Age 30, wish to learn piano.
TStutuyao
Nov 19 2018, 05:28 PM, updated 7y ago
Hi everyone, I'm turning 30 next year and I have very basic to 0 knowledge in musical instrument. I used to play trumpet, euphonium, trombone and chinese flute for 2 years. But that was 13 years ago. wow! I still remember the symbols for music scores but don't expect me to read it fast anymore. Never touch music scores for more than a century. So people, do you think is it hard to start to learn piano at my age? I think the most challenging part is the fingering. Especially my left hand, alamak.. And what kind of piano or budget would you recommend for a starter? Thanks and have a great Monday!
ariffdude
Nov 20 2018, 10:16 AM
I started playing violin 4 years ago, now grade 8, aged 29. It's never too late to start. Not much classical background before that. It's all about discipline and persistence.
Are you living in an apartment? With family members? Who would mind the noise of a newbie? If yes, probably best to get one of those yamaha clavinova electric piano. Can use headphones with that, sure the sound might not be as good as an acoustic one, but it'll be good for a beginner.
TStutuyao
Nov 20 2018, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(ariffdude @ Nov 20 2018, 10:16 AM) I started playing violin 4 years ago, now grade 8, aged 29. It's never too late to start. Not much classical background before that. It's all about discipline and persistence. Are you living in an apartment? With family members? Who would mind the noise of a newbie? If yes, probably best to get one of those yamaha clavinova electric piano. Can use headphones with that, sure the sound might not be as good as an acoustic one, but it'll be good for a beginner. living in apartment by myself bro. staying alone. my reasons for getting a digital piano at first is because i can adjust the volume lah, secondly is budget issue too. i don't want to dive right in to get an expensive piano first yeah you're right. Self discipline and persistency is very important. Thanks!
Lego Warfare
Nov 21 2018, 06:09 PM
My mum started learning few months ago and the tutor was surprised with her progress. And she’s nearly 70 now...
TStutuyao
Nov 21 2018, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 21 2018, 06:09 PM) My mum started learning few months ago and the tutor was surprised with her progress. And she’s nearly 70 now... Wow, very inspiring. Thanks!!
rubrubrub
Nov 21 2018, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Nov 21 2018, 06:09 PM) My mum started learning few months ago and the tutor was surprised with her progress. And she’s nearly 70 now... wow. nice. older ppl/ retirees should opt to learn new skills in order to keep the brain and body healthy. kudos to your mom, man
pipedream
Nov 21 2018, 11:36 PM
Not hard to pick up as a hobby. But don't expect to go virtuoso level  gl buddy. Get one of those roland digitals around 3k myr
TStutuyao
Nov 21 2018, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 21 2018, 11:36 PM) Not hard to pick up as a hobby. But don't expect to go virtuoso level  gl buddy. Get one of those roland digitals around 3k myr i'm in the midst of choosing between yamaha p125 or roland rp30. both are around 3k.. i did some online research, both have their pros and cons..  have to wait the day i go to try it out myself at the store. no i don't intend to play like professionals on stage. but at least i can play most songs i want in 2 years.
pipedream
Nov 22 2018, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(tutuyao @ Nov 22 2018, 12:49 AM) i'm in the midst of choosing between yamaha p125 or roland rp30. both are around 3k.. i did some online research, both have their pros and cons..  have to wait the day i go to try it out myself at the store. no i don't intend to play like professionals on stage. but at least i can play most songs i want in 2 years.  I don't really like yamaha digital pianos, their acoustic is fine, but their digital is kinda weird. For me, touch preference is casio pianos, but sound is roland.
Lego Warfare
Nov 22 2018, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(tutuyao @ Nov 21 2018, 07:04 PM) Wow, very inspiring. Thanks!!  QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Nov 21 2018, 07:07 PM) wow. nice. older ppl/ retirees should opt to learn new skills in order to keep the brain and body healthy. kudos to your mom, man Thanks, she is quite good especially considering her age. But she practices everyday since she has the time.
ariffdude
Nov 23 2018, 02:49 PM
Check out CK music year end sale. Korg B1 is RM1732.
ilovestitch
Dec 6 2018, 01:49 PM
Korg SV1 I saw few years back, sound good! But the price is a bit high la, lol
Ulysses
Jan 20 2019, 11:43 AM
hey we are about the same age... i never play piano/keyboard... but I know how to play guitar (rhythm, some simple lead).
thinking the same to learn piano..
chanelutkw
Feb 8 2019, 02:39 PM
I know a little piano/keyboard, and am trying to figure out how to play guitar...
Ralna
Feb 10 2019, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(tutuyao @ Nov 21 2018, 11:49 PM) no i don't intend to play like professionals on stage. but at least i can play most songs i want in 2 years.  Can also consider play by ear courses; can play contemporary songs after a few lessons, as a hobby. That is if you don't wanna sit for exams, spend hours reading notes, practicising and learning techniques... to play mostly classical pieces.
TStutuyao
Feb 11 2019, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(Ralna @ Feb 10 2019, 03:03 PM) Can also consider play by ear courses; can play contemporary songs after a few lessons, as a hobby. That is if you don't wanna sit for exams, spend hours reading notes, practicising and learning techniques... to play mostly classical pieces. I think I'll still learn to read the music scores. I still can recognise all the notes but cannot read fast..
bukechi
Feb 13 2019, 10:12 AM
there are many apps for piano out there .. some are free come with lesson.. u might want to try that first .. didnt cost a buck somemore
TStutuyao
Feb 13 2019, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(bukechi @ Feb 13 2019, 10:12 AM) there are many apps for piano out there .. some are free come with lesson.. u might want to try that first .. didnt cost a buck somemore Downloaded a few... Xiexieni
Kilohertz
May 10 2019, 02:24 PM
has anyone here tried Melodics and self-learn by the tutorials?