Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

JIUHWEI
post Jan 7 2019, 05:54 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jan 4 2019, 12:38 AM)
Hi, want to ask experts here

can a son use his credit card to pay for his mother's policy?

mother is working professional, got active income
son wants to pay for his mom out of goodwill (filial piety)

is it need to change policy owner to the son?

but can a son be policy owner of his mom's policy?

birth cert is required too right? to prove son-mother relationship
As far as I know, the son cannot use his credit card to pay for his mothers policy.

As a rule of thumb,
Parents insuring their children - thumbsup.gif Okay.
Children insuring their parents - shakehead.gif Not okay.
Spouse insuring each other - Okay.
Boy/Girlfriend insuring each other - Not okay.
Company insuring employees - Okay
Colleagues insuring each other - Not okay.
etc.

No, the son cannot use his credit card to pay for his mothers policy.
No, the mother's policy owner cannot be the son.

What the son CAN do, is to up the monthly allowance to the mother. thumbup.gif
Buy flowers for the mother. <<< A very good thing to do.
Take her on a trip / cook a meal for her.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 7 2019, 06:40 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jan 7 2019, 06:12 PM)
Professional answer  thumbup.gif
Just what the industry needs  thumbsup.gif
I believe a lot of agents (friends around you, your agent, just about any agent) have the same answer. thumbsup.gif
Just that I happen to see your question and hence responded to it.
Thanks to BNM, LIAM, PIAM, and all relevant institutions upping the requirements across the industry, you can actually go to any career agent (including agents on this forum) these days and get good, professional services and advice. thumbup.gif
Even better if you have a friend or family member in the industry. Support mah.

JIUHWEI
post Jan 7 2019, 07:22 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Jan 2 2019, 06:37 PM)

May I know what are the few reliable fire insurance plan for Shop (cover building and stock for ground floor and 1st floor) and household (terrace house)?

Thank you.
Yes there is.
What is the nature of business for the shop?

Different insurers have their focus areas but normal retail outlets and/or restaurants and offices are pretty standard.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 9 2019, 12:30 PM

1,309 posts

Can we not have another episode of ego battle here?

I think all can agree.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 9 2019, 05:54 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 9 2019, 05:33 PM)

And the point you had that regarding commission..... Majority I got the feedback is this, actually. How many out there are really committed to their job and being honest?

I really appreciated all the input you guys made. 

Thanks!
Don't like that.... there are many career agents everywhere. laugh.gif

There are also families like mine, father pass on the agency to son.

JIUHWEI
post Jan 9 2019, 06:14 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(soulmad @ Jan 9 2019, 03:44 PM)
hi guys,

need ur advice
for sebaceous Cyst removal
insurance provider say it's exclusion case
need to pay first and claim later
with a HPL report on the cyst

have anyone came through this before?
does it honor the claim?
if pay first , do u all know medical cost can be reduce by doctor?
some say using cash ,doctor can negotiable on the cost?
For this cyst removal, yes it is covered (regardless what company).
So you don't have to worry about it.

Need to pay first, and claim later, simply because there is no admission.
You can check with your agent on the cashless outpatient procedure list.
(What this means is there is a specific list of out-procedures qualify for your medical insurance cashless facility)

I have some clients claiming this before, and it's really just
1. Physician Statement
2. Medical report
3. original receipts
4. hospital claim form

On the concern of reducing cost if paying by cash, I doubt there is such a practice anymore.
And also they won't charge higher should they find out you have insurance... if this is a concern.
KKM is doing a good job at monitoring and penalizing such behaviors.

Got story for you:
I once got called up by a customer, say AIA reimbursed less than the total amount charged to her by the hospital.
Lesser by exactly RM1800 (I remember cuz I feel proud of myself that I solved it)
So, have to dig lah.
I called up the hospital, got directed to the doctor's clinic, and I raised this issue to the nurse.
Of course I use words like "I am calling from Sepakat Agency (AIA Bhd)...(this and this)... happened so now we would like to investigate into the matter."
One week later, the amount was reimbursed to my client. icon_rolleyes.gif

That time was my 2nd year in the business.
Feel like superman broooooo rclxm9.gif

TL:DR version:
Don't worry. Can claim.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 10 2019, 02:20 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(vanitas @ Jan 9 2019, 10:57 PM)
I try to help you a bit...
- pure term life, guaranteed protection over 30 years, after that not guaranteed to renew if not mistaken.. but slightly expensive than ilp over long term, reason, you paid commissions to agent every years.. insurance company treat you as temporary customer..

- ilp, cheaper for long term, you paid agent few years good commissions, after that no more, insurance company would even give you some bonus after certain years in form of coverage or additional subscribe units on fund.. you can extend over 30 years as long as you got fund value inside, or depleted the fund value within 20 years, nothing is guaranteed despite what agent told you, you are investor, you should know..

- also the premium (1) paid for ilp actually getting more expensive each year, not fixed, but the amount you paid for investment (2)is fixed as long as got enough fund value to paid premium (1)...
Suggest ask agent here send you a draft ilp for you to study.. free of charge..

