HR refusing to offer the job without pay slip

PrincZe
post Nov 5 2018, 06:24 PM

3,050 posts

I agree with not showing pay slip. But I would still show my card to see what do they have

If they offer 20% or less (after seeing your pay slip/ offer based on your current). I would turn them down

One forumer mentioned, u missed to see what they have to offer

Alot case even myself, HR told me can only offer max 20% based on my last drawn salary, instead of requested 25%.

And yes, some case HR will advice the hiring manager that this candidate is expensive and his expected is higher than usual 20%. Hiring manager may think twice and find other cheaper employee
PrincZe
post Nov 6 2018, 01:12 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Magna Carta @ Nov 6 2018, 12:13 PM)
This move of not giving payslip is always a risk especially in Malaysia. kind of like gambling. i also feel not right to give payslip but if they do offer me the pay i want and i really want to enter that company, i may give it.
u give. but the pay u want exceed the 20% increment from your current. they only can give 15-20%. what will u do?

take or reject?

if u reject, how many companies out there can u reject? at one point, u will just accept.
PrincZe
post Nov 6 2018, 02:09 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(vanbrah @ Nov 6 2018, 01:19 PM)
Job market says otherwise.

You can have the skills to pass the hiring manager, but HR will only judge you by your payslip - job hopping skills to continuously increase your salary will help then.
that's the only best way. or get high increment in your company.
PrincZe
post Nov 6 2018, 04:50 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 6 2018, 03:55 PM)
Most likely is to use to look at what to offer the person. Not necessarily a bargaining chip, but in MNCs, anything above X% will have to be approved by higher authority, thus they will need the payslip to back it up, especially if someone uses bonus to form part of their new salary requirements.
unker fuzzy, bonus is just 1 time, given to u in a month. usually HR asks for 3 months salary slip.
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 09:57 AM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Rubypoyo @ Nov 7 2018, 09:54 AM)
whats the issue about showing ur payslip? Is all about HR protocol to show prove that that your work with the previous company that you claimed during the interview....
When you do no show ur payslip, for them its mean you are lying to them......
Some company dont mind paying you 2 and 3x salary ... some even say meh on your requested salary coz  the company can pay more than that figure....
Maybe u have not attend interbiu enough before, but imagine HR called u and say sorry our policy can offer u 15-20% max.

Take it or leave it
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 05:17 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ Nov 7 2018, 03:52 PM)
it is normal that you have to show them your payslip
some company they dont really see, but some company yes.
but recently i went to a famous job portal company which offers education too

i feel weird we didnt even discuss the salary since the first stage, after went thru 3 stages, the HR requested for my salary slip.

then the HR called and asked my expectation, at the end they can give the amount which is just slightly higher than my current salary.  puke.gif

and i rejected it. Then the interviewer called me and ask why, i told him the reason etc.

And he will discuss with the country manager etc. At the end they couldn't pay the salary i requested.

icon_idea.gif
So its still based on current pay as u showed them your pay slip

Imagine if there's no sharing of pay slip, if country manager think u are the best to hire, they will still hire based on your expected, not at your pay slip
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 05:26 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(vostro @ Nov 7 2018, 04:41 PM)
When HR called you for an interview, didn't they ask what is your current and expected salary?

I had somewhat a similar experience.. went to interview and they were happy with my experience/skills and i am quite certain they want to hire me. But the HR didn't discuss my current and expected salary. They wanted to have a copy of my payslip, etc.. I told them that i can't provide copies of these documents until we have discuss the salary. it doesn't make sense to provide all the document and only to be rejected because my expected is not within the range of the job position...

I went back and forth with them but they still wanted a copy of my payslip, transcript, etc.. I told them no..
So what happened in the end? But your case seems to be you did not want to follow the work flow process that's all lol
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 05:43 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(daimon @ Nov 7 2018, 05:28 PM)
lol after went through this thread i just feel "we pay slightly more than your current salary based on your salary slip" is  quite unfair? lol
Of course it's unfair. If one start at 1.5k salary and doing 5k job, do u think his next offer or even increment will be 5k? No.

It will be 20% for new job offer.

Unless he met a company that will adjust greatly for him, but hardly know any

QUOTE(tomato people @ Nov 7 2018, 05:30 PM)
Is it a must to show our salary slip?

Any binding law?
No law in Malaysia yet, but HR can choose not to hire u.

As some said, not all companies request for your pay slip, but most do
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 05:45 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Nov 7 2018, 05:33 PM)
It will be unfair for scenario below:

Candidate A, expected salary: 5000, last drawn: 2500 (underpaid), increment: 100%

Candidate B, expected salary: 5000, last drawn: 4000 (well paid), increment: 25%

Both of them have same capability, same education, same job scope, same experience.

Im sure HR will pick candidate B if follow the stupid last drawn salary schema.
Of course. By HR logic and costs saving, candidate B is better

Another aspect HR will evaluate is, candidate B is better in terms of skills, that's why he's paid better,though all have the same capabilities, skill set, job scope, experience.
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 06:31 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(amar_arifin @ Nov 7 2018, 05:55 PM)
my friend did bro..
He request less than 10%..
HR offer him more than 20%..
International compny..top10 company..

