TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

eugene66
post Nov 26 2021, 08:05 PM

20 posts

Hey guys, I need some advice here. I'm currently using 100mbps with no contract, and I'm using TP Link AC1200 router given by TIME previously. My apartment is 800 sqft, basically the coverage of the current router is quite good except the corner of my second room where 5ghz network signal will drop drastically.

I'm thinking of getting this fix in a cost effective way. So, shall I:

1. Upgrade my plan to 300mbps and change to the new router that given by TIME?
2. Upgrade to 500mbps with 2 given free mesh router?
3. Purchase a better router/ mesh myself instead of getting one from TIME?
4. Any other suggestion?

Appreciate if sifu here can give me a cost effective solution as I'm kinda tight on budget.

Thank you
eugene66
post Nov 27 2021, 03:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 26 2021, 10:52 PM)

Thank you very much for your kind advice.

eugene66
post Nov 27 2021, 07:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 26 2021, 10:50 PM)
HI, if you dont want to be tied with another 2 years contract, then you can get a decent budgetary router like TP-Link AX20 router / Huawei AX3 Pro.

Hi bro,

Do you know if i were to go for Tp link AX20, can i setup my current Tp link Ac1200 and put inside my room as wifi extender?
eugene66
post Mar 13 2022, 02:32 PM

20 posts

Dear all, I've been used using Time for the past 5 years. Lately I noticed that my voice call gets distorted intermittently when the other party hear me. The other party was using house phone and not mobile phone as I understand sometimes mobile coverage fluctuated. Also, there are a few people who complained to me that they hear my voice distorted, not only one of them. I made a complain to TIME and they found out high packet lost and that they sent technician over to my house. Technician came, changed the fibre optic connector on the white fibre optic converter box, and found out that it didn't help, ping still over 13ms. Then one of the technician went out from my apartment unit and did something, he came back and tried, ping shows 8-9ms now.

Issue was resolved and I didn't experience any voice distorted when the other party hears me.

These few days, it seems like the issue is back. I tried do a ping and found out response is 13-16ms again. I called up TIME customer service and they said my TP link router given by Time is outdated and needed a flash. They claimed they will push the firmware remotely to my house router. After 30mins I realized no connection dropped and ping still 13-16ms, I called back Time again they said there's an error when they're trying to push the firmware to my router. The agent claimed there's no packet loss from their checking.

I tried to changed to a new Panasonic cordless phone thought it was phone problem but found out it's not, after changed hone still same issue. And the technician who came last time set expectation to me that if the same issue happen again, there's nothing much that they can do.

What should I do?
eugene66
post Jul 2 2023, 04:11 PM

20 posts

Hi guys, I need some advice. I'm going to renovate my house and thinking of getting contrator conceal the fibre optic cable into the wall.

1. Is any trunking works to conceal the cable into the wall?
2. I search the fibre optic cable and found SC to SC fibre optic cable. Is this the right one that I've to purchase?
3. When contractor pull the fibre optic cable out from my wall, is there any casing like we used to have for Astro socket that available on the market that works for fibre optic connection so that it looks tidy when out from the wall?
4. I'm looking for a reliable router that's able to give excellent coverage for 1100 sq ft apartment. Do you think one Asus Zenwifi AX XT8 is good enough for whole apartment coverage?

Thanks everyone.

eugene66
post Jul 3 2023, 10:54 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Jul 2 2023, 06:11 PM)
Get yourself an experience & professional contractor to do this, ordinary wireman may tend to screw things up.... if you are in PG, then our team can help.
Thanks for sharing useful info. Just wondering whether can i buy longer length for the fibre optic cable and let the installer cut off the extra one if it's too long?
eugene66
post Jul 3 2023, 08:04 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Jul 3 2023, 01:55 PM)
Yes you can, but you will need to make a new connector for that & that doesn't include in the Standard Installation. BTW, where is your house ? You can PM me.
Ok thanks. Will drop you a pm when i got my house key.
eugene66
post Dec 8 2023, 02:08 PM

20 posts

Hi everyone, I need some help here. I own a house and planning to subscribe to TIME 100mbps package. My current house also using TIME and the configurations is that fibre optic cable > white Huawei fibre optic converter > Asus XT8 MESH router.

I just get to know that TIME no longer gives white Huawei fibre optic converter to its new subscriber anymore, instead the fibre optic cable directly plug into the router. Since my Asus XT8 router doesn't has fibre optic cable point, can I bring my existing Huawei fibre optic converter over to my new house together with my Asus XT8 router together when I subscribe to the new TIME 100mbps account?

Side note: Is the aftermarket new router nowadays comes with fibre optic point? It's been awhile that I didn't survey for router. If anyone has recommendation for 2 pack MESH router that comes with fibre optic point, please let me know, preferably tri band with budget around RM1k+-.

Thank you.
eugene66
post Dec 28 2023, 10:56 PM

20 posts

Has anyone subscribe to U mobile fibre optic package so far? Or shall we wait until Jan for the announcement?
eugene66
post Dec 28 2023, 10:59 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Dec 23 2023, 10:31 PM)
adjusted the location of the main router, and put the mesh child node inside my study room.

speed via mesh child node (wired)

as long as the date is available, once u chose it, they will come on the date and time selected. it can be even tomorrow (earliest) if there is available slot.
they come out this just 4 days after i installed my time 500Mbps. damn.. else maybe can consider. but the termination clause that one needs to pay all the remaining months of the fees of the contract which is a turn-off.
i prefer time one that anytime terminate only pay rm500. so technically i am given first month free of rm139 now, i terminate now i just pay rm361 by giving them one month notice?
So you changed back your own router or just relocate your Huawei ONT?
eugene66
post Jan 17 2024, 07:36 PM

20 posts

Hi guys, I have a few questions:

1. If i were to get Time turn my ONT to bridge mode, can i still use the LAN port of the ONT to connect to my smart TV?
2. I'm planning to buy a 2 or 3 mesh router which is able to support internet speed of 300mbps with tri band functions. Any decent model with affordable price of such router to intro? TIA everyone.
eugene66
post Jan 24 2024, 07:43 AM

20 posts

That day one of the member said today 24th TIME is going to make some announcement, any insights? If TIME not going to revise their package, I'm going for U mobile fibre then.
eugene66
post Jan 24 2024, 06:27 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Jan 24 2024, 07:48 AM)
Doubt so. It's been awhile.

