QUOTE(cjf91 @ Oct 20 2020, 10:00 PM)
Hi everyone, thanks so much for your information.
My wife and I are expecting our first baby. We are so lost before looking at this thread.
Wonder if anyone can answer us:
1) If we successfully make booking with PPUM, do we still need to go back to KKIA for follow ups?
2) If so, why would you recommend that? (as it seems repetitive to go for check ups in the 2 places?)
3) Will you suggest buying pregnancy insurance? Will it cover caesarean / epidural costs for private hospitals?
1) Please walk in to book, upon booking need to pay RM500 deposit upfront. They will give you a date to follow up, usually the 1st check up starts after 6th month pregnancy. So before 6th month pls do ur follow up in KKIA or private. Is important to keep track the baby monthly growth. I did mine in private because get to do scanning every month. KK only get to scan few months once. With the scanning at least i get to know my baby heart beat and growing well.
2) No repetitive because I want my pregnancy journey smooth, I don't wan to have the regret moment when something unpleasant happen. When u reach about 8th onwards mayb just do the follow up in PPUM. The check up will be twice a month. PPUM facility is much better compare to KK. At least you are attended to a doctor through is MO but the MO is on the path to gynea master (check up time about 3-4 hours-Half day gone). KK usually attended by nurse / MO but checking a list of questions in the pink book. Is good to have 2nd opinion in this journey.
3) Yes, definitely is a must and not from the point as an agent but as a mommy. Personal experience, I have fever probably due to epidural after delivered and arranged to stay in HDU for 2 days. My client premature baby send to NICU for 1 day all these are claimable for hospital allowance. The hospital allowance is enough to cover my PPUM fees.
No caesarean and epidural coverage. The prenatal plan mostly cover the complication and hospital allowance. PPUM allows epidural which cost about RM250 (3 years back cost).
Overall I quite happy with the delivery in PPUM. The room is 4 bedded. So abit noisy because 1 baby crying the rest will follow. Mommy has to take care baby day and night and only breast feeding. Hospital didn't prepare any milk for baby. If supply not enough pls bring ur own 1 but don't let the nurse notice. Else kena scold.
Have a pleasant and wonderful pregnancy journey
* All the information sharing is 3 years back. Last heard from my friend their cost has increased from RM500 to 1K.