Warcraft 3: [Discussion] 3rd party servers, Allowed? I mean...

strace
post Jun 18 2007, 01:11 AM

Ayy
700 posts

Good someone just start the move, I'll do a little followup
Well there is something to discuss about these license stuff, can I sue SMM with these proof?
http://www.sendspace.com/file/zf5zle
http://www.sendspace.com/file/gkvvuj

SMM making profit through unauthorized local private servers
Support original, do NOT play in private servers
Please shut these servers down smile.gif
strace
post Jun 19 2007, 03:16 AM

Ayy
700 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Jun 18 2007, 03:54 PM)
since when and where did you receive these? Where are you from? got msn? or something? pm me
hehe, I like to remain anonymous at the moment. God knows what will happen to me if SMM got my personal details tongue.gif

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jun 18 2007, 11:15 PM)
Wow, this is... a new low for them. First I heard of them claiming royalties for World of Warcraft (Which they don't even distribute) and now this.
Nah it is not new, its already there for months. I was not suprised when they use such cheap business tactics for personal gain.

This post has been edited by strace: Jun 19 2007, 03:32 AM
strace
post Jun 21 2007, 04:04 AM

Ayy
700 posts

then by all means, report them to Blizzard!
I've done that but it has to be contact through snail mail. Anyone willing to assist?
strace
post Jul 21 2007, 04:35 PM

Ayy
700 posts

This discussion doesn't deserved to be buried or forgotten. Proofs of commercializing private servers from local distributor is all in here. Please make full use of it. Either private servers are legalized or distributor's wrongdoing, You decide.

pin topic please
strace
post Aug 8 2007, 12:04 PM

Ayy
700 posts

not exactly.. why don't care when it harms a certain group of people? no offence lol

Anyway
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 25 2007, 10:54 AM)
How do you do it?Care to let me know how?

All these private server should be shut down.They are not respecting intellectual property.
You need to write an official letter to them via conventional mail to:
Blizzard Entertainment
P.O. Box 18979
Irvine, CA 92623

All supporting documents about them profiting from private server are here below
SMM flying spaghetti monster User Agreement
SMM SMMDota User Agreement

You probably need to print them out & attach it together with your letter
PM me if you need help for contents although my essay writing skill sucks

Here below is the original EUA for SMM, it might be useful so I uploaded it just incase.
http://www.badongo.com/file/3978331
strace
post Aug 11 2007, 12:41 AM

Ayy
700 posts

I one man not enough, thats why I need anyone/everyone that can help.
strace
post Aug 15 2007, 11:50 PM

Ayy
700 posts

^
dirty money and yes
strace
post Aug 19 2007, 10:01 PM

Ayy
700 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Aug 18 2007, 01:01 PM)
dude can you pm me all the details? i talk to blizzard singapore and see if they can do anything with it..... support original please smile.gif
All the details are in here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12771165
If the links are down, I will upload it again.

AFAIK, SMM's Blizzard license were bought from Asiasoft.

This post has been edited by strace: Aug 19 2007, 10:10 PM
strace
post Aug 21 2007, 02:08 AM

Ayy
700 posts

QUOTE(rathishsiva @ Aug 20 2007, 05:21 PM)
I am sure that Blizzard are aware of what is going on. And they will always be. But probably they are making too much money to even care bout the servers. Its probably peanuts to them. Some Private servers are dedicate towards ethical gaming and provide a wonderfull past time for a lot of the younger generation, people who don earn their own living and probably end up doing drugs and other stuff without them. Just a food for thought.... Not a lot of people can spare a couple of hundred to bucks to buy games when then only get a couple of dollars a day for pocket money!
Drugs addiction as cover. Yeah, the most repetitive excuse I had ever heard. Anything new?

QUOTE(rathishsiva @ Aug 21 2007, 12:09 AM)
Well, thats your opinion.. i fully support the government for taking tough stance on piracy movies rather then softwares/games.. Just imagine, a fully blown Vista costs what? 1k? Where have the kids got that much money? I am no saying i support piracy, what i am saying is that, the choice is up to the individual and i don mind if Microsoft or any other Software house  go all out to crack software piracy in Money Making Associations, as , they are making enough money to get all the original stuff.. But if you were to force everybody to buy Original... I doubt there will ever be a Bill Gates born in our country.. Cause i was fortunate enought to be give exposure at a very young age and that is what young poeple need..

And FYI, I am not an arrogant bum as you mentioned... I can afford to buy my ORI softwares ( Games in this matter ) and will do so... Depends on the software and the satisfaction it provides...

Imagine telling a 10 year old kid this " Son, you go the the national libary to read ok? I cannot buy DOTA for you? Too expensive la son "

Good luck in explaining to your son... And nobody was talking bout any gaming pc, even a pentium 3 could run games and a decent Pc, even the one which is being advertised in the landing page of this portal costs what? RM290? And Warcraft 3 costs what? Rm 200? DUH!!! Go figure dude...
Its all bout learning curve, if you don try, you can never learn.. Even playing games helps in developing your reflex and keeps your mind sharp.. and this is a proven study... If you wanna go and play football, go ahead... even that is pretty expensive nowadays dude..

