17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.

Benefon
post Nov 16 2018, 04:01 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 16 2018, 03:49 PM)
Oh very good eh can auto power cut off. Thanks for your recommendation πŸ‘πŸ‘
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 16 2018, 03:55 PM)
But gold is for girls according to attw  rolleyes.gif
I see McDodo there too.... tongue.gif  Trademark of Benefon
Actually Mcdodo cable is the most durable cable.
Without any issue for me, previously I'm using this in the Android phone as well, since the cables very durable without any problems to me, already more than a year's no issue.
That is why I will prefer for Mcdodo brand for save money.
Benefon
post Nov 16 2018, 04:05 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 16 2018, 04:00 PM)
yea any PD charger will do.. but must pair with apple ori type-c cable..Β  you can look for baseus PD charger is around 50-60...

hmm you can try with QC3.0 charger... but it will be the same speed as you use ipad charger...

want fastest speed, just go with PD charger + ori cable..
Actually I have many PD with me, Baseus got few charger model, some of model come with EU plug, I disliked

Currently dont buy iPad pro 2018 yet.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Nov 16 2018, 04:34 PM
Benefon
post Nov 16 2018, 06:14 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 16 2018, 06:10 PM)
mega_shok.gif
Advertisment again bro... console.gif

When are you sending me one for testing?  tongue.gif
Please go to my any mcdodo outlet and ask for Benefon, they will give u for free try within an hour, I guess after this then bring it home and pay before step out from the shop.
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Benefon
post Nov 16 2018, 11:39 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 16 2018, 09:44 PM)
Got myself this combo to try:
Aukey PA-Y10 56.5W USB C Power Delivery 3.0 Turbo Travel Charger & Apple USB-C to Lightening.

At first wanted to get Apple 30W but then i think this would be better choice so I can charge my Surface Pro and iPhone in the same time.

Nice
Benefon
post Nov 17 2018, 12:34 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(k8zw3ll @ Nov 17 2018, 12:25 AM)
Can use eSIM already no need wait for Maxis  rclxm9.gif

Durian Man eSIM
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4693673

Source: https://www.facebook.com/notes/mi-malaysia/how-to-use-your-xiaomi-device-without-a-sim-card/1048856325318461

The Era of SIM-less Finally Arrives!

Durian Man App is the first eSIM provider in Malaysia

eSIM provides the same customer experience in terms of network services such as voice call, SMS, mobile data and global roaming as a physical SIM, without using a SIM card

To activate the e-SIM, you have to go to one of the five authorised Mi Stores located at KLCC, Pavilion, Mid Valley, One Utama and IOI City Mall in Putrajaya.

For local data, Durian Man offers the following monthly options:
4GB data + 60 minutes of calls – RM14.15
8GB data + 500 minutes of calls – RM28
16GB data + 1,000 minutes of calls – RM45
128GB data – RM200
Name not as nice : What is your telcos plan and company?
Mine is Durian plan with durian eSim card.
Whats your monthly fee?
Currently use with durian plan Rm45 per month.

Benefon
post Nov 17 2018, 11:34 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(tenakira @ Nov 16 2018, 10:54 PM)
Received the Mcdodo 29W PD charger... but the EU plug felt a bit loose on my LDNIO sc3604 power socket... sigh πŸ˜”

P/S: the PD type C to Lightning still not shipped
Refer my post on #17.
I have did it DIY for multi plug to solve our EU & US pins problem
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry90950061
Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 07:49 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 18 2018, 05:53 AM)
2hrs from 1% to 100%. Fast but not superfast like Huawei and still better than 3hrs++ using stock adapter and cable.

Satisfied
Almost 2 hours, what is your brand on the PD?
Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 07:56 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 18 2018, 07:52 AM)
Mine is 2 hours too. No need to use any PD charger
AM using Aukey QC3.0 and a China branded 3.1A cable
But I test with mine yesterday from 50-100% took longer 191minutes to compares vs XR just 77 minutes only.
Same QC 3.0 18W with 2.4A mcdodo type A cable.
Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 08:06 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 18 2018, 08:00 AM)
It will be 2.5 hours on Apple original cable
Mine is 3.1A cable - sorry forgot what brand it is as box thrown away already
Is that m dodo that really good since you had always high praises on it. Unable to find it at my place so just settle for the China one
Haha nvm, i just use with any pd and lightning apple cable, if I wanted to fast charged.
Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 09:01 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(tenakira @ Nov 18 2018, 12:57 AM)
[attachmentid=10110163]

Guys, anyone know where can I get this EU > UK adapter? (which will tight fit the EU tongue n won't wobble)
Look what I found on AliExpress
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/cDO00quJ

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/bUplKQW3

https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/b4Lafu4P
Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 09:04 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 17 2018, 10:22 PM)
So effective a couple hours ago, my XS Max has now moved on to its new owner, aka my better half, while I've "downgraded" to try the Xr.

Some thoughts on my one month experience with the Xs Max... When the X was introduced last year, most Plus sized iPhone owners (including myself) yearned for a bigger screen and bigger battery in the same design. Sure, we all b*tched about the notch back then but look at every other Android flagship now, ha ha. Anyway, we got what we wished for this year, albeit at a very high price (RM5399 for the base 64GB model).

