Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

JIUHWEI
post Mar 9 2019, 11:43 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Mar 9 2019, 11:17 AM)
Maybe my ge agent is not keen on small increase in premium for medical plan upgrade. I can afford a RM500/mth life insurance plan but i just dont need that as i already have sufficient coverage and own planning.

Anyway, thanks for your advise. I will start to exercise from now on. Hopefully will improve my cholesterol level. Fatty liver has no cure so far according to GP. Need to maintain healthy lifestyle.
No lah... to be fair on your agent, maybe you can call him/her up and say "Hey, I am interested in the medical upgrade."

Sure do for you wan.
JIUHWEI
post Mar 10 2019, 12:17 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(dgg_123 @ Mar 9 2019, 10:57 PM)
Actually it hasn't been bought yet - but almost want to make payment already. The underwriting decision has already out and approved, they just informed me and told me to decide whether to proceed (buy) within this few days.

Undeniably its a product from a general insurance company.

I am just wondering the policy is safe to buy or not - like my original question, does the alteration clause and portfolio withdrawal condition matters that much? What is the actual risk in real life scenarios? (I know the theoretical scenario, but not real-life scenario) And just want to double confirm that the "This Policy will be renewable at the option of Insured Person subject to the terms, conditions and termination at each of the anniversary of the Policy date." means guaranteed renewable. Just that simple.

notworthy.gif
the policy is safe to buy or not.... Well, I am an agent as well as an end user just like yourself. I am active in both life insurance as well as general insurance.
Like all things in life, we assume the risks associated with our decisions.

With that said, I was shown a letter by a client's friend seeking help, which goes something like this "we do not invite you to renew with us".
You're obviously referring to a medical insurance. Why don't you buy it from a life insurance company? hmm.gif

JIUHWEI
post Mar 11 2019, 01:11 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Mar 10 2019, 02:39 PM)
Guys, i need travel insurance but for one-way flight only.
as I will be going to Germany for studies, so no return date

i went to pacific insurance to buy travel insurance, but they said i need to provide return date

where can I buy travel insurance for one-way trip? for lost luggage etc
What is the duration of your studies?

I do provide said travel insurance without needing a return date.

JIUHWEI
post Mar 11 2019, 12:20 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Mar 11 2019, 07:30 AM)
2 years
Yeah that works.

No return date necessary but I do need the name of your institution.

Continue in pm.
JIUHWEI
post Apr 3 2019, 12:46 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 2 2019, 07:08 PM)
I tot term insurance cheaper?
Yes it is.
However, in the long run you will find Permanent Life more worth it.

Of course, it is all relative. You'll have your own set of considerations wan mah.
JIUHWEI
post Apr 3 2019, 12:48 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 2 2019, 08:55 PM)
A little bit confused between Life vs PA, so is the following correct?

1) Most PA give out daily hospitalization/ICU allowance, weekly allowance for temporary disability whereas most Life Insurance does not.

2) Most PA do not cover death/totally or temporary disability due to non-accident cases aka natural causes

3) Most PA give out compensation due to injuries sustained eg: loss of speech/hearing or loss of sight, loss of fingers, etc

Is there any Life Insurance in the market that gives out daily/weekly allowances for hospitalization/temporary disability?
No.

However, you can add them as riders in an investment-linked life insurance.
JIUHWEI
post Apr 24 2019, 03:32 PM

1,309 posts

I think it is best to clear the air here.
The jargons here might be confusing.

Usually when we see "Whole Life" in an insurance context, it refers to a Life insurance policy that has a coverage for us, like the term mentioned, for our entire life.
In this region of the world, it means to age 100.
So if a Life insurance product tells you that it covers to age 100, then we may refer to the product as a "Whole Life" insurance policy.

On the other hand, almost nobody would use the term "Whole Life" in the context of a medical insurance policy.
However, most medical insurance plans in Malaysia now covers to age 100.
In essence, yes, we can understand it as a "Whole Life" policy too.
JIUHWEI
post Apr 24 2019, 03:34 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 23 2019, 04:56 PM)
Here got any AIA sifus?
My leader is also my sifu.

