 DDR1066, make sure tRC is not so tight or you'll get screen lockup...

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jun 14 2007, 04:10 PM)
wow sifu tampoi....finally u are back tongue.gif
Nah, not sifu just learning too sweat.gif Thanks bro, post your result too
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2007, 04:37 PM

10,530 posts

bro....the template u posted is for which bios version?

1103?? after reading a little in the asus forum kinda scary la the 1103 version sweat.gif
TStAmp0i
post Jun 14 2007, 04:41 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2007, 04:37 PM)
bro....the template u posted is for which bios version?

1103?? after reading a little in the asus forum kinda scary la the 1103 version sweat.gif
The template is based on 1102. I'd tested 1103 though it gave me same result, nothing changed from 1102.... Don't worry i think it's safe smile.gif
SlayerXT
post Jun 14 2007, 04:44 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

This 4figure board sure got a little ppl using it. The chipset is one tough overclocker. Hope to see oc results from lowyatians.
VT-Ten
post Jun 14 2007, 05:05 PM

520 posts

p5n32e-sli is does not carry a 4-figure price tag
AceCombat
post Jun 14 2007, 05:40 PM

5,434 posts

know that XFX got N680i mobo too,how's the performance?
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2007, 07:38 PM

10,530 posts

since i didnt get any conclusive answers.... can someone help me with this question i posted in the hardware Q&A section

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 11 2007, 08:55 PM)
guys...can these 2 processors be used with the ASUS P5N32-E SLI
1/ Celeron D 346 (3.0Ghz, 533 FSB) (the shop feller just now said it might NOT work with the board wink.gif)

2/ P4 631 (3.0Ghz 800 FSB)

EDIT: both are LGA775

i need to know quick as i wanna buy asap...

and im asking in terms of "out of the box". meaning i can straight plug and play without having to update bios etc etc etc.

and in case any of u wondering why i wanna pair low end proc with the mobo...temporary use while waiting for Intel Price cut biggrin.gif

appreciate the help guys...thanks notworthy.gif

EDIT: what about this one??

Intel Pentium 2.66 with 1MB cache 533 Mhz FSB as being sold HERE

EDIT: got another question...just to clear some doubts..

the 8800GTS 320MB SHOULD be able to run on the Biostar TForce 6100 S754 or S939 mobo right??

main emphasis on the celeron as its cheaper brows.gif

but either way...i think the P4 would be easier to sell off later on right??
TStAmp0i
post Jun 14 2007, 08:33 PM

The name is Poi
2,825 posts

mADmAN: Yea, the motherboard will support both the Celeron and P4 631... But my opinion is to get a C2D as i think it is more worth of the money. Either E2xxx or E4xxx will outperform the P4. I think there should be no issue to run the 8800GTS on the Biostar... smile.gif

This post has been edited by tAmp0i: Jun 14 2007, 08:34 PM
calvin
post Jun 14 2007, 09:24 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

i flashed my striker extreme to 1102 immediately b4 i install the OS.. but just found out that my ram was giving out all the problems...its a corsair DDR800 C4.. are there any memory modules that i shouldn't be using with this board??

and anyone got the soundmax control panel to install properly on vista? i tried it on xp..but i still get lockups from time to time.. wink.gif
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2007, 10:53 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jun 14 2007, 08:33 PM)
mADmAN: Yea, the motherboard will support both the Celeron and P4 631... But my opinion is to get a C2D as i think it is more worth of the money. Either E2xxx or E4xxx will outperform the P4. I think there should be no issue to run the 8800GTS on the Biostar... smile.gif
cooool....thanks alot man..but i not really bothered about processor performance yet...wanna wait for the price cut then go quad core (or mebbe those new FSB 1333 processors) and those are meant for temporary measures...trying to cut cost as much as possible as ive already overspent on my rams (Crucial Ballistix). the mobo oso havent bought yet but definitely gonna get the P5N32-E SLI.

the E2xxx lowest oso RM280 according to ALL IT's pricelist...tempting....hhhmmmm....
eXtreMe_cK
post Jun 14 2007, 11:05 PM

442 posts

@ madman

why don't just wait until the intel price cutting just grab c2d?

This post has been edited by eXtreme™: Jun 14 2007, 11:09 PM
kev_neville
post Jun 14 2007, 11:39 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

Can include 650 chipset into this thread? Just asking...
intothefantasy
post Jun 15 2007, 01:02 AM

1,561 posts

let say if i wanna use Asus P5N-E SLI for not over clocking....will it be better then dfi P965-S??
Hyde`fK
post Jun 15 2007, 01:07 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

I would say 650i will be faster than P965 in memory bandwidth.
intothefantasy
post Jun 15 2007, 01:15 AM

1,561 posts

is tis mean 650 chipset is better then 965?? but how abt 965 vs 680? i wanted to buy this board Asus P5N-E SLI but i heard got many blue screen problem like not stable or so...and i am not an oc guy just wan a good board tat stable and good for gaming and watching video....but i am confuese on which board to buy now....

either ASUS P5N-E SLI or DFI Infinity P965-S Dark

lol i maybe out of topic but this thread was too early posted and to little infomation abt p5n board....so i hope i can post my question here

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Jun 15 2007, 01:15 AM
Angel86
post Jun 15 2007, 01:18 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jun 15 2007, 01:15 AM)
is tis mean 650 chipset is better then 965?? but how abt 965 vs 680? i wanted to buy this board Asus P5N-E SLI but i heard got many blue screen problem like not stable or so...and i am not an oc guy just wan a good board tat stable and good for gaming and watching video....but i am confuese on which board to buy now....

either ASUS P5N-E SLI or DFI Infinity P965-S Dark

lol i maybe out of topic but this thread was too early posted and to little infomation abt p5n board....so i hope i can post my question here
Im currently using P5N-E Sli.Just bought it 3 days ago and had to warranty twice coz the board has problems like no display and cant switch on.I actually wanted the Abit fatality but no stock so i went with the P5N-E.I can tell you that its a very hot mobo because the southbridge and the 4 phase power has no heatsink.
intothefantasy
post Jun 15 2007, 01:32 AM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(Angel86 @ Jun 15 2007, 01:18 AM)
Im currently using P5N-E Sli.Just bought it 3 days ago and had to warranty twice coz the board has problems like no display and cant switch on.I actually wanted the Abit fatality but no stock so i went with the P5N-E.I can tell you that its a very hot mobo because the southbridge and  the 4 phase power has no heatsink.
oppsss omg wrong board i mention...i mean
P5N32-E SLI not p5n...sorry

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:08 PM