30 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The iPhone XR Discussion Thread | V2, Brilliant. In every way.

attw
post Dec 14 2018, 03:38 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Dec 14 2018, 01:02 PM)
I thought that XR already has awesome battery life wor
It does, but my curiosity with gadgets is hard to satisfy laugh.gif

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 14 2018, 02:16 PM)
Wah  shakehead.gif
But why???
Basically I had the S8+ for about a month, and the difference isn't that significant. In fact, I felt the battery life was worse off.

This post has been edited by attw: Dec 14 2018, 03:40 PM
attw
post Dec 14 2018, 04:21 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 14 2018, 03:50 PM)
then u sell off to buy wat phone?
Android phones I have tried this year: -

Mi A1 -> Redmi 5 Plus -> Galaxy S9 Plus -> P20 Pro -> Zenfone Max Pro M1 -> Note 9

iPhones that I owned this year: -

iPhone X -> iPhone 8 Plus -> iPhone Xs Max -> iPhone Xr

Currently using iPhone Xr and keeping the Zenfone Max Pro M1 as a backup phone, Xs Max with my better half. All other phones sold biggrin.gif

Note: Do not try this at home - unless your wife is very understanding of your obsession with gadgets.
attw
post Dec 14 2018, 07:41 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(cyapd @ Dec 14 2018, 05:01 PM)
I'm torn between otterbox commuter and spigen tougher. Tough armor was all I've ever used and it never failed me at all. The red is so sexy lolol
I used the Commuter for my iPhone 6S Plus previously. It's built like a brick! Definitely offers protection for your phone but it's not the slimmest or most elegant in design. Tough Armour is nice too but you need to be mindful of removing it every once a while to clean the back otherwise you'll see a circle mark etched to the back of your phone where the cut out for the logo is biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Reventon @ Dec 14 2018, 06:32 PM)
Lol , where you offload the device when you changed for a new one ? How much lost usually ?
Haha, usually I offload them here in Garage Sale or Mudah. Since I came across the evil known as Qoo10 coupons (and the Shopback rebate that comes with it), my losses have been fairly minimum on the Android devices. Usually only around RM100-RM200, but that's also mainly because I don't keep them for very long. In fact, I've managed to break even on the S9 Plus and Note 9 (because of the free Galaxy Gear). I keep my iPhones for much longer and they usually get passed on to my wife and then I sell off her older one so that one the loss is quite substantial but I guess that's the price to pay for being an Apple user.
attw
post Dec 15 2018, 09:03 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Dec 14 2018, 10:07 PM)
you the man. rich man  laugh.gif
Not rich la bro, more like spending on a hobby or a bad habit (like cigarettes or beer, hahaha)

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 15 2018, 06:43 AM)
guys. just wanna ask. if an iphone is required to get a turbosim in order to function in malaysia. is it safe buying? and it has 1 year apple store warranty of course but its turbosim. you guys can check out www.mwc.com

just wondering if its safe. i scare data leak or something then gg hahaha
I would personally avoid turbo SIM sets for the hassle, especially when you need to reset your phone or warranty claims. There have been reports in the past of hackers gaining access to iPhones via turbo SIM but if I remember correctly those were pretty isolated.
attw
post Dec 15 2018, 11:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 15 2018, 10:49 AM)
alright. thank you for the feedback guys! biggrin.gif
Why don’t you try this? The bro who posted it actually bought from them and can confirm it’s SIM free and unlocked.
attw
post Dec 15 2018, 01:21 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 15 2018, 12:44 PM)
may i know which platfrom is this? is it 11 street?
Yes it is smile.gif
attw
post Dec 15 2018, 06:08 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 15 2018, 04:28 PM)
Belum. Tgh cari partner in crime to share share
RM200 a bit too steep for me to spend on a case laugh.gif
attw
post Dec 16 2018, 08:47 PM

32,468 posts

iPhone XR - a month later

So all in all, I'm very happy with the Xr and I agree with most reviewers - it's the best value to performance for an iPhone in the market right now (note that I said iPhone and not phone).

And terima kasih if you took the time to read this whole post!

This post has been edited by attw: Dec 17 2018, 10:27 PM
attw
post Dec 16 2018, 09:03 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 16 2018, 08:54 PM)
Nicely said bro. I kinda attached to my XR even after 1.5 months of using it. Not so with my previous phone but XR still loving it. Usually it wear off after a month but not CR. Haha.
Haha, yeah, this Xr is quite a keeper. Apple better give us a good reason to upgrade next year! laugh.gif
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 08:08 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 16 2018, 10:04 PM)
XR would be perfect 11/10 if the phone width is abit lesser, somewhere to the point i can grip and type it one handed

but its a damn good phone, i now understand why apple will never release a 5.8" XR, it WILL cannibalise the XS so much
Actually I think the Xr is already eating into sales of the Xs and Xs Max just because of the price, and why not. It’s a damn good phone like you said smile.gif

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 16 2018, 10:14 PM)
Triple lens, fingerprint anywhere on touchscreen, OLED, 5G
Price stay the same.
Hahaha, knowing Apple, the price will never stay the same!

