15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Investment AIRBNB unfriendly condo, Please help input if you know of those

luvox
post May 30 2019, 02:04 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(trust4you @ May 30 2019, 12:00 AM)
imagine if you go travel to Japan and switzerland and you go to your airbib place to stay and you saw this shit signboard like that. so not welcoming lol..
Japan & switzerland r civilized country, when 75% owners vote to ban airbnb, they dont do airbnb. Not like Malaysia, when 75% vote to ban airbnb, investors die die also wana run homestay business. 😂 So u wont see this sign when stay at airbnb unit there
BEANCOUNTER
post May 30 2019, 05:59 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ May 30 2019, 02:04 AM)
Japan & switzerland r civilized country, when 75% owners vote to ban airbnb, they dont do airbnb. Not like Malaysia, when 75% vote to ban airbnb, investors die die also wana run homestay business. 😂 So u wont see this sign when stay at airbnb unit there
you know why japan and Switzerland banned Airbnb?????

simple answer

these cities don't have enuf accommodation to even cater for local rental market. Many people cant afford to own houses in these cities.
but Airbnb is luractive, and many landlords will not think twice to keep their units for Airbnb instead of for long term lease. that's why their gov intervene,

but klang valley?????? ample supplies everywhere......Airbnb dirt cheap....and most if not all Airbnb aren't making any return at all.....yet condos or apartments wanna ban Airbnb...…

lets me ask you guys one thing - how many of you when you rent out yr property to ah kau ah meow, you will provide the full ID of the tenant to the management office? no rite????

try Airbnb and see......without valid ID you cant rent Airbnb. And if you behave badly, it will be reported in yr report card in airbnb (same goes with the host). Which platform is more secured for the rest of owners in the apartment?????

but I do understand if your apartments are full of Airbnb guests, especially those overnighters and 3d2n type.....

but isn't this part of apartment living? you don't know who is your neigbours, and how long your neigbours will stay there?????
TStrust4you
post May 30 2019, 08:18 AM

LIMPE UR WORST NITEMARE
3,312 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ May 30 2019, 02:04 AM)
QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ May 30 2019, 05:59 AM)

simple answer

these cities don't have enuf accommodation to even cater for local rental market. Many people cant afford to own houses in these cities.
but Airbnb is luractive, and many landlords will not think twice to keep their units for Airbnb instead of for long term lease. that's why their gov intervene,

but klang valley?????? ample supplies everywhere......Airbnb dirt cheap....and most if not all Airbnb aren't making any return at all.....yet condos or apartments wanna ban Airbnb...…

lets me ask you guys one thing - how many of you when you rent out yr property to ah kau ah meow, you will provide the full ID of the tenant to the management office? no rite????

try Airbnb and see......without valid ID you cant rent Airbnb. And if you behave badly, it will be reported in yr report card in airbnb (same goes with the host). Which platform is more secured for the rest of owners in the apartment?????

but I do understand if your apartments are full of Airbnb guests, especially those overnighters and 3d2n type.....

but isn't this part of apartment living? you don't know who is your neigbours, and how long your neigbours will stay there?????
Never heard of japan and switzerland banned airbnb. Went to those two place and stayed in airbnb, everything was pleasant from start to the end. Not to mention classy.

ManutdGiggs
post May 30 2019, 08:31 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(trust4you @ May 30 2019, 08:18 AM)
Never heard of japan and switzerland banned airbnb. Went to those two place and stayed  in airbnb, everything was pleasant from start to the end. Not to mention classy.
Japan recently banned all airbnb n many travellers facing a huge issue getting last min accommodation 😅😅😅

gks
post May 30 2019, 10:08 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ May 30 2019, 05:59 AM)

simple answer

BEANCOUNTER... Operator/owners only interested to take care their parcel... How about common area? Airbnb also taking care of neighbours and common area?

There are many valid reasons why more and more residential complex are banning Airbnb.

Btw.. Oversupply issues is nothing related to Airbnb... If you overbuild... Then stop building.. If you are lack of knowledge or holding power... Then do not invest in property... Or pay tiusyen fee.. I remember our beloved education minister citing job opportunity with quota in education. It is exactly the same arguement that pro-airbnb team is giving.