The good: -

- Build quality is really solid and although it's slightly on the heftier side, the weight distribution feels very balanced. Still, those of us who used an X previously may need to get used to having a "Plus" sized iPhone all over again.

- The huge screen is immersive and really great for media consumption. I also prefer the OLED screen of the iPhone compared to that of Samsung and Huawei flagships due to the warmer, more life-like colors but that could just be a matter of personal preference.

- The camera is great. It definitely is better than that of the X and the 8 Plus, especially with smart HDR.

- The speakers are amazing! It's time to do away with your X-mini speakers smile.gif

- Face ID feels faster than it did on the X. Definitely feels more polished now compared to when it was first implemented.

- For someone who travels quite a bit for work, I can't stress enough how happy I am to finally see dual sim slots on an iPhone! Although why Apple wants to make one model with two physical sim slots and make it available to China, HK and Macau and another model with eSIM and one physical sim slot for the rest of us is terribly frustrating. Still, I bought a HK model so I definitely am reaping the benefits of dual sim immediately. I like how elegantly the sim cards are positioned in the SIM tray, especially.

The bad: -

- It really is not that special over the iPhone X, and that makes sense as this is more of an 'S' cycle upgrade. Yes, you get a bigger screen and a bigger battery, but beyond that it's hard to convince X owners to upgrade. Hopefully next year, we'll get an all new design like the boxy one on the new iPad Pros which I really dig. Reminds me of when I first saw and fell in love with the iPhone 4.

- Apple may have put their biggest ever battery into the Xs Max but battery life isn't stellar. Based on my charging and usage patterns (which averages around 4 hours SOT a day) I find that the battery life is pretty much similar to my iPhone 8 Plus previously, and maybe just slightly better than the battery life of the X, which is not great in the first place. Of course, you don't get that occasional abnormal battery drain as frequently as you do with some Android devices when an app or two runs rogue.

- Charging time getting to 100% is still slow if you compare to some Android flagships. Painfully slow. Of course Apple will argue this helps you preserve the battery life of your phone, hence the bundled stock 5W adapter. Sorry guys, I won't be endorsing any McDonald's cable here smile.gif

The ugly: -

- The price. Enough said.

All in all, I enjoyed my brief stint with the XS Max, but I feel we should have had it last year instead smile.gif
πŸ‘πŸ‘ bye bye 😒😭😭😭

Benefon
post Nov 18 2018, 12:54 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 18 2018, 12:38 PM)
Aukey 56.6 PD
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 11:53 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(inkyoctopuss @ Nov 19 2018, 11:20 AM)
Where to buy it? Is it good (fast charge and stop charging when full?) and won’t spoil the battery using other cable that th iphone ori cable? Pm me the price and location selling it. Tq bro
Here u go
https://shopee.com.my/Mcdodo-Lightning-AUTO...9230.1107398902

After full charged the led light will disappeared.
No keep warm of course the battery can last longer

This post has been edited by Benefon: Nov 19 2018, 12:28 PM
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 12:49 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 19 2018, 12:45 PM)
I had this problem right after I restored from my Iphone X and after I resetted network, there was no issue till now.
Yes. Apparently Intel struck up a good deal with Apple in making them the sole providers for modems.
Intel is wat better than Qualcomm.
Intel signal is always strong than Qualcomm
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 01:06 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 19 2018, 12:53 PM)
For mine i felt 8 plus battery is better than xs max. The xs max battery life is about similar to my 6s plus usage. Drain quite fast , perhaps should go for xr soon ? laugh.gif
Own a Max u have to do with fast charge.
For XR not require fast charger, the battery damn Long lasting , I am a heavy user, still took me over 16 hours for daily.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Nov 19 2018, 01:43 PM
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 02:17 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 19 2018, 02:16 PM)
just wanna check on this Mcdodo charger:

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/mcdodo-d...PRatIZ&search=1

does this have the feature of cutting off charging once fully charged / stops overcharging ?
No.
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 04:38 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 19 2018, 04:25 PM)
I thought Qualcomm is better based on what I had read so far??
IPhone XR, X and Max also full bars signal , no issue like showing 4G, but can’t login in internet 🀣🀣

I have bad experiences with Xiaomi phones and previous iphone.
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 04:57 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(maximillan @ Nov 19 2018, 04:56 PM)
Guys..
Is it normal for Iphone XS maximum capacity dropping to 99%?

Less than a month :S bangwall.gif
Lol kena again
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 05:24 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 05:17 PM)
But I’m still using same SIM card on my iPhone XS and XR.
No issue like switch to airplane mode and on again.
More stable than previous

Unlike iphone 7 and Xiaomi keep consistently on and off signal.
Benefon
post Nov 19 2018, 05:46 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 05:32 PM)
Between my work and personal emails I’d get about 70-80 a day but maybe just 20 or less would require my attention smile.gif Used to do more emails on the iPad but just sold my 2018 one in anticipation of the new iPad Pros, haha...

Yeah, gaming is a big battery killer so unfair to compare between them and now!
I think that article is purely referring to speed of uploads and downloads.
Yup, saw that , they prefer on speed.
But speed here is very fast. So i don’t need that.
Still prefer on stable signal than fast speed.

17 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0602sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:26 AM