> How much money can I transfer in Bank acc, Until LHDN gets notified?

TSAvangelice
post Sep 18 2018, 12:00 PM, updated 8y ago

5,272 posts

Hey guys, just want to enquire a little dilemma I am facing.

I normally conduct house calls and majority of my patients have been paying me in cash so over time I have collected a sum of money in cash form which I cannot keep in my house as there have been a spite of breakins around the neighborhood.

So I have been banking all the money in batches of 5k per transaction.

Just wondering how much is too much until LHDN gets notified?

PS I am not running from taxes. I do my annual tax returns as honest as I can but I would not wish to be audited if possible.
carpathia
post Sep 18 2018, 12:02 PM

2,619 posts

why worry about LHDN when you also mentioned that you have been paying tax ?
gestapo
post Sep 18 2018, 12:03 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

don't go over 2.6b
SUSazhan82
post Sep 18 2018, 12:04 PM

316 posts

wow.. even selling butt can make 5k..
House call FTW tongue.gif
owai..

inb4 20k /k member
deric79k
post Sep 18 2018, 12:04 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(gestapo @ Sep 18 2018, 12:03 PM)
don't go over 2.6b
hahahaha very sensitive number, sure LHDN will know

TSAvangelice
post Sep 18 2018, 12:06 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 18 2018, 12:02 PM)
audit. my colleagues kena audit and somehow lhdn will do whatever it takes to get us to pay. this was circa prior to election May 9th.

we as in the clinic. my colleague tried to file a complaint saying this isn't right and he was threatened with "even you win this round, we will audit you every year if you fight this"

end up he had to just keep quiet.

PS his clinic is in KL
mousqy
post Sep 18 2018, 12:12 PM

758 posts

legit business transaction

u masukkan dalam acc company bukan acc sendiri

u follow najib izzit

This post has been edited by mousqy: Sep 18 2018, 12:12 PM
spicy.jalapeno
post Sep 18 2018, 12:16 PM

130 posts

wow, sad to hear this bro

lhdn is truly the biggest thug in the country
thesoothsayer
post Sep 18 2018, 12:20 PM

954 posts

Frequent cash bank ins is also gonna trigger AMLA warnings, I think. People were working on that 5 years ago for Malaysian banks, so I think should be in-place now.
blah2blah
post Sep 18 2018, 12:22 PM

748 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 18 2018, 01:02 PM)
Paying lower than tax bracket
RichardN
post Sep 18 2018, 12:24 PM

26 posts

Well my fren... crypto will be your best bet
CcL
post Sep 18 2018, 12:27 PM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

open SG bank acc.
carpathia
post Sep 18 2018, 12:28 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 18 2018, 12:06 PM)
audit. my colleagues kena audit and somehow lhdn will do whatever it takes to get us to pay. this was circa prior to election May 9th.

we as in the clinic. my colleague tried to file a complaint saying this isn't right and he was threatened with "even you win this round, we will audit you every year if you fight this"

PS his clinic is in KL
Depending on which bank you use. Most international banks trigger MLA warning at 5k transaction and if you have multiple large deposits, it will also trigger.

LHDN is something new to me.
psyduck89

New Korean Member
818 posts

put personal account then they will check ur personal account...

put business account then they audit ur business...

or, buy a super heavy n thick safety box..
the 1 used by bijan 1...
it will took the thieves to spend days to open..

WaCKy-Angel

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Sep 18 2018, 12:12 PM)
legit business transaction

u masukkan dalam acc company bukan acc sendiri

u follow najib izzit
If memory serves me right, TS is having partnership at clinic but TS also receive house-calls and he DOES NOT wish to let his partner to earn from this.

Technically its kinda not right, but its not wrong to have "part-time" jobs.

So what TS should do is register another company and all payment to be made under that company, and also issue receipts as proof.

But however, TS says not wish to run from taxes but wish not to be audited lel.
must be something canot see light
ketnave
post Sep 18 2018, 12:29 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 18 2018, 12:06 PM)

PS his clinic is in KL
If you have good record keeping, it shouldn't be an issue rite ?
teehk_tee
post Sep 18 2018, 12:30 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

High transaction count isnt necessarily going to flag.. Even if it does its an amla issue. 5k is like peanuts..

Come on, everyone needs to receive and pay right..

I think only when things get excessive like you transfer few hundred k then eh eh apa ni
psyduck89

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 18 2018, 12:28 PM)
If memory serves me right, TS is having partnership at clinic but TS also receive house-calls and he DOES NOT wish to let his partner to earn from this.