This post has been edited by gks: May 30 2019, 10:08 AM
BEANCOUNTER
post May 30 2019, 12:52 PM

20,146 posts

Talk is easy gks...

For a develiping country like malaysia, building n construction biz account to the increase of gdp.

You heard of ghost city in china rite? Why didnt china stop building? Simply bcos of gdp n people have mouths to feed at home.

Airbnb guests destroyed facilities? If only you allowed large numbers of them staying.

But if they are that menace, i wonder why hotel operators not stopping them already?
Its either hotel has differenr grade of common facilities or the common condo facilities are made of tou fu?

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: May 30 2019, 12:53 PM
aaronpang
post May 30 2019, 02:21 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ May 30 2019, 08:31 AM)
Japan recently banned all airbnb n many travellers facing a huge issue getting last min accommodation 😅😅😅
Japan legalized home sharing last year, and this new law is part of an amendment to 1947's Japanese Hotels and Inns Act. Per the law, hosts have to register their listing by June 15th in order to maintain an active status on Airbnb.

Japan has not banned Airbnb as claimed.

QUOTE(gks @ May 30 2019, 10:08 AM)
BEANCOUNTER... Operator/owners only interested to take care their parcel... How about common area? Airbnb also taking care of neighbours and common area?

There are many valid reasons why more and more residential complex are banning Airbnb.

Btw.. Oversupply issues is nothing related to Airbnb... If you overbuild... Then stop building.. If you are lack of knowledge or holding power... Then do not invest in property... Or pay tiusyen fee.. I remember our beloved education minister citing job opportunity with quota in education. It is exactly the same arguement that pro-airbnb team is giving.
Common area is taken care by the JMB or MC that's what they're paid to do.

My experience as councilor vandalism theft cases are caused by low quality tenants rather than Airbnb guest.
Also if tenant causes damage to common faculties (doesn't matter long term/short term).
Applicable laws allow MC to hold unit owners liable for damages.
gks
post May 30 2019, 02:56 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ May 30 2019, 02:21 PM)
Japan legalized home sharing last year, and this new law is part of an amendment to 1947's Japanese Hotels and Inns Act. Per the law, hosts have to register their listing by June 15th in order to maintain an active status on Airbnb.

Japan has not banned Airbnb as claimed.
Common area is taken care by the JMB or MC that's what they're paid to do.

My experience as councilor vandalism theft cases are caused by low quality tenants rather than Airbnb guest.
Also if tenant causes damage to common faculties (doesn't matter long term/short term).
Applicable laws allow MC to hold unit owners liable for damages.
My experience being multiple terms in JMB majority of security, vandalism, nuisance etc are created by Airbnb operators and guests.
Coming from Councillor I am surprise you do not know your by laws. Maybe your condo has adopted different one or Maybe you are closing one eyes. MO is responsible for common area however guests should be supervised by residents all the time. Resident owners/residents should be with guests all the time when they are in common area.
aaronpang
post May 30 2019, 03:13 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(gks @ May 30 2019, 02:56 PM)
My experience being multiple terms in JMB majority of security, vandalism, nuisance etc are created by Airbnb operators and guests.
Coming from Councillor I am surprise you do not know your by laws. Maybe your condo has adopted different one or Maybe you are closing one eyes. MO is responsible for common area however guests should be supervised by residents all the time. Resident owners/residents should be with guests all the time when they are in common area.
Paying for accommodation makes one a tenant, not guests.

Damage can be done by long term or short term, the laws and by-laws still apply. Hold them accountable, why the blanket ban.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: May 30 2019, 03:32 PM
gks
post May 30 2019, 03:31 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ May 30 2019, 03:13 PM)
Paying for accommodation makes one a tenant.

Damage can be done by long term or short term, the laws and by-laws still apply. Hold them accountable, why the blanket ban.
Being Councillor your knowledge about law is quite shallow. Just because you pay doesn't mean you are a tenant. Do check your by law.

You do not answer the question. Why operators and owners are pushing the responsible to manage their guests to MO? MO the workforce, security etc are meant for sporadic service and not for continuous service demanded by hospitality and guests.

Also... Airbnb as spirit.. Owners suppose to provide hospitality services to the guest.. But most of time, these owners and nowhere to be seen. When guests are making nuisance they are not reachable.

