What should I pack in my hospital bag for labour?, 3D2N Checklist

TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 1 2019, 07:17 PM, updated 7y ago

483 posts

Hi dear mummies and mummies to be

What should I pack in my hospital bag for 3D2N for labour?

Here's a list I can think of, if I've missed out any, or if my checklist items not necessary, kindly recommend me. Thank u so much everyone here 😊

For mummy
1. Baby's check up reports
2. Socks x 1
3. Pajamas x 1
4. Dress x 1
5. Bra x 1
6. Disposable panties x 1 pack
7. Sanitary pads x 6
8. Tissue x 3 pack
9. Facial wash
10. Toothbrush
11. Toothpaste
12. Comb
13. Plastic bag for dirty clothes x 2
14. Water bottle

For baby
1. One-piece sleepsuit x 2
2. Swaddle x 2
3. Leggings x 2
4. One-piece bodysuit x 2
5. Mittens x 4
6. Blanket
7. Milk bottle

This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jan 1 2019, 07:27 PM
@lice~~
post Jan 4 2019, 04:39 PM

565 posts

During the stay at hospital, you and baby will wear the hospital's suit. You only need to bring 1 set each for when check-out from hospital. If you believe those traditional thing, bring a hat or handkerchief to cover baby's head when leaving the hospital.

You need to bring more sanitary pads, better bring those for night uses and heavy flow.

Bring thermos for keeping warm water, better drink warm water. Few packs of milo or nestum in case hungry or no appetite to eat food.
lowlowc
post Jan 8 2019, 10:25 PM

918 posts

Bring a lot of snacks (that's applicable for post-natal diet), biscuits etc. I woke up from surgery in the middle of the night and was crazy hungry.
If you're delivering at govt hospital (not sure about private) bring newborn baby diapers and baby oil. They will use the baby oil to clean baby for the first time. Also a swaddle cloth.
Bring DVT or flight socks if you have.
I don't think you need pajamas, you will hospital clothes all the time until you discharge. For discharge, bring a comfortable, non restricting clothes. You will never know if you went in for natural birth and ended up with c-section.
Get an extra blanket from the nurse, it might get colder at night.
Bring small syringe with the stopper, you might need them to keep the colustrum for baby.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 8 2019, 11:14 PM
TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 8 2019, 10:43 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(@lice~~ @ Jan 4 2019, 04:39 PM)
During the stay at hospital, you and baby will wear the hospital's suit. You only need to bring 1 set each for when check-out from hospital. If you believe those traditional thing, bring a hat or handkerchief to cover baby's head when leaving the hospital.

You need to bring more sanitary pads, better bring those for night uses and heavy flow.

Bring thermos for keeping warm water, better drink warm water. Few packs of milo or nestum in case hungry or no appetite to eat food.
Good tips, tysm

I took package 3D2N, I don't have to shower, wash up or something?

TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 8 2019, 10:47 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 8 2019, 10:25 PM)
Bring a lot of snacks (that's applicable for post-natal diet), biscuits etc. It's super hungry after delivery.
If you're delivering at govt hospital (not sure about private) bring newborn baby diapers and baby oil. They will use the baby oil to clean baby for the first time.
Bring DVT or flight socks if you have.
I don't think you need pajamas, you will hospital clothes all the time until you discharge. For discharge, bring a comfortable, non restricting clothes. You will never know if you went in for natural birth and ended up with c-section.
Ok thank u, I will pack some chips. What's a DVT?

I heard doctor can help press your stomach until baby in correct position for normal delivery.

How's your little boy? is he still in hospital? My heart breaks too when u said they took blood test from his small hand

So cute
cc980024
post Jan 9 2019, 08:48 AM

492 posts

I delivered in private hospital. I stay 2N and baby stay 4N.
So far I only make use of my clothing (when leaving hospital) and facial wash. As they provide me a package that consist big water tumbler, towel, toothbrush & paste. I go through emergency c-sect, sanitary pack being provided and special underwear too.
You will not bath in the hospital if you remember that you already enter confinement stage (at least not bath for that first few days) tongue.gif I forgotten thou and screaming the nurse to increase the wind blow for aircond, as I was dizzy after c-sect. And had watermelon from the hospital meal. Ops!

