144Hz IPS/TN Monitor recommendations, ~RM 1k

Oyaji
post Nov 15 2018, 08:04 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Nov 15 2018, 03:35 PM)
That AOC G2460PG is the cheapest Gsync model among all already. But that price still high in malaysia. Oversea price got reduction since it is old model.
Basically we can say we need to top up another RM600-800 for the Gsync.
Do you mean Dell Alienware AW2518HF? I see most of them can over RM2k, cheapest RM1.8k for 240Hz freesync.
But looks cool tho. The bezel & futuristic design. I think the pricing is falling on the Predator range.
Yes the cheapest alienware monitor are freesync ones. Gsync ones are typically priced at rm2.3k and above.

Benq xl2536 is around rm1499. Aoc g2460pg cheapest at thundermatch online at lazada, rm1609.

The biggest regret I have is not buying benq xl2430t during promotion at viewnet. It was rm999 only. That monitor seems got good reviews. Despite no freesync and gsync.

Seriously thinking about this sync thingy makes my brain out of sync.
TSHolyjolly
post Nov 16 2018, 10:43 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Nov 15 2018, 08:04 PM)
Yes the cheapest alienware monitor are freesync ones. Gsync ones are typically priced at rm2.3k and above.

Benq xl2536 is around rm1499. Aoc g2460pg cheapest at thundermatch online at lazada, rm1609.

The biggest regret I have is not buying benq xl2430t during promotion at viewnet. It was rm999 only. That monitor seems got good reviews. Despite no freesync and gsync.

Seriously thinking about this sync thingy makes my brain out of sync.
I tried the BenQ/ Zowie XL2540 (240Hz) demo unit at Viewnet with CSGO. Silky smooth.
I ask the sales guy there, he say the demo unit is using GTX 1080. I am not sure the smooth experience is given by the GTX1080 or the monitor high refresh rate, since my GPU is too old (but still can get 180-200FPS). But the high Hz enough to poisons me.
A quick check that this model doesn't have Freesync also. So, personally I think the Sync thingy is not a necessity for me. Maybe I haven't experience the effect of Freesync or Gsync yet.

Sifu-sifu, please enlighten me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Nov 16 2018, 10:43 AM
triple-x
post Nov 16 2018, 12:22 PM

248 posts

Hi to all sifus, I'm currently looking for a 144hz monitor with budget around rm800 to rm1000. I've been looking around and now I come down to this 3 models.

ACER XF240H
VIEWSONIC XG2402
AOC G2460PF
BENQ XL2411P

All the above has the same 1080p 1ms 144hz and FreeSync except for BENQ without FreeSync.

I wanna ask is the FreeSync really make a difference? I'm using an RX580. Also which of the 3 has the best overall performance. TQ

This post has been edited by triple-x: Nov 16 2018, 12:27 PM
TSHolyjolly
post Nov 16 2018, 03:26 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(triple-x @ Nov 16 2018, 12:22 PM)
Hi to all sifus, I'm currently looking for a 144hz monitor with budget around rm800 to rm1000. I've been looking around and now I come down to this 3 models.

ACER XF240H
VIEWSONIC XG2402
AOC G2460PF
BENQ XL2411P

All the above has the same 1080p 1ms 144hz and FreeSync except for BENQ without FreeSync.

I wanna ask is the FreeSync really make a difference? I'm using an RX580. Also which of the 3 has the best overall performance. TQ
I think VIEWSONIC XG2402 stands out in most of the comparison review. I also eyeing on it.
Most of the 144Hz monitor nowadays has included Freesync, I think should include it since you have AMD GPU?

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Nov 15 2018, 10:47 AM)
For the AOC G2460PG I had to search at pcpartpicker or any reviews that showcased the monitor without crossfire icon. Still, I am unsure whether to get it or not. Etech pc do have stock but lingloong need to order. Besides paying RM1695 for entry level gsync monitor makes me cringe. My friends are against getting acer due to their experiences with customer service so I kept that on hold.
I have a gtx 1070. I expect most games will run about 70-120 ish FPS so any monitor regardless of sync will be fine correct?
I would pick the viewsonic. Seems that its the best among those monitors.
Maybe I should get that alienware instead. Looked very nice. The pricing for freesync version is also decent.
I also come across Dell S2419HGF, which launched this year. 24" TN panel, 1080p, 120Hz overlock to 144Hz via OSD with freesync. ~RM950. Not much review on it.

