TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

T3NET P
post Dec 17 2020, 11:20 PM

Probation

Has anyone started using these so called "OmniMesh" with Mesh ready Router (EchoLife HG8145V5) bundle from Time? I would really like to know what are some comparable speed you folks are getting out of these setup? I just subscribed to the 500M line with these essential pack (Huawei EchoLife WA8021V5) a 1200Mbps Dual Band Edge ONT devices. Outcome, direct wired connection from the router is able to attain the advertised speed of 500M+. Wirelessly though, I'm only getting around 130 - 140M via fast.com/speedtest.net while managed to hit 170M test via Time's own variant of speedtest.net (I wonder why). All tested via wifi on my laptop that has an ax200 nic and I was within 3 meters from the ont in the room. The product has very less details on the net that I could find but here's one document from Huawei on it. Called up cust care and arranged for another session with techs to take a look more into this.

QUOTE(tango1800 @ Dec 9 2020, 04:43 PM)

Hi Guys, 
Time is currently offering this omnimesh.
I am currently using D-Link DIR-882 AC2600. (I'm on 500mbps package)
Wifi speed is just average.

Will this Omnimesh setup improve my wifi speed?
Thanks in advance for your advice.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/12/09/7o6uNg.md.png
https://pictr.com/images/2020/12/09/7o6Yqu.md.png

T3NET P
post Dec 20 2020, 12:27 AM

Probation

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Dec 19 2020, 03:15 PM)
Hi, we have tested quite a number of units with these new devices, signal strength is quite promising, if compare to the most reason past EC230, this HG8145V5 has at least 20-30% significant improvement.
We are able to get 3xxMbps consistetly.
I believe you are connecting to the satelite unit, try temp off the WA8021V5 and test what is the speed you are getting....
I did test by turning off all the AP units (I have 3 covering the property) and was only able to attain shy of 280M wirelessly while im about the living room area within 2 to 3 meters away from the router. Later in the day, technical support came and tried their best at optimizing the 3 AP locations for the setup but still failed to attain even 200M from these APs. Dissatisfactory report filed but further than this I'm not sure what could be done as the other fact about this entire bundle from Time is that this 2 in 1 router/ont does not have a readily available WAN port for me to install a 3rd party router without having to go through some further tinkering. Does Time still provide the usual ONT together with a regular router like before rather than these poorly marketed gimmick of a mesh? If these came free I'd not complain, but I paid quite a heft getting these 3 units.
T3NET P
post Dec 20 2020, 08:59 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Dec 20 2020, 09:05 AM)
Hi, thank you for the valuble feedback.
As for now, we are only able to obtain speed near to 200Mbps if connected to the satellite units. Will do more on-site testing & feedback. Meanwhile feel free to continue with the tuning session with the current SI.

Yes, you will need to configure your router to be in AP mode in this case.

Thanks jjj2. I will look into that and also seek alternatives from Time cust service as well.

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Dec 20 2020, 11:22 AM)
Is this mesh integrated with modem in it? (i doubt so)

Are you getting good speed on wired connection at the main mesh node? (if yes, then your wireless connectivity in between mesh nodes need to be checked, see what is the optimal position to place them)
I have no idea if this device is really mesh integrated or not but all I know is that all new Time subscriptions now comes with this complimentary HG8145V5 optical network router that acts as both the fibre terminal with routing capabilities, thus removing the need for having 2 separate devices as how it was bundled before (ONT + additional router eg. TP-link Archer C7 or something). Hence saving cost on CPE. More info on this device.

Wired speed from the ONR is good, 500M as advertised. Wired speed from any of the "mesh" aka APs are around ~200-250M. I will try to further attempt different location to see if it helps although the techs have also tried their best to help with this.

T3NET P
post Jul 14 2022, 04:25 PM

Probation

Any Time sifus can help advise. So in my current apt I have HG8145V5 + 3 units of WA8021V5. I am moving to a new apt soon that already has a HG8240H5 which terminates the fibre in a utility room. Is it possible to configure the HG8145V5 to router mode while the existing HG8240H5 remain in the utility room as the ont modem? I was told that these WA8021V5 devices can only pair with HG8145V5 and I would also not want to spend on getting any new network gears. My plan is to have the HG8145V5 placed at the hall, and each WA8021V5 in each rooms (all 4 location have wired connectivity back to the utility room).

0.0279sec    1.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:15 PM