Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

acid_head
post Mar 2 2019, 08:06 AM

809 posts

Hye guy, I have been using umobile for almost 3 years. I used travel alot to small town and umobile still working like charm, even lack of 4g coverage but still a solid H+ coverage.

But recently these few months, I realise that the internet speed is quite bad, even in KL area. Back to my hometown in pahang, the speed is so bad and it can’t even load a youtube properly. Anyone feeling the same way as I do?

Btw, I still using P70 old plan, still the best plan for me.
acid_head
post Mar 2 2019, 07:24 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Mar 2 2019, 01:51 PM)
user posted image Hi I'm planning to get a WiFi modem with 4G for work purpose ..Does umobile has any plan suitable for me .So far I only considered yoodo and that Digi unlimited plan rm 150
I suggest u tried th eprepaid umobile first and check your coverage whether is suitable thenonly decide whether which telco you should go for.
acid_head
post Mar 2 2019, 07:28 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 2 2019, 09:21 AM)
yes the perform is degraded.
This is sad. How long you have been using umobile? Which area you use most of the time?

I realise some of the place coverage is so bad, together with my friends whom using all the telco and everyone got 4g whilw i only get Edge. dry.gif
acid_head
post Mar 3 2019, 06:53 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Mar 2 2019, 07:30 PM)
Prepaid for umobile for my area is okay coz I'm using it .Not sure got any plans that suit my needs
Depends your usage, if you are not heavy user on streaming video, probably you can got for p79 or p99. If you are heavy user, you better go for digi 150 inifnite

acid_head
post Mar 3 2019, 01:17 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 3 2019, 12:35 PM)
I am also on p70 out of out town really sux always h+ and slow.
Lol.. Still the best plan but too sucky recently. Last time it was ok.

Now i started to hunt for other telco plan.
acid_head
post Mar 4 2019, 07:58 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Mar 3 2019, 05:16 PM)
Can i check the itemised billing from the Umobile app?
Yes you can, basically it download the pdf billing.
acid_head
post Mar 5 2019, 08:13 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 5 2019, 12:04 AM)
U Mobile is terminating the 3G network sharing agreement with Maxis. That's why out of town coverage and 3G/H+ is going to suck in the near term until they expand their own network for some time
Yes exactly what i'm heard. Hopefully they keep going it.
acid_head
post Mar 5 2019, 08:17 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 4 2019, 08:49 PM)
Hi Acid Head,
Im using P79 plan now. and its plugged into my MIFI router as a home internet.
Im also a old time user of Umobile.

Recently moved to new place in Subang Jaya, and I tell you the speed at night starting 10pm onwards, is like morning rush hour on Federal highway ; very slow and sometimes cannot load page.

I also sometimes face cannot even load Youtube.
My speed? at night is below 0.3Mbits / 300KBits . (Base on Youtube's Stat For Nerds) . Buffering alot. Sometimes cannot even buffer.
I use an app called Cell Tower Locator and NetMonster to see where is the base station from where I am staying, Im covered by 3 stations. Still with 3 stations still experiencing slow connection. So i had to manually check the Cell ID from my router page and if I see its that "slow" Cell ID, I reboot my router.
Me and my children are heavy users of Youtube.

Previously when I was in my old house in another part of Subang, speed was fine, no issue.
To cut the story short, I have already filed a report to Umobile, and you will know whats their standard reply.
2 weeks later, no reply, and still feeling the bottle neck.

So now I am contemplating ; whether to stick to Umobile for a while or port out. I read that they are upgrading to 4G network but my MIFI is still 3G. But still its as though their base station is running on a small back haul pipeline. Akin like hundreds of users connect to these 3 stations but backhaul connected to 100Mbits fibre pipeline.
I feel you. But I'm slightly lucky cos my staying place in segambut still in 4g, just that some other places that I experienced used be fast and turned became slow or lost connection.

Well why not you can change to other telco since umobile can't provide you the speed? If you concern about the price vs unlimited data, I can't recommend you much besides to sign the ISP.
acid_head
post Mar 5 2019, 01:05 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 5 2019, 10:44 AM)
yes. faced this similar issue numerous times. going outstation in JB, signal show full bar 4G LTE, but not even able to run youtube, very slow speed.

now working in Lumut area, full bar 4G LTE. speed is OK, able to run youtube even at 720p. eventhough mine is P50 which by right capped at 480
I guess every telco have specific blind spot at different location. But overall currently, umobile have a bad coverags compare to other telco.
acid_head
post Mar 5 2019, 03:23 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 5 2019, 01:25 PM)
Well thats why I am contemplating to either going DIGI Postpaid 80 plan or Celcom Gold 80.
Slowly surveying what other users have to complain or compliment about DIGI and Celcom. 
While I see what Umobile can do about with the slow speed in my housing area.