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Nov 16 2018, 03:28 PM
triple-x
post Nov 16 2018, 04:21 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Nov 16 2018, 03:26 PM)
I think VIEWSONIC XG2402 stands out in most of the comparison review. I also eyeing on it.
Most of the 144Hz monitor nowadays has included Freesync, I think should include it since you have AMD GPU?
I also come across Dell S2419HGF, which launched this year. 24" TN panel, 1080p, 120Hz overlock to 144Hz via OSD with freesync. ~RM950. Not much review on it.
Alright, I will look for more reviews and info for these 2 models, thanks.
chrischiang
post Nov 16 2018, 05:12 PM

1,081 posts

hi, i aso looking for similar monitor... any reason why never consider viewsonic vx2458-c-mhd?? Consider it 144hz too.. and advertise at 85% ntsc.. so the colour should be comparable to IPS...

im dilemma between this model and Acer xf240h.. xf240h 2015 model though...
triple-x
post Nov 16 2018, 05:23 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 16 2018, 05:12 PM)
hi, i aso looking for similar monitor... any reason why never consider viewsonic vx2458-c-mhd?? Consider it 144hz too.. and advertise at 85% ntsc.. so the colour should be comparable to IPS...

im dilemma between this model and Acer xf240h.. xf240h 2015 model though...
in my case, i do not consider this model bcos it's a curved display and the height of the stand is not adjustable.

This post has been edited by triple-x: Nov 16 2018, 05:27 PM
chrischiang
post Nov 16 2018, 05:30 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(triple-x @ Nov 16 2018, 05:23 PM)
in my case, i do not consider this model bcos it's a curved display and the height of the stand is not adjustable.
any reason why dwn curved display?
TSHolyjolly
post Nov 16 2018, 05:33 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(triple-x @ Nov 16 2018, 05:23 PM)
QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 16 2018, 05:30 PM)
Yeah, I don't prefer curved display also. Unless it is super wide screen. Personal preference.

This post has been edited by Holyjolly: Nov 16 2018, 06:31 PM
Oyaji
post Nov 17 2018, 01:01 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Nov 16 2018, 10:43 AM)
I tried the BenQ/ Zowie XL2540 (240Hz) demo unit at Viewnet with CSGO. Silky smooth.
I ask the sales guy there, he say the demo unit is using GTX 1080. I am not sure the smooth experience is given by the GTX1080 or the monitor high refresh rate, since my GPU is too old (but still can get 180-200FPS). But the high Hz enough to poisons me.
A quick check that this model doesn't have Freesync also. So, personally I think the Sync thingy is not a necessity for me. Maybe I haven't experience the effect of Freesync or Gsync yet.

Sifu-sifu, please enlighten me if I am wrong.
What I know is if your hardware is strong enough to handle more than 144 fps, then 240hz monitor is not a bad idea. In this case, GTX 1080 and the equivalent. Furthermore, viewnet pricing on the BenQ 2546 is reasonable. If you can hit high FPS then it should not be a problem. Besides, you still can set it to 144hz if you don't like 240hz.

For me, my brain says get the AOC G2460PG but my heart wants the BenQ XL2536. bangwall.gif

QUOTE(triple-x @ Nov 16 2018, 12:22 PM)

ACER XF240H
VIEWSONIC XG2402
AOC G2460PF
BENQ XL2411P

Based on reviews, get the Viewsonic XG2402. It is the best among those monitors you listed. Since you are using RX580 freesync should help with screen tearing and stutter problems.

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 16 2018, 05:30 PM)
Normal monitors are easy to position and don't consume much real estate in my table in my opinion.

This post has been edited by Oyaji: Nov 17 2018, 02:50 AM
chrischiang
post Nov 17 2018, 10:41 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Nov 16 2018, 05:33 PM)
Yeah, I don't prefer curved display also. Unless it is super wide screen. Personal preference.
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Nov 17 2018, 01:01 AM)
Normal monitors are easy to position and don't consume much real estate in my table in my opinion.
hmm thanks.. other than the curved display, is this monitor good? i think is too new cant really find reviews
Oyaji
post Nov 18 2018, 12:01 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 17 2018, 10:41 AM)
hmm thanks.. other than the curved display, is this monitor good? i think is too new cant really find reviews
The specs seems good and its a VA panel. Price is rather cheap also for a gaming curved monitor. I think you should be good. for reviews maybe you could read reviews of other curved gaming monitor like samsung CFG70 to get the idea on what you are expecting because the reviews for that viewsonic is non-existent.

Or maybe you could ask the viewsonic guy in the other thread.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0172sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:22 PM