What's up?
JIUHWEI
post Apr 30 2019, 11:52 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(w3sley @ Apr 28 2019, 07:26 PM)
Since you are in this whole life topic, can I ask if whole life consider pre-existing condition since its life? Its abt death right?
It does. All applications will have to answer the health questionnaire, and it’s best we answer as is.
The logic being our health condition directly affects our chances to continue being alive.

With that said, the underwriting is less rigid relative to health insurance.

For example:
Let’s say I have high blood pressure and on constant medication, and my medication has been working and keeping my blood pressure stable.
For a health insurance application, the underwriter may impose a loading on me.
For a life insurance application, the underwriter may take me in as a standard case.

Please note that the above is just an example to prove a point, from my past experience handling a case.
Your application is still dependent on your blood pressure readings, the underwriter, etc.

JIUHWEI
post Apr 30 2019, 12:10 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(dun_panic @ Apr 30 2019, 01:47 AM)
my friend quote me a better looking Great Eastern Plan. with saving up to 80k. Alianz agent said no saving for my current plan..only investment. should i go with GET?
I have some experience with similar case. A client of mine told me he wants to switch to another insurer because the package looks better.
ILP plan to ILP plan. Very similar coverage, few ringgit difference.
Sure, no right, no wrong.

I told my customer
Let’s look at it this way.
I have met many customers who approached me to ask if I can offer something similar but cheaper?
Yes I can. But if you ask someone else can they go cheaper? Yes they also can.
If I come to you as a businessman, what also can. I want business ma, right?

Now do you want me to come to you as a businessman or as a good friend?

He said, as a friend lah. Sure got something, faster show me.

So I whipped out my laptop and show him how to go cheaper.

At the end of the day, the customer of mine bought the plan from the other agent, and introduced the other agent to me over lunch. Why? Because I showed him his other agent is being a very good friend to him and also share the same approach as I do, very thorough guy as well. We are still good friends till now as I meet with him at many industry events.

So what I wanna say is maybe you want to bring the GE quotation to your agent from Allianz that has been serving you. Try to run it through him (or her) and see what they say.

If I can be frank:
I believe an honest person wouldn’t play around with you between the words “savings” and “investments” in an insurance policy.

JIUHWEI
post May 3 2019, 12:16 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(dun_panic @ Apr 30 2019, 06:32 PM)
True also but i feel more confident n secure with the one that hv actual saving table than not transparent enough investment plan .
With saving plan I can get more than 80k after 30years which i can withdraw anytime i want, while the other one is investment plan that looks like its going to nowhere
Actually right, an ILP is perhaps the most transparent type of Whole Life insurance, compared to traditional policies (what we call savings plans, endowment plans, etc), it is even more transparent than universal life.

I hate to jump the gun, but i think your best bet is still bring the new quotation and run it through with your existing agent.

Maybe it is just me, but I can't help but to suspect somebody is trying to be smart with you, toying with the words "savings" and "investment"

Highly encourage you to run it through with your existing agent hmm.gif

With that said,
On the matter of "investment plan going nowhere" .... I doubt anyone bought an ILP with the intention of riding it as an investment vehicle.
I mean... the objective here is to insure yourself right? That's why you bought an insurance policy, right?

I highly encourage you to run through your objectives again before deciding.
Cuz... your current policy already accepted cover, why would you want to be subjected to underwriting again...if it is the same kind of coverage? <<< For young people, memang can't relate. But for older folks, this is a big deal man.

I believe many sifu-s here can agree on this

This post has been edited by JIUHWEI: May 3 2019, 12:22 AM
JIUHWEI
post May 16 2019, 10:33 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ May 10 2019, 08:46 AM)
It is just a guideline in terms of budgeting/financial planning as your premium will be affected by the following:

- Sex
- Smoker/non smoker
- Coverage

Find out your insurance needs first then you can discuss premium with your agent once that has been worked out.

The amount of premium paid is not the right indicator to determine if you’re over insuring yourself. Whether you are over insuring yourself depends on “Needs VS Coverage”.

Best,
Jiansheng
I approve this message.
And I endorse it.

Sometimes agent can be quite long winded, macam very 8 wanna know this and that.
But actually we want to do right by you guys, to be accurate.

