Honda City Gen 6.0/6.1 V10

eddie2020
post Jul 18 2021, 11:08 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 16 2021, 10:02 AM)
Hi everyone, my city is 2014 V spec. 2 days ago i noticed both radiator fan did not turn on at all, no matter how long i turn on engine or ac on or off.

I checked the 30A fuse (fuse box near battery) still okay.

Is there any other fuse/relay that i can check?

Is there a chance its the temperature sensor that's the culprit?

Thank you sifus!
Hi there, i have same issue with you.. my car 2015, near 6 years..
I noticed when i stop idle for sometimes my car aircond dont feel cold, till i move my car again.. (idle like waiting dapao, or stop at roadside managing some thing)
I get down and see both fan is not spinning..

Then when i went home, i open the hood again and found out only aircond spinning, while radiator not spinning.. (correct me if i am wrong, aircond fan is on driver side and radiator fan is on passenger side.

Suspect radiator fan kong, but radiator fan will affect aircond? dont think so rite? or perhaps my car temp havent trigger the radiator fan to spin (i waiting 1min+).
2nd possibility is my aircond fan spin speed is not fast enough.

Did you have manual book for the fuse box in hood ? I not sure which one is fuse for radiator and which one is fuse for aircond fan.
eddie2020
post Dec 16 2021, 01:47 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Dec 6 2021, 10:02 PM)
2016 city. same problem.
aircond fan is at passenger side.

i saw the temperature high (red color) blinked once when aircon is cut off.

normally, when engine temp is high, aircond is cut off automatically. this is a typical set up.

i suspect it is radiator fan (the motor) faulty.

need to further troubleshoot.
i didint come till red colour..
i notice when i idle under hot sun air cond not cold..
when car move then cold.. cz 1 of the fan is spinning so i assume it help the aircond..

after i replace the aircond, few day later my radiator pulak cannot spin need ketuk ketuk..
then i buy another one in shopee, i bought both and change myself.
eddie2020
post Dec 16 2021, 03:19 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Dec 16 2021, 06:06 AM)
it looks like chance for both are bad is high  doh.gif
What mean? Shopee fast rosak?
eddie2020
post Dec 16 2021, 11:01 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Dec 16 2021, 10:16 PM)
no, i meant mine one. has no time to troubleshoot it.
easy only, u open your hood turn on engine turn on aircond.. within 1 min it shall spin.. u can try to knock the motor with some stick or screw driver head or your hand but becarefu;, if once knock it spin meaning ur motor kong...
eddie2020
post Jun 11 2022, 05:41 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Jun 7 2022, 12:50 PM)
Hello sifus,

My GM6 city bought in 2015, now going into 7 years, clocking at around 130k KM

I really have a personal connection with this car, am not going to sell it, going to take good care of it as far as it can go

Any suggestion on where I can do a major service in terms of changing some parts to make it feel a bit new again?

Maybe can advise me things to change like maybe absorber, suspension, whatever other things which is advised to change to make it feel new again

Also need some minor bodyworks to be done coz got scratch here and there, some minor dents coz accidentally hit kerb

Share some budget for the above parts too yea.

Thanks sifus!
Why like new? Now got problem? I hv same year, only thing problem now is go bumper sometimes got sound like something friction but not sure what sound..
eddie2020
post Jun 11 2022, 05:41 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

Doubled

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Jun 11 2022, 05:41 PM
eddie2020
post Jun 11 2022, 07:10 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Jun 11 2022, 06:11 PM)
Well, it's clocking 130k already, I'm pretty sure some things are meant to be replaced to make the car feel bit better or feel like new hehe.. Though tbh i don't have any idea what to change.. That's why asking here
Don't fix thing that aren't broken.. Later cabut n put it back become problem.. Just change normal stuff like oil, filter etc.. And brake pad if wear off.. If no sound etc don't touch..
eddie2020
post Jun 15 2022, 05:40 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Jun 15 2022, 03:32 PM)
U got a point bro.. I've been sending to Honda for regular maintenance (though sometimes i didn't follow the every 6 months schedule, sometimes late 2 months haha)

But now i feel like my car doesn't feel as comfy as when I bought it new that time, that's why now wondering what to replace to make it feel better - things like suspension? Idk much about cars

Sometimes got some kruk kruk sound la.. Hahaha..

Engine wise i think it performs good still, i still can cruise 140-160 at highway with 3k-3.5k RPM.. Same like when i first bought it

Though another thing my car is suffering is the petrol consumption.. I only got around 10km/L now in city drive
Suspension normally people change is absorber n mounting.. Spring I don't think they change..
Fuel consumption if you change route or driving habit will affect... Like when I bought new I go work normal consumption 14-16km per litre.. Now I get 10km per litre due to move other place n only travel within residential area with many bump.. I tested with long distance full tank able get 19/20 litre which is similar like my new condition..

