"No sugar added" in juices?, Anyone aware of this ?
TSChrisGirl
Jun 12 2007, 02:07 PM, updated 19y ago
I wonder have u guys noticed that Marigold Peel Fresh had came out with a range of juices where no sugar is added in it. However, when i ran through the nutritional information and compare it against the normal range... to my suprise the total sugar did not differ alot... For example i took the "no sugar added apple" and compared it against the normal apple, the total sugar content in the "no sugar added apple" seems to be slightly higher than the normal one... Guess wat when i took the "mixed carrot fruit" the total sugar is 3.8g which is way below any other juices...
Shouldn't be no sugar added be lower in the total sugar???
carlsuen
Jun 12 2007, 02:08 PM
repost?????????
jones007
Jun 12 2007, 02:12 PM
marketing scam? well fruits have their natural sugar also. maybe more apples more sugar? just that they didn't add any extra sugar? lol
phoenix
Jun 12 2007, 02:14 PM
It's been out for quite a while now. I only tried it once. Well. It does taste a bit bland but I did not check on the nutrional value. Thanks for informing though cause it ain't cheap. Better stay with the regular one then.
SuIssiSsimus
Jun 12 2007, 02:20 PM
dont really realize.. is it? hehe.. neways i only drink juice when i got symptoms of cold..
bebee
Jun 12 2007, 03:35 PM
every fruit has sugar see how sweet is it only
EmperorMeng
Jun 12 2007, 07:00 PM
add less sugar but use sweeter apple?
gtoforce
Jun 12 2007, 08:24 PM
natural sugar that is fructose absorbs for a longer time unlike glucose... still it need to be taken at an average amount... aiyo...potong la the apple or limau not hard la...compared to waste money buy the drink what for or easy...take milk :-)
cactuscch
Jun 12 2007, 08:27 PM
maybe can add mannitol, aspartame, saccharin etc. These are not sugar but they are very swwweeeeeeettttttt.
zhaen
Jun 13 2007, 12:11 AM

sugar is sugar.. artificial sweetener is artificial sweetener.
popsoul
Jun 13 2007, 04:58 AM
I prefer to add some salt along with fresh apple juice. It's somehow weird but i like its taste.
Sugar? I notice some people order the fresh juice mentioned that no sugar when i used to work PT at a cafe. Maybe they are struggling for weight loss.
TSChrisGirl
Jun 13 2007, 09:21 AM
but can anyone explain why is there a higher sugar content in the so called "no sugar added" juice??? i am just curious n confused... logically, shouldn't they be processing using the same fruits and just minues the sugar when they mentioned "no sugar added"??? Hopefully someone can gimme a more concrete answer
bebee
Jun 13 2007, 09:39 AM
no sugar added means they didn't put any additional sugar to the drink there but just used their natural fruit sugar, every fruit has its sweetener it depends on how sweet it is only
TSChrisGirl
Jun 13 2007, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(bebee @ Jun 13 2007, 09:39 AM) no sugar added means they didn't put any additional sugar to the drink there but just used their natural fruit sugar, every fruit has its sweetener it depends on how sweet it is only yes i am aware of this as wel... but dont tell me they r gonna update their nutritional chart everytime they get their fruits... this isnt logic rite
bebee
Jun 13 2007, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(ChrisGirl @ Jun 13 2007, 12:40 PM) yes i am aware of this as wel... but dont tell me they r gonna update their nutritional chart everytime they get their fruits... this isnt logic rite  this i am not sure maybe estimation?
kons
Jun 13 2007, 05:28 PM
Конс
Can always check with their customer service hotline for clarification.
New vitagen with low sugar just taste.. funny.
SuIssiSsimus
Jun 13 2007, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(ChrisGirl @ Jun 13 2007, 09:21 AM) but can anyone explain why is there a higher sugar content in the so called "no sugar added" juice??? i am just curious n confused... logically, shouldn't they be processing using the same fruits and just minues the sugar when they mentioned "no sugar added"??? Hopefully someone can gimme a more concrete answer  try check the calories too... if calories also the same then i feel really weird...
Jun 13 2007, 05:34 PM
their 'no sugar' term are correct. but wat they using is 'artificial sugar' that are 100times compare to sugar.
TSChrisGirl
Jun 13 2007, 07:07 PM
if they use artificial sugar shouldn't artificial sugar be nil in the sugar colum? artificial sugar is only to make the juices sweet but its not sugar, thats y diabetic patients can only take artificial sugar such as aspratame...
yeeck
Jun 14 2007, 11:26 PM
I checked the Sunkist orange juice which also recently came out with the no added sugar packs. Compared it to the usual Sunkit orange juice and the total amount of sugar is less in the 'no-added-sugar' pack. Didn't see any Marigold around though.
TSChrisGirl
Jun 15 2007, 08:47 AM
ooh i didnt notice that sunkist came out with the no sugar added juice  then maybe i should be switching to sunkist then... thanks for sharing  does anyone here know how much sugar intake is ideal for consumption and how to weight the sugar levels??? coz i am concern of blood glucose (ie sugar in blood), as this will lead to diabetic if its not under control This post has been edited by ChrisGirl: Jun 15 2007, 08:49 AM
yeeck
Jun 15 2007, 09:33 AM
You don't need to calculate exactly how much sugar la.... too scrupulous. Just avoid as much sugary drinks as you possibly can and drink lots of plain water everyday. E.g. drink tea without sugar, donno about coffee since i'm not a coffee drinker.
popsoul
Jun 15 2007, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(yeeck @ Jun 15 2007, 09:33 AM) You don't need to calculate exactly how much sugar la.... too scrupulous. Just avoid as much sugary drinks as you possibly can and drink lots of plain water everyday. E.g. drink tea without sugar, donno about coffee since i'm not a coffee drinker. Forget about it. If we need to calc the BMI and the ratio of sugar for a whole day. That time i am satisfy with just breath the fresh air rather than play along with a calculator for a RM5+- fresh juice.
Jun 15 2007, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(ChrisGirl @ Jun 13 2007, 07:07 PM) if they use artificial sugar shouldn't artificial sugar be nil in the sugar colum? artificial sugar is only to make the juices sweet but its not sugar, thats y diabetic patients can only take artificial sugar such as aspratame... too much aspratame will cause cancer.
TSChrisGirl
Jun 15 2007, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(606088 @ Jun 15 2007, 03:49 PM) too much aspratame will cause cancer.  yeah i have read bout it too... but since my bf has got glucose traces in blood, he cant take too much sugar n doc has advice to take artificial sugar instead, according to the doc, the content is quite minimal so no worries... dun ler take it everyday or regularly, everything taken in access is not good for the body