DSLR pictures - How many do touchup?

TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 10:34 AM, updated 19y ago

3,446 posts

I'm just wondering, of all the pictures I took, (2K+), not all I would say I am proud of. (~30% OK perhaps) cos of too dark, underexposed, blurry, etc.

When I compared it with some of LYN's forumers galleries, I am embarassed. Then again, i just want to find out exactly how many of you also face the same issues as me and do manual touchup using photoshop/gimp etc.

Be truthful. I'm already at a low point in terms of my photography skills.

I hate these blurry shots. need IS on my next Canon Lens. (Kitlens now)
yewkhuay
post Jun 4 2007, 10:43 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

i don't do PP , is the ori photo tht i m showing . unless i wanto see a fresh looking for the photo, i will adjust abit of the color...but never upload...smile.gif
shinchan^^
post Jun 4 2007, 10:45 AM

K66
21,256 posts

canon kit lens?
maybe u should go for some "L" Lens

17-40L
28-70L
70-200L

;p would be better
TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 10:50 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 4 2007, 10:43 AM)
i don't do PP , is the ori photo tht i m showing
Good got you lor.. I especially hate taking indoor pics. Chasing my nephew around was bad for the AF, not to mention have to use up to ISO1600 to get shutter speed OK and then the Background very dark.

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 4 2007, 10:45 AM)
canon kit lens?

17-40L
28-70L
70-200L
I'm thinking of the 28-135 IS USM (not sure if this is L)
or the 70-300 IS

Need IS.

yewkhuay
post Jun 4 2007, 10:52 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 10:50 AM)
Good got you lor.. I especially hate taking indoor pics. Chasing my nephew around was bad for the AF, not to mention have to use up to ISO1600 to get shutter speed OK and then the Background very dark.

Tie them to a chair or get something to catch their attention....i tried to shoot dog indoor oso difficult until i get her something to bite, but shot still poor, wait......

Added on June 4, 2007, 10:53 am
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 4 2007, 10:45 AM)
canon kit lens?

17-40L
28-70L
70-200L

;p would be better
third time i m seeing u poison ppl today.... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Jun 4 2007, 10:53 AM
shinchan^^
post Jun 4 2007, 10:54 AM

K66
21,256 posts

if "L" there is a red ring around the lens

L = Lansi Luxury
butterflydarling
post Jun 4 2007, 11:00 AM

544 posts

i do use some photoshop. have to admit im not pro. well, maybe pro in photoshop.
my dad is different, he is an experienced photographer, all his pic can b view/submitted jut like that. raw~!
TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 11:09 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 4 2007, 10:52 AM)
Tie them to a chair or get something to catch their attention....i tried to shoot dog indoor oso difficult until i get her something to bite, but shot still poor, wait......

Added on June 4, 2007, 10:53 am

third time i m seeing u poison ppl today.... shocking.gif
If tied to chair, then no more spontaneity lah.. Not "cute"
yeah Man.. stop poison me lah.. Poison also no use, where find Moolah??

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 4 2007, 10:54 AM)
if "L"  there is a red ring around the lens

L = Lansi Luxury
Looks like not "L" see link below. USD400 cheaper than KL (Canon KLCC selling Rm2600)
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1496...F_28_135mm.html

If the "L" version price shoot up like Crazy man... USD1059 here
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976..._4L_IS_USM.html

Beh Tahan man..

Canon 70-300 IS (Non L) USD549
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976..._5_6_EF_IS.html

See, the poison working already.. Aargghhh.. die.. diee... rclxub.gif
yewkhuay
post Jun 4 2007, 11:32 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 11:09 AM)
If tied to chair, then no more spontaneity lah.. Not "cute"
yeah Man.. stop poison me lah.. Poison also no use, where find Moolah??
Looks like not "L" see link below. USD400 cheaper than KL (Canon KLCC selling Rm2600)
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1496...F_28_135mm.html

If the "L" version price shoot up like Crazy man... USD1059 here
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976..._4L_IS_USM.html

Beh Tahan man..

Canon 70-300 IS (Non L) USD549
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3976..._5_6_EF_IS.html
See, the poison working already.. Aargghhh.. die.. diee... rclxub.gif
when u start searching about L, means u oready kena poison....one victim down....
aichiban
post Jun 4 2007, 11:56 AM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

shoot outdoor 1st lor
still objects
neoro_blitz
post Jun 4 2007, 12:07 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 10:34 AM)
I'm just wondering, of all the pictures I took, (2K+), not all I would say I am proud of. (~30% OK perhaps) cos of too dark,  underexposed, blurry, etc.

When I compared it with some of LYN's forumers galleries, I am embarassed. Then again, i just want to find out exactly how many of you also face the same issues as me and do manual touchup using photoshop/gimp etc.

