Honda City Gen 6.0/6.1 V10

SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 11:48 AM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 16 2018, 11:32 AM)
Is it true that if you don't install tint with them or their panel, the warranty will be void?
their panel only limited to ecotint and 3m. whistling.gif

by the way, chances of u claim warranty due to windows tint, is almost as good as nil.....unless u really bad luck

This post has been edited by 2feidei: Nov 16 2018, 11:48 AM
SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 12:04 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 16 2018, 11:51 AM)
I believe she meant if they did it wrongly and damage not cover by warranty. Because that is human error
Then possible lah....but, the risk of do something wrong, actually I more worried tint film and the workmanship when they tint, coz they they did a lousy job, or quality of tint film no good, it will peel off, air bubble or dust trap on windows.

Other potential error is some newbie tint, spray too much water, then, sip into the car electronics.

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 16 2018, 11:52 AM)
Their panel as in outside panel. Not the packages listed in the website. It's either Llumar (super expensive) or some house brand that is at a similar price range as AirCool (if I do AirCool outside). Should I do it on my own or let the SA do?
Oh, that one not outside panel lah....that one SA side deal with the shop biggrin.gif will affect warranty also lah if they want to make issue out of u. Not sure about u, but, my experience, if I go do outside, inquire around, the price cannot lower than what SA offer one (for same brand lah). Reason because the shop oledi kaotim with the SA, not to undercut SA and pissed them off just for 1 customer, but, lost potential of future customer. Old car, maybe yes.

SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 02:03 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 16 2018, 12:07 PM)
Yeah I thought about that. Just wondering if the whole "warranty void" thing is true  hmm.gif I know some people say it's a scare tactic.
Actually, the price can nego one......as rule of thumb, u can nego up to 30-40% from the initial price they offer u one.....this is what I got.

The technique (hope OP don't banned me for derailed topic)

1. Use time as your advantage. Immediately after book car, ask SA what panel he got. Don't stick to just 1 brand, instead state your requirement, ask for proposal which brand or tint model fit your requirement, at least 2 brand. Never ever tell them your budget outright. Yeah, u can let them guess, but, never tell them specifically.
2. Some SA will be lazy, direct ask u talk to their "agent" at tint shop (bingo), some SA will do it on your behalf. Try to talk direct to tint shop, instead of SA. Tell SA u mau visit tint shop, to see their workmanship, their workshop condition coz quality of tint is same for same brand, but what differs is the workmanship. Purpose is to get to know PIC at tint shop, don't forget to give them your contact with them.
3. When u at shop, further understand different type of model they have and the price. This can be done via website also. But, price, u need to take photo lah. That's why I said, never let them know your budget, just tell them your requirement, then, at shop, go +/- 1 or 2 level model within your requirement to see the price (usually this price is higher than SA offer u one, but, u already know how much discount u got).
4. Then, start negotiating, direct with the shop, cc your SA, as courtesy. Reason, coz u duwan SA to hold too much info. See which shop can give u better price and/ or better "upgrade" quality tint that u had in mind

Good luck and happy negotiating

SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 02:07 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 16 2018, 12:33 PM)
Agreed. But only they allowed lower VLT
nonsense....they will more than happy to tint 100%, zero light visibility for u provided that u tell them specifically, JPJ or police saman u responsible.
SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 04:42 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 16 2018, 03:06 PM)
Maybe depend on sales center. I made my purchase in penang farquhar st kah motor.
don't think so lah.....u tell your SA u want the tint requirement that u want, I am sure they have it within the same brand one. And, tell him/ her specifically u fully aware the risk of JPJ/ PDRM saman, u bear yourself.....

Even brand like Llumar/ V-Kool/ etc also got tint that cannot pass JPJ test one...it is matter u dare to put or not. Coz if u kena stop, they will not be held responsible. But, those they claim pass one, if u kena saman, u go back and ask them settle it.

The process is usually (I kena one time, long long time ago, mistaken identity) Come saman ekor say my tint too dark, but, in first place, my car never tint, so, ask me bring car to JPJ office. Take leave go there, show them the letter, a officer will come follow u with equipment to measure, but, one look, already know my car never tint, so, no need test. Straight cancel off the saman.

But, according to what I learned, if u kena saman, either they have equipment measure on spot, failed, issued saman, then, ask u to removed it, send it to puspakom to check. Then, ok, pass, u pay saman (not sure pay first or remove first), then, only u can close case.

But, if u tint above what allowed, then, of course u need pay the summon yourself, u need to pay the cost of removal (unless u DIY) and then, if u want to re-tint back, u pay again lor.

But, if u tint within the limit, u show it to them, then, ask them either they removed it for u on the spot so u can go puspakom to settle, re-tint, foc for u.

Anyway....mine is done in KL
SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 05:07 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 16 2018, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for the tip. I will take the next few days to go survey.
One thing about letting SA do is that it will be more convenient. They go do everything then when you get the car, it is done. Whereas if you go do it yourself, will take some time.
No worries.....actually, I let the SA do it for me also.....but, I just tell him, I want to know or get involve with the "package" I choose, i.e. indirectly I nego the price, but, then, he kaotim with all the paperwork. biggrin.gif

End of day, I just collect 1 car from 1 source.

