Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

SUSyklooi
post Jun 13 2019, 10:52 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 13 2019, 10:39 AM)
Hey guys there 2 types of insurance plan right, ilp and standalone one??? Wta which one is cheaper or are both the same over time?
googled and found this....

Medical insurance comes in two forms – a no-frills standalone medical plan, and a medical rider attached to a life policy such as an investment-linked plan (ILP).
The former covers hospitalisation and surgical expenses, while the latter also does that, in addition to paying a lump sum in the event of death and/or total and permanent disablement.

How to decide
So what should a policyholder do? When choosing between a standalone medical plan and a medical rider, one way is to assess your financial habits. FA Advisory’s Liau points out that premiums for both plans are not fixed as they are subject to reviews and increments in future.
“If a person has proper financial planning, and the discipline to invest the premium difference between a standalone medical plan and an ILP with medical rider, then a standalone medical plan may be more suitable,” he says. By contrast, if a person doesn’t have the discipline to save and invest regularly, an ILP may be a better option as it is a form of forced savings/investment. The plan, he adds, could help the person invest the additional premium to offset future increment in health premiums.

http://www.focusmalaysia.my/Income/when-to...ne-medical-plan

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...i21.OekAqEtEP-0

sweat.gif i think many had mentioned that in normal economic sense....standalone is better than ILP.....

but many had complaint too, that standalone insurance premium can / will increase termendously especailly at/after retirement age brackets....when that is the time we usually needed both of them (insurance) and money most

SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 05:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 17 2019, 05:32 PM)
I have the premium statement pdf, which insured people is my name, only the billing address belongs to my father, I wonder if this proof is enough for tax relief. I'm using AIA
The name just above the address is whose?

I hv a premium statement from aia too....
The address n name is mine.....
The insured name is my son
I am paying for it and claim tax reduction with it
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 08:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Jun 17 2019, 06:18 PM)
Same as you, but my father has fully claimed the tax relief using other insurances. Since this is extra, I wonder if I'm able to use it for myself.
i think cannot-lah...as my son is still in primary school, thus i am the policy owner, (I pay I claim), thus I think the owner of your policy is your dad.
(actually i was searching for this word)
see below post...

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jun 17 2019, 07:37 PM)
Just check who is the policy owner.

Best,
Jiansheng
SUSyklooi
post Jun 17 2019, 09:08 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 17 2019, 06:26 PM)
is ILP the annual payment is fix the same yearly? Bcs like my just medical package the annual payment will increase every 5 years and ya after 50 years and older the price you have to pay yearly is very high.
googled and found this...
thus depends on what you ILP bought
and also the "true' understanding of the "policy account"....
hmm.gif if policy account has not enough $$ to sustain the payment of COI as mentioned by (HOLOCENE at post above), then how?

https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...ld-brochure.pdf

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 17 2019, 09:12 PM

SUSyklooi
post Jun 26 2019, 11:01 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 26 2019, 08:46 PM)
Hi, My wife is looking for a medical card was quoted close to RM400 by AIA with their A Plus Health package with RM1500 value returned if did not claim in the particular year. Are there any other affordable packages?
looking at the brochure.....

why not select the PLAN 150 instead of Plan 200?

there are some differences in coverage, but would save much from the premium, if that is your concern/priority in selecting this A plus health plan.

there is a tips from that brochure too..
Tip: You can also enjoy lower premium, with our deductible option of RM300 per disability

https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...0(Compiled).pdf

note this too....
06 WILL MY COST OF INSURANCE INCREASE AS I GET OLDER?
As the Cost of Insurance for A-Plus Health is deducted depending on your attained age, it will increase as your age increases.

else you can ask your agent to suggest other affordable insurance plan that suit your current and future needs at the budget that is comfortable to you now and future.
goto to AIA website .....seek out the available plans,...get more info and prepare some homework and knowledge before asking your agent....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 27 2019, 06:05 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 8 2019, 02:38 PM

8,188 posts

grand mother story time of my life...

about 30 yrs ago,...being young and noob in many things....
I walked into the HQ of an insurance company
talked to the receptionist that I wanted to buy an insurance.
was then presented to one.
cannot recall what we talked, but ended up bought a policy with a 40k coverage for 1044 pa premium.
paid deligently for > 10 yrs, then since bank had some money, set it on auto payment mode for the next 19 yrs....

just last month, checked with them...the surrender value is 52k....that is the money that i can take back if i terminate the policy....now in the process of applying to get it

