Replacing lower arm bushing

littlefire
post Dec 8 2020, 10:16 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Thayaalan 14 @ Dec 7 2020, 08:46 PM)
Hey people, got my lower arm bush pressed and installed for my FD2 for LH and RH side. Hardrace hardened rubber which I bought on my own.

Paid RM 330:
- big bush pressing cost : 80
- small bush pressing cost : 60
- alignment  : 40
- labor : 150

Did I get ripped?
Where you fix your car? If around city area this is reasonable, if out skirt the labor or pressing cost maybe cheaper a bit.

TSjerm57
post Dec 8 2020, 11:38 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(Thayaalan 14 @ Dec 7 2020, 07:46 PM)
Hey people, got my lower arm bush pressed and installed for my FD2 for LH and RH side. Hardrace hardened rubber which I bought on my own.

Paid RM 330:
- big bush pressing cost : 80
- small bush pressing cost : 60
- alignment  : 40
- labor : 150

Did I get ripped?
Seems pretty reasonable. But from my research, you can buy brand new lower arms (with new bushings) for about the same cost or less. Which is why I just got new ones instead.

I guess replacing just the bushings in more environmental friendly?
littlefire
post Dec 8 2020, 11:55 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Dec 8 2020, 12:38 PM)
Seems pretty reasonable. But from my research, you can buy brand new lower arms (with new bushings) for about the same cost or less. Which is why I just got new ones instead.

You need to do survey first, not all lower arm cost & quality is the same & owner also preference.
They are a lot so call cheaper OEM lower arm set you can buy you cant know what rubber bush quality they give to you.
So if the lower arm metal part is still good, most owner will prefer to buy original bush or performance type to replace.
As least they know what bush quality is fitted.
adamhzm90
post Dec 8 2020, 02:01 PM

1,389 posts

just changed my subaru arm bush yesterday. total 4 pcs, 2 big 2 small.

Upah cost me total rm130 only (bought the bush from shopee). location at Ampang (can waze for FX20 Auto)

surveyed at other tyre shop around ampang mostly ask for rm300 above
ckseong80
post Dec 8 2020, 02:05 PM

368 posts

The mechanic is correct.
Need a hydraulic press to do this. Shops that do this also usually offer higher performance and more expensive bushings which amount to you buying the entire standard lower arms.
TSjerm57
post Dec 8 2020, 02:23 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 8 2020, 11:55 AM)
You need to do survey first, not all lower arm cost & quality is the same & owner also preference.
They are a lot so call cheaper OEM lower arm set you can buy you cant know what rubber bush quality they give to you.
So if the lower arm metal part is still good, most owner will prefer to buy original bush or performance type to replace.
As least they know what bush quality is fitted.
Well, I was replacing the lower arm for my proton saga and replacing with original proton lower arm is equal to or cheaper than just changing the bushing. Of course, I'm not saying the experience will be the same for all makes and models. If your car is on a different category, or you want to use performance parts, obviously the price is going to be different.
scorgio
post Dec 8 2020, 03:09 PM

4,695 posts

Standard rate to pump one bush is between RM20-30.

Add the cost of the bush. Plus determine the existing condition of the ball joint.

Icehart
post Dec 8 2020, 03:42 PM

14,904 posts

I just replace my lower arm. The cost replace bushing you add 20-30% can get new part already.
Thayaalan 14
post Dec 11 2020, 09:12 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Dec 8 2020, 11:38 AM)

I changed the bush cos the cost for brand new original/performance lower arms cost more, plus my mech said my cars' arms in good condition still. This shop is in PJ.
But overall I am satisfied with the bushes, most significant difference when steering at high speeds. Steering feel inspires confidence. This just FYI for peeps considering the Hardrace hardened rubber bushes. Your wallet lighter abit leh
jackyyong
post Dec 11 2020, 02:14 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Dec 8 2020, 02:01 PM)
just changed my subaru arm bush yesterday. total 4 pcs, 2 big 2 small.