Be truthful. I'm already at a low point in terms of my photography skills.

I hate these blurry shots. need IS on my next Canon Lens. (Kitlens now)
hehhee, can always check the Histogram first after your first shot, then you'll know if ur shutter speed , exposure and ISO is enough. After that.... PP is just a matter of maybe WB off a bit of some minor color and curve adjustment to up a bit.
shinchan^^
post Jun 4 2007, 12:15 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 4 2007, 11:32 AM)
when u start searching about L, means u oready kena poison....one victim down....
lol TRUE TRUE tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 12:18 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ Jun 4 2007, 12:07 PM)
hehhee, can always check the Histogram first after your first shot, then you'll know if ur shutter speed , exposure and ISO is enough. After that.... PP is just a matter of maybe WB off a bit of some minor color and curve adjustment to up a bit.
Yeah.. I use histogram... but sometimes, still don't know how to use.

eg: Too dark, I put the +ev a bit, but there got some places where is overexposed. eg: Shoot Jungle where some of the top part is sky, there will be Overexposed. Dunno what to do in those circumstance.

If put -ev, then other places too dark and that area still too bright.

How??

-0.7 EV F/7.1 24mm

-2.0 EV F/7.1 24mm

-1.7 EV F/5.6 24mm

BTW, how do you guys resize the pics for I-net ah and still have the EXIF data intact?

Here are the 30% which is OK to me

What do you guys think or is my standard very low?

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jun 4 2007, 12:47 PM
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 4 2007, 01:14 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 12:18 PM)
Yeah.. I use histogram... but sometimes, still don't know how to use.

eg: Too dark, I put the +ev a bit, but there got some places where is overexposed. eg: Shoot Jungle where some of the top part is sky, there will be Overexposed. Dunno what to do in those circumstance.

If put -ev, then other places too dark and that area still too bright.

How??

-0.7 EV F/7.1 24mm

-2.0 EV F/7.1 24mm

-1.7 EV F/5.6 24mm

BTW, how do you guys resize the pics for I-net ah and still have the EXIF data intact?
For this kind of situation, it is near to impossible to get all the area properly exposed unless u are doing HDR.

either ur sky overexpose/jungle proper exposed or sky proper expose/jungle underexposed. coz u are facing backlight
TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 01:40 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 4 2007, 01:14 PM)
For this kind of situation, it is near to impossible to get all the area properly exposed unless u are doing HDR.

either ur sky overexpose/jungle proper exposed or sky proper expose/jungle underexposed. coz u are facing backlight
What is HDR??

Anyhoo, there are situations where this is the case right? It may not be the sky, maybe it's a bulb/florescent behind then how?? How do I compensate? Or do PP later. (again something else to learn about then...)

undazztood
post Jun 4 2007, 01:49 PM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

here SOmething u can learn about HDR

HDR

got to use tripod, i think this techic cannot use when taking human potrait.

clemong_888
post Jun 4 2007, 01:53 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 01:40 PM)
What is HDR??

Anyhoo, there are situations where this is the case right? It may not be the sky, maybe it's a bulb/florescent behind then how?? How do I compensate? Or do PP later. (again something else to learn about then...)
simple, avoid this kinda situations ?
goldfries
post Jun 4 2007, 01:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 4 2007, 10:43 AM)
i don't do PP , is the ori photo tht i m showing . unless i wanto see a fresh looking for the photo, i will adjust abit of the color...but never upload...smile.gif
IMO PP is fine. just don't over do it.

in my latest gallery, probably only 1/4 received touch up and that also VERY VERY VERY minor contrast adjustment.
TSmyjunk
post Jun 4 2007, 02:27 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 4 2007, 01:57 PM)
IMO PP is fine. just don't over do it.

in my latest gallery, probably only 1/4 received touch up and that also VERY VERY VERY minor contrast adjustment.
Where can learn these sort of techniques? I tried my 1st PP to brighten up a dark picture. Came out not very good, but brighter lah..

goldfries
post Jun 4 2007, 02:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jun 4 2007, 02:27 PM)
Where can learn these sort of techniques? I tried my 1st PP to brighten up a dark picture. Came out not very good, but brighter lah..
Rule #1 of PP - don't attempt to turn shit into gold. smile.gif for me, i only touch up the shots that are already nice. those that are too dim, shaky, overexposed - nahh i don't bother to save it.

brightness and contrast are good enough for PPing IMO. normally i adjust constrast only that also very very very minimal adjustments.

if you look at my gallery (latest) the only shots i increased contrast were the scene with the hills, and some inanimate objects like the deco in the garden. the rest like flowers, lamps and such were as it is.

0.0210sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:33 AM