Remapping / ECU tunning / Tune, The mechanics behind it ?

Quazacolt
post Jan 3 2019, 03:55 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 17 2018, 11:33 AM)
so .. you considering spending .. 3k++ for full system and ECU just for 5hp gain (if can) and awesome loud noises presence on the road?

and those money you will spend all on a R25?

you got the wrong bike buddy...
I spent almost that for 0 power gains on my R25
Quazacolt
post Jan 3 2019, 04:08 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4638131/+20
Not bad stuck by your words.

Words of caution:
1) Chipping/breaking exhaust valves (ironically this didn't happen on my bike)
2) snapping con rods
3) badly filled front forks
4) 3 recalls
5) burning wirings
6) burning stator coils and/or rectifiers
7) burning wiring sockets
ajaibman
post Jan 3 2019, 10:25 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 3 2019, 03:55 AM)
I spent almost that for 0 power gains on my R25
You didn't brake at corner with that Ohlins .....
Quazacolt
post Jan 3 2019, 12:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 3 2019, 10:25 AM)
Lies sad.gif
ajaibman
post Jan 3 2019, 01:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 3 2019, 12:22 PM)
Lies sad.gif
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
mADmAN
post Jan 3 2019, 01:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 3 2019, 10:25 AM)
i am also a witness to this
Quazacolt
post Jan 3 2019, 01:37 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 3 2019, 01:36 PM)
i am also a witness to this
main 3p wub.gif
TSkshen
post Jan 4 2019, 03:29 PM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 3 2019, 04:08 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4638131/+20
Not bad stuck by your words.

Words of caution:
1) Chipping/breaking exhaust valves (ironically this didn't happen on my bike)
2) snapping con rods
3) badly filled front forks
4) 3 recalls
5) burning wirings
6) burning stator coils and/or rectifiers
7) burning wiring sockets
Thanks . Damn , that list makes me tremble. Is there a specific year model that all of those have occured? How does one know whether above has occured? Still relatively new with this bike. I'm praying that the 2018 models would be corrected from most of these problems since my bike didn't fall under the models for HLY's recent recall.
Quazacolt
post Jan 4 2019, 03:30 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Jan 4 2019, 03:29 PM)
Thanks . Damn , that list makes me tremble. Is there a specific year model that all of those have occured? How does one know whether above has occured? Still relatively new with this bike. I'm praying that the 2018 models would be corrected from most of these problems since my bike didn't fall under the models for HLY's recent recall.
should be corrected.

praying more maybe helps.

my bike power train/engine etc all bone stock.
mADmAN
post Jan 4 2019, 05:04 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Jan 4 2019, 03:29 PM)
Is there a specific year model that all of those have occured?
in Quaza's case.... not year manufacture problem...

but rider problem

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 4 2019, 05:05 PM
TSkshen
post Jan 6 2019, 12:13 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 4 2019, 03:30 PM)
should be corrected.

praying more maybe helps.

my bike power train/engine etc all bone stock.
I see, did you experienced any of the aforementioned problems during your time with the R25 ?

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 4 2019, 05:04 PM)
in Quaza's case.... not year manufacture problem...

but rider problem

I've been told the same as well. Do you know what handling methods would cause the problems listed above? Or rather the proper steps in handling a bike? Would like to ask because I've just started riding and have no idea whether the way I ride is considered detrimental towards the bike, perhaps I could get some inputs from the sifus here. Here's what I've been doing/faced so far :

1) Riding around gear 3-4 at 30-40km/hr within town area (maybe less, I don't often see my speedometer as of now) - reason being I'm still not ready for highway rides, even for a short distance. Still learning how to upshift at the right RPM, but usually I upshift around 5000rpm for gears 3-4 , but for gear 1, usually at around 1000-2000 rpm i'd shift to gear 2.

2) Rev-matching when downshifting - At times i do experience a bit of a jerk with a somewhat-loud engine roar, could be improper rev matching ?

3) Coming to a halt at gear 3 then only shifting down to gear 1 while stationary - was been told that this is okay for the bike

4) The standard checks for coolant, brake oil (front and back), engine oil and lubing the chains

5) Speed bumps - Sometimes I come in a bit too fast but not until the point it hits the chasis or engine (no sounds of materials scratching?) but the bike has that "oomph" feeling whereby you can upward force travelling throughout balls till your head.

6) At times when slowing down (eg: when a car slows down right infront of me) I tend to forget pulling in the clutch which causing the bike to have that jerky-soon-to-stall feeling , but never has it ever stalled because I'd pull in the clutch and downshifting + rev match.

7) When approaching the red light, I'd drag/press the rear brakes and pull in the clutch (plus cutting off the throttle) and gently pull in the front brakes, will pulling in the clutch while the bike is moving be harmful? I've heard some say it'd "eat" the clutch.

