Hi guys, so lately I've been doing some brief reading on tuning and remapping, and have a few questions. Excuse my lack of knowledge , still learning here for some future projects. I know tunning and remapping are essential if you change to a full exhuast system, to ensure the ECU is working appropriately from the huge air intake (from the exhaust system). In turn it adds some HP and prevents engine damage (though I've read you can tune based on what you want? E.g. fuel economy, more HP, etc...). Here are some of my questions.
1) How does tunning/remapping work? Like does it recode the codes of the bike's ECU from the factory? Won't the engine parts be a limitation no matter how much the ECU is being recoded to balance the fuel and air intake? Do they like add in additional structural parts to the bike's engine? By doing either, will it be detrimental towards the bike engine since the makers have made the bike specifically to perform optimally?
2) What are the steps in remapping a bike following a complate full system exhaust change?
3) I've heard that to tune a bike , there are different types of auto tuners? And each are coded differently?
4) also read that if the tuner (the person who's tuning your bike) isn't knowledgeable, he could possible ruin the bike ? If so, what are the basic parameters one needs to know when tuning?
5) what are the best recommended auto tuners specifically for the Yamaha r25 (yes, not a worthy bike for tuning, but hey why not lol) ? Or are all auto tuners universal?
6) any recommendations for a reputable shop who knows how to tune properly? Preferably for Yamaha r25. What about these - tuneboss and motodynamics ?
7) Thank you for reading these long thread. I hope to learn from the sifus here.
Remapping / ECU tunning / Tune, The mechanics behind it ?
Dec 15 2018, 08:06 PM, updated 7y ago
0.0277sec
5 queries