TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

whitejack
post Dec 30 2019, 01:21 AM

120 posts

guys...just wanna ask
my condo already upgraded with fibre optic...however from the riser to my unit is still using copper. Most likely have to lay new fibre optic (from the riser to my router point) if i opt for time.
Because my house just renovated with plaster ceiling, can the installer/technician lay the fibre optic inside the plaster ceiling? what are the charges?
whitejack
post Apr 27 2024, 02:05 PM

120 posts

Hi all Sifu

I am using powerline adapter to extend wifi coverage for my house. In term of wifi coverage, not much a problem.
But there is a internet speed drop using powerline adapter. The internet speed is dropped to 30mbps - 50mbps at the yellow zone (my internet subscription is 200mbps).
My current setup is: HG8240H5 > EC230-G1 > Powerline adapter

I plan to upgrade the setup to improve to the internet speed at the yellow area. But i have a tight budget.

1) What is the recommended setup to improve the internet speed at the yellow area?

2) What is estimated speed drop if using mesh as compared to my current powerline adapter?

3) Do i need to upgrade my current router?

Thanks to All Sifu first notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by whitejack: Apr 27 2024, 02:06 PM
whitejack
post Apr 27 2024, 06:28 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Apr 27 2024, 05:42 PM)
> My current setup is: HG8240H5 > EC230-G1 > Powerline adapter

what powerline adapter are you using?
- TP-Link WPA4530

> 1) What is the recommended setup to improve the internet speed at the yellow area?

1st one, dont even bother with that - Noted
2nd, can be considered but, just drop the EC230-G1 and go - Thanks for advice.

HG8240H5 -> Deco M4 -> another unit of Deco M4

but do also consider newer wifi6 routers
- Do you mean wifi 6 router or mesh wifi?

> 2) What is estimated speed drop if using mesh as compared to my current powerline adapter?

better, but best if you can run a lan cable between them or use an expensive tri-band mesh
- prefer wireless setup. Understand there will be internet speed drop, but trying to minimise it. Limited budget, so will drop the idea of tri-band mesh.

> 3) Do i need to upgrade my current router?

can consider wifi6 router/mesh
- Limited budget for wifi 6  cry.gif 

whitejack
post Apr 27 2024, 10:04 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Apr 27 2024, 09:27 PM)

Thanks for the advice notworthy.gif
whitejack
post Apr 28 2024, 11:57 AM

120 posts