* Bring a jacket (suggest that with hood). For speedy recovery, you are encourage to walk around and jacket is of good use. With hood, incase you may want to cover your head (if really tat pantang). I did that when infront of my mom.

For baby, he only need the clothing when leaving hospital, but bring extra pair of mitten. Baby will be dumpling wrap in hospital towel or so. But their nails grow long and the nurse won't trim it. So let them wear mitten and go home only figure out what to do with that long nails. tongue.gif

Enjoy the moment!

lowlowc
post Jan 9 2019, 10:39 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 8 2019, 10:47 PM)
Ok thank u, I will pack some chips. What's a DVT?

I heard doctor can help press your stomach until baby in correct position for normal delivery.

How's your little boy? is he still in hospital? My heart breaks too when u said they took blood test from his small hand

So cute
Try plain crackers or oat crackers. Chips have too much salt.
Did you try the music and the yoga pose to turn baby's head?

My baby is still in hospital and we're spending every day at the hospital to accompany him. Just need to wait for weight to reach 1.8kg.
TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 10 2019, 10:33 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 9 2019, 10:39 PM)

My baby is still in hospital and we're spending every day at the hospital to accompany him. Just need to wait for weight to reach 1.8kg.
Ok thanks for the advice. I'll pack energy bars then.

Yes I tried the position you advise but stopped after doing two days lol

Feel tired to do and maybe not necessary. My stomach is bigger now and I feel not convenient to do much exercise.

Will continue to pray for your little boy to gain weight faster. Are you breastfeeding him at hospital? I heard govt hospital allows breastfeeding

Here's a song to u https://youtu.be/MN4HUut8Q0s God bless

kohchuup
post Jan 11 2019, 01:53 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 9 2019, 10:39 PM)

all the best and hope ur bb reach 1.8kg asap...
kohchuup
post Jan 11 2019, 01:57 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 8 2019, 10:43 PM)
Good tips, tysm

Chinese cant use normal water to wash or shower for the 1st month, u can shower with boiled and herbal water, for washing your hair try powder type of shampoo.

You should walk or do some light exercise, u can do it short n frequently kind of walking.

all the best ya
TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 11 2019, 03:18 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(kohchuup @ Jan 11 2019, 01:57 PM)
Chinese cant use normal water to wash or shower for the 1st month, u can shower with boiled and herbal water, for washing your hair try powder type of shampoo.

You should walk or do some light exercise, u can do it short n frequently kind of walking.

all the best ya
Everyday I walk very fast, is this a good thing?

Also, I was thinking to wash my hair daily at confinement centre. Which means once shower, I'll use hair dryer immediately. Is that ok? any mummies did it?

kohchuup
post Jan 11 2019, 03:34 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 11 2019, 03:18 PM)
Everyday I walk very fast, is this a good thing?

Also, I was thinking to wash my hair daily at confinement centre. Which means once shower, I'll use hair dryer immediately. Is that ok? any mummies did it?
If u already used to the speed walking, should be ok.

about the shower, hot bath, its up to individual, not everyone the same, just dun catch a cold will do
TSg r a p e k e y
post Jan 11 2019, 03:58 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(kohchuup @ Jan 11 2019, 03:34 PM)
If u already used to the speed walking, should be ok.

about the shower, hot bath, its up to individual, not everyone the same, just dun catch a cold will do
so it is alright to wash my hair everyday with warm water (like normal day taking a bath) and immediately blow dry?

I hardly catch a cold

kohchuup
post Jan 12 2019, 04:20 PM

193 posts

Hi grapekey, sorry i cant said its alright to wash your hair everyday with warm water. i m a chinese n my mum told me n wife if wanted to wash hair or bath, better to bath herbal tea bath for the whole confinement period, after that only boiled water n bath. Not recommended to use water heater types of water, since my wife confine in my mum's house, so we follow.