Technically its kinda not right, but its not wrong to have "part-time" jobs.
So what TS should do is register another company and all payment to be made under that company, and also issue receipts as proof.
But however, TS says not wish to run from taxes but wish not to be audited lel.
must be something canot see light
usually when they start audit ur company,
die die they will fine u on something... laugh.gif

WaCKy-Angel

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 18 2018, 12:28 PM)
Depending on which bank you use. Most international banks trigger MLA warning at 5k transaction and if you have multiple large deposits, it will also trigger. 

LHDN is something new to me.
I've been transferring above 10K/day from 1 bank to another bank acc (including company/current acc to personal savings acc) doesnt have any problem.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Sep 18 2018, 12:30 PM
WooTz

1,011 posts

i tried 100k one shot earlier this year, no phone calls for me
MRaef
post Sep 18 2018, 12:32 PM

382 posts

TS, are you Dr. Black Jack?

jagadis
post Sep 18 2018, 12:33 PM

Aspire to Inspire before we expire
1,107 posts

In previous government No Limit!
2.6B also can.

New government don't know yet
Prometric
post Sep 18 2018, 12:33 PM

434 posts

I only know if anything above RM200k or was it RM250k+ per transaction bank negara will red flag and investigate. So last time i transfer RM140k+ for 2 transaction to my friend.
carpathia
post Sep 18 2018, 12:34 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 18 2018, 12:30 PM)
I've been transferring above 10K/day from 1 bank to another bank acc (including company/current acc to personal savings acc) doesnt have any problem.
Must be local bank and they have you in their records already as a premium/etc
ate
post Sep 18 2018, 12:38 PM

629 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Sep 18 2018, 12:30 PM)
i tried 100k one shot earlier this year, no phone calls for me
Which bank? i tried following everyone advise of 20k per day limit, so far no calls.

I tried withdraw cash using atm once, just 8k only, then bank give me a call and send me a letter (Maybank).
donfutsal

182 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 18 2018, 12:00 PM)

I normally conduct house calls and majority of my patients have been paying me in cash so over time I have collected a sum of money in cash form which I cannot keep in my house as there have been a spite of breakins around the neighborhood.

PS I am not running from taxes. I do my annual tax returns as honest as I can but I would not wish to be audited if possible.
don't worry doc 5k to 100k wont happen anything

jus dat if can dont transfer inside your acc

find another way thumbup.gif
WinterDays

531 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Sep 18 2018, 12:33 PM)
I only know if anything above RM200k or was it RM250k+ per transaction bank negara will red flag and investigate. So last time i transfer RM140k+ for 2 transaction to my friend.
if ur parents send one shot 200k to u, will there be any problem?

they will investigate on the sender or receiver?
warpig
post Sep 18 2018, 12:39 PM

147 posts

topkek ppl running away from tax spotted. What kinda illegal business so much money? can share?

SUSNachiino Etamay
post Sep 18 2018, 12:42 PM

93 posts

no one knows.

Btw, banks are not stupid

if you deposit under the limit, but your bank balance always increases, they will track the increase through time.

This is to prevent money laundering.

Furthermore, The thresholds moves through time. Banks keeps tabs of:

1) the top X% of customer (X is unknown, maybe 1%-2%? or top 100-1000)
2) one off money deposits more than the average of historical months, and takes the top Z%
3) bank increase balance relative to historical years, and takes the top Y%

In short, all of this is mechanically done, and u will never know what X,Z,and Y is.
In short, ASSUME you will be audited. it is very likely ALL top 1%-2% in wealth gets audited.
Prometric
post Sep 18 2018, 12:43 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(WinterDays @ Sep 18 2018, 12:38 PM)
if ur parents send one shot 200k to u, will there be any problem?

they will investigate on the sender or receiver?
RM200k i think no issue as long as you can prove your relation with your parents.

Just earlier this month i receive a RM200k from overseas, Maybank call me up ask me to prove my relation with my partner(overseas), So after i went over and show them all the documents they release the sums within that day itself
WooTz
post Sep 18 2018, 12:43 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Sep 18 2018, 12:38 PM)
Which bank? i tried following everyone advise of 20k per day limit, so far no calls.

