6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

yongtjunkit
post Oct 26 2019, 11:59 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 26 2019, 09:55 AM)
U Mobile already has quite good 4G LTE coverage on Band 7(2600MHz). It's 3G coverage outside cities/towns is still poor = has to ride on Maxis's better 3G coverage in these areas. .......

https://www.nperf.com/en/map/MY/1735161.Kua...-Mobile/signal/

https://www.frequencycheck.com/carriers/u-mobile-malaysia

https://www.u.com.my/about-us/press-release/1026
Umobile only have RAN sharing for 2G
yongtjunkit
post Oct 26 2019, 02:59 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(pcbase @ Oct 26 2019, 12:57 PM)
2G is domestic roaming. Umobile dont have 2G license
3G is RAN sharing

Umobile very busy updating their own 3G/4G network nationwide
oops, my bad.... thanks for correcting me

🤔, I do know a few places, for some reason my phone defaults to 2g..... some of the place apparently don't have 3g/4g(even on the open road- not kampung area, in PJ)
yongtjunkit
post Nov 2 2019, 05:41 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 2 2019, 03:56 PM)
anyone know for umobile what is the cheapest plan to try out umobile volte and vowifi function? got daily or weekly plan ka?
Prepaid..... just top up and use it on supported phone
yongtjunkit
post Nov 14 2019, 04:39 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 14 2019, 03:52 PM)
Correction:
U Mobile now uses both 1800MHz Band 3 and 2600MHz Band 7.
Because U Mobile was awarded total of 2x15MHz block of 1800MHz spectrum, that's why their coverage is much better now compared to last time. But still, that doesn't mean their network are as good as the big 3 telcos yet.

If the coverage is bad, contact U Mobile to file a complaint.
If not action taken, port out to other telco. It's pretty straightforward.
I actually complaint about poor coverage and they asked me for address, I gave them the street name and they say must give house address.

Gaved up on complaining to them, and actually the other big 3 Telco have poor coverage at that area as well( no 4G ), in Bandar Utama,PJ
yongtjunkit
post Nov 14 2019, 06:31 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 14 2019, 05:57 PM)
What's the issue with providing the actual address to them?
They won't go to the house/place, ring the doorbell to come ask this and that one...
They need it for record purposes, and able to exactly pinpoint the location.
Mainly that’s actually not my house
yongtjunkit
post Nov 17 2019, 11:05 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 14 2019, 05:57 PM)
What's the issue with providing the actual address to them?
They won't go to the house/place, ring the doorbell to come ask this and that one...
They need it for record purposes, and able to exactly pinpoint the location.
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Nov 14 2019, 08:32 PM)
Maybe, you could have just given the neighbor's address,  in order to preserve your anonymity. An address could have enabled UMobile to do a proper troubleshooting of the signal reception problem. A street can be very long.
Surprisingly, I haven’t actually reply their email yet for the address and now I got full bar 4G

yongtjunkit
post Nov 17 2019, 03:16 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Nov 16 2019, 09:18 PM)
i dont understand why inside building the reception so bad.. while on the other simcard line..same building..it work far better

nowaday feel like to downgrade to the lowest value and just to retain without hassle to port out..
Have you tried contacting Umobile CS yet? I've contacted them via email and they've resolved my issue with coverage. Now I got full bar 4G for the whole house which is way better than 2 bar 2G and also maxis apparently.

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Nov 17 2019, 06:51 PM
yongtjunkit
post Nov 17 2019, 09:00 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(rucksackchan @ Nov 17 2019, 08:42 PM)
About this GX50 plan, what's the catch? It say pay
RM50 only. Any other hidden stuff?
Max 5mbps speed, 5GB hotspot.
yongtjunkit
post Nov 21 2019, 10:26 AM

2,516 posts

Just a heads up

UMobile only would take action if the speed is below 1mbps as their definition of slow browsing is below 1mbps

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Nov 21 2019, 10:27 AM
yongtjunkit
post Nov 22 2019, 07:43 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Nov 21 2019, 10:05 PM)
So basically means, as long your Internet speed is 1.1Mbps and above, it is considered as fast internet, so they won't layan your complaint.
"Slow browsing? Load video so slow and blurry? Can't send a file out? As I check on your speed test, your Internet speed is 1.1Mbps and above, so there's no abnormalities on our network.  biggrin.gif "

That's the service you get from U Mobile. Many Malaysians just love cheap stuff that offers lots of quota/unlimited this and that, but many would never consider things like these.
So end up either complaining or continue using it as it is, and be patient as the page/content loads at slow speeds.
People dislike U Mobile, feel like want to port out, but consider that it is troublesome and not aware that you can remain your current phone number even after porting out to other telco, so they end up continue using U Mobile, and this "unsatisfactory" cycle goes on and on, giving you the impression that Malaysia's 3G/4G mobile network is like that one, really sucks one, and U Mobile continues to happy happy earn your money  tongue.gif.

