Public Bank Credit Cards V5, PB Visa Sig 6% & Quantum 5% Cash Back

LostAndFound
post Nov 26 2018, 02:52 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 26 2018, 01:12 AM)
I've called the CS..it says only 6/8 BigPay reloads was approved.
Wondering if the "un-approved" transaction will be picked up later by BigPay ?
Doesn't cost much to do extra 2 transactions 'just in case'.
LostAndFound
post Nov 26 2018, 09:54 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 26 2018, 07:24 AM)
Because of scared of losing out, everybody is ambushing to get it done right after midnight.
Do note that it's getting very competitive, by 0930, the pool is expected to be exhausted.
'everybody'.

But pool only finishes by 9.30.

bangwall.gif level of kiasuness assumes that everyone else just as kiasu.

Based on posting here maybe got a dozen people or so kiasu to do 12+ am. Counting other silent readers (let's say 5x as many, even 10x as many) that's 120 people, max.

30000/50 is 600.

I believe the cutoff time will never go before 7am, because would need 600 principle card holders to be that kiasu.
LostAndFound
post Nov 26 2018, 12:23 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 26 2018, 10:17 AM)
Only 4 weeks left... I will give up some of the final weeks... Time for good sleep and holiday...
QUOTE(wilson1149 @ Nov 26 2018, 11:21 AM)
Done 3x this week. lazy to chase liao... OTP keep jam.  bangwall.gif
rclxms.gif

I've never had problems, and my reload times vary a lot. Done 12+am, done 4am, done 6am, done 7am, done 8am, done 9am. Am surprised got people give up (surely Monday working day you'll wake up early?).
LostAndFound
post Nov 27 2018, 10:34 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 27 2018, 10:18 AM)
They could have earned a lot more if the cash back pool doesn't deplete so quickly and people keep spending throughout the week, hoping to get a share of the cash back pool. That scenario that you have just mentioned isn't the best case scenario.
There's a long feedback loop for that though. The perception of 'got chance' which prompts people to spend will last until the customer realises that actually no chance. Some would blur blur just never realise. Those who do realise will either give up or search around and find the methods we've been using here.

In the end only PBB will know whether there's a drop in spending after BigPay reload became widespread. If there is a significant drop in customer spend then likely to modify T&C.
LostAndFound
post Nov 29 2018, 09:25 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Nov 29 2018, 08:09 AM)
3rd transaction at 9.06am and the 5th at 9.31am  sad.gif
Out of curiosity, why such a large gap between transactions?
LostAndFound
post Dec 4 2018, 09:55 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Dec 4 2018, 09:16 AM)
T&C stated clearly how many days are given to you before they charged you any interest/fees, if PB willing to waive it then it's on their goodwill. No such thing as unofficial grace period.
Every bank I've ever had a card with has an unofficial grace period within which you do not get charged interest, even though it's pass the 20 days or whatever that they give you.

This is to allow for delays such as IBG, processing problems, etc.

Not something you can regularly rely on, but whenever I've been late by a day or two I have not been charged. More than that then need to beg/plead with CS.
LostAndFound
post Dec 4 2018, 12:00 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 4 2018, 10:40 AM)
Are you sure? Not that I'm aware of such option. What if people who are not employed?
Option to pay manually is always there.
Not sure if you pre-pay they won't deduct (don't think so). It's like your income tax.
LostAndFound
post Dec 4 2018, 09:43 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 4 2018, 07:45 PM)
I'm paying more than required plus earning some cash back from credit cards.
Outstanding is high (RM 50k) and don't want to burden myself now to pay off everything. I'm paying every month 2x more than required monthly installment. Already considered good enough compared to those never pay before. tongue.gif
Well the monthly deduction will be 1x only, so if you're already paying more.... still can manual pay (just don't gain AS much la).
LostAndFound
post Dec 5 2018, 10:17 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 5 2018, 07:37 AM)
I searched for this news to read again last night, it's between 2%-15%, I don't know how's it determined. Currently my monthly repayment is around 3% of my income and even the amount may be insignificant every month, I still prefer to pay with CC rather than cash. tongue.gif However, like LostAndFound said probably still can earn cash back, not that much only lo. laugh.gif
You can maintain your cashback amount, just have to pay out more only =). Our finance minister thanks you for your diligence.

EDIT: Week 18 cashback is out. I got full RM 50 for 5:50am transactions.

