> tenda ac18 unifi 500mbps good or not?, tenda good or not?

TSSnapdragon4G
post Oct 6 2018, 09:11 PM, updated 8y ago

some weeks ago i got a message from unifi about the free turbo upgrade....the problem is i only have an N router with speeds up to 100mbps max on LAN...

i then came across a wireless AC1900 router from tenda (ac18 model)

my question is,is tenda a good brand?

i have just read the review at amazon usa,some websites and even the lazada site and it sounds promising!!

but i just want to ask you guys,is the brand and the router good?

oh and on my router im using right now,it has a cctv system that connects to my smartphone...

is it easy to setup or should i call my cctv installer??

thanks in advance !!

edit: budget only rm350 and below

This post has been edited by Snapdragon4G: Oct 6 2018, 10:03 PM
xswatch
post Oct 6 2018, 09:15 PM

592 posts

xiaomi router ftw
psyduck89
post Oct 6 2018, 09:17 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Oct 6 2018, 09:15 PM)
xiaomi router ftw
Wifi can reach 500mbps meh..??
netmatrix
post Oct 6 2018, 09:22 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Wifi whatever AC2000+ they advertised needs your other end laptop/ phone/ streaming device to have same AC standard also. Else pointless for you to spend RM2000 on a high end wifi router.
dregatar
post Oct 6 2018, 09:22 PM

23 posts

Get tenda ac18
flash custom asus merlin firmware.
profit.
can network wide adblock summore
y500
post Oct 6 2018, 09:23 PM

336 posts

http://routerchart.com/compare/tenda-ac18-...68u-rt-ac68u-32

cheap version of asus ac68u.
idoblu
post Oct 6 2018, 09:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Tenga what?
khainiz94
post Oct 6 2018, 09:24 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 6 2018, 09:22 PM)
Wifi whatever AC2000+ they advertised needs your other end laptop/ phone/ streaming device to have same AC standard also. Else pointless for you to spend RM2000 on a high end wifi router.
TSSnapdragon4G
post Oct 6 2018, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 6 2018, 09:22 PM)
forgot to put that my house is quite big and i currently use asus rt-n13uhp still cannot cover full house....

when i asked tenda they said the router can cover my house..

netmatrix
post Oct 6 2018, 09:34 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(Snapdragon4G @ Oct 6 2018, 09:26 PM)
forgot to put that my house is quite big and i currently use asus rt-n13uhp still cannot cover full house....

when i asked tenda they said the router can cover my house..
From experience, a better router I have tested ASUS UHP long antenna series routers. They will work well for large not so obstructed area eg, medium sized industry lots in the range of 10,000 sqft & 3 floors. But it should perform less in houses due to more obstruction like walls.

But for wireless data management, the more expensive ones will do better job. The other way is buying wireless extenders. TP link is fairly cheap for less than RM100. I tried it on 2 occasions and it works pretty good even managing to extend guest network. But the cheap ones only extend up to wireless N. So a little give and take. I don't think there is a 1 stop solution for consumer unless you go enterprise.
TSSnapdragon4G
post Oct 6 2018, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 6 2018, 09:34 PM)
From experience, a better router I have tested ASUS UHP long antenna series routers. They will work well for large not so obstructed area eg, medium sized industry lots in the range of 10,000 sqft & 3 floors. But it should perform less in houses due to more obstruction like walls.

But for wireless data management, the more expensive ones will do better job. The other way is buying wireless extenders. TP link is fairly cheap for less than RM100. I tried it on 2 occasions and it works pretty good even managing to extend guest network. But the cheap ones only extend up to wireless N. So a little give and take. I don't think there is a 1 stop solution for consumer unless you go enterprise.
maybe my wifi router is too obstructed

i really wanted to buy the rt-ac1300uhp but it is at rm500++ cry.gif cry.gif

TSSnapdragon4G
post Oct 6 2018, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(xswatch @ Oct 6 2018, 09:15 PM)
xiaomi router ftw
i thought xiaomi router cannot tag VLAN for unifi???
junsheng
post Oct 6 2018, 09:51 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

tis > all

HuorEarfalas
post Oct 6 2018, 10:00 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(Snapdragon4G @ Oct 6 2018, 10:11 PM)
some weeks ago i got a message from unifi about the free turbo upgrade....the problem is i only have an N router with speeds up to 100mbps max on LAN...

i then came across a wireless AC1900 router from tenda (ac18 model)
my question is,is tenda a good brand?

i have just read the review at amazon usa,some websites and even the lazada site and it sounds promising!!

but i just want to ask you guys,is the brand and the router good?

oh and on my router im using right now,it has a cctv system that connects to my smartphone...

is it easy to setup or should i call my cctv installer??

thanks in advance !!
If got money, I'd go Ubiquiti and buy their WAP and Switches, and get the network contractor to pull CAT6
TSSnapdragon4G
post Oct 6 2018, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Oct 6 2018, 10:00 PM)
If got money, I'd go Ubiquiti and buy their WAP and Switches, and get the network contractor to pull CAT6
but my budget only rm300...forgot to put that on top

i will edit my post
wcnew
post Oct 6 2018, 10:24 PM

275 posts

Cheapskate tmnut, upgrade turbo speed but wanna ask consumer to spend to upgrade the router..should give us free upgrade to asus 86u router without contract..

0.0141sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:49 PM