Macbook Pro Updated

verticalforce
post Jun 5 2007, 09:09 PM

152 posts

It's just simply because 17 inches LED screen does not even exist, and even if it does, it is expensive as hell.

Even Sony only uses LED in their 13.3 inchers. it's hard to manufacture this stuff.
verticalforce
post Jun 6 2007, 12:57 AM

152 posts

They should seriously slash the prices in Malaysia since our ringgit is now stronger than US dollars.

They had already slash prices in Australia and UK for the same reason.

verticalforce
post Jun 6 2007, 01:22 AM

152 posts

So you are happy about Malaysians getting ripped-off by the weakening dollars?

No wonder everything is so expensive in Malaysia nowadays if everyone has the same attitude.

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Jun 6 2007, 01:25 AM
verticalforce
post Jun 6 2007, 01:37 AM

152 posts

R&D, Advertising? Hhahahaha...when have you seen Apple advertises in Malaysia?

There is no tax imposed on computers in Malaysia, the resellers are cashing in on people's ignorance.

I'm sorry if I've come a bit harsh but I hate how Singapore has their own "real" Apple stores while we have to contend with all this stupid resellers!

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Jun 6 2007, 01:42 AM
verticalforce
post Jun 6 2007, 07:51 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jun 5 2007, 07:06 PM)
Do u realize that the price in Australia is higher than in Malaysia after conversion from the AUD?

FYI, the prices set by the resellers r the SRP as set by Apple Malaysia, not prices set by the resellers themselves. So what cashing in on ppl's ignorance is there that you are refering to here, on the reseller's part?

Finally try to understand the logistics and the business reasons on why there's no Apple Store in Malaysia before grumbling about it.
There is a massive untapped market that can be expanded in Malaysia, especially in marketing those macbooks to college and uni students, but no, Apple chose to ignore Malaysia because it's a 3rd world country. Kindly go through all of the places where Apple retail presence exists and you'll see that all of them are developed countries.

Logistics? Don't be silly with me, they all come from the same factory in Taiwan/China. It probably cost less to ship them to Malaysia than to US. This is why BTO Macs can sometimes take weeks if they are not in-stock.

Tax on computers exist in Australia and they also get all the adverts + retail stores, so higher prices are understandable. What is Apple excuse in Malaysia?

As long as we are a 3rd world country, we are always going to be screwed over and over and over again.

No need to reply to this, it's just me with my silly rant. I'll cool down once I can get hold of the new MBP... mmm... sweet MBP....

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Jun 6 2007, 08:09 AM
verticalforce
post Jun 7 2007, 07:37 AM

152 posts

No expense is spared in Apple setting up their retail stores? You are ****ing joking me if you think that's true. Even Starbucks had trouble of breaking even in Malaysia when it was first opened. Business sense tells me that this is impossible.

Btw, resellers don't have the money nor the means to have any impactful advertising. [TV advertising cost loads] Having lived in the UK for 3 years, I can say that the percentage of students using Macs have grown exponentially with all the advertising here about how "hips" and "cool" Mac is. It helps that they also provide 15% discount to Higher Education students with 3 years of free standard warranty. [excluding phone support - this is not AppleCare]

Excluding some of the offers made at certain colleges, there does not seem to be much done to sway young people towards Mac.

This post has been edited by verticalforce: Jun 7 2007, 07:46 AM

0.0167sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:55 AM