If cheap is king... then we both lose cuz one day in the future you will surely come to our office and belanja nasi kari.
Confirm wan cuz I kena twice liao, referred cases cuz the first one the agent passed away from old age; the second one the agent kena stroke during an angioplasty procedure. The customer only got this face to see, they sound me up la... still wait what?
But of course after they vent and rant, I got remind them "when this policy was incepted, I was in kindergarten."

If it is too expensive, can tell us "eh why not i bend over and offer you my butt? knncb u think i print money ah?"
If it is not what you want, can tell us "I talk that time you got listen or not? Understand mandarin/english/bm/tamil/tagalog/indon/thai or not?"
If you feel you want to support your friend, but you are uncertain if your friend is pro enough yet, can tell him/her "eh can bring your agency manager along ah? I might have other questions"

Lidat mah...
The training nowadays is all about fact-finding, how to analyze, what to consider, keep an eye on sustainability, etc.

But if we, as the consumers, buy insurance (or any financial product for the matter) with the attitude like
"what is this guy gna hardsell me this time"
"what else can you offer, what else? What else?"
"See what is he/she gna present first, defo not gna buy anything from him/her"
"My friend pay very little only woh, how come yours so expensive?"

My friends, let's give our friends who join the insurance industry a chance to be "professional" and go through the fact-finding, financial health check, basically their level best at what they are trained to do. Otherwise everywhere you go you end up with "porfessional" agents hehe haha with you, tell a bunch of lies like "wah you look like you slimmer leh, change hair style leh, look better leh".... very song meh? Of course there's time to play and mingle, but there's also time to be serious lah.
When your agent is serious, maybe you want to listen to what he/she has to discuss with you. And participate in the discussion, go back and forth, share your goals and objectives, share your concerns. That's what we call a discussion mah. Otherwise you think agent come and meet with you for target practice meh

JIUHWEI
post May 21 2019, 02:17 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Jaschong @ May 21 2019, 11:48 AM)
Thanks for the feedback! I was aware of the relief, that's why i mentioned being skeptical of agents as some of them don't really know their stuff, and i don't know enough stuff to judge weather they know their stuff or not.

In this case the only draw for me to purchase a plan currently vs a later time is 1. Tax relief, 2. Being insured against illness that I may face and be exempted from insurance later on right?

I do have some questions though

1.How often is an insurance premium revised
2. If i were to have insurance now locally, i wouldnt be insured if i relocated overseas unless i get the specific rider plans, and if i don't, i'll have to cancel and come back and reevaluate the coverage again for pre-existing illness right? then my 2nd reason for getting insured is voided?
3. If my current organization's benefits are sufficient for me in medical and life since I have no dependent, and the next one isn't, it would be as simple as buying later right?
My attempt at answering your questions:

1. There's no fixed schedule, but with the few revisions in recent years, yes, I as an agent also want lots of answers from company. With that said, we can keep at the back of our minds that nothing goes unless Bank Negara approves it.

2. I think there's 2 parts to this question. I'll answer them separately.
a) Relocating overseas for X amount of years.
Just like any foreigners coming to work in our country, their employers have to insure them. It is required by law, and the same throughout the world. So while you're working overseas, your employer is required by law to insure you. Even if you're just there as a contract worker, your employer will explicitly mention if they will be insuring you, or they would require you to have a local medical insurance cover.

What happens to my local medical insurance while I am overseas?
Your local medical insurance will continue to be in effect (premiums need to be paid too).
How your local medical insurance will work is like this:
It will continue to cover your medical costs while overseas for 90 days from the date of your departure, up to however many days of hospitalization while overseas (depending on your policy).
Whatever medical attention you received for whatever condition while overseas will continue to be covered by your local medical insurance policy once you return to Malaysia and receive medical treatments in Malaysia at licensed, registered medical facilities.

3. Insurers do not discriminate. The only thing insurers care about is our health condition.
And the cost of insurance is there for our reference as well.

With that said, since you get tax relief for it, why not take advantage of it?
After all, if you don't spend it on medical insurance, the amount gets taxed. Why not get taxed less?

More importantly, why not get yourself insured now when you are healthy and able?

In terms of what to insure yourself with, I would like to echo cherroy here, which is to look into medical insurance and CI first. thumbsup.gif

Hopefully my logical reasoning resonates with you.
JIUHWEI
post May 23 2019, 11:24 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Vintage_X @ May 22 2019, 05:39 PM)
I’m 38 years old, non smoking.