I am not an agent, just trying to help you, in short, I would recommend ilp for a 30 years policy, but decision should up to your cousin, not you or me.
Very comprehensive and incredibly concise! thumbsup.gif
It's a waste you are not agent... We welcome you into our industry!
In fact, I will show this to my agents. Next time just explain like this in text messages and/or emails when asked for clarification.
In fact, I wish you will join my agency. <<< ikhlas from my heart.

To build on your explanation, ILP is flexible in the way that we can adjust the premium and time frame to stretch "just enough" to sustain through 30 years, or age 70, 80, 100...etc.
But of course, it is all projected based on past performance (usually around 6%/7% return, after accounting for deductions to cover the Cost of Insurance). Got Scenario 1 and Scenario 2 projection, which basically shows if market perform without drastic volatility (September 11, depression, etc), and the latter with terrible performance.

*actually ah, term insurance, agent get up to 40% commissions, compared to ILP at up to 25% commissions in the first year*

JIUHWEI
post Jan 10 2019, 02:53 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 8 2019, 05:23 PM)
My cousin currently wanted to buy an insurance. Already having SSPN-I from takalful, 20k D, TPD, up to 64 y.o.

So he went and ask one from etiqa.
25, male, non smoker, student
insured 500000, rider crit ill 300000.
Annual 3100 myr.

sustainability option chosen 30 years.  policy term 75 years.

he wish to get pure term insurance only. But since the investment linked insurance able to let him get back some premium at the option chosen year, he consider on taking it.
any thought?

Question-
when can we actually wish to review the policy and make a change? does the change cost extra?

any input is appreciated.
I think aside from what was brought up in the conversations on top,

I wanted to bring another area of concern for your consideration:
Health and insurability.

While a Term insurance is great to meet objectives for a very precise time frame, an ILP is what we call a Whole life, non-participating life insurance.
What it means is that it is designed to cover till age 100 (whole life), and your fund value does not participate in the profits and losses of the insurance company (non-participating).
From there, you can choose to have your ILP sustain for 30 years, to age 70, 80, 100...etc.
Of course, the longer we stretch the time frame, the higher your premiums because it needs to stretch over a longer period of time.

Now with that in mind, cost and premiums aside,
We cannot guarantee your cousin's health at the end of the 30-year Term.
In 30 years time, is your cousin still insurable?
If no then thank you very much for your business all these years.
If yes, then let's look at the premium in 30 years for the same amount of coverage (can generate now for your consideration).

Personally, I would give this more weight in my consideration.

JIUHWEI
post Jan 11 2019, 01:57 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 11 2019, 10:12 AM)

Do you actually tell that statement right into your customer face?
For the love of God.
I do. Cuz customers need to hear that.
There's just no other way than to hit them with the truth.
Only then what we do is real and relevant.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 15 2019, 01:23 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Jan 14 2019, 11:03 PM)
anyone can share the actual performance of AIA/Prudential funds - equity/bond/etc for the 3-in-1 medical card? - % rate of return for the past few years.
Aia BHD
You can find out about each of them here https://www.aia.com.my/en/our-products/inve...nked-funds.html

Prudential here http://www2.prudential.com.my/fundpriceV2/daily.php

More info you can put each code in here https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/BURSA:MK

More research here https://my.morningstar.com/ap/main/default.aspx
And here https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/m

JIUHWEI
post Jan 15 2019, 01:38 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(cevest @ Jan 14 2019, 10:45 PM)
OK on this pre-existing illness thing, I have a few questions.

1. If I have a slipped disc and I declared it at the time of proposal, it's still on going without much going on, how would my policy be underwritten?

2. So later during the coverage period I need medical attention, is this covered?

3. Say you have a different slipped disc later in life during coverage, this doesn't count as pre-existing illness yes? They are not the same disc!
1. You will have to submit the most recent report on the condition and it can only be underwritten with the report.

2. If it falls under exclusion, most likely your whole spine is excluded.

3. If the exclusion clause remains unchanged then no it is not covered.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 18 2019, 11:21 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jan 15 2019, 03:03 PM)
My friend make a claim with supporting submitted.

The insurance company said some of the billing is unreasonable so they deduct here and there from the total billing

From 16,722  reduce to 12,583.00

The policy did highlighted reasonable but  this open for insurance company self define

Where can I go for this?

Thank you
You can bring your case to OFS (Ombudsman for Financial Services)

Their services are free and they will help you make sense of it before proceeding to a lawsuit.

You may get them here: http://www.ofs.org.my/en/

With that said, I feel it is better for you to engage your agent first.
This kind of matter, my agency secretary also can kaodim actually.

JIUHWEI
post Jan 18 2019, 11:37 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Jan 18 2019, 11:30 AM)
the agent feedback is inline with the insurance company.

so, next time i buy insurance dont go agent.

agent ca go fly kite d.

i submited to bank negara d.

bank negara email to insurance company and asking insurance company to justify their "reasonable defination"
Don’t Lidis lah.

Many other good and efficient agents out there... like me.