I have Tunetalk prepaid as my data line (for personal usage and for Grab) and I am quite pleased with Celcom's network around my area and KL/PJ area.
In fact that's also my backup Internet for now, when Umobile in my home becomes irritatingly slow.

This is my speedtest using my backup Celcom line. 3G speed. Tested today 1:15pm. (Sorry I cant test 4G yet)
zher4883 - I will find a time when i can test Umobile with a 4G phone.

Pretty fast.

So it seems from what I see Acid Head in KL area and ayamxxx located in a smaller town - bandwidth issue with Umobile - unable to cope with extremely high users.
I think so, after all umobile price is an affordable and it did attract peoples to port in.

This is the speed in my hometown, a small town nowadays

acid_head
post Mar 11 2019, 04:59 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(seanswn @ Mar 11 2019, 03:21 PM)
GPS have no relationship with the Mobile Provider. It is due to your phone that cannot capture the location of the signal.

Mobile Provider do not provide GPS signal.
This is my question also. I'm using Huawei Honor series phone, twice. Both also having the same problem, but I do agree with you that service provider don't provide GPS signal. However I always appear "error calculating" on waze. Do you know what is the problem?

acid_head
post Mar 16 2019, 11:25 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 14 2019, 11:53 AM)
I have all 3 Tunetalk , Hotlink and Umobile (but my Umobile used as broadband at home)
I like Tunetalk because it has good data plans and 10gb free every month. And cheapest international roaming withib Axiata group.

Hotlink only wins in coverage but speed not that fantastic yet expensive for its data. If u call alot then Hotlink Flex is worth it. Especially Flex Plus
how’s the line coverage and the datta speed?
acid_head
post Mar 16 2019, 11:28 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 13 2019, 08:05 AM)
Yes calculation error is related with telco not gps.

Gps only tell the phone where you are. It requires data to retrieve data to bring you to your destination by giving route and most gps app don't load entire Malaysia map only within your area
Now only i know that. Thanks for pointing out. I think tuis is kinda make sense, previously i seldom encountered this problem until the recent months. mad.gif
acid_head
post Mar 21 2019, 02:04 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 20 2019, 03:46 PM)
Yes. I'm using 3g all the while cause my phone and MIFI is all 3g only. Only wife has newer 4G phone (and can even support TD LTE).

daytime the speed is tolerable. Night time..you need to prepare high blood pressure pills; YouTube can't even load at 144P at times. It was only recently their network has become shitty. Past few years has been fine.

Digi on the other hand the speed is fine. Their only issue is network signal.
I going to port out soon. I have been travelling around in klang valley, from desa park city to klang, from subang to segambut.. most of the time the waze cant detect the location and caluculate the road. Urgently need hotspot to do my work and it fail to load the data. I will just port out and wait them to be upgrade.

acid_head
post Mar 21 2019, 01:04 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Mar 21 2019, 09:15 AM)
Download and upload need to be good for balance and stable connection. Bad upload speed could mean bad latency too.

Well, U Mobile CS is very honest since they would tell you  like "no tentative date for upgrade plan". Not like the CHEATING Digi, promises to do so many upgrades but NONE has they done.
Yea man. I will look for digi or celcom. Currently eyeing on digi
acid_head
post Mar 22 2019, 04:54 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(fms21 @ Mar 21 2019, 09:25 AM)
Umobile good if ur location only ur home and office..
had good speed, then use Umobile..
Previous years the coverage was ok, i used to travel to many states even lack of 4g coverage but the H+ was fast enough, at least decen tload 480p youtube.
acid_head
post Mar 28 2019, 11:31 AM

809 posts

Digi also kantoi this morning. Sigh.. thought wanna port out to digi these 2 days.
acid_head
post Mar 28 2019, 03:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(abc7177 @ Mar 28 2019, 03:26 PM)
Thanks a lot rclxms.gif
In short, unlimited is a joke when the speed is limited cool2.gif
This is true.

However i Went back to my hometownn for Ching Ming, a small town in Pahang. Surprisingly umobile have 4g now and the speed is faster than digi and celcom. I forgotten to snapshot it. doh.gif
acid_head
post Mar 28 2019, 03:45 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ckpv5 @ Mar 28 2019, 03:08 PM)
No contract. upgraded before from U28 to P38 then to prepaid GT30.
Contract usually tied to device purchase.

User since 2012 .. finally port out to other telco.
What telco you are using now? And what is the plan?
acid_head
post Mar 28 2019, 03:51 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(KannaSai1 @ Mar 28 2019, 03:49 PM)
Why graveyards also need 4G ? For cctv purposes ?
Maybe many ppl burn the paper telco tower? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by acid_head: Mar 28 2019, 03:51 PM

0.2324sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:31 PM