Plot twist: And then suddenly Unifi Mobile comes in, offers look so attractive, free SIM card, free this free that, so you take it, then eventually you realise it is worst than U Mobile.
*subject to location, not everywhere are like that.
Unifi mobile 4G LTE coverage is apparently worse than Umobile(Very noticeable slow/no internet*) and more expensive than Umobile

*at least what I experienced

I did MNP my number once though( from Celcom to Umobile)

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Nov 22 2019, 07:48 AM
yongtjunkit
post Dec 6 2019, 10:35 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Dec 6 2019, 10:21 AM)
So far, it seems like only Huawei and Samsung smartphone is able to establish VoLTE connection on U Mobile network.
iPhone 6 and newer also can....
yongtjunkit
post Dec 17 2019, 05:52 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 17 2019, 02:28 PM)
U mobile apps new UI
40MB,  after donwload need re login back

Can't login after update...
yongtjunkit
post Dec 17 2019, 06:31 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 17 2019, 06:09 PM)
I just tap reset pin
Doesn’t work

yongtjunkit
post Dec 18 2019, 08:05 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Dec 17 2019, 09:12 PM)
cant login after update. So don't update
Same 🤦‍♂️, shouldn’t update
yongtjunkit
post Dec 18 2019, 07:29 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 18 2019, 05:33 PM)
Guys how come I can still receive calls and short codes sms when my phone is in airplane mode?
Is it because I turned on WiFi calling? I do have WiFi

Will I kena charge? Will my caller?
Yup( as long as connected to WiFi ), same as normal cell signal

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Dec 18 2019, 07:30 PM
yongtjunkit
post Dec 19 2019, 08:39 AM

2,516 posts

Can’t login already, don’t see any update in the App Store

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Dec 19 2019, 08:40 AM
yongtjunkit
post Dec 19 2019, 11:38 AM

2,516 posts

Umobile app version 3.0.1 has been released for iOS, back to old UI

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Dec 19 2019, 11:40 AM
yongtjunkit
post Jan 12 2020, 04:35 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 11 2020, 10:27 PM)
Anyone MNP to u mobile GX30 and get the rm25 monthly (rm5 rebate) for 6 months?

On the website, there are two options. One to buy new starter pack with new number. One to is switch.

If I click “switch to u”, it said step 1: buy and register ur starter pack. step 2: enter your personal details including the u mobile new number and SIM serial number.

My question is how to perform the step 1 for the switch?

how to I get a starter pack and how do I register a starter pack?

Do I need to buy from online store or buy from the u mobile store? Then I contacted the u mobile CS, their reply is nothing better. The reply I got is that if I buy the starter pack and registered I cannot get the discount. Like that how I am going to do the step 1 man? If dun do the step 1, I cannot do step 2 becos it requires new u mobile prepaid number and SIM serial number? Where do I get these info man?

It is totally ambiguous instructions from both website and even the human.

Wtf.

I directly port in at Umobile store(not dealer), they'll handle it for you( they gave me a blank sim card - can't use till successful port out)

The CS appears to have misunderstood your inquiry
Port in around 1-2 years before gx30 exist so I didn't get any discount

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Jan 12 2020, 04:37 PM
yongtjunkit
post Jan 14 2020, 10:28 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 14 2020, 02:25 AM)
Retested now.

Seems like u are rite.

YouTube still auto at 360p with no capped speed data, but manual 720p no buffer.
Sharp eye. Yeah. Purposely never upgrade despite upgrading all the rest of apps.

Like the old user interface. Hahaha.
try fast.com , it's powered by Netflix, so you'll probably get to see the speed that they allocate you for youtube

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 14 2020, 02:25 AM)
Like the old user interface. Hahaha.
New UI got ads

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Jan 14 2020, 10:30 AM
yongtjunkit
post Jan 14 2020, 11:08 AM

2,516 posts

Going to try my luck asking Umobile to fix the poor speed, poor LTE coverage(like sometimes only can get)

Update: they’ve escalated the case

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Jan 14 2020, 11:14 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2162sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:08 PM