My opinion is that, after house, car is most expensive item I will buy. Plus, within car cost, other "expensive" item will be tints (unless u into ICE kaki, then, another different story), so, better invest some time for it lor.

Unless ur time spend to do all these, u can easily covered back with your income notworthy.gif

For me, I do tinting and coating, I manage to saved almost 30% or rm2.4k from initial price. Of course, only after few stage of nego lah, first stage, usually, they will straight away offer u one, say from SA discount/ package deal with car dealer, etc.....which usually 10%....the balance is really depends how hard u drive the nego biggrin.gif

Of course, the value saved will differs from the package u choose lah, higher package, higher value saved lor....lower package lower value saved lor...but, rule of thumb, should be 20-30% average. Anything more, u really thumbsup.gif sifu, I want to learn from u

This post has been edited by 2feidei: Nov 16 2018, 05:24 PM
SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 05:40 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 16 2018, 05:29 PM)
Because the SA in penang, they said they dont have other just those available. They die die said dont have.. they dont want to introduce third party company.. however another company vivahill they very recommend third party
maybe.....due to smaller market, the product range they carry might be lesser.....or maybe Penang car owner all very law abiding person one, won't tint above JPJ compliant. laugh.gif
SUS2feidei
post Nov 16 2018, 09:45 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(yoong_y89 @ Nov 16 2018, 07:42 PM)
heard that eventhough SA gv you rm500 voucher, but the quality of the tint you get actually is less than that value. cry.gif
of course lah, RM500 for good quality tint is like u want to pay RM2 for 1 plate of nasi lemak ayam goreng laugh.gif
SUS2feidei
post Nov 19 2018, 09:46 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Nov 18 2018, 10:17 PM)
Sorry guys, I  think my method doesn't apply to FL model as I found out FL doesn't have alarm button (some called Cobra button).

You guys need to find a new way to unlock with key and disarm alarm.

FL V Spec pic:
[attachmentid=10112306]

Anyway, to clear things up, Pre FL model have Alarm button.

[attachmentid=10112315]

Manual for those doesn't see it before.
[attachmentid=10112336][attachmentid=10112337]
[attachmentid=10112338][attachmentid=10112339]
[attachmentid=10112340]

I guess Honda cut cost also for alarm.
For FL City, when your remote battery dead, u open the door with key come with remote. Then, you "touch" or "circled" the remote to your start engine button to "pair" your remote with the sensor at the start engine button. Your car will start and alarm will off. This what the SA told me lah when I collect the car, what if battery remote died.

And, he also mentioned, don't ever lost the remote, it cost RM1k plus just to duplicate, not even change the alarm system, which will cost RM4k plus, cannot do it outside. This one not sure true or not lah.

Yes, I agreed as Honda introduced new model, they cut a lot of features, I owned a 2009 model, noticed a lot of features or little little stuff, not so obvious had been cut, example, used to have umbrella storage area under backseat, cut. Below radio, there was small compartment, cut. Driver side, used to have empty card slot, good for keep name card, etc, cut. Front arm rest storage, use to have a little slot to keep Touch n go card (away from prying eyes and heat) + pen. Removed. And, disc brake for rear, removed, replaced with drum brake. Is drum brake better or disc brake better for rear, I dunno, I leave it to car expert.

Of course, they replace it with more noticeable features, like start engine, no more "washing machine type dial" for air-con laugh.gif touchscreen audio system, cruise control, handsfree kit, keyless entry, leather seat (I am comparing the previous generation top range vs current top range model lah)

Just got the car last week, still exploring.....btw, anyone face any problem connecting the audio system to your phone? Mine, it can pair, but, I cannot sync my phone to the system. Mine is Apple running on iOS 12.1. Ask SA, he also don't know. Please help, thanks

This post has been edited by 2feidei: Nov 19 2018, 10:00 AM
SUS2feidei
post Nov 19 2018, 10:38 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ameri @ Nov 19 2018, 10:36 AM)
Different model, different feature. People concern about what is removed from prefl with fl only since it's the same model.
True, but, in matters of fairness, also include what additional features in fl vs prefl biggrin.gif
SUS2feidei
post Nov 19 2018, 05:31 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 19 2018, 05:05 PM)
Hi sifus, My SA asked me to buy USB to HDMI/Lightning to HDMI to mirror my phone to the HU. Are below cables working?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ugreen-u...m0cJMg&search=1

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/plug-pla...j4OOrQ&search=1
Don't waste money......it won't mirror when your car is moving, not in P and handbrake up. To do that, you need another connecting cable to bypass it.
SUS2feidei
post Nov 20 2018, 01:34 AM

3,158 posts

Anyone got problem sync the phone contact, music, etc into the audio system? I just manage to pair the phone via bluetooth, but, unable to sync the rest. Please help
SUS2feidei
post Nov 20 2018, 10:29 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 20 2018, 10:10 PM)
Sync as in the HU will save the contacts and songlist even after power off? AFAIK this is not doable in FL HU. At least, thats for my FL HU setup.
No, no.....sync during power....anyway, done it after multiple trial and error....it the phone setup that blocked, not the HU unit. doh.gif
SUS2feidei
post Nov 21 2018, 10:05 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 20 2018, 11:54 PM)
Hmm... if you switch off the car and switch it back on, do you still see the speeddial & last call history immediately or need to wait phone to sync again?
Wait for phone to sync again. To be sure, going to test it again later.