8) Avoided gravels , muds and stuff

9) Giving the bike a bit of throttle while letting go the clutch slowly during take-off

10) Currently breaking in the R25 until i reach 1000km by not exceeding 7,000rpm as per what the manual stated. But at times, still a virgin biker, I tend to throttle to much with the clutch pulled it, causing the rpm to raise pretty high (but not till red line) while stationary. This happened 3-4 times since the 1st day while taking-off at a traffic light which just turned green.

Lastly, thank you to those who helped notworthy.gif notworthy.gif I hope my long silly questions are not too extreme

This post has been edited by kshen: Jan 6 2019, 12:18 AM
Quazacolt
post Jan 6 2019, 12:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Jan 6 2019, 12:13 AM)
I see, did you experienced any of the aforementioned problems during your time with the R25 ?

2) Rev-matching when downshifting - At times i do experience a bit of a jerk with a somewhat-loud engine roar, could be improper rev matching ?

3) Coming to a halt at gear 3 then only shifting down to gear 1 while stationary - was been told that this is okay for the bike

4) The standard checks for coolant, brake oil (front and back), engine oil and lubing the chains

5) Speed bumps - Sometimes I come in a bit too fast but not until the point it hits the chasis or engine (no sounds of materials scratching?) but the bike has that "oomph" feeling whereby you can upward force travelling throughout balls till your head.

6) At times when slowing down (eg: when a car slows down right infront of  me) I tend to forget pulling in the clutch which causing the bike to have that jerky-soon-to-stall feeling , but never has it ever stalled because I'd pull in the clutch and downshifting + rev match.

7) When approaching the red light, I'd drag/press the rear brakes and pull in the clutch (plus cutting off the throttle) and gently pull in the front brakes, will pulling in the clutch while the bike is moving be harmful? I've heard some say it'd "eat" the clutch.

8) Avoided gravels , muds and stuff

9) Giving the bike a bit of throttle while letting go the clutch slowly during take-off

10) Currently breaking in the R25 until i reach 1000km by not exceeding 7,000rpm as per what the manual stated. But at times, still a virgin biker, I tend to throttle to much with the clutch pulled it, causing the rpm to raise pretty high (but not till red line) while stationary. This happened 3-4 times since the 1st day while taking-off at a traffic light which just turned green.
Lastly, thank you to those who helped  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  I hope my long silly questions are not too extreme
Pay attention to my post, notice there was only one item I mentioned didn't happen to my R25.
sad.gif

2) yes.

Is your bike new or used?
TSkshen
post Jan 6 2019, 11:37 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 6 2019, 12:00 PM)
Pay attention to my post, notice there was only one item I mentioned didn't happen to my R25.
sad.gif

2) yes.

Is your bike new or used?
Wow fck me sidways, that's a lot of problems . It's new 2018 model.

EDIT: What do you think of no.3 ? Downshifting at a stop.

This post has been edited by kshen: Jan 6 2019, 11:39 PM
mADmAN
post Jan 7 2019, 10:41 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Jan 6 2019, 12:13 AM)
I've been told the same as well. Do you know what handling methods would cause the problems listed above? Or rather the proper steps in handling a bike? Would like to ask because I've just started riding and have no idea whether the way I ride is considered detrimental towards the bike, perhaps I could get some inputs from the sifus here. Here's what I've been doing/faced so far :

Lastly, thank you to those who helped  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  I hope my long silly questions are not too extreme
1/ fine as long as ur comfy with it
2/ yes
3/ this is fine. i sometimes do from 6th on my bike lol
4/ can do this when u service but no harm taking a peek every now n then. for lubing chain, i recommend lubing every time u fill a full tank. wash once a month minimum
5/ normal... slow down lor
6/ usually fine, best to avoid
7/ what ur doing is fine. clutch is only "eaten" when its engaged. pulling the clutch disengages it. stop listening to those some people.
8/ yes
9/ thats how ur supposed to do it
10/ no worries. its fine.

Quazacolt
post Jan 7 2019, 10:47 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kshen @ Jan 6 2019, 11:37 PM)
Wow fck me sidways, that's a lot of problems . It's new 2018 model.

EDIT: What do you think of no.3 ? Downshifting at a stop.
Doesn't matter on 3
TSkshen
post Jan 8 2019, 10:39 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 7 2019, 10:41 AM)
1/ fine as long as ur comfy with it
2/ yes
3/ this is fine. i sometimes do from 6th on my bike lol
4/ can do this when u service but no harm taking a peek every now n then. for lubing chain, i recommend lubing every time u fill a full tank. wash once a month minimum
5/ normal... slow down lor
6/ usually fine, best to avoid
7/ what ur doing is fine. clutch is only "eaten" when its engaged. pulling the clutch disengages it. stop listening to those some people.
8/ yes
9/ thats how ur supposed to do it
10/ no worries. its fine.
Thank you bro for the answers and guide.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 7 2019, 10:47 AM)
Doesn't matter on 3
Thanks bro.

Thank you guys once more. Really appreciate the replies , especially towards the silly questions

0.0143sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:55 PM