Well I hope the outcome is in your favor!
And would appreciate it if you could share the outcome with us so all of us could learn from it. icon_rolleyes.gif
JIUHWEI
post Jan 23 2019, 12:38 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(kentloonghh @ Jan 22 2019, 12:52 AM)
Hi guys, I don’t understand why ILP is better....majority of the fund returns is actually average 4-5%. If based on average 4-5% return, high possibility that the fund will be empty by age 70, some by 65. After that you have to pay for high COI for your life insurance + medical card. For life insurance of 100k the COI could be 3k and medical card is around 5k. At the end you would be paying more than standalone medical card because of the additional life insurance cost. Is my assumption correct?

Plus you have no choice but to continue paying higher premium for life in order to keep the medical card alive, kinda like a trap...?
Understand your concern, but returns is really not the selling points of ILP.
Sure, a lot of agents in the market use it as a seemingly good selling point (Wah see can get back some money woh, good right?).

You may see ILP as a very transparent, very flexible life insurance plan (can add lots of riders), compared to traditional whole life participating life insurance, which is very rigid and not very transparent at all.

The difference is that ILP exposes you to some risks, which is exactly what you pointed out, market risks.
With that said, a good way to curb that is to maybe pay attention to the funds picked.
Maybe you want a higher ratio in conservative/fixed income funds?
That’s up to you to decide.

Next, one of the most common problem in the market is forgetting to pay premiums, then the policy lapses. Klo medical card tu yg lapse masa nak pakai, die lah.
ILP utilizes the fund value available to pay for the COI while something as trivial as ... credit card expired... or ... changed card..etc, happens and it wasn’t updated in a timely manner. When grace period habis, sama2 kita habis.

Then like you said, return macam not that high. Yalah, after deducting the COI, memang tak hebat mne.
But if you put the premiums together over the years, then put them side by side with a stand-alone plan, adding it all up together, tak beza mne pon.

With all that said, yes, it is quite a pinch for some to fork out 1k or 2k extra a year to choose ILP instead of a standalone plan. It’s not wrong to choose one over another, it’s just what works for you.
If ILP doesn’t sit well with your approach in managing your finances, then maybe a standalone plan is a better fit for you. thumbsup.gif
JIUHWEI
post Jan 23 2019, 02:14 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(kentloonghh @ Jan 23 2019, 12:59 AM)
Wow ur right. Thought my calculation was wrong initially. Just wanted standalone MC.....but few people want to layan...
Actually cuz not many comp. offering standalone mc now.

But shop around ba. I’m sure the likes of AIA can help you
JIUHWEI
post Jan 25 2019, 09:38 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(nakedtruth @ Jan 25 2019, 08:54 AM)

There are so many insurance out therr. What are the criterias we should look in choosing the right insurance? Maybe looking for ILP with medical card coverage. Thank you.
Maybe we can start with what your concerns are..?

That's always a good place to start, right?
JIUHWEI
post Feb 19 2019, 06:35 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ Feb 18 2019, 09:13 PM)
31, male, software engineer, non-smoker  smile.gif
4060/year
JIUHWEI
post Feb 23 2019, 09:32 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(NosaJC @ Feb 22 2019, 11:49 PM)
Hi guys, may i know which plan have the best coverage for critical illness now??
How do you define “best”?

JIUHWEI
post Mar 8 2019, 07:05 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 28 2019, 03:45 PM)
And how one is over insured? Is it >10% of the yearly income?
How does someone “over-insure” themselves?

Very simple:
say I am a normal office clerk. I probably earn around 36k to 60k annually.
I have an aggregated life sum insured of 2mil. That’s over 30x my annual income!
Then it begs the question: why do I need such a high life sum assured?

If
-my father/mother/spouse got money
-I kena jackpot from ktmg
-inherited from Nigerian prince

Then ok lo...as long as I can prove the above, no problem, can buy but do I really need it?
What is the purpose for such a high life sum assured?
Otherwise, maybe I am over-insured.

On the flip-side, how does someone “under-insure” themselves?
Say I am the same office clerk.
I have an aggregated life sum assured of 200k.
That’s just slightly above 3x my annual income..
Then this is the question: why only 200k?
Usually some justifications along the lines of: car, final expense, some personal debts, no dependents..etc.

Do I need to look into my coverage? Or am I alright for now?
Then further discussion can happen.

The above is focusing on life insurance.
But the same line of questioning should appear in every aspect of your insurance planning, medical, income replacement, etc.

You know the game we play with kids to just keep asking “why?”
That’s an important skill, especially here in our financial planning

JIUHWEI
post Mar 9 2019, 11:08 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Mar 9 2019, 10:31 AM)
Hi. Is there any good medical and CI plan that i can consider? i dont need life coverage as i have sufficient coverage for life.

It so happened that my recent request to upgrade my existing ILP plan got rejected due to high cholesterol and mild fatty liver. Consulted GP and ask me to diet and exercise. No medication is needed at the current stage.

My current agent is not so "active" now after i rejected his 1 mil life insurance proposal recently.

Any advise from sifu here?
Best you try again some months later. In the mean time, maybe get your cholesterol and fatty liver levels down by doing what the doctor said, and also drink plenty of water regularly.

On that note, maybe you can tell him/her that you're looking for medical and CI coverage instead of life?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1119sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:06 AM