QUOTE(facktura @ Dec 16 2018, 10:22 PM)
Ah geram after reading your feedback, now i feel regret buying Xs during 12.12 sale, just because there is no good deal on dual sim XR can be found inany platform! T&L somehow lazy to sell good discount during that sale haha.
Yeah, I was one of the lucky ones to score a dual sim 128GB Xr for RM3188 during 11/11. Haven’t seen the same or better deal since. I think the Xs isn’t that much different from the X so I was only interested in the Xs Max and Xr this round.

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Dec 16 2018, 10:42 PM)
Very well said my friend... so will you change back to XS Max? or stick with XR
I’m sticking to the Xr bro - unless my wife’s 64GB Xs Max runs out of space and she asks to switch smile.gif

attw
post Dec 17 2018, 01:46 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 17 2018, 12:34 PM)
dont worry. i guess i am able to adapt to changes. ill just have to play my gfs ipx for many times and probably will get a hang of it hahaha
From experience, Android users moving to iOS will either appreciate and like it, or totally detest it and can’t wait to switch back. Let’s see which category you’ll fall into biggrin.gif
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 02:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 17 2018, 02:00 PM)
yeahh. will see and i read that you got an xr 128gb for 3.2k? thats a superb deal!!!
Yup, actually I got it at 3.1k. It was listed at Qoo10 for 3588, deduct 400 coupon = 3188 and used ShopBack for another 100 rebate. So nett at 3088 smile.gif

Kinda lucky to get the Red one coz that was the first colour to sell out!
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 05:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(deasa @ Dec 17 2018, 04:09 PM)
sama sama!
i baca habis this whole post leh.hahhaha

anyhow
after reading this review, I feel like i will go for XR
Thanks bro, haha. Happy if it helps someone!
attw
post Dec 17 2018, 10:25 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 17 2018, 06:15 PM)
Where can i find discounted iphone xr. I think i am not going for the xs route as it cost way too much. Am thinking to get ip7+ 128gb rm2499 but hardware looks a bit dated to pay that price.

Just retired my 6s+ (car got smash during hiking) so i didnt do any good backup thus difficulty to change to android..

Thanks for any sifu advise
No good deals at the moment for the Xr, but if you think the 7 Plus is dated maybe consider an 8 Plus or an X?

QUOTE(ftan @ Dec 17 2018, 07:23 PM)
Good review. Your longest review so far? tongue.gif

I’m glad I bought the XR. It was quite a smooth transition for my mom to use the xr with the Face ID, etc. She loves the bright color too.
Hahaha, now that I've read back my review, it is pretty lengthy! Putting a spoiler on it! Yup, the Xr is definitely a great buy!

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Dec 17 2018, 10:07 PM)
ip6 also don't have Touch ID ...
You mean no 3D Touch bro, but it does have Touch ID smile.gif
attw
post Dec 18 2018, 07:40 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Dec 18 2018, 04:05 AM)
may i know which AASP that accept warranty claim for oversea unit?

edit: btw how to check for water damage? already open the sim card tray but cannot see any liquid indicator there?
If you open the Sim tray and shine a light into it and don’t see any red color that means your unit is still Ok. The liquid contact indicator is a very tiny white or silver thing that’s hard to see if it’s not red.
attw
post Dec 18 2018, 07:58 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Dec 18 2018, 07:52 AM)
thanks for the reply. appreciate it
Most welcome. Getting a non-local set fixed at an AASP here really depends on luck though. Some people shared in the past after they got rejected by the AASP, they wrote an email to Apple and then Apple will provide assistance to instruct the AASP to proceed.
attw
post Dec 18 2018, 08:26 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 18 2018, 08:20 AM)
means that apple does not provide international warranty for all of its products?
No, iPhones do not have international warranty.
attw
post Dec 18 2018, 09:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 18 2018, 08:38 AM)
i see i see. sorry for asking. im too noob. means that if i get it online and its an imported set from maybe HK or SG. does that means that i will not have my warranty if theres something wrong with the phone.
Yes, so buying an imported set from a reputable seller is crucial in case anything goes wrong and if the AASPs here refuse to repair your unit. You can then go back to the seller as a last resort.
attw
post Dec 18 2018, 11:48 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 18 2018, 09:49 AM)
its a hassle. :/ means that if i bought an imported set from shopee / laz / qoo10, the best way is to contact the seller am i correct? and if i got a set from hk and theres something wrong with my iphone, i have to go all the way to sg to claim?
I bought HK sets for both my Xr and my wife’s Xs Max from a seller on Qoo10 namely T&L Telecom. If touch wood I bump into any issues I’d bring the sets to their office in KL. So yeah, if you’re buying imported sets from online platforms, make sure they are reputable sellers and it helps if they have a physical store and can at least promise you seller’s warranty, like buying other imported phones from other brands.

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Dec 18 2018, 09:50 AM)
okay  thank youu. thats the downside of getting an imported set isnt it? 😅😅😅
Yes it is biggrin.gif

The upside is it’s cheaper and I have dual physical sim. No need to wait for our telcos eSIM nonsense...

attw
post Dec 18 2018, 12:00 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Dec 18 2018, 08:11 AM)
Saw a lot from YouTube videos, they probably put inside water to wash in tap water still not an issue.

But in reality how come so easy to get in water 😂
I know TOMEI-R washes his phones with soap...

This post has been edited by attw: Dec 18 2018, 12:00 PM

30 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0566sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:04 PM