I tried withdraw cash using atm once, just 8k only, then bank give me a call and  send me a letter (Maybank).
CIMB
shirohamada
post Sep 18 2018, 12:45 PM

944 posts

easy.
buy buttcoin.
malibuchong
post Sep 18 2018, 12:48 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Sep 18 2018, 12:04 PM)
hahahaha  very sensitive number, sure LHDN will know
they know,but they will keep quiet.

malibuchong
post Sep 18 2018, 12:50 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(warpig @ Sep 18 2018, 12:39 PM)
topkek ppl running away from tax spotted. What kinda illegal business so much money? can share?
special massage outcall with happy ending.
erald06
post Sep 18 2018, 12:51 PM

271 posts

Isn't it better to open a current account? A savings account will have limitations and if they see alot of transactions going in and out on a savings account, it will block the account temporary.
COOLPINK
post Sep 18 2018, 12:53 PM

3,665 posts

keep huge amount of cash in house is asking for trouble.
unless you got receipts to back them up.
post Sep 18 2018, 12:56 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(Prometric @ Sep 18 2018, 12:43 PM)
RM200k i think no issue as long as you can prove your relation with your parents.

Just earlier this month i receive a RM200k from overseas, Maybank call me up ask me to prove my relation with my partner(overseas), So after i went over and show them all the documents they release the sums within that day itself
your overseas from which country ?

Meanwhile sohai HSBC, few thousand from HK also want to ask you prove this prove that.
fun_feng
post Sep 18 2018, 01:15 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

5k i think too little lah...

Probably 200k above only trigger
SUSKinitos
post Sep 18 2018, 01:21 PM

572 posts

Transfer how much also can. As long as money transfer into bank account == Income reported to LHDN

IF NOT 20 years from now Charged under Money Laundering

JoeYoung
post Sep 18 2018, 01:22 PM

153 posts

You should ask Joanna Yu of Ambank. She will help out.

mousqy
post Sep 18 2018, 01:25 PM

758 posts

buat la company enterprise atleast
if you keep this up
mmg la kena audit

SUSKinitos
post Sep 18 2018, 01:27 PM

572 posts

Since now LGE no money, must new source of revenue.
Bank clerk must ask duit dapat dari mana? Rompak?

louzie
post Sep 18 2018, 01:28 PM

102 posts

Open a company??
And put your wife and son as worker ? Then bank in thru their account?
Not sure if this is plausible though but alot of unkers use this method .
Those that have alot of cash transaction business.
Cookie101
post Sep 18 2018, 01:28 PM

1,616 posts

no one really bother.

when doing it in small sum multiple times then it raised the doubt and suspicion.

just walk in and deposit whole sum together into some investment or fd.
Yung_Psyke
post Sep 18 2018, 01:29 PM

286 posts

i do exactly what you do, i handle house calls and what i usually do is i’ll get my patients to pay me on a monthly basis, and they directly transfer to my acc , but its not much, about 800-1k + , and those not so frequent ones i’ll just keep it in my wallet laugh.gif

EternalC
post Sep 18 2018, 01:30 PM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 18 2018, 12:02 PM)
lhdn audit is a pain in the ass

you either lose, or you lose either way

the only way to win is if you're some big shot or high profile
JoeYoung
post Sep 18 2018, 01:37 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Luke Skywanker @ Sep 18 2018, 01:28 PM)
drillz?
Joanna Yu, banker handling Prime Minister accounts

pgsiemkia
post Sep 18 2018, 01:40 PM

473 posts

RM 4990.00. Alternate days.

BNM gets notified then only LDHN. The algorithm only detects abnormal or normal daily transactions over the limit.

SUSjustin jackson

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Sep 18 2018, 12:20 PM)
Frequent cash bank ins is also gonna trigger AMLA warnings, I think. People were working on that 5 years ago for Malaysian banks, so I think should be in-place now.
Yes, in place
SUSgsem984

216 posts

anything above RM50.00 will trigger LHDN
poooky
post Sep 18 2018, 01:45 PM

844 posts

But have u been declaring this extra income on a yearly basis?. If no then don't deposit. U will kena Kao2 If yes then shud be OK. Just tell them the truth. Escorts also declare n bank in they got no paperwork for it as well. U don't sohai say perform oral. U say u provide companionship like rentafriend.
TSAvangelice
post Sep 18 2018, 01:47 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Yung_Psyke @ Sep 18 2018, 01:29 PM)
i do exactly what you do, i handle house calls and what i usually do is i’ll get my patients to pay me on a monthly basis, and they directly transfer to my acc , but its not much, about 800-1k + , and those not so frequent ones i’ll just keep it in my wallet laugh.gif
my post kena reported.

some of these guys really clueless as to how difficult it is to kena audit. my dad company kena audit and they force you to pay the next year punya taxes for this year and say you can claim from immigration next year if not tally.

people doing business will know what I'm talking about. some of these middle income groups don't know shit and will never understand
ohman
post Sep 18 2018, 01:48 PM

1,178 posts

Tudia doctor takut diaudit.
Davez89
post Sep 18 2018, 01:49 PM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Sep 18 2018, 01:40 PM)
RM 4990.00. Alternate days.