Looking for AIA medical insurance with
1. CI, RM50k (this is a top up only as I already have RM150k from another policy)
2. Room and board 200
3. Waiver of premium

May I know how much is the premium?

If add on hospital income, how much is the additional premium?

Thank you?
Have you tried engaging your current servicing agent/writing agent that you purchased your existing policy from?

JIUHWEI
post May 27 2019, 04:50 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(stevencjh @ May 25 2019, 07:00 PM)
Yup.. That is y prudential agent told me there is a range from 80 to 85 depends on the economy! If the economy is good then maybe cash value can last 88 or 89...inside their apps got this range! But AIA apps dun show this range.. Just straight said until 100 yrs old! I would like to choose AIA if can last until 100 yrs old lo
The medical rider is a standard product that will cover till age 100.

The ILP on the other hand, you can choose the sustainability (30 yrs, age 70, 80, 100).

So what it means is, at the ILP maturity, you can have the option to continue on to keep the medical rider. But of course, at a very high COI at that age.

In a sense, it's betting that I pay lower COI till age 80, and I better die by then just to avoid paying higher COI charges.

Sorry ah, I'm quite blunt.
But I think better to be blunt than trying to sugar coat, prancing around an issue
JIUHWEI
post Jul 10 2019, 04:15 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 10 2019, 03:20 PM)
Hi anyone know any takaful operators or insurance companies that accept hep b carrier as client? This is for medical cardm don't  mind if got loading/exclusion just want to see whether there are plan out there for such individual.

Preferably takaful first. If there no takaful operators offer such plan then only maybe can consider taking insurance.
Yes there is. Only speaking for AIA Public Takaful here.

Upon application, we would need to do two things:
1. Blood Profile E
2. Attending Physician's Statement.

Then with these reports, the underwriters will decide to accept/reject, or what level of loading is required, or what kinds of exclusions to impose.

It all depends on the readings. More info in PM.
JIUHWEI
post Jul 10 2019, 10:59 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(KeyMochi @ Jul 10 2019, 09:51 PM)
Hi all. So my insurance application got rejected recently due to my mental illness history which is sucks + means other insurance sure will reject.

I asked my agent for the refund and he said needs 2 weeks before I can get my money back. Is it true because I kinda need to use money for other things. Tq
Yup, that's the standard TAT (turn-around time) for such procedures.

JIUHWEI
post Jul 10 2019, 11:18 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(KeyMochi @ Jul 10 2019, 11:09 PM)
Thank you smile.gif
Hope everything works out on your end man.
JIUHWEI
post Jul 11 2019, 11:10 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(patrickchun93 @ Jul 9 2019, 02:00 PM)
Hi all, any aia agent around? Mind explaining main difference between aia plus med and aia plus health?

Currently I have plus med 150 and booster. But came across aia plus health, it gives reward 1500 if no claim on that year.

Just want to know agents point of view
Yes you are right. However, the 1500 doesn't come in the form of cash reward ah.
It is accumulated in the Health Wallet.
You can use the amount in the Health Wallet for Prevention and Vaccinations, mobility and hearing support, Mental Health Benefit, etc.

You can actually opt to include A-Plus Health into your existing policy as a rider.
However, you may need to answer a health questionnaire.

JIUHWEI
post Jul 16 2019, 11:37 PM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(hammerjit @ Jul 16 2019, 02:39 PM)
hi any AIA sifu here?
What is A-Life Fleksi by AIA takaful? It states from 16yrs old onwards.
does it means dont need to tag to parent for 16 year old?
what are the coverages in this plan?
A-Life Fleksi is a Shariah-compliant Investment-Linked plan, with a wide range of riders, from critical illness, medical plans, PA, hosp. income benefit, etc.

Those under 16 can have their parents/guardian as the certificate owner.
Those over 16 can be the insured as well as the certificate owner on their own.

It is a Whole Life, Non-participating plan which has a profit-sharing feature between the insurer and the certificate holders. At the end of the financial year, whatever surplus will be shared 50-50 between the insurer and the certificate holders.

It also comes with the option between Wasi and Hibah to meet each individual's personal distribution wishes and requirements.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1146sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:10 AM