Quick question....
Which is the glossy type of screen? the WXGA or WXGA+? or both?
thanx
Dell New model Vortro,1520,1720,1521,1721 updated, 13 June New Picture Updated at 1st page!
Jul 11 2007, 02:16 PM
1,022 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: nomad in the Sahara... |
Quick question....
Which is the glossy type of screen? the WXGA or WXGA+? or both? thanx |
Jul 11 2007, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Jul 11 2007, 07:13 PM) I just called n ordered through phone for the DELL 1520. My specs are followed: Me again....made an order with Dell this afternoon. Gotten the 1520 as well. ETA in 7days. Items 2,5 and 9 is the main reason why I purchase this laptop.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1. INTEL C2D T7100 1.8Ghz 2. 2GB DDR2 RAM 667Mhz (Free upgrade) 3. 120GB SATA Hard disk 4. DVD Burner 5. GeForce 8600M GT 256MB DDR2 5. Alpine White with 2MP webcam (Other colors have to wait till 25th July) 6. Intel Pro Wireless 7. 9-cell battery 8. Windows Vista Home Premium 9. 15.4" WXGA with TrueLife Added RM52 for a Dell All in one Printer Damage: RM 3900 This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 11 2007, 09:15 PM |
Jul 12 2007, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(taneuhua @ Jul 11 2007, 09:37 PM) Those with TrueLife labeled is the glossy screen. As for WXGA and WXGA+, WXGA means it is 1280px X 800px screen while WXGA+ is 1440px X 900px. Depending your liking, if you are on designs or you need more workspace, you might consider the higher resolution, but if you have bad eyesight, the WXGA should be alright. Yeah, I had to ask the salesrep. Had normal screen before....matted....now wanna try glossy type. I ok with the WXGA resolution....any smaller i'll have to squint. QUOTE(kingmax @ Jul 11 2007, 09:43 PM) As my opinion the C2D T7100 is relatively expensive and not quite worth upgrading.Mine is base on price whether it worth or not.Upgrading from T5250 to T7100 will cost you RM489 and T7100 to T7300 is Rm315.If you browse through Vostro , they have new processor with T5470 with 800Mhz FSB.But of course Vostro is a better quality laptop. I agree with you on the warranty, but I will wait it our on the first year, if many probs or I foresee probs after the 1st year....then will upgrade the warranty. Hm..weird... I though Alpine white need to wait till 25th July ? .Other color can get it within a week. Added on July 11, 2007, 9:52 pmForgot to mention , it'd be better if you upgrade to 3 years complete cover.It seems like you didn't choose it.If you plan to have a good processor T7100 that will generate more heat which means the more you use the shorter the life.Better have it at lease 2 years As for the processor, since i'm going for a relatively high end GPU, might as well....hell...if it gives me a few extra number crunching speed. But i'll stop there, any higher will cost extra more....LOL. The salesrep checked with their ppl at the factory, apparently the white cases arrived early and the other colors are short in supply. Hence....will have to wait 2 weeks in line for them. This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 12 2007, 12:23 AM |
Jul 12 2007, 12:45 AM
Jul 12 2007, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(hao @ Jul 12 2007, 12:57 PM) Thanks, I've been following this thread for some time but somehow I missed out that question >.< Nopes...you can get the white NOW. The Alpine white chassis arrived early. Another forummer and I got the white and will arrive in 7 days. go get it nowI want to get a White 1520 but it's only available after 25th July |
Jul 13 2007, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(alfianzuari79 @ Jul 13 2007, 02:09 AM) Yes... the machine is thick and heavy. But the price, specification and warranty make people line up for it. Luckily you dont have to go outside and standing in front of the shop door. Estimate ship date in USA is 26 July if you book now. Nice find on the review. At least I know what I will be getting.... If the machine is selling like this dont you think they will just hold to this price point. 1520 Review http://www.reviewpub.net/2007/07/inspiron-1520.html At least I know I will get more muscle lugging it around. |
Jul 13 2007, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 13 2007, 02:39 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Better to call I think, I got the Dell all in one printer for RM52 inclusive of cables. so i think it's ok. Cancelling order will have a small amount of deduction? |
Jul 13 2007, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 13 2007, 03:45 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Definitely the upgraded one is better....if you play games that is. |
Jul 13 2007, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jul 13 2007, 04:17 PM) Oh ya, I found out that in this series offer the WSXGA with and without the TrueLife (F.O.C.). May I know more about this? TrueLife = Glossy....nuff said.non TrueLife the screen like the old ones....matted type This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 13 2007, 04:23 PM |
Jul 13 2007, 08:08 PM
Ok, I just went to Dell's website to check on my order status.