SUSyklooi
post Jul 8 2019, 02:54 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Jul 8 2019, 02:45 PM)
Anyhow, I've asked them to communicate with me via email. Any of your customers got the 'letter of notification' to impose new loading or exclusion on renewal for ILP?
I got new loading and exclusion on my NEW policies upon buying new one....
1 company excluded it, the other put in loading for it.....

none, put in loading or amend exclusion on my existing policies with them...
SUSyklooi
post Jul 8 2019, 11:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Jul 8 2019, 03:36 PM)
Yes, if you were purchase new policy without take-over endorsement. You definitely will have loading OR exclusion OR rarely both.
Nope, its AIA wording. I am quite firmiliar with GI products but not Life products. Esp on ILP.
notworthy.gif kind to elaborate more on this?
hmm.gif wondering why my agents from 2 companies did not know about that....

was only told that I could write to have the exclusion/loading waived after some yrs.....
SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2019, 12:08 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(crusher @ Jul 9 2019, 11:40 AM)
Not sure about life's policy. GI standalone medical card can be take over from any other insurer's medical card product without reunderwriting. How it works basically during submission of the new application, you need to fill up another form under take over together with existing policy
when apply new,...one must declare pre existing condition....thus exclusion/loading won't apply?
SUSyklooi
post Jul 15 2019, 09:17 PM

8,188 posts

last time I was enticed to buy an insurance policy that "promised" that I can stop paying premium after 10 yrs, for the money inside will self generate money to pay for the premium.....

after 10 yrs, I asked the company...they said the money inside is not able to sustain the premium payment, thus I need to continue to pay.....extra 20 yrs later I am still paying....

I guess, it is high time BNM have some control over this sustainability of premium payment products...
SUSyklooi
post Jul 18 2019, 07:19 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(noobmaster99 @ Jul 18 2019, 11:35 AM)
Hi guys, thank you for the advice  smile.gif . My agent is from GE, I am reluctant to sign any exclusion clause, maybe I will consider a difference insurance company.

After that attack, I have fully recovered. There was no attack again. It seems like GE is not willing to negotiate on exclusion clause, so chances to remove the exclusion clause is pretty slim.

BTW, I have paid for the premium 2 months in advance in June. My agent is rushing to get me to sign-up the premium before July, reason she gave is there will be huge increase in premiums/plans from July onwards. I would like to know more about this sweat.gif  sweat.gif
shocking.gif  doh.gif  better get another agent......in the beginning already "misinformed"

Insurance premiums unchanged
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/06/11/nsurance-premiums-unchanged-for-investment-linked-product-policies/

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...131.xvwOpnOA43o

My agent told me once I sign the exclusion my premium will be active. In the event I wanted to cancel, I'm still entitled for full refund right?

Read the below posts for the 15 days cooling period to get back full refund - any other medical exam fees.

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 18 2019, 01:14 PM)
this 15 days period is from the date printed on the policy or from the date it was confirmed receipt by the policy owner?
if the latter, how to confirm date of receipt?
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jul 18 2019, 02:41 PM)
It is the latter.

Upon receiving your policy booklet, you'll have to sign a document confirming the date you received the policy booklet.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jul 18 2019, 03:08 PM)
it will be based on the date written on the receipt of the policy.

If your policy is electronic then it's based on when you click acceptance of the policy in your online account.
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jul 18 2019, 03:34 PM)
upon the date of receiving the policy contract by the policyowner. date of receipt is confirm through acknowledgement by the policyowner through an acknowledgement slip attached together with the policy contract.
SUSyklooi
post Jul 28 2019, 12:34 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(comme_play @ Jul 28 2019, 12:26 PM)
Thanks for all the replies. Can any agent help me with this? I don't mind changing agent coz i sounds like my agent just wants to make money from me only.
while waiting for their responses,....do consider this.....
what you goona do while waiting for their responses...time is ticking....

QUOTE(comme_play @ Jul 27 2019, 07:22 PM)
Hi Jiansheng, is there such option? coz i heard 1mil coverage is the minimum nowadays. If it's possible I would have to act quick to cancel within the free look period as I already took the package.
SUSyklooi
post Aug 2 2019, 11:12 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(mrcoolku @ Aug 2 2019, 10:43 AM)
Hi guys, i had try to buy etiqa product through online but the application is failed due to BMI issue. Isn't that overweight should be only loading with higher premium? And does that mean i am declined from insurer? If that is the case, it will be hard for me to buy insurance from other insurer right? worry...
do take note of the below 2 posts if you are interested....