If your case still Sama route etc maybe need check spark plug n engine air filter..
eddie2020
post Oct 8 2022, 06:18 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

Anyone using anti roll bar from UR? Do our car come with anti roll bar?
eddie2020
post Oct 18 2022, 11:15 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Oct 18 2022, 08:21 PM)
why replace this?

Btw, sparkplug you all change at SC or own change? any brand or follow SC brand?
eddie2020
post Oct 21 2022, 08:34 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Oct 19 2022, 08:38 AM)
Coz rosak. Got clunking noise on uneven road/hump.
Spark plug buy online iridium spark plug then change outside.
Got any recording? I also got sound but only when cross bump in certain speed..

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Oct 19 2022, 04:38 PM)
Just check, tie rod rm217 for one side.
Rack end rm157 also one side. So both sides total rm748
Hooyah
Looks like not much diff from website?

QUOTE(silentb @ Oct 19 2022, 04:42 PM)
Wow.. not cheap. But i do believe original part really last. Guess our car need some maintenance/parts replacement after so many years.
I feel quality not really good, donno izzit Road condition or what haha.. My car clock below 100k.. Even below 60k I get random sound but not always.. Each time tell sc then sound gone for few week and come back.. Donno izzit need some tightening
eddie2020
post Oct 25 2022, 09:01 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Oct 21 2022, 10:25 PM)
Same here. Mostly sound on bump at certain speed. But not always.
Price very much different lo, sc much more expensive.
I go outside workshop check, bangla said is tie rod rosak la.
Yours last time just do tightening?
Now you solved yours? I not sure tightening as each time I complaint in sc then they return my car the sound gone for some week then come back.. I not sure if sc tighten some stuff or not
eddie2020
post Oct 26 2022, 08:28 PM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Nexsus @ Oct 25 2022, 11:46 AM)
Hi sifus here, my Honda City 2014 gm6 (115k km mileage) will chok/jerk randomly when cruising from low speed (around 10-40km/h), would like to know what's the possible caused ya? Never skip any car service as per every 6 months
it's happened quite frequent for now icon_question.gif  bangwall.gif
Mine also have this but maybe in morning cold start once only... If turn off the Eco then no this issue..
QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Oct 26 2022, 05:55 PM)
Anyone here replaced lower arm before? Mine is a 2014 v spec GM6, now hearing some squeaky sound whenevr going over road bump.

Found that the ball joint rubber has torn and the internal metal is exposed. Would like to know any oem lower arm that fits the budget or go original
How you know its that part? How you check by the way? There is cover everything hard to see..

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Oct 26 2022, 06:46 PM)
Hi guys, you probably have yet to hear of me or appear in the GM6 thread since I've been in LYN for so long. I replaced the lower arm many years back when the car was still under warranty and thought about how I would maintain it. After considering all my other vehicles, like Conti's vehicles, I realize silicon spray can prolong bushing or rubber material flexibility since the material they build for the bushing is the same. 

How I validate this by doing some surveys with a few mechanics (performance or general mechanics) and other ex-honda mechanics. The majority said new car bushing can wear and tear faster because a vehicle is built to comfort nowadays and bushing are softer, so when it comes to wear and tear is even faster due to its materials.. Not just Honda will face this; even Toyota, Lexus, Audi and other brands will face the same.

Hint: I've been using silicon spray after the sound came back until today. Its been many years. All good... Cheers!

I hope this would help you guys.
Appreciate if you able to guide us how to do it example where to spray and what brand of spray..
eddie2020
post Jun 12 2024, 02:49 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 11 2024, 12:37 AM)
The SC claimed for me for the top mount during warranty. It didnt resolve the problem, the kluk kluk returned in a month after replaced.

After warranty expired, i went to outside workshop to check, and they do a front suspension disassembly to check. Found the lower mount to be the culprit. Show me its torn also. I did posted here the photos in earlier post.

They charged me RM100/side include labor. Original Honda part. I find it reasonable for this charges since they take time to test drive with me, do a tear down and check faulty part. Then assemble back everything to pitch perfect condition. Been almost a year already, still in good condition.

Your car mileage so low also got such problem. Come to think about it, i first complaint to SC also about 45k mileage time. Dragged 3 years never resolve by SC. Claim this and that for me, but still same.