But most important thing is these irresponsible operators and owners do not consider other residents well being by simply accepting paying guests and do not even bother to manage and filter them.

This post has been edited by gks: May 30 2019, 03:47 PM
Siao_Lang
post May 30 2019, 04:09 PM

454 posts

Airbnb biz is lucrative only to airbnb operator. Most owners are busy, they handover all airbnb tasks to airbnb operator.

Airbnb operator can do whatever they want, even renting it to walk in guests. Owner dont know how much these operators are making. Ive seen most operators doing it.

So owner does not profit much. Talking about profit sharing, its not profit sharing after all. Profit sharing is when the unit is booked via website where owners can track amount of bookings, where owners can track no of days of stay and hence monitor their income. There are many short term stay platform and walk in customers too.

Most owners ive interviewed are not making much money when their airbnb unit is source out to airbnb operators, hence withdrawing their profit sharing agreement.

This post has been edited by Siao_Lang: May 30 2019, 04:11 PM
Siao_Lang
post May 30 2019, 04:15 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(gks @ May 30 2019, 03:31 PM)
Being Councillor your knowledge about law is quite shallow. Just because you pay doesn't mean you are a tenant. Do check your by law.

You do not answer the question. Why operators and owners are pushing the responsible to manage their guests to MO? MO the workforce, security etc are meant for sporadic service and not for continuous service demanded by hospitality and guests.

Also... Airbnb as spirit.. Owners suppose to provide hospitality services to the guest.. But most of time, these owners and nowhere to be seen. When guests are making nuisance they are not reachable.

But most important thing is these irresponsible operators and owners do not consider other residents well being by simply accepting paying guests and do not even bother to manage and filter them.
This is well said and is observed in most airbnb operated abode. Most long term tenants move out due do poor management and maintenance of building. In a nutshell, airbnb does more harm than benefits.

For instance, luxury condo turned to be a low class condo with people entering swimming pool with their clothes on, one unit can stay up to 10ppl or more, party music in the middle of night, lift waiting time increases. Check in guest accumulating in the lobby area.... and much more... My gosh, the horrendous experiences.

Hence, there must be proper implementation of policies to tackle the nuisance caused by airbnb operation.
aaronpang
post May 30 2019, 04:16 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(gks @ May 30 2019, 03:31 PM)

You do not answer the question. Why operators and owners are pushing the responsible to manage their guests to MO?

But most important thing is these irresponsible operators and owners do not consider other residents well being by simply accepting paying guests and do not even bother to manage them.
https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/tenant

tenant
noun [ C ] UK ​  /ˈten.É™nt/ US ​  /ˈten.É™nt/
​a person who pays rent for the use of land or a building.

If tenant invites friend to visit that person is a guest.
No requirements exist for landlord to accompany their tenants throughout the building.

MO's is duty bound to enforce by-lays as laid out in the SMA act.
So if resident (be they tenant, owner, guest, contractor) commits an act of vandalism for example the, MO is obligated to act.

If MO don't do their job, they can be dismissed or held liable for breach of duty.
gks
post May 30 2019, 04:31 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ May 30 2019, 04:16 PM)
https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/tenant
If tenant invites friend to visit that person is a guest.
No requirements exist for landlord to accompany their tenants throughout the building.

MO's is duty bound to enforce by-lays as laid out in the SMA act.
So if resident (be they tenant, owner, guest, contractor) commits an act of vandalism for example the, MO is obligated to act.

If MO don't do their job, they can be dismissed or held liable for breach of duty.
Read your by law...
gks
post May 30 2019, 04:34 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ May 30 2019, 04:09 PM)
Airbnb biz is lucrative only to airbnb operator. Most owners are busy, they handover all airbnb tasks to airbnb operator.

Airbnb operator can do whatever they want, even renting it to walk in guests. Owner dont know how much these operators are making. Ive seen most operators doing it.

So owner does not profit much. Talking about profit sharing, its not profit sharing after all. Profit sharing is when the unit is booked via website where owners can track amount of bookings, where owners can track no of days of stay and hence monitor their income. There are many short term stay platform and walk in customers too.

