Buying Advice Canon EOS 350D and Nikon D40X, Which one is better
TSjacksontham
Jun 11 2007, 10:45 PM, updated 19y ago
i decided to buy a new camera ..............but dont know Canon EOS 350D and Nikon D40X which want is better ...............
before that i got using a semi-pro camera and a old SLR camera ~~~~~
i need some suggestion ............ which want is better and how much is the price for these DSLR camera ~~~~~~
This post has been edited by jacksontham: Jun 13 2007, 06:11 PM
R a D ! c 4 L
Jun 11 2007, 10:55 PM
Linc | Nox
i'd suggest canon, just because of it has the AF motor and the D40x don't. Lens selection will be your next big issue next time. You'll face problems finding the right lens next time if u use the D40x. While canon L lens are costly, there are other options like sigma and tamron.  You do the choosing man.
AlamakLor
Jun 11 2007, 11:37 PM
the canon want is shure better lar....the af points + ai servo oledy tarpaued D40's 3 point AF. otehr stuff already mentioned above. But be adviced that if you ever slap a 70-200mm on the 350..it will look like a midget with a big pen1s
calvin_gsc
Jun 11 2007, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(jacksontham @ Jun 11 2007, 10:45 PM) i decided to buy a new camera ..............but dont know Canon EOS 350D and Nikon D40X which want is better ............... before that i got using a semi-pro camera and a old SLR camera ~~~~~ i need some suggestion ............ which want is better and how much is the price for these DSLR camera ~~~~~~ Check out the market price here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4761&hl=vladmirI would say go for the 350d~!
nairud
Jun 12 2007, 12:00 AM
One Leg Kick Ultra
QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jun 11 2007, 11:37 PM) the canon want is shure better lar....the af points + ai servo oledy tarpaued D40's 3 point AF. otehr stuff already mentioned above. But be adviced that if you ever slap a 70-200mm on the 350..it will look like a midget with a big pen1s D40x is around that size also. slap at 70-200 on it also it'll look like midget with a big pen1s
AlamakLor
Jun 12 2007, 12:23 AM
and the D40 doesnt have option for vertical grip. the 350D does...makes it a bigger midget.
aichiban
Jun 12 2007, 12:28 AM
u know D40x is better why settle for 350D?
g88
Jun 12 2007, 12:53 AM
aiyo...debate again ar ?? BEST GO TEST OUT THE CAMERA YOURSELF la..don't because OTHER said this brand is good or this model is good then you go buy blur blur...w/o knowing what u want.
You might regret later.
julchin_09
Jun 12 2007, 01:49 AM
The D40X not as good an option as the ageing 350D meh? Hmmm..... I haven't checked out the full specs sheet but I thought it would be a better choice as it has advanced since the days the 350D was launched and upgraded from the original D40. But I only know CANON and I can't really influence this decision except wonder.......
barlogteoh
Jun 12 2007, 07:56 AM

I think u can compare the camera spec such as pros n cons from the opinion of sifu here.
The important issue is which 1 u like n need.
nairud
Jun 12 2007, 09:01 AM
One Leg Kick Ultra
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jun 12 2007, 01:49 AM) The D40X not as good an option as the ageing 350D meh? Hmmm..... I haven't checked out the full specs sheet but I thought it would be a better choice as it has advanced since the days the 350D was launched and upgraded from the original D40. But I only know CANON and I can't really influence this decision except wonder....... I'd say D40x WB would be better than 350D but with 3 focus points and only AFS lenses? It's up to him to decide
shinchan^^
Jun 12 2007, 09:29 AM
D40 + 18-200mm VR D40 + 55-200mm VR D40 + 70-300mm VR D40 + 17-55mm F/2.8 D40 + 70-200mm VR F/2.8 D40 + 24-70mm F/2.8 D40 + 105mm VR F/2.8 yum yum..
dun worry D40 wont last u long u will get another main body and d40 would be ur 2nd body lol
This post has been edited by shinchan^^: Jun 12 2007, 09:54 AM
tom_k3nt
Jun 12 2007, 09:52 AM
After reading all the reviews around... I think will go for D40x... but if u compare D40x and 400D... I think i will go for 400D... jUst my 2 cents... Go read around, play around.. choose what u want~
shinchan^^
Jun 12 2007, 09:53 AM
D40X + 18-55mm ED II + D40 + 55-200mm VR is a very good starter
This post has been edited by shinchan^^: Jun 12 2007, 09:54 AM
Red Maniac
Jun 12 2007, 10:13 AM
Go for Nikon D80 if your budget permit.
Otherwise, I think the Canon 400D is a better choice than the 350D.
The Star's InTech section have many articles on DSLRs (incl. D40X and E-410).
This post has been edited by Red Maniac: Jun 12 2007, 10:18 AM
sinister
Jun 12 2007, 10:28 AM
any of the camera is good enough.. it's how u use it is the most important thing
HenryLow
Jun 12 2007, 11:17 AM
liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
image processing ler, D40 good la... af points ler, 350D... sample picture from D40 + 18-55II ---> click HERE
g88
Jun 12 2007, 11:48 AM
Look like Nikon-nian is more then Canon-nian here...hehehe
julchin_09
Jun 12 2007, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 12 2007, 09:53 AM) D40X + 18-55mm ED II + D40 + 55-200mm VR is a very good starter What kind of poison is this  Its a killer......
HenryLow
Jun 12 2007, 12:23 PM
liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
Both also got pros and cons ler...
Technology wise ler, i am sure D40 will do better than 350D... But Focus Points wise ler, 350D definately dapaoed D40... (7FP vs 3FP)
Buy what you need and what u want...