Upah cost me total rm130 only (bought the bush from shopee). location at Ampang (can waze for FX20 Auto)

surveyed at other tyre shop around ampang mostly ask for rm300 above
Hey bro, you replaced the whole arm or just the bushing? I'm located near Ampang area too. RM130 upah is cheap!

BTW, saw this guy replacing the bushing with just a G-clamp!

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=3568787936498892

This post has been edited by jackyyong: Dec 11 2020, 02:19 PM
adamhzm90
post Dec 11 2020, 02:35 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(jackyyong @ Dec 11 2020, 02:14 PM)
Hey bro, you replaced the whole arm or just the bushing? I'm located near Ampang area too. RM130 upah is cheap!
BTW, saw this guy replacing the bushing with just a G-clamp!

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=3568787936498892
just the bushing.

yeah i surveyed more than 4 workshop before that, all ask rm300 or more for upah tukar
thomstan
post Nov 12 2023, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Jan 20 2019, 01:37 PM)
Yup agree it’s cheaper too just buy the bush and go to a workshop with the presser. Mechanic charged me rm 10 for each bush that needed replacing by the presser . Cheaper then buying a howl lower arm. Cuz it’s the bush only that needs replacing. Metal arm still can last a long long long time as long as no physical damage.
Which workshop did you go to that can help to replace the bushing?
gilabola
post Dec 28 2023, 11:15 AM

670 posts

Any recommendations for workshop with the presser to replace lower arm bush?

This post has been edited by gilabola: Dec 28 2023, 01:46 PM
JON97
post Dec 28 2023, 05:47 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Dec 28 2023, 11:15 AM)
Any recommendations for workshop with the presser to replace lower arm bush?
If you are in KL, you can try Lan Automotive & Engineering in Ampang. I haven't tried it before, but let me know the results, price and service. I got to know about their service from a YT video.

Usually, if you are looking to replace the bush only, not many workshops will be able to do it; therefore, they need to send it out to others. Unless you are changing to poly bush, then they will have.

Its a bit troublesome for WS as they need to source the Bush and get the press plus the waiting time needed.

jeffchuaa
post Sep 2 2024, 08:52 AM

33 posts

Hi, sorry to try to revive this old tread, same goes to where can i go for a budget/cheap bush change? I'm looking for WS that is able to do not to expansive cause i got 10 bushes need to be change (bought all original rubber bush myself import)

I saw recommendation of FX 20 Auto Ampang, unfortunately I think they closed according to Map view,

btw, I'm in Klang Valley area, base in Klang
JON97
post Sep 2 2024, 10:17 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(jeffchuaa @ Sep 2 2024, 08:52 AM)
Hi, sorry to try to revive this old tread, same goes to where can i go for a budget/cheap bush change? I'm looking for WS that is able to do not to expansive cause i got 10 bushes need to be change (bought all original rubber bush myself import)

I saw recommendation of FX 20 Auto Ampang, unfortunately I think they closed according to Map view,

btw, I'm in Klang Valley area, base in Klang
The only place I know in Ampang is Lan Auto.. but a lots mixed reviews. Another place is FRL Performance (Also under lan Auto). Cheap but the workmanship is meh.. Need to pay attention when they are doing.

surianti
post Sep 19 2024, 02:19 PM

198 posts

Iswara can replace LA bushing?
tkyong1
post Sep 20 2024, 11:38 AM

640 posts

QUOTE(surianti @ Sep 19 2024, 02:19 PM)
not worth the time and cost replacing just bush for local malaysia / japanese cars, just replace the entire new lower arm, about same price, less hassle, easy job.
JON97
post Sep 20 2024, 02:04 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(surianti @ Sep 19 2024, 02:19 PM)
QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Sep 20 2024, 11:38 AM)
not worth the time and cost replacing just bush for local malaysia / japanese cars, just replace the entire new lower arm, about same price, less hassle, easy job.
Change one set... But from experience. Better off getting ORI as OEM has problems such as alignment and bushing quality. Dont let the price get you!

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0286sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:18 PM