Samsung Galaxy A7 A9 2018 Discussion Thread, 4 Cameras

MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 01:41 AM

3,599 posts

Guys, bought this phone for my parent and I'm extremely pleased to discover easy mode in this phone. I am using iPhone all these while and has been rather concern about the "android" experience that most people said can be rather complicated.

Thanks god, with easy mode, the phone seem to be rather easy to navigate and use. thumbup.gif

Now,

I would like to ask about the dual sim functionality in Samsung mobile phone.

I am having this issue,

The phone is for my parent and they are using prepaid now. Hence, they will only reload when they wanna make phone call.

So, now I plan to buy XOX sim card for them. So they will have some internet for their phone.

The problem is, XOX sim card also have charges in calling...

Hence, in this scenario, how do i ensure that my parent able to reload money to Sim 1 when they needed to make phone call and to make phone call with Sim 1 only, while leaving XOX sim (sim 2) untouch and only purely for internet?

Hope sifu here can advice. Thank you.

MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 09:53 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Oct 29 2018, 08:43 AM)
For XOX, just get the season pass. 333 minutes for calls. You can monitor their usage from your phone. No need to get separate cards.
But if your plan is to have both, the settings you can enable sim 1 for calls and sim 2 for data.
Oh because they don’t plan to change the phone number. And you know la, the current phone number don’t have any internet connection one for prepaid, so I plan to get an xox SIM card for them for internet.

So it can be done through the setting?

In this case, the non internet SIM card is best put in sim 1 slot or sim 2 slot? hmm.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 11:31 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Oct 29 2018, 10:52 AM)
I normally put calls at sim 1 and internet at sim 2 but actually it doesnt matter.
Oh I see. You actually using the same method that I plan to use it for my parent?
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 04:45 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Oct 29 2018, 01:01 PM)
This method is very common for us who dont have enuff data to use. we have a primary sim with limited data and when the data finish, we will switch to the second sim for backup data cause its cheaper than buy additional data.
Yeah.. you are right. I didn’t really think about this because my phone don’t have dual sim function haha. You got the point there.

I am glad that it is a common method. Otherwise, it will be hard for me to get the answer haha.
QUOTE(mulut99 @ Oct 29 2018, 04:25 PM)
Both sim card can be set at sim setting.
U can use any slot for any sim...it can be choose or can be set as default.
Example:
Sim 1 is XOX sim [data] internet only
Sim 2 is Prepaid [no data] making call/sms only

U can set sim 1 for data only and sim 2 for call & sms only.
OR......u also can choose which sim to make call/sms manualy at dialer there. Very easy to use....u go thro 1 time u will understand how it works.
Only is for Data.....it work only 1 sim at a time. Either sim 1 or sim 2. Is up to u to put internet sim in which slot u like, both slots support LTE/3G. Cant run both sims for Data at the same time.

For call/sms both sim can work together means both sim standby for call/sms.

My advise is put calling sim at sim 1 and internet sim at sim 2 [must set data to sim 2]. And set call/sms at sim 1. Thats all....easy. Or u can use the opposite way.

I see.

But in my parent case, sim 1 is maxis for call/receive call. While sim 2 is xox for data.

Then if my parent wanna reload some credit to maxis, just reload like usual? The phone will know which one to reload? hmm.gif

Thank you so much guys notworthy.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 05:09 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Oct 29 2018, 05:00 PM)
The reload part is to the maxis number. Regardless of which sim port u use in the phone. As long as you call using the right sim.
Yea I am just wondering, the phone know which card to reload when my parent wanna reload?

One more question, how about WhatsApp? WhatsApp normally will follow which card’s number? The one for call 93 the one for data? hmm.gif

Sorry that I have asked so much questions on this. sad.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 05:55 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(teamjoker @ Oct 29 2018, 05:41 PM)
The phone doesnt need to know. How do your parents reload? Lets say they want to reload maxis number. If they reload at 7 eleven, then they have to key in the code using the maxis sim slot. If maxis center help them to reload, then it will reloaded to their number.
Most phone nowdays have dual whatsapp app. You can create both number whatsapp. If not, use the maxis number to create whatsapp instead.
Ehh, if maxis card is set for calls, then when they key in the code, it shall automatically be using the maxis sim slot since maxis sim is set for calls right?

How come I dunno this dual WhatsApp app. Does iPhone have that? I have never use android before prior to this. Actually whole house use iPhone, so none of us know how to use android sweat.gif

I see. Then I will just use maxis number to create WhatsApp instead. Thank you 🙏
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 06:29 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 29 2018, 06:16 PM)
If 2 sim insert, dial pad will have 2 call button, so reload using PIN choose 1 or 2 to dial

Most current phone support dual messenger, so you can have 2 whatsapp in 1 phone with dual sim card phone
Dial pad will have 2 call buttons? Seem like I needed to get a sim to test the phone out myself.

