Thanks. Would it act like a traditional S or 2 gear if I didn't touch the paddles? I did. Just don't really understand it. My previous car was a 11-year-old manual Proton Saga. I asked the SA as much things as I noticed are new to me but missed out on this and a few others that the SA assumed I know.
Nothing to it. Welcome to modern motoring. What variant is your City? I don't seem to see it. Anyway the CVT should be easy to live with. No more clutching.
E,V,Hybrid specs dont have L gear cuz have 'S'ports mode and paddleshifters. There's 7 gear ratios, S just holds the current ratio until you upshift/downshift or the RPM drops and the gearing automatically downshifts. Just manually double downshift if need L gear ratio.
It's ok. My hybrid always scrapes the rear undercarriage when more 2 or more adults are in the car when I leave my driveway. My driveway is kind of steep. Though could it be the dampers are too soft?
From my drive feeling, when I switch to S gear it will drop 1 gear down than when I was in D mode. It then holds that gear as long I press the accelerator. It doesn't upshift/downshift unless I use paddleshifters which mimics manual controls. But at same time, if RPM drops (when lifting pedal or braking), the gear automatically downshifts to the appropriate gearing.
So its somewhat semi-automatic.
Ur SA did a poor job at explaining to you, but did you not test this functions when going for test drive before you buy?
Imho, in my Hybrid the engine note gets very buzzy when it holds a gear into the higher revs. In normal traffic conditions, I will usually short shift to avoid that. And it is exhausting mentally for me to have to pay attention to the revs so the downshift is not jerky so I'm glad that the downshift is automatic. In my Hybrid, going downhill is less taxing on the brakes or engine braking because of the regenerative braking that collects energy from the braking without using the brake pads and generating heat.
Ya I also could not trade the ES last night on Ninjatrader. Couldnt get a CQG feed. Still a bit dodgy even today.
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 24 2018, 11:25 AM)
In S mode, I often would hold a gear a lil longer than necessary before upshifts. Reason is, in my previous manual car, I would hear the engine revs before shifting but I can't do that with the City engine, couldn't hear the different tone to switch really.
Hybrid engine note is different from petrol version I guess. Plus the high revs don't seem to be linked to speed. The engine can rev high and yet the car isn't moving very much faster. The pickup and throttle response is much sharper than the other two modes but the buzz noise and random revving makes it less of a joy to use. These days, I manually switch between normal and eco modes depending on the traffic circumstances.
Guys, how long do the stock goodyear tires will last? 50km?
Is threadwear rating is not that high, 300 ish iinm. But depends on whether the driver takes care of them ( tyre pressure, alignment, balancing and rotation) and their driving style all affect how long the tyres last. 50k km isn't impossible. 30k km more likely.
All right thank you! Just want to know the average mileage so that can prepare enough budget when the time comes. Thanks! :thumbsup:
Depending on your wheel size, I'm guessing it will cost anywhere from 700- 1000 for a set of 4 new tyres depending on the brand. I'm assuming you're on 185/55/r16 like mine, not many choices for the size of even when you upsize slightly to 195/50/r16.
As far as i know, in order to keep warranty valid, we MUST follow the service as per Maintenance Schedule in the HM Website..
That means, you are require to change the air filter and air cond filter in SC.. whatever maintenance that did not stated in the Schedule, it is an OPTIONAL..
So if let say you didnt change the air filter in SC during service as per schedule (you change it outside / or during service you change the original and after service change back to aftermarket / didnt change it at all) and there is problem with your aircond, then they may charge you for not change the aircond filter (based on record) and probably your warranty on aircond will be void..
If you follow the maintenance schedule and have the receipts from the SC you used then it's ok lah Kan. No need to go Honda SC. Nothing says you need to service at Honda. I don't see any problem changing my cabin filter on my DIY when you reputable companies like Bosch making cabin filters that are half the price of the ones at the Honda SC. As long as you keep the interior of your car clean, very little dust gets trapped in the filter anyway much less clogging up the condenser.
This post has been edited by dickybird: Oct 24 2018, 07:13 PM
Lol if want styling go to lexus already, why stil civic
Civic just need to stretch budget a little bit. If Lexus, need to stretch a lot, takut patah! LOL Anyway, Lexus styling not really cutting edge, if budget no issue I'd get my favourite practical car, a Volvo V90 R design. 😍
This post has been edited by dickybird: Oct 26 2018, 03:47 PM
Everybody's POV is different. The way most Malaysians drive, their car is already a potential coffin car. Volvo makes some of the most beautiful wagons imho.
Lolz! City is city car not race car. Why wanna go so fast for? I have done 175 with my Persona but after driving with City, I don't dare for this car. AFAIK, its ECU throttled to max 180kmph, so no you can't go over that unless you tamper with ECU.
It's his funeral. I don't get why people think wagons look like coffin cars, when they drive like they are already in their coffins.
Know why this happen? thought with esc/vsa, this is not supposed to happen? 70km/h not not too fast also ma. tayar botak?
I don't understand why the fella need to brake twice. But looks like the driver brake too hard in the second instance plus turning into the bend caused the car to oversteer because that bend is downhill, the balance is shifted forward making it easy for the tail to lose grip and spin.
If the front tyres were botak or less gripping than the rear tyres, this might not have happened as the front tyres would understeer and not want to turn.
That is also why for FF cars like City and Vios, new tyres and put at the back. A car that understeer is safer for unskilled drivers to control in an understeering condition simply by getting off the accelerator.
Anyone changed car battery from Honda? They quoted me rm255 for the car battery. Is it wise to change from Honda or change at outside? Won't void any warranty or any impact on the car right?
Battery can change anywhere , doesn't affect your warranty. Shop around.
Thanks. But I read online that when u changed battery u need to reset the ecu. Not sure if it is true. I assume u guys don't have any issue after changed your battery?
So free read online? Read your owners’ manual? NO need to reset ECU.
I have jumpstart my car 3-4 times. remove battery and reinstalled battery 3-4 times too. So far no need to reset ECU.
Just make sure you use the correct technique to jumper the battery when needed. From rescue battery, Red clip to red clip. Then black clip to metal part of the engine bay of the dead battery.
My conventional battery of my Hybrid still 100% even after almost 1 year of usage. I drive at least an hour daily for work and it is parked under covered parking most of the time.
I am from Melaka. 3M not suitable for smart tag user
Why not apply for the RFID tag? Just had mine installed today, they stick discretely on the outside of the windscreen. Then you can have the best window tint you can afford. The RFID tag is free.
Indeed 3M is not smart-tag friendly and I had my RFID tag few days back. Feels good passing thru toll without having to take out the smart-tag. Smooooth...
I have a Dapcase double holder which holds my smart tag and smartphone. Now it's a white elephant! Lol. I miss my smartag beeping sound. Haha. Scared to go faster like smartag time thru the RFID sensor.