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Dec 5 2018, 11:58 AM
LostAndFound
post Dec 5 2018, 04:18 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(shmily86 @ Dec 5 2018, 04:03 PM)
bangwall.gif no cb

Mon, 29 October 2018 at 7:55 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 8:31 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 8:58 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 8:59 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 9:03 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 9:08 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 9:10 AM
Mon, 29 October 2018 at 9:12 AM
will be cont. makan telur for wk 19-22 dry.gif
Again.... why would you start at 7.55 and then wait long long till 8.58 for your third transaction?
LostAndFound
post Dec 6 2018, 10:43 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 6 2018, 10:17 AM)
Let me correct you:
Fortunately I don't have PTPTN Loan to settle. smile.gif
I actually wish I'd taken PTPTN loan last time, such low interest rate can jump start finances.
LostAndFound
post Dec 11 2018, 11:42 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Dec 11 2018, 08:35 AM)
Wait what?
I didnt get Week 20 but my trax is:

RM60.01 - 7:08
RM60.02 - 7:10
RM60.03 - 7:13 <-- quota ends here  bangwall.gif
RM60.04 - 7:15
RM60.05 - 7:16
RM60.06 - 7:17
RM60.07 - 7:xx - i cant find the sms
RM60.08 - 7:19

While my friend first tranx is 7:06 ends in 7:11 entitle RM50
Correct ah. When he finished 8 transaction (7:11) still got cashback. When you finish your 3rd transaction cashback finish di, so you don't get anything.

If your 3rd transaction was 7:11 you would have gotten the reduced cashback amount at least, probably.

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Dec 11 2018, 10:45 PM)
Want to know how Public Bank work.

Let say my statement balance is RM1000. And I receive WK 18,19,20 total RM150 cash back.

Then I need to pay my Credit Card RM850 or RM1000 instead before due date.
850. Assuming that W18/19/20 is received after your statement generated, of course.....
LostAndFound
post Dec 12 2018, 08:17 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Dec 12 2018, 07:52 AM)
I know, but it is not always true, and the bank can enforce it anytime. You are taking risk to get charged of interest but you get a few cents of saving.
Different bank different practice. If the practice changes will very quickly have notice here from those who habitually do this. And changing this is a matter of changing how their internal system processes cash back, which is a cost to the bank.

Most banks that allow cashback to offset in fact display something to indicate that, for example updating the minimum payment (MBB does this) or showing the cashback as payment received.
LostAndFound
post Dec 13 2018, 03:26 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 12 2018, 11:30 PM)
If I have plenty of purchases in that month it would be hard to track

I wonder if we are request the breakdown from pbb
Just use Excel, not hard. Some of us use more specialist software, but excel alone good enough if just for tracking of CB.
LostAndFound
post Dec 15 2018, 06:34 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Dec 14 2018, 03:44 PM)
If a person hold pbb supplementary card, can apply new main pbb cc as new to bank status?

Because technically supplementary card belong to primary owner.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 14 2018, 03:46 PM)
Nope, supplementary cardholders are no longer considered new to bank. Usually T&C will mention this.
My wife was holding Visa Sig supp from me, she managed to apply Quantum on RinggitPlus and receive free gift too.
LostAndFound
post Dec 17 2018, 10:41 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 17 2018, 01:16 AM)
if we already have cc with pbb, and we still need another cc.. we apply through rp or pbb, we need provide document and need them verify again?
Just go direct to PBB, you can't get any benefit using ringgitplus if you're existing cardholder.
LostAndFound
post Dec 24 2018, 03:36 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Dec 24 2018, 03:29 AM)
They say got. You need to scroll back or goto the v4 thread to look for the cutoff time where the allocation finished. It should be between 7am-9am Monday between Oct and Nov.
He asking about the standard RM30 cashback not the SN4M.
LostAndFound
post Dec 24 2018, 03:44 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 24 2018, 03:41 AM)
keep cant top up...should i give up lol server prob or pbb prob
BigPay problem. I took about 30 minutes to do 16 transactions (2 principles) 2 hours ago.
LostAndFound
post Dec 26 2018, 02:17 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Dec 26 2018, 11:43 AM)
I see, no wonder was not able to get it for the past few weeks, although spent on Monday/Tuesday. Used to be able to during the beginning of the promotion.

Is it due to the topup of Bigpay recently that the cash back is running out so fast?
QUOTE(talexeh @ Dec 26 2018, 01:54 PM)
Yes, it's almost 99% due to BigPay top-up but pretty sure it's not something recent.
You can see the chart a LYN-er posted some time back. Can definitely see the time moving earlier and earlier in batches of 4 weeks. That's because suddenly someone will report 'oh I missed Week X cashback even though it was at time Y' and then a whole bunch of users here feel scared and purposely aim for much earlier than Y, thus moving cut-off time earlier.

The first week to start that was week 16 I think, when someone reported missing cashback at 11 or 12. Since then keep getting earlier and earlier.
LostAndFound
post Dec 28 2018, 10:45 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Dec 28 2018, 10:32 AM)
PBB is fast, but not that fast! tongue.gif
I'm just glad PBB releases cashback from promo in batches and not wait to one shot at the end of campaign.

0.0820sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:11 AM