Most owners ive interviewed are not making much money when their airbnb unit is source out to airbnb operators, hence withdrawing their profit sharing agreement.
Many owners do not know.. By renting to operators are doing more harms and good...

Operators are like a leech.. They will just suck till dry and move on to next target..if your property are thrashed they will just move on and find next one...

Owners please do self due diligence.. Do not go for short term gain...

All these Airbnb only good for operators and guests who look for cheap accommodation. Especially Malaysia context.
aaronpang
post May 30 2019, 04:42 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(Siao_Lang @ May 30 2019, 04:15 PM)
This is well said and is observed in most airbnb operated abode. Most long term tenants move out due do poor management and maintenance of building. In a nutshell, airbnb does more harm than benefits.

For instance, luxury condo turned to be a low class condo with people entering swimming pool with their clothes on, one unit can stay up to 10ppl or more, party music in the middle of night, lift waiting time increases. Check in guest accumulating in the lobby area.... and much more... My gosh, the horrendous experiences.

Hence, there must be proper implementation of policies to tackle the nuisance caused by airbnb operation.
So guards all tidur, MO staff duduk office tengok youtube videos.
Best job in world get paid tons of money to sit in aircon office, napping in CCTV room and loiter do nothing.

Most long term tenants move out due do poor management and maintenance of building.

What is you building manager doing? Got go on rounds inspecting or sitting in airon office.

Think Airbnb operators wanna to get fine every other day, if don't pay the fines block their access cards.

So far everyone giving same lame excuse, even from so called experienced council member.
Shameful if I was a resident I'll demand the whole council resign.

gks
post May 30 2019, 04:49 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ May 30 2019, 04:42 PM)
Best job in world get paid tons of money to sit in aircon office, napping in CCTV room and loiter do nothing.
What is you building manager doing? Got go on rounds inspecting or sitting in airon office.

Think Airbnb operators wanna to get fine every other day, if don't pay the fines block their access cards.

So far everyone giving same lame excuse, even from so called experienced council member.
The true is....airbnb and operators are giving themselves excuses...and they are running out soon with regulation especially if gov goes ahead imposing time limit 90 days. All commercial operators can bungkus. smile.gif

The fact is majority of apartments are banning Airbnb and limited few which still allow Airbnb in operation.
Siao_Lang
post May 30 2019, 05:01 PM

454 posts

You must be one of the airbnb operator? Or either youve never been to an airbnb run abode before?

Do you think Security guard get paid to look after airbnb guests? Security guard is not responsible for check in check out guests. Do they get profit out of airbnb rented unit? Yes? No? If yes, of course they will serve your guests.

Management Office rols is to take into consideration of the DMC signed between vendors and developers, which is ultimately to ban airbnb if its deemed nuisance.. Hahahah... Like what has been implemented in most residences..

Ignorance is bliss!

Airbnb Operator -profit oriented, they dont care whether your property damage, depreciation value of property and damages in long run or not, all they want is 100% profit..

Ive also seen the aftermath of airbnb operated unit, after airbnb operator decided to surrender to owner. Lots of unpaid utilities bills, damages internally which must be explored thoroughly and vice versa. Period!
aaronpang
post May 30 2019, 05:04 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(gks @ May 30 2019, 04:49 PM)
The true is....airbnb and operators are giving themselves excuses...and they are running out soon with regulation especially if gov goes ahead imposing time limit 90 days. All commercial operators can bungkus. smile.gif

The fact is majority of apartments are banning Airbnb and limited few which still allow Airbnb in operation.
Sort-term rental helps owners earn extra income and give tourist greater choice. While helping Malaysia grow tourism.

Like Uber and Grab, Airbnb will be recognized and regulated which isn't a ban.

So lazy Councillors and MO will still have to do their jobs.
godlikexioo
post May 30 2019, 05:06 PM

745 posts

Talk easy, do it difficult. When MO impose all residents must have residents pass and guard hav full authorized to halau u keluar. Resident bising till wanna fight with guard. U tau saya siape? I duduk sini tau? But don hav resident pass. I sure 9.5 out of 10 in Malaysia know what I'm saying.

Face it Malaysian still not up to that standard. What ever rules and enforcement is bull shit. Only takut PDRM.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:04 PM