28 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment

miyakochan89
post Feb 24 2024, 01:48 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Hey all, just wanna double confirm, TNG confirm will work in China? So if I scan the QR code, the currency will just change to RMB,m? So I just need to key in the RMB amount right?
babygrand123
post Feb 27 2024, 10:52 PM

672 posts

Do we need a mainland sim card ? like order food and Didi transportation ?
babygrand123
post Feb 27 2024, 10:55 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(xiaoxiaoshen @ Jan 11 2024, 12:51 PM)
going to china soon, this 2pages info is useful enough. i think just require Alipay for all payment and also transport (in apps didi). and reload with bigpay. dont know why cannot reload with TNG wallet? alternate that ask friend to reload alipay then can transfer the RMB to friend using TNG wallet.

my problem solve after reading these info.
- get alipay apps register with malaysia phone and verfied.
- get roaming data and not retriction for all apps.
but 1 small problem still, from the comment above it cannot detect iphone location when using e hailing.
ok got your answer that esim mainland card is not needed just get alipay account verify with our local number and link to credit card
thaifans
post Feb 28 2024, 05:05 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Jojolin @ Feb 24 2024, 11:57 AM)
Has any Malaysian travelled to China lately AFTER the visa waiver?
Just bring your Malaysian passport will do, right?
Need to fill in any pre-arrival forms etc?
Need hotel address?
just bring passports and fill in a arrival card like thailand . Ur flight info hotel address and etc
thaifans
post Feb 28 2024, 05:07 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Feb 27 2024, 10:55 PM)
ok got your answer that esim mainland card is not needed just get alipay account verify with our local number and link to credit card
in my case i only need TnG and it settles all my pay money problem . In their case of cannot reload money probably because not using local malaysia roaming package.
xiaoxiaoshen
post Feb 29 2024, 09:26 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Feb 27 2024, 10:52 PM)
Do we need a mainland sim card ? like order food and Didi transportation ?
Didi is in Alipay mini apps. but not able to register food apps need local number. but also face some issue, since all the thing there will need wechat to scan n pay, but we dont have verify acc, like buying express bus to airport, indeed it need to scan and paid by wechat.

some entrance ticket also will require wechat scan n pay.

some restraunt will require scan order and pay (can use Alipay) but if you payment by card regardless CC or DC it will impose 3% charges.
joe09
post Mar 9 2024, 06:35 PM

39 posts

Hi guys, going to China soon. From existing discussion here, looks like if I download Alipay international version and linked it with my debit/credit already, I should be able to make any payment in China that accepts Alipay right?

Anyone can confirm if the Alipay International version app only can let the merchant scan our QR code (like the Alipay in Touch N Go) to make payment?

I tried to play around with both so far and it seems that we are not able to scan the merchant QR code to make payment?

RegentCid
post Mar 13 2024, 09:00 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(joe09 @ Mar 9 2024, 05:35 PM)
Hi guys, going to China soon. From existing discussion here, looks like if I download Alipay international version and linked it with my debit/credit already, I should be able to make any payment in China that accepts Alipay right?

Anyone can confirm if the Alipay International version app only can let the merchant scan our QR code (like the Alipay in Touch N Go) to make payment?

I tried to play around with both so far and it seems that we are not able to scan the merchant QR code to make payment?

Cut everyhing to simple. Just used TnGo E Wallet.
Just Scan & pay like you do in Malaysia, It will automatic do the conversion.
If Shop required you to provided QR Code for scan, Just go to "PAY" Section and "Swipe up to pay aboard via Alipay" Choose "Mainland China"

IF someshop no Alipay, only got Wechat Pay......then Pay with Cash. I always bring some Cash just in case.

babygrand123
post Mar 14 2024, 12:52 PM

672 posts

i just came back from shanghai last week. Please download Alipay global version & Amap is a must app when you traveling in China.

Very convenient to use it when come to payment, public transportation & didi (aka grab) inside the mini program. Enjoy travelling as a free backpacker

westlife
post Mar 15 2024, 10:35 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Mar 14 2024, 12:52 PM)
i just came back from shanghai last week. Please download Alipay global version & Amap is a must app when you traveling in China.

Very convenient to use it when come to payment, public transportation & didi (aka grab) inside the mini program. Enjoy travelling as a free backpacker
what is the use of amap?
babygrand123
post Mar 17 2024, 12:31 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 15 2024, 10:35 PM)
what is the use of amap?
it just like google map but only can use in china only

elm0001
post Mar 17 2024, 11:27 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

for the visa free 15 days, is it per trip? planning to go china on 2 trips, so trip A 15 days, trip B 15 days right?
tristantim54
post Mar 18 2024, 11:17 PM

how do i know is my alipay version is global/international or not ?
tristantim54
post Mar 18 2024, 11:29 PM

malaysia version wechat pay can use in china? or must use weixin?
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:36 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Jun 12 2023, 08:39 AM)

1) Data roaming with your current IP is the best.
2) Yes.  VPN is the only way. Even if you are on data roaming, FB, and WhatsApp cannot access also. So VPN is a must.
3) You mean the e-wallet. Alipay and Wechat equally good.
3. how about touch n go ewallet?? acceptance ok there?
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:36 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(tristantim54 @ Mar 18 2024, 11:29 PM)
malaysia version wechat pay can use in china? or must use weixin?
cant seem to add any payment card leh...
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:38 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jun 12 2023, 09:39 AM)
Hey there. So, I travelled to China a few months back (from mid-March to mid-April):

1. You can either buy a sim card or use roaming, but it's gonna be very expensive. Suggest you to buy sim card over there, saves you lots of hassle.
2. Use VPN. Install and configure them before you travel to China. I subscribed to ExpressVPN. They're quite OK, but there are a few days that I can't get the VPN working at all. For backup, get your Wechat ready before you fly to China.
3. Alipay. Download and try to configure them before you travel to China. Unfortunately, I can't link any of my bank cards (debit, credit or pre-paid) to Alipay. I read that Alipay recently decided not to support overseas bank. So, what I did was I gave my Chinese colleague (I was on business trip) some cash and ask them to transfer the money to my Alipay (It's quite a hassle as not many ppl want to accept cash). But you can try to link your card first, if you have those Union Pay card, I think you probably can link them. Once you are there, buy a sim card and link your new mobile number to your Alipay.
3. Now able to link liao for alipay. Just link my CC in alipay app and its working already...
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:42 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 26 2023, 06:56 PM)
International version of alipay could tied to malaysian credit card, make purchases, order didi, use metro, etc.

Digi roaming could access Malaysia accessible site and apps..
yeah configured mine in Malaysia and its working... cant try didi cause the map is china map.. not there yet hahhaa
westlife
post Mar 28 2024, 12:15 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Jun 12 2023, 08:47 AM)
If u use roaming data from Malaysia then don't worry, u will still able to access FB & YT & +++
If u buy local data sim then u need to preinstall VPN app
WeChat pay is more widely used, but usually both are available
as a malaysian we can use wechat pay also? wechat pay requires china mobile no is it?
achong09
post Mar 29 2024, 04:47 AM

1,266 posts

Planning to travel to china in apr. Read most blogs it states able to use qr for payment there and no need go money changer to change money. Hence so can use touch n go ewallet, maybank qr, alipay qr, wechat qr etc

Would like to ask so many msian qr now can be use in china, which qr/ewallet has best rate?

Any advise is much appreciated.

28 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0716sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:16 PM