TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

JLJQ
post Mar 25 2023, 04:36 PM

80 posts

Hey guys & sifus, would like to get some advice on which Time package to go with (100 Mbps Wifi 5 vs 500 Mbps Wifi 6).

Currently, I am in a household of 4 users on the 100 Mbps plan and never had any issues in terms of speed.

I will soon be moving into an 850 Sqft condo, just me & my wife (2 users).

The router can be placed pretty centrally, so I doubt speed & range will ever be an issue for us (pretty standard usage: for work, watch YouTube/Netflix, casual gaming, & some IoTs connected).

My question is, will Wifi 5 or Wifi 6 matter/make any difference for our usage? Or would it be worthwhile to future-proof with the 500 Mbps Wifi 6 plan?

I personally think that speed is unnecessarily much for us (given that 100 Mbps worked fine when it was 4 users), but just unsure about the Wifi 5 vs Wifi 6 relevancy. Any help would be appreciated!

JLJQ
post Mar 26 2023, 11:38 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 25 2023, 06:14 PM)
100Mbps is more than enough for casual browsing and streaming

Use the savings to buy a good router, the free Wi-Fi 6 router isn't any good either
Thanks for the suggestion, router seems to always be the bottleneck with these packages...
JLJQ
post Mar 30 2023, 11:11 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 27 2023, 09:58 PM)
I read that if I sign up the 500Mbps promo for RM99 for first 6 months, i can downgrade to 100Mbps (RM99) by extending the contract + 24 months again.
But enjoy the free devices Huawei HG8145x6 x 2 units
Does this actually work? 😮

0.0319sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:49 PM