Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

arrsoo
post Nov 5 2018, 11:32 AM

600 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 12:57 PM)
My neighbours were really funny. whistling.gif

The moment I pointed out to them using thestar newspaper, they seem to be 'shocked'.

They asked a lot about maxis RM89 30Mbps and TM RM79 30Mbps. I had to explain to them on TM 60gb quota.

Then I said, "K lah, if you guys don't wanna share anymore, good luck on getting new port for your own fiber. Our district doesn't have vacant fibre port anymore"

Cue further explaination.....

Considering House A neighbours only pay RM50 each for current unifi 500Mbps for me......(what....sharing with total 4 houses including mine)......3 of my neighbours household 'representative' agreed to continue sharing....

This evening = will hold meeting with House B neighbours..... sweat.gif
you din sell your "guarantee able to get full speed" troubleshooting skill to them?
laugh.gif laugh.gif
arrsoo
post Nov 14 2018, 03:28 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 12:43 PM)
So far, the microcode patch issue only happen with windows 7 and 10. See for yourself on the impact of speed after latest microcode was applied.

I made some post on ivy bridge 3570k performance when the first spectre microcode was released.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4547450

Then another posts on someone thread where the guy has haswell CPU.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4649008
Had to inform the guy that latest microcode from intel somehow has less performance impact as I also have problem with the older haswell microcode for my i3-4330 and I5-4200U.

Linux and MacOS seem to have lesser performance penalty due to usage of retpoline.
However, after reading this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=241738 , it seem as if the performance penalty also exists, although still less severe compared to windows hmm.gif  .....someone might wanna reply at this archlinux forum......blacktubi, you wanna reply at that thread that the poster issue was caused by older microcode? tongue.gif  Latest haswell ULT microcode is 24, version 23 is haswell ULT problematic patch.
Oh dang it! I tot you mentioned this microcode thing only affects win10 and not win7? Or I could have misinterpret you wrongly.... sweat.gif
arrsoo
post Nov 14 2018, 03:51 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 03:39 PM)
For one, Microsoft doesn't push microcode update for Win7, thus you shouldn't worry about it........unless if your hand is itchy and you wanna mod the bios, then you better make sure you select the correct microcode version.

Some mainboard vendors are very consumers friendly[I]......where vendors actually release bios with Spectre protection.......but they don't release bios with Spectre-NG protection (which somehow reduced the performance penalty).  doh.gif
So, if you are one of 'lucky' user, the only choice is to either fully disable spectre mitigation via registry or use the Intel Microcode Boot Loader.
I modded the bios and so I know the problem also occurred for win7.
ok...cool! thanks

arrsoo
post Nov 14 2018, 04:18 PM

600 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 04:00 PM)
But just to be sure, you better check the microcode version via RWEverything --->Access--->CPU MSR
Then compare both CPU ID and PATCH ID (this is the microcode version) with information from Intel pdf sa00115-microcode-update-guidance. If the patch ID is same as 'Pre-Mitigation Production MCU', err......my condolences.  console.gif

It is very strange that biloxee doesn't encounter this issue for his win10.  hmm.gif
ok, will try, thanks. Anyway, it will only affect LAN connections and not wifi right?

0.0229sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:51 AM