TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

research
post Aug 3 2021, 12:09 AM

309 posts

Hi, need your view on the following issues:

Subscribed TIME 500mbps package. Was original 100mbps package, then upgraded (without any changes on devices, or technicians coming for setting).
Using modem: Huawei H8240H (provided by TIME)
Using Router: TPLINK AC1200 (Archer C50) - self bought in March 2021
LAN cable: cat5e x 3 units (1 from TIME, 2 bought new)

Issue:
Speed test below 100 mbps near router.
Tested using android phone, and Mac PC.

Called TIME.
1. They asked me buy cat6 cable
2. Called router supplier

What I have done:
I checked with other residents in my same condo, they are using cable 5e and speed test near to 500mbps.
Tested 3 cat5e cable.

What could be the reason?
What should I do to achieve 500mbps (instead of 100mbps)?

Thank you.
research
post Aug 3 2021, 12:40 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 3 2021, 10:57 AM)
Archer C50 does not support more than 100Mbps

Specs: 1× 10/100 Mbps WAN Port

Get a router with Gigabit ports
Thank you for your input. How come ya? The model description stated they supported up to 300mbps. Welcome your input.
research
post Aug 3 2021, 01:24 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Aug 3 2021, 01:04 PM)
Model description on where?

It says 10/100 ports for WAN and LAN here https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...#specifications.
Thank you very much for your link. Now I understand. I saw "2.4 GHz: 300 Mbps (802.11n)"...

research
post Aug 3 2021, 01:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Aug 3 2021, 01:09 PM)
It's a bit of sly marketing

by 300Mbps they mean Wi-Fi AC specs, so 300Mbps on 2.4Ghz and 867Mbps on 5Ghz
So by that they mean the Wi-Fi can go up to say 1200Mbps "combined"
So you could transfer files locally over Wi-Fi up to said speed.
In reality you will never see those speeds but that's not the main issue here.

The problem is the router has 10/100 WAN and LAN ports

so between your modem and router only can go up to 100Mbps
that's the bottleneck

Basically like
Fibre cable (2.4Gbit) -> Modem (1Gbit) -> Router (100Mbps) -> Wi-fi ("up to" 1200Mbps)

Your slowest link is 100Mbps so, 100Mbps is all you get.

Get a router with Gigabit WAN Ports.
Awesome-professional-swift-effective input.
Took me a week to figure out what happened (following TIME support person advices), risked myself going to 5 phone gadget shops to source new LAN cable (cat5e and cat6 copper). As TIME kept saying they detected it was LAN cable issue. Even though I have given them my router details.

Terima kasih so much. Will keep this "Get a router with Gigabit WAN Ports" in mind.

research
post Aug 3 2021, 02:41 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Aug 3 2021, 02:32 PM)
faster buy router to enjoy extra 400mb
one floor condo just go for single powerful router
Since I am already TIME subscriber for 500mbps. If I were to choose recontract...
Do you guys think this is a good deal? Any 'hidden' cost?
It say: Enjoy RM10 off x 24 months on your subscription fee and optimise your home WiFi experience by pairing your free device upgrade with mesh WiFi that delivers fast Internet to every corner of your home.

Does it mean it comes with router? new modem?

https://selfcare.time.com.my/userv3/router_ngt/27/
research
post Aug 3 2021, 02:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Aug 3 2021, 02:45 PM)
Unfortunately that this offer is applicable for new sign ups only.

Thank you.
Once you recontract will extend contract validity for another 2 years.
Check in your Self Care Portal and see whether you are eligible for new router upgrade for free.

Thank you.
Does this mean I am entitled:

This post has been edited by research: Aug 3 2021, 02:55 PM

research
post Aug 12 2021, 11:48 AM

309 posts

Hi. Story continue.

Today TIME contractor come upgrade my 500mbps TIME package with HUAWEI Edge ONT. Speed test below 200mbps both using Mac Pro & Huawei 30pro:

Contractor said it is 'memang macam ni'.

Can advise how do I further verify this?

This post has been edited by research: Aug 12 2021, 06:36 PM

0.0351sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:00 PM