Payslip as evidence of your salary certificate..
no more hiding..

what u afraid anyway??
This is fine. Salary adjustment as HR deem your current is too low as per market.
And as u mentioned, international companies. Not all companies practice as such
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 06:32 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Nov 7 2018, 06:03 PM)
I really like @frost99 comments but in reality this is just a lowball tactic by HR, if one starts their salary 10yrs ago at 1k they will have difficulties to match the recent graduate salary who start at 3k 5yrs ago..
I agree. I have a friend who worked for 6 years having 4k salary

My gf sister now starting working fresh grad at Accenture drawing same salary as him, 4k
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 10:17 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 7 2018, 08:01 PM)
We need to know why after 6 years still 4k. Employee or employer was the problem.
2.8K first year
+10% increment
3100 second year
+10% increment
3410 third year
+10% increment
3751 fourth year
+10% increment
4126 fifth year
Now his sixth year

Thought loyalty will pay off and comfort zone. Didnt want to show as keep jumping and perks was good
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 10:20 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 7 2018, 08:05 PM)
HR not necessarily need to give the exact expected salary. For me I will choose A and give him 4k salary if he does match the guy with current 4k salary. Lower risk, cost saving and give A more room to grow. Win-win situation.
Give 100% increment is lower risk? What if he can't deliver? Hr will think the 5k had something than the other can offer

And need to make report and policy why to give 100%. Don't think hr want to do that
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 10:23 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 7 2018, 08:14 PM)
I am not from HR but fully support thorough background check to be done to ensure not getting problematic people into the organisation especially for financial industry.

Let me put in simple terms. If a candidate is super skilled but fishy background then we have to skip. Not going to risk the organisation reputation.
Back ground check are usually by third party company and they cover alot aspects but not pay slip

PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 10:24 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Nov 7 2018, 10:05 PM)
What if Candidate A insist want 5k.. will you choose him or candidate B.

Lesson learnt: Fresh graduate's first job salary must match market rate/high enough, do not accept low ball job offer. If starting salary low = underpaid forever *if everyone follow this protocol*
Of course, that will be the ideal scenario. But alas, alot companies still abuse this, and when fresh grad are desperate, what offer also take as they need to start making money
PrincZe
post Nov 7 2018, 11:43 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Nov 7 2018, 10:36 PM)
That is the reason why so many employers complained hard to hire peoples, mean while there are so many unemployed fresh graduates... they rather waiting for the right opportunity instead of low ball offer unless they are from poor company cannot survive without a job.
Another side is, people complain fresh grad being choosy. Then blame fresh grad. Well, there's always 2 sides of the coin
PrincZe
post Nov 8 2018, 02:49 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(vostro @ Nov 8 2018, 10:15 AM)
Like i mentioned, I followed up with them but they insisted wanted my payslip without discussing my expected salary. I told them not gonna happen and was told that the HR manager will contact me to discuss further. but that didn't happen. And i couldn't be bother afterwards.

my question is does it make sense to conduct an interview without obtaining the details first, ie:- current base salary, commission, allowance, bonus, etc / expected salary / notice period...

Like in TS case, didn't the HR asked obtain all this information prior the interview? If they did not, i feel that is a poor HR process. And if they did and but you told them give according to market, then you're quite in the wrong too.
I suppose your case is, want to know what's your current buy looking at pay slip. If current price is affordable, then proceed.
PrincZe
post Nov 8 2018, 09:36 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(Celestia @ Nov 8 2018, 04:45 PM)
cause most of them don't really want pay your expected salary or market price

If you ask for 4.5k but your previous salary is 3.5k, from the payslip they will just offer you 4k.

Of course it is up to you whether to accept it or not but most company want payslip so they just offer you slightly higher than previous salary

Knowing your salary will allow them some negotiation power, same reason why most company says you are not to share your salary with colleagues

If you know the market rate, you have negotiation power.
disagree. sharing your salary is the most fear thing by HR in a company. if transparency is there, how hard will HR have to cover up and justify if one gets high increment or a salary gap between 2 same peer doing the same thing?

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Nov 8 2018, 06:25 PM)
Yes, this happened to me on my jump to my 3rd company before. At that time my current basic salary was RM 3300, joined a new company with a new salary of RM 4800, that's roughly 45% of increment. 

So, i don't agree with you that once you showed your payslip, you won't get more than 20-30% increment due to the policy. It just depends on how much and how willing the new company need the people and eager to hire you.
of course, it happens as well. market adjustment + 20% offer.

but why limit yourself at just 45% when u can get 70% or more?

QUOTE(abanga @ Nov 8 2018, 06:28 PM)
Hmm actually i kinda agree with wht u said.. just to ask all sifu here, usually provide just one payslip eg. Latest ? Or need past 6 months
3 months usually

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 8 2018, 07:40 PM)
Revealing pay slip like losing negotiation skill?

Either way you negotiation skill failed.
wrong, whoever shows the numbers first loses.

why give your negotiation edge away?

QUOTE(HP Computer @ Nov 8 2018, 09:10 PM)
Mind to share how 3rd party carry out back ground check?
i don't really know the process, but one credible background check company are first @dvantage. they usually will check through their system/ US system below.

https://fadv.com/solutions/employment-background-checks.aspx

cheaper one or local company just google your name and IC and see what u posted on /k or fesbuk shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by PrincZe: Nov 8 2018, 09:38 PM
PrincZe
post Nov 8 2018, 11:50 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(patricktoh @ Nov 8 2018, 11:18 PM)
Then no point complaining salary only 4k after 6 years. This was his choice.
no complain la. just showing that fresh grad can anytime tapau any 3-4 years of experience worker salary

PrincZe
post Jun 12 2020, 06:15 PM

3,050 posts

QUOTE(silence94 @ Jun 12 2020, 04:50 PM)
I think if candidate don't provide payslip, eventually Interviewer able to find it out also..
Using the candidate EPF number or Income tax? confused.gif
not possible. unless u willingly give

0.0255sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:50 AM