My mum said last time she didnt listen to those old folks n shower due to heat n sticky kinda feeling on her skins, so she just bath, now complain here n there pain "arthritis". No medical or science proof tho, so we just listen to help avoid miserable suffering in the future.

so better check with more experienced matured mummies
nyumnyum2k
post Jan 14 2019, 10:59 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 1 2019, 07:17 PM)
Hi dear mummies and mummies to be

What should I pack in my hospital bag for 3D2N for labour?

Here's a list I can think of, if I've missed out any, or if my checklist items not necessary, kindly recommend me. Thank u so much everyone here 😊
For mummy
1. Baby's check up reports
2. Socks x 1
3. Pajamas x 1
4. Dress x 1
5. Bra x 1
6. Disposable panties x 1 pack
7. Sanitary pads x 6
8. Tissue x 3 pack
9. Facial wash
10. Toothbrush
11. Toothpaste
12. Comb
13. Plastic bag for dirty clothes x 2
14. Water bottle
For baby
1. One-piece sleepsuit x 2
2. Swaddle x 2
3. Leggings x 2
4. One-piece bodysuit x 2
5. Mittens x 4
6. Blanket
7. Milk bottle
dont forget to pack for the father coz he shall ened one also. next one, dont forget to bring in baby oil during delivery ( in case its normal delivery and you plan to witness with your wife in labour room ) coz the nurse may need to use it to clean the baby after delivery. you may ask the hospital if its required since my wife give birth in putrajaya and the nurse inform me before my wife give birth
cc980024
post Jan 14 2019, 11:50 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 11 2019, 03:58 PM)
so it is alright to wash my hair everyday with warm water (like normal day taking a bath) and immediately blow dry?

I hardly catch a cold
It is not to say alright or not. Is up to individual health strength, but we won't know until reach old. As ppl claim that you will know you did it "wrongly" only when the pain comes when old age.

I asked around to clarify this too before I deliver. As I am a daily hairwash lady and have oily scalp. Some of the advise/experience my friends shared:

- Fren A say can wash daily, but she coat her scalp with baby oil before wash it. <OMG! no way for me.. already oily, add more oil?>
- Fren B wash weekly and she tried dry shampoo but curse it so much. So said the dry shampoo make her hair even more dirty as it end up flakes on her hair. <due to that, I never try since it quite pricy thou>

My mom was a confinement lady and I was under her care during confinement. I fight for "washing" til my dad can't bear my noise and help me fight for my rights to get hair wash. My reward is a weekly hairwash and daily bath.

Daily bath = punishment. As my mom make me bath hot ginger water. She prep a hot tub with face towel and chair in the bathroom. Told me to take my time to pat those "sendi-sendi" with hot ginger water. Total sauna in the bathroom.
After bath, not sure I was wiping bath water or my own sweat. Immediate after bath, 1 cup of hot traditional wine. Several times I almost black out as I am not a great drinker.

Throughout confinement, all water used are cooked water. She even wash my plates with cooked water. Lot of argue and quarrel that time, as I stubbornly brush teeth, wash face and hand using tap water.

This post has been edited by cc980024: Jan 14 2019, 11:52 AM
pysh
post Jan 14 2019, 11:54 AM

382 posts

bring hand glove to avoid direct touch with water

@lice~~
post Jan 14 2019, 03:28 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(g r a p e k e y @ Jan 8 2019, 10:43 PM)
Good tips, tysm

For me, nope. No shower or wash up, just the nurse given me a pinch of salt and a "equipment" to "sit" and soak our private part. You may bring facial cotton to wet clean it but i dont like it, i think i used tissue.
Mrs.A
post Jan 14 2019, 09:29 PM

309 posts

Out of content, but read how misleads everything about the confinement.. I think should start a new thread about the “right” confinement. *Surprised
mycolumn
post Apr 13 2019, 07:46 PM

2,085 posts

QUOTE(Mrs.A @ Jan 14 2019, 09:29 PM)
Out of content, but read how misleads everything about the confinement.. I think should start a new thread about the “right” confinement. *Surprised
support this thoroughly. Anyone has any ideas on this?

0.0196sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:17 PM