If you're going for their 100 Mbps package then it's cheaper, otherwise most packages are the same or slightly more expensive. And they could also be riding on Time's infrastructure.
Just submit my application from U mobile website for 100mbps package. Hopefully everything turns well. biggrin.gif
eugene66
post Jan 25 2024, 01:51 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(eauyong @ Jan 24 2024, 07:51 PM)
Are you jumping ship from Times 100Mbps to Umobile 100Mbps?
I subscribed to TIME many years ago at my parents house, just bought my own house and plan to subscribe another TIME account. Since I'll go to parents house most of the time, I give it a try on U mobile for my own house instead.
eugene66
post Feb 6 2024, 07:56 AM

20 posts

I'm using U mobile fibre for a week plus now. So far no complain, installer is from TIME. If TIME pulled fibre optic cable to your house previously, basically there's no need to repull again. Speedtest can get average of 95-103mbps download and 90-105mbps upload using wireless.

This post has been edited by eugene66: Feb 7 2024, 07:27 AM
eugene66
post Feb 6 2024, 09:21 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 6 2024, 08:54 AM)
we need a U Mobile Fiber thread now  biggrin.gif
What model D-Link is that, that was provided by U Mobile?

also, I see you are also part of the "use laptop cooler as router cooler" gang tongue.gif
cooler master has a router cooler but its so expensive, rather use cheap laptop cooler
Yes bro, both ONT and D Link router provided by U Mobile. Model for the router is DIR-X1860Z. I'm placing order for D Link X3000Z to create a mesh connection, still pending for delivery tough.

Yeah, I've two spares of CM laptop cooler which left unused for quite sometime, can utilize it as router cooler. 😁

This post has been edited by eugene66: Feb 6 2024, 11:28 AM
eugene66
post Feb 7 2024, 07:22 AM

20 posts

I'm setting up a mesh router D Link X300Z just right in front of my room. Distance from mesh router to room study table is around 3-4 meters only. Previously before setting up mesh, signal only one to two bars with d/l and u/l around 16-20mbps. After setting up mesh, signal bar improve but still not full bar, d/l can get around 70-90mbps, u/l sometimes only 50mbps. Just wondering why the mesh router is just few meters away yet still cannot get full bar signal.

My mesh and main router also quite close, around 6 meters away but I'm keeping my main router inside tv cabinet.

This post has been edited by eugene66: Feb 7 2024, 07:23 AM
eugene66
post Feb 7 2024, 03:24 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 7 2024, 07:35 AM)
1) First of all what standard is ur wifi mesh? Wifi 5 I assumed? If wifi 5 no issue to get 500Mbps and above if the coverage and signal are good
2) u likely can check the signal strength from yr child node to the master node via the wifi router GUI. Check it to see what is the signal strength.
3) if signal strength from ur child node to master node is good, check if ur device such as yr phone is connected to child node or still connected to the master node when u roam around. How intelligent ur node to switch between the master and child node depending on the devices and ur wifi mesh. There are features like node steering which the node will redirect ur devices to the node with strongest signal but this feature even both node and device support it, it may not work well in real.

Since ur master and child node are too close to each other, the device may still connect to master node which is further and result in slower speed while u are actually physically closer to master node.
4) for mesh system it requires a lot of trial and error before u found the best locations to place ur master and child nodes.
5) besides ur plan is 100Mbps only? Becos given that u are in front of master node and again get such slow speed, it indicates big prob.
Thanks for your reply bro.. I'm not really familiar with IT stuff but let me try my best to answer as much as I can.

1. Main router is D-Link DIR-X1860Z AX1800 Wifi 6 router. Mesh router is D-link DIR-X3000Z AX3000 Wifi 6 router as well
2. I tried login once and yes I remembered there's such option to check on the signal strength, let me check that again tonight.
3. Child node means "secondary MESH router" and master node means "main router" I guess? Is there a way to check whether is our device connected to which router since both are sharing the same SSID? My main and secondary router are connected to each other using 5Ghz network, but when I scan for network, it shows one 5GHz SSID which i assumed it is correct, but there are two 2.4GHz SSID which sounds a bit strange to me, not sure if this is something normal.
4. Ok got it, have to try from one place to another place then rolleyes.gif
5. Yes, I'm on U mobile fibre 100mbps plan. When I'm right in front of my main router, it gets quite a decent speed in between 95-103mbps on both d/l and u/l. However when I'm in my room which I have the secondary mesh right in front of the room, it shows me signal drop to half with speed fluctuates. Anyway, I should have test the secondary router in few places to see which location works the best. Thanks anyway. smile.gif
eugene66
post Feb 24 2025, 01:11 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Seng89 @ Feb 19 2025, 05:23 PM)
Coming June my 200 Mbps contract going to end.

Should check Unifi could get better speed and price too ?
Go for U mobile fibre broadband bro, RM79 for 100mbps. They're using TIME backbone anyway. I've been using it for more than a year, very stable connection.

0.0466sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:42 PM