My car also 6yo. Just renew roadtax insurance 1 week back.
2018 car.
where you did the checking and test?
Total 200? assuming both side?
Do you have video or sound recorded? I am wondering if my sound its from these mount. Usually it appear when i cross bump in residential area.. Its on and off, but recently easier to trigger the sound.
QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 11 2024, 10:28 AM)
This is the part I changed too. There is a scratch/indentation but not crack on the old mounting. Kind of too fast for it to happen again.

Edit: it's the top mounting, as the SA showed me the schematic drawing.

How they check? Is it easy and visible?

QUOTE(Zhik @ Jun 11 2024, 11:30 AM)
Life span 5 years.
If under extreme condition, pothole road, life span is less than 5 years.
i seldom bang pot hole, but sometimes do happen, mine many year back but not frequent, each time bring to sc then no sound.. haha..

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 11 2024, 03:15 PM)
I reported the problem 3 years plus (20+k km) after getting the car but couldn't reproduce the sound during test drive.
The kluk2 sound appeared earlier but only intermittently until it became very frequent.

Finally got it detected and changed the mounts (both sides) at SC out-of-pocket last year May.
Sound is back and it's only been < 10,000km and certainly not driven in extreme conditions.
where you bring it to check and how much is the cost? Do you have any recording or sound so that i could have a check if mine is the same issue?
eddie2020
post Jun 13 2024, 01:55 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 12 2024, 09:38 AM)
The kluk2 sound is more obvious when the car is "cold" - driven in the morning or after patked whole day.
It sounds like coming from the front tyre (my case is it's nearer to rhs tyre). It appears when I drive on straight cemented floor (condo carpark) or smooth tarred road.

Idk how the tech checked but the car was left overnight for another separate job.
mean even you drive for flat surface got sound?

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 12 2024, 11:32 AM)
Yes, RM200 for both side.
I bring my car to this workshop somewhere in Rawang named LS S00 TYRE & AUTO SERVICES @ 33 Sport Rim Shop. One of the owner, En. Sufi is founder of GM6 Society Malaysia.

They took my car for a test drive to identify the noise, and then dismantle the entire front absorber system to check which part was faulty. For my case, this rubber is the only part that they find faulty, hence charged for these replacements.

Image is not my car, just random pick from Google.
oh i know that GM6 name. the shop seems like specialist for gm6. under what condition the sound will be triggered?
eddie2020
post Jun 15 2024, 03:40 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 13 2024, 09:20 PM)
Mine last time got the kluk kluk noise even on flat road, but not very obvious unless u r a very finicky person, which I am.

It get obviously audible when going over bumps  where the wheels are being pushed upward and came back down later.

Another one is when doing slow cornering like going into guard house of condo. The noise when cornering only happen when turning to the single side; my case is turn left got noise, but turn right no noise.
then my problem probably not like both of you guys..
my flat road i dont really notice, only if sometimes on those flat road with yellow line but rarely hear . . only going bumps so far or uneven road.. those sound happen in straight position without turning
eddie2020
post Jun 21 2024, 03:32 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(baiseliange @ Jun 18 2024, 09:25 AM)
according to my mechanic told me, it's honda electric power steering produce the sound, from what he told me, the bush or plastic sleeve inside the steering rack worned out got free space for the steering rack itself making noise. U can slightly feel the vibration or loosen feel from the steering when u go over speed bump or yellow line.
part similar to this
[attachmentid=11497511]
how much is this?
But i think i didnt notice vibration from steering as i am quite sensitive to sound and vibration.. maybe i try to focus more next time when i drive out.
eddie2020
post Dec 13 2024, 12:33 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

Anyone tried those led mini projector for pre FL gm6? Thinking to get one....

Who using borsh horn? I got some issue recently the horn sometimes not working and when I hold it for quite sometimes maybe 10 sec it works, when in emergency I couldn't wait 10sec lol .. Not sure wiring or my fuse.. Thinking to change horn fuse to 20A, not sure if this solve the issue..

This post has been edited by eddie2020: Dec 13 2024, 12:35 AM
eddie2020
post Dec 17 2024, 01:45 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Dec 14 2024, 11:39 AM)
The connector for horn is easily accessible, u may check the connection if it's loose then only check your fuse
need remove bumper rite?
eddie2020
post Dec 23 2024, 03:01 AM

Trusted
3,126 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Dec 17 2024, 08:19 AM)
No
Bottom cover?

QUOTE(mushigen @ Dec 18 2024, 12:44 AM)
I assume 20A is a bigger rated one?
If your fuse blows, it's never a good idea to upsize the fuse. Fuses exist to protect against over current at designed amperage.
Not blow.. Donno izzit power not enuf for ec6 borsh

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.3718sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:46 PM