Added on August 21, 2007, 12:13 am
hehehe.. thanks dude..
Gaming is a luxury not a necessity. If you can't afford it, then do other cheaper things to past time
strace
post Aug 21 2007, 02:47 AM

Ayy
700 posts

yeah thats the main point here, its all about ethical business.
rathishsiva you can open a new thread to defend gaming for all you care but we are addressing a different issue which has little impact on end users like you. Please don't derail the topic
strace
post Aug 21 2007, 11:51 AM

Ayy
700 posts

train finger muscles i guess lol

In countries like in US or Taiwan, they do not charge via monthly subscription. They will ask you to pay the game for commercial use in 1 go or monthly/quarterly until full amount is payed. Once full amount payed, you can still use them for commercial use. But in Malaysia, charges is monthly based. Game titles are 'rent' to you but once you canceled the subscription, you need to return every game titles to them else it will deduct from your deposit. In the end, there is no sales happened before except for the subscription fees which I'm proud to say is the most expensive Blizzard license in the world. Yeah I did a comparison with US and Taiwan, they are not even near to SMM's draconian subscription charges. Anyway the charges is not really a big issue here, my concern is about milking money via accessing private servers
Anyway I can get someone within UMNO to voice this out in parliament - 'gejala tak sihat cybercafe' and butcher off this business field once and for all but this move very suicidal.

This post has been edited by strace: Aug 21 2007, 11:52 AM
strace
post Sep 4 2007, 11:46 AM

Ayy
700 posts

They 'lend' the Warcraft CD to you. You need to return them back if you stop your business operation. Anyway, please inform the SMM HQ about this, maybe the agent in your area is one of those lazy arse type.
strace
post Sep 6 2007, 05:21 PM

Ayy
700 posts

DotA is a free custom map, that is partially why it wasn't approve for WCG lol
strace
post Sep 7 2007, 12:21 PM

Ayy
700 posts

There are already many anti SMM activities going on recently, hopefully that this 3rd party server issue will be one of the agenda. So I'll get a popcorn and sit back for shows biggrin.gif
strace
post Sep 11 2007, 02:49 AM

Ayy
700 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Sep 7 2007, 03:52 PM)
smm close alry rite?
Not yet, still alive and kickin' so far

QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 10 2007, 11:40 AM)
the most important thing is that SMM does give back to the community.
but that doesn't make it any better than crooks.
try again
strace
post Sep 13 2007, 06:52 PM

Ayy
700 posts

then tell me your definition of a person who steals and gives back.

Make that as your last reply and GTFO this thread. Your say has nothing significant to anything that has been discussed here as you are at the bottom of the food chain. GB2Dota foo

Added on September 14, 2007, 1:17 amSMM is all over the chinese newspapers regarding possible false game license
http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=8&pg=15&ac=769619
http://www.chinapress.com.my/content_new.a...rt=0914mb65.txt
http://www.guangming.com.my/content.phtml?...id=200709130894
http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2007/09/14/7.html

The agonist is putting them into judgement day

This post has been edited by strace: Sep 14 2007, 01:20 AM
strace
post Sep 23 2007, 09:54 AM

Ayy
700 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 19 2007, 08:12 PM)
strace: I don't speak/read Chinese. So, wanna summarize what's happening now?
For now, someone with the help of MCA is currently sueing SMM's ass off for unauthorized Blizzard distributor license, when SMM shows the proof, it opens to more problems e.g. illegal collection of fees via rental contract fake as commercial exploitation license contract when it was suppose to clear those allegation. SMM just dig his own grave lol

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Sep 19 2007, 08:24 PM)
IMHO, DotA is not any official map for Warcraft. Kept that in mind.
I think he is aware of that, knowingly in the future it may be like Counter-Strike officially endorsed due to popularity among pro gamers. Luckily DotA doesn't enjoy the same popularity throughout the world as CS tongue.gif
strace
post Sep 23 2007, 02:26 PM

Ayy
700 posts

The peeps with gangster connection under SMM have long gone as I heard. So far the guy who sue them is still alive, no missing arms, legs or head lol. I'm still paying the fees though, we all are aware that this company isn't from a clean background so you don't know what might happen to your business in the future. Other than the exposure to chinese newspapers, nothing much has happened lately but I heard there will be an update announcement from chinese newspapers again after end of this month.
strace
post Sep 23 2007, 04:54 PM

Ayy
700 posts

It will be Blizzard who shut these servers down.
strace
post Oct 3 2007, 12:57 PM

Ayy
700 posts

GG mangles LAN packets to work over the internet, after all its a VPN client. not entirely legal. but any attempt to make profit through it is illegal.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/147137

0.0201sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:17 AM