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 2 2019, 11:08 AM)
in Oct 2017,

Allianz Malaysia Bhd has launched Allianz 3H Cover, an insurance plan for patients with “3 Highs” — high cholesterol, high blood pressure and a high Body Mass Index (BMI).
The insurance company said patients with these pre-existing conditions can usually be turned down from getting a protection plan, which is the drive behind the product design.
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Aug 2 2019, 11:09 AM)
yes this product is still available. even the diabetes one is available too.  smile.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2019, 01:22 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(beyinbe @ Aug 20 2019, 01:11 PM)
Yeah I'm aware of the risk I took, but my question is more on why not inform me earlier?
I actually checked with him a few times before I decided to do the scope, never once did he mention about investigative procedures are not claimable if no surgeries involved.

But yes I'll consider this a lesson learnt sad.gif
if you are free, can check with your agent, if the next time you wanted to buy a new insurance plan....will they exclude that part of the body or put loading in it?

I did admission then do both gastroscopy n colonscopy without any surgery,...the condition of admission just faded away....
(discharging blood,...from bowel,....after that investigation, they found nothing abnormal)

claimed all the medical expenses....but years later whenever I wanted to buy new insurance plan,...they will excludes everything "sort of" related to intestines and parts in it
SUSyklooi
post Aug 20 2019, 01:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(beyinbe @ Aug 20 2019, 01:28 PM)
Sorry what's loading? Like additional premium for that part of body?
Buying new insurance plan from any company or the same company?
loading means additional cost if they wanted that parts to be insured ...they have the final says to excludes, loads or normal.

that existing insurance company and others too, when I need to declare past admission histories to them
SUSyklooi
post Aug 25 2019, 12:37 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Aug 25 2019, 12:13 PM)
Any advice for my dad who is retiring soon? He will need to get a medical card. Anything else?
is his retirement saving enough to sustain the added premium cost of this medical card?
if you are paying for it....will this cost be a burden to you?
is his health and past lifestyle healthy? any medical history> his family medical history?
will is his mode of moving around be more dangerous? ex. ride motorbike more than car?

SUSyklooi
post Sep 11 2019, 09:43 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Sep 11 2019, 09:11 AM)
thanks kbandito and ckdenion. Still thinking is it possible to lock the current fee when im still consider young and healthy....
do check it out in the mkts...
I was once shown 2 options in Sept 2018...
1 with a lower annual premium but the premium shown will be increase in relation to the age range grouping of about 5 yrs once.
the other was at a much higher premium but the premium did not increase ...was shown in the plan that it stays for 30 yrs. (maybe due to my age starts and expected end duration ha-ha)
reasons for the "fixed premium" was, as you pay higher premium now, the extra would be accumulated to cater for the increases of the cost of insurance in later years.....
go check it out with AIA regarding that.......

so you are literally locking in the premium paid now for the next few decades.... biggrin.gif

SUSyklooi
post Sep 16 2019, 10:25 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 12 2019, 09:01 AM)
Let say the policy owner, and the person covered is different person... what happens when the policy owner dies?
QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 16 2019, 09:21 AM)
yes payor benefit included
If i remembered correctly.....
The insured will continue to enjoy the insurance coverage as per the duration terms stated in the policy without having to pay for it.
I think this was the agent preach to me some years back...
I got to enjoy the tax relief and while my not yet schooling sons got to enjoy the coverage even i am gone.
SUSyklooi
post Oct 2 2019, 09:18 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Oct 2 2019, 09:11 AM)
if i no longer need medical card, can I just let it lapsed, or have to give notice to the insurance provider?
I think it depends....do you have accumulated "bonus/cash value" sort of things inside?

if I just stopped paying my monthly premium for my PA and it will just lapse after 1 month.....that is according to my agent.....for my PA has nothing extra value accumulated in it
if you really wanted to cancel...better check if there is any accumulation in it...maybe can still get back some $$
SUSyklooi
post Oct 2 2019, 07:04 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Oct 2 2019, 03:53 PM)
the medical card is standalone. my concern is like if kena blacklist from the insurance company, or got negative impact on my ccris/ctos
insurance is you pay, they covers you....
you don't pay they don't cover you

unless you get loan from them without paying.....

what is the reason for "blacklist from the insurance company, or got negative impact on my ccris/ctos"

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1154sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:58 PM