My order's at the Manufacturing Build Complete....with a blue arrow. What does that mean? It's completed and now putting everything in a box? |
Jul 14 2007, 12:16 AM
Jul 14 2007, 03:12 AM
Wow! In just a few hours, my status has changed. Now it's being shipped from factory! Now that's Dell for you eh?
Woopie! Sorry, kinda excited about it. |
Jul 14 2007, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(zuying1985 @ Jul 14 2007, 11:08 AM) jz receive a quotation from dell. now choosing color between ruby red and midnite blue.. but this sale rep said all color are on stock, unless espresso brown nit wait about 8 days... haha.. so who r the accurate 1? some say white nit to wait, some say onli white no nit to wait.. -__-||| I have no idea. Apparently the White IS available. They just called me this morning to inform me that they will deliver on Monday. Whoop! If really arrive by monday....which means it took only 5 days from ordering to deliver it to me. And that is what I call Good Service! This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 14 2007, 06:16 PM |
Jul 14 2007, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(diners @ Jul 14 2007, 06:16 PM) i'm getting the PERFORMANCE's 1520 You don't have to add the RM 600 even you order through the phone. They will still give you the discount. Along with the 2GB upgrade. Ask for freebies if you do it by phone.so its costumize to RM4672. and then, the price (RM4672) is already RM600 deducted? so if i wanted to order it one PHONE, it'll be RM5272 lor? cuz RM4672 + RM600 am i right? blur @@ RM 4672 sounds like a full spec from their range. For gaming? |
Jul 16 2007, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 16 2007, 12:43 PM) Just checked the status online. Apparently they have pushed the estimated delivery date from 18th to 23rd July. Maybe because of the color? Mine was actually brought forward by 3 days! Arriving later.Just call up and ask about it....think they could give you an answer. This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 16 2007, 12:48 PM |
Jul 16 2007, 12:50 PM
Jul 16 2007, 02:13 PM
IT HAS ARRIVED!!!
MY SPANKY BRAND NEW ALPINE WHITE 1520~~!! but sadly i gotta rush out on some few errands! will b back to post pics and some reviews on it. |
Jul 16 2007, 05:14 PM
Phew...back home...and now on to my Alpine White 1520 laptop! Will post a few pics, ignore the bad quality.
With the 15.4" screen and the 9-cell battery, it is quite heavy. A little thick but this is NOT a business laptop so don't compare it with business or Ultra Mobile versions, with it's configurations....it is suitable for a replacement desktop and for gamers on the move. My specs: T7100 1.8Ghz 800FSB 2GB 667Mhz Rams 120GB SATA HDD 15.4" WXGA (1280x800) with TrueLife NVidia 8600M GT 256MB The only complain that I have so far is the LCD bleeding....it is quite noticeable from a certain angle. But not so bad. The brightness level is high....you can increase it more within the Nvidia control panel, practically turned my whole screen white with it. The bootup speed is blazing! I'm just waiting for some games to be installed and post the frame rates and quality settings here later. Now I just need to get familiarized with the whole Vista shabang. Will post a proper full review later or tomorrow morning. ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by WildChai: Jul 16 2007, 05:20 PM |
Jul 16 2007, 11:25 PM
Hey guys....I am really impressed with the 1520.
So far I've just installed FEAR and ran the test. With both the CPU and Graphics settings on High and VSync ON....63% between 25-40 FPS, the remaining 37% is above 40FPS. Gonna test C&C3 and COH shortly. |
Jul 17 2007, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(hao @ Jul 17 2007, 01:32 PM) Not very hot really, I left FEAR running for about 3 hours straight...on the wrist rest, a tad bit warm. But putting it on my lap i feel the heat though... I like the keyboard, very sturdy. Don't know why though, after booting up Vista....the hard disk activity is still goin on and on and on....even after the updates and all were installed and configured. Most of the time it's just clicking away. Hmmm...anyone any software to check HDD activities? |
| Change to: | 0.0211sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:23 AM |