At least now I know it is possible, so won’t buta buta waste money to get a sim.

Thank you so much guys. I really appreciate a lot!! 🙏🙏
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 06:37 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 29 2018, 06:33 PM)
This is what you will see, on my manual
Woahhhh... so they are together. Thank you for pointing this out. Really answered all the questions in my mind. notworthy.gif

But this only happens if both sims also set for making and receiving phone call right?

If one for calls only while the other one for data only, the keypad shall remain the same. One key for call only.

But this at least give me a super clear picture of the whole 2 sims thingy
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 10:43 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Oct 29 2018, 06:41 PM)
Enable dual apps mode [whatsapp] at setting there. It will auto install another whatsapp. Yup, whatsapp works like usual following your phone numbers.
Weird, how come I dunno got such feature. Thank you for sharing with me.

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 29 2018, 06:58 PM)
If only turn off 1 sim, both sim turned on will sjow 2 dial button
Even you set sim 1 for call

No screenshot now, as my dual sim phone use 1 sim
I see. Then a bit tricky, need to teach my parent which to press. Thank you so much for sharing with me as well notworthy.gif

By the way guys, what casing you guys using right now? The free silicone case is bad... sweat.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 30 2018, 07:20 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 30 2018, 08:41 AM)
You can help your parents reload via online.
Haha yea. But they normally will just walk to the phone shop nearby to reload. The usual alasan don’t wanna trouble me etc sad.gif

By the way, any new case release in the market? I am still waiting for some reputable company like spigen to release new case for this phone.
MasBoleh!
post Nov 23 2018, 02:54 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Nov 22 2018, 08:12 PM)
Shop a bit hard to get the accessories for this phone. Buy online better. Much cheaper if buy online. I bought some case online [lazada/shoppe].....all from china. Quality very good. Only is u have to wait for 2-3 weeks for delivery sweat.gif

For tempered glass...try get Nillkin Amazing H+.......very good glass. I use this brand since Note1 till today for all my phones.
Which case you bought ? I am also looking for casing..
MasBoleh!
post Nov 23 2018, 06:34 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Nov 23 2018, 03:53 PM)
Case1
Case2
Bought a lot also cause cheap ma tongue.gif
This 2 case above quality not bad.
Thank you so much bro.

Does it offer good protection on drop?
MasBoleh!
post Nov 24 2018, 12:45 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(mulut99 @ Nov 23 2018, 07:22 PM)
This 2 case is the best protection [for cheap case tongue.gif ] and some more it feel not so bulky. Try get it localy, got people sell it online localy but price a bit higher.
Fuhh thank you so much thumbup.gif
MasBoleh!
post Jan 17 2019, 03:13 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(frapps @ Jan 4 2019, 02:30 PM)
Just got the Samsung A7 2018 after upgrading from the A7 2017

Loving the 128GB in-built storage but does any experience any lags or slowdowns while having multiple tabs on Chrome open?
I used it when i was testing my mom's phone. It doesn't feel lag but the fluidity experience a bit different compared to my phone. Overall it's acceptable to me
MasBoleh!
post Oct 25 2020, 04:01 AM

3,599 posts

Anyone have issue that when open the camera and point at mysejahtera QR code, nothing happened. I thought can open the QR code link with the camera?
MasBoleh!
post Oct 25 2020, 05:36 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 25 2020, 07:41 AM)
I use samsung browser
How to use Samsung browser to scan the QR code?
MasBoleh!
post Oct 25 2020, 07:52 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 25 2020, 05:42 PM)
Samsung broswer have been built in QR code reader long time ago
On new version, tap on address bar, on right side will have small button to open QR scan

Not all samsung device can scan QR code on camera, check on camera setting, if no option for QR mean not supported
Thank you so much! This at least helped me a bit
MasBoleh!
post Oct 25 2020, 10:12 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 25 2020, 05:42 PM)
Samsung broswer have been built in QR code reader long time ago
On new version, tap on address bar, on right side will have small button to open QR scan

Not all samsung device can scan QR code on camera, check on camera setting, if no option for QR mean not supported
Checked don’t have. Seriously this is a very basic feature, and it is even more important nowadays. Why don’t have??

Disappointed
MasBoleh!
post Oct 25 2020, 10:56 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 25 2020, 10:35 PM)
Which part you say don have? Did update samsung browser?
If on camera not all samsung device have
On camera setting. I have yet to check the browser, because this is my mum’s phone.. too complicated later she dunno how to use.
MasBoleh!
post Oct 26 2020, 12:38 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 25 2020, 11:40 PM)
If browser don have, open browser setting, useful feature

[attachmentid=10652683]
Thank you very much PJng.

Yes such feature has proven to be even more useful nowadays