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Nov 21 2018, 09:05 AM)
Buy new car , follow maintenance schedule, original features = warranty.

Buy new car, sendiri DIY some light task, mod here mod there a little bit = hoping not voiding warranty.

SC here already kind enough to tolerate some cosmetic mod like rim / spoiler / body kit etc.

Why dont delay all the mod / DIY to after warranty period? so you can have a refreshed feel of your car?

Or why dont buy a second hand if you are able to DIY to save cost?
Guys...I think the issue of voiding warranty, according to Honda Malaysia rule (btw, I am not representative of Honda, I just talk talk to people only) is that whenever u didn't follow their recommended service interval and use their authorized parts at their authorized center, then, your warranty is void, coz their perception is your car being handled by incompetent persons or not not being service at all or the parts did not pass to meet Honda requirement. Anyway, this is their very strict interpretation lah, how well it can be defended in court, I am not sure lah, coz I am not lawyer, neither I consider myself technical competent in automotive engineering, but, like majority of people, to avoid argument and have peace of mind, I rather keep it at honda service center eventhough it more expensive and the service bit slow, pain in ass.

Delay mod/ DIY after warranty period mean got to wait after 5 years lor sweat.gif That time, the enthusiastic not there jor laugh.gif or many will be itchy to change to new car jor

SUS2feidei
post Nov 21 2018, 07:53 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 21 2018, 07:19 PM)
If you haven't glued the cap to ur wipers, can expect it to be gone very soon if park at public areas. Even I park at shopping mall also mine can be stolen. I would have loved to do something to these a$$hole thieves but I don't want to bring up that topic again. Just have to bear with it that this is Malaysia, nothing will change except going backwards.
I kena few times....cost RM20 per piece at SC mad.gif
SUS2feidei
post Nov 21 2018, 08:35 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 21 2018, 08:15 PM)
Oh, I thought you just collected ur City? So fast already got stolen few times? Ur parking area really 'black'.

BTW I remembered somewhere selling the wiper cap for Rm8/pc. Still freaking expensive for a cheap piece of rubber.
I mean the previous City laugh.gif

SUS2feidei
post Nov 21 2018, 08:43 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 21 2018, 08:40 PM)
Ohh I see  doh.gif

So previous City also uses same wiper nut cover as current City. I think if anybody can bring this in from China factory and sell in bulk like Rm3/pc, no doubts can make a small fortune.
Not sure same size or not, but, I suspect same, generic across City and Jazz. Maybe even Accord
SUS2feidei
post Nov 22 2018, 01:22 PM

3,158 posts

Sorry, newbie question here.....with the FL HUD model, can u play any video on it via USB thumdrive? Or, video from your phone via bluetooth?

Thinking should I get the bypass cable

This post has been edited by 2feidei: Nov 22 2018, 01:22 PM
SUS2feidei
post Nov 22 2018, 02:25 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 22 2018, 02:15 PM)
Can play videos from USB but need to encode as below:

Format: MP4
Encode: avi
Video size: 480 (w) x 272 (h)
Frame rate: 10 fps (HU manual says can go up to 30 fps but looks the same to me)
Video bitrate: follow video source
Audio: Mp3
Audio Bit rate: 128kbps (can be encoded higher but sounds the same)
Audio sample rate: follow video source

You will need bypass cable to play vids on the move but the crappy frame rate and screen resolution makes video play a crappy experience.
lel....so many restriction, and with your comment of crappy experience, forget it then biggrin.gif

but, what if my video size is bigger? Will they resize it? Better reso?

Honestly speaking, chances of me watching video in car, nearly nil.....

Plus, current stock HU, u cannot mirror your phone to the HU right? Example like can I mirror waze to it?
SUS2feidei
post Nov 22 2018, 03:12 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(AureusX @ Nov 22 2018, 02:51 PM)
When y'all said the reverse camera with the stock HU is bad, I feel like y'all have been downplaying how bad it is... It's so grainy, especially at night and when it's raining. Might as well no need to use it  doh.gif
Lel laugh.gif I thought it due to dust or the camera dirty when I first saw it.....now, it make sense, but, I sort of used to it already.

QUOTE(nordingh @ Nov 22 2018, 02:52 PM)
Yeah... that what I do.. rearrange all in PC before transfer to USB.
From my own test for FL
For any video that not playable, can convert to below format:

Container: .mp4
Video codec: x264
Video size: 640 x 360
Video bitrate : 1000 kbps or lower
Frame rate: Auto or 23fps and above, up to 30fps
Video Aspect: Auto (depend on source file)
Audio codec: mp3
Audio bitrate: 128 bits (or set nearest to original bitrate)
Sample rate: 44100khz
Audio Channel: 2
Audio Disable: No
So marfan to convert.........I am a lazy person. Forget it. doh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4751sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:40 PM