> Tanjung Sepat Seafood Bak Kut Teh, Ah Hock or Yik Kee

TSzzzhhhzzz
post Oct 19 2018, 09:16 AM, updated 8y ago

1,671 posts

Hi guys, making a trip to tanjung sepat tomorrow.. will like to try their seafood Bak kut teh.. Was browsing though the internet and found two famous stall, namely Ah Hock and Yik Kee .. wanna ask forumers who have tried them which is the better of the two ? Also for the paus i heard there are two also, namely Mr. Black and Hai Yew Heng.. any comment which is better ?
ihm11
post Oct 19 2018, 09:17 AM

62 posts

i prefer teochew style BKT
kcchong2000
post Oct 19 2018, 09:33 AM

189 posts

U makan lar. Seafood and BKT didn't mix that good. Coz seafood will have those "fishy" smell.

Not my cup of tea, but you can order shark meat dishes there. I forget what name, but near tokong there

There one "Mui Choy" Pau (Hai Yew Heng) Lorrong 4 not mistaken, but quite expensip but good to makan, then minum coffee at sebelah. The cofffee shop there got goreng goreng stuff, you can look for goreng shark meat.Shark meat texture is rough but quite tasty. Next to goreng store, check there the kuih muih store ada buka? If yes, beli the "lobak putih cha kor" quite recommended.

Then you can drop by at "Hak Chai" aka black pau, that one near pasar there. It got Yellow wine chicken pau. This pau best part is u can ask them to goreng for u. Their flour mixture is good for goreng, while steam is normal saje.

This post has been edited by kcchong2000: Oct 19 2018, 09:34 AM
jamesongbcmy
post Oct 19 2018, 09:33 AM

40 posts

Go to restaurants near lovers bridge for seafood. Bak kut teh, go to klang better.
mydurian
post Oct 19 2018, 09:36 AM

854 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Oct 19 2018, 09:33 AM)
U makan lar. Seafood and BKT didn't mix that good. Coz seafood will have those "fishy" smell.

Not my cup of tea, but you can order shark meat dishes there. I forget what name, but near tokong there

There one "Mui Choy" Pau (Hai Yew Heng) Lorrong 4 not mistaken, but quite expensip but good to makan, then minum coffee at sebelah. The cofffee shop there got goreng goreng stuff, you can look for goreng shark meat.Shark meat texture is rough but quite tasty. Next to goreng store, check there the kuih muih store ada buka? If yes, beli the "lobak putih cha kor" quite recommended.
Then you can drop by at "Hak Chai" aka black pau, that one near pasar there. It got Yellow wine chicken pau. This pau best part is u can ask them to goreng for u. Their flour mixture is good for goreng, while steam is normal saje.
rclxms.gif
andrewhtf
post Oct 19 2018, 09:49 AM

1,583 posts

Seafood "bkt" is not bkt.

It's just seafood soup with some herbs.

This is like calling vegetarian "meat" as meat.
MR_alien
post Oct 19 2018, 09:53 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Oct 19 2018, 09:33 AM)

u should try it in sandakan
ate it and i like it
no fishy smell at all
Jasonist
post Oct 19 2018, 10:00 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

http://www.malaysianflavours.com/2016/01/t...jung-sepat.html

looks good for a short getaway
SUSbutterjiken
post Oct 19 2018, 10:02 AM

how come use beef hari tu everyone marah use seafood no one cares

seafood bkt kira bkt ke
TSzzzhhhzzz
post Oct 19 2018, 10:23 AM

1,671 posts

Aiya... since will be in tanjung sepat oredi ma... so must try lorr since they are famous for their seafood bak kut teh.. just wanna choose the better of the two... will appreciate some feedback from forumers
xeNOS
post Oct 19 2018, 10:26 AM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

BKT so-so only but Pau at Hai Yew Heng is gooding
kcchong2000
post Oct 19 2018, 10:47 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 19 2018, 09:53 AM)
u should try it in sandakan
ate it and i like it
no fishy smell at all
Sorry to said. Sandakan bkt is not bkt at all if u biasa makan Klang. It like Kajang SG Chua lat thong but with black color coup.

And of coz takde fishy taste as black pepper telah cover the whole fishy smell.

0.0169sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:24 AM