BNM gets notified then only LDHN. The algorithm only detects abnormal or normal daily transactions over the limit.
4990 is not true.. Just do random numbers and also alternate days randomly.
pgsiemkia
post Sep 18 2018, 01:52 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Davez89 @ Sep 18 2018, 01:49 PM)
4990 is not true.. Just do random numbers and also alternate days randomly.
To each his own...

Yung_Psyke
post Sep 18 2018, 01:52 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 18 2018, 01:47 PM)
my post kena reported.

some of these guys really clueless as to how difficult it is to kena audit. my dad company kena audit and they force you to pay the next year punya taxes for this year and say you can claim from immigration next year if not tally.

people doing business will know what I'm talking about. some of these middle income groups don't know shit and will never understand
ever since i got a full time job i cut down on my housecalls, otherwise yes, kena audit is a b**** , i know people who had to pay 2.7+ something or kena action taken if didnt pay up , i never had to worry as i wasnt making as much as you are, on good months 3k+ only, even that will be spent on necessities and when it hits the bank, its half that ammount
TSAvangelice
post Sep 18 2018, 01:54 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Yung_Psyke @ Sep 18 2018, 01:52 PM)
ever since i got a full time job i cut down on my housecalls, otherwise yes, kena audit is a b**** , i know people who had to pay 2.7+ something or kena action taken if didnt pay up , i never had to worry as i wasnt making as much as you are, on good months 3k+ only, even that will be spent on necessities and when it hits the bank, its half that ammount
it kinda sucks seeing all the hard work you put in on a daily basis and the government gets the cut out of it
Yung_Psyke
post Sep 18 2018, 01:55 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Sep 18 2018, 01:54 PM)
it kinda sucks seeing all the hard work you put in on a daily basis and the government gets the cut out of it
we’re all on the same boat , some just dont understand it
SUSmemekfalui
post Sep 18 2018, 01:57 PM

245 posts

thread reported !

LHDN
SUSKinitos
post Sep 18 2018, 02:04 PM

572 posts

Settlement of Country Heights Sdn Bhd ("CHSB") tax liability by Tan Sri Lee Kim Tiong @ Lee Kim Yew ("Tan Sri Lee")

Further to the announcements dated 17 April 2017 and 9 May 2017, the Company wishes to announce that Tan Sri Lee has paid RM22,706,737.88 to settle the tax liabilities including penalties claimed by the Inland Revenue Board ("IRB") against CHSB, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company. The settlement is made by Tan Sri Lee as the major shareholder of the Company and not his personal liability.

Prometric
post Sep 18 2018, 02:09 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 18 2018, 12:56 PM)
your overseas from which country ?
Meanwhile sohai HSBC, few thousand from HK also want to ask you prove this prove that.
From Hong Kong
MadhavanR
post Sep 18 2018, 02:23 PM

85 posts

1. give proper receipt to client...
2. register a company and open company acct.
3. dump as much cash as u want whenever u want...

no LHDN guy will come knocking coz its legit business with receipt...
and is much easier to do audit if u seperate the money coming into the account and when u widthraw them as your payment.
dont jumble it with your personal account and later kena audit for every shit in your account...
JimbeamofNRT
post Sep 18 2018, 02:25 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

people deposit more than that lah daily. so far ok saja with LHDN

unless you are laundering $$$$$ and someone lipot to LHDN

GGWP
homicidal85
post Sep 18 2018, 03:25 PM

295 posts

if i remember correctly, BNM gets notified of single rm50k movements and above. the bank can also raise alerts to BNM if there is suspicious activity, i.e. rm40k per week over a few weeks.
serijaten
post Sep 18 2018, 03:58 PM

Maybank once call me because they found unnatural for regular account to have multiple transaction everyday, up to 15k per day..

they call me and request explaination, I say I own small online business. Then I sceenshot my webpage and SSM for their reference.

My point is they will monitor our account, so prepared a solid explaination if required
yeezai
post Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

well u can bank in to friends ...
bill11
post Sep 18 2018, 05:43 PM

303 posts

one the same day deposit through CDM >60k into 1 saving account also no issue.
For the same week > 100k in/out also no issue.

Chill la.
Darth Gaylord
post Sep 18 2018, 05:50 PM

i once transfer 150k before.. no call from LHDN yet
eveready
post Sep 18 2018, 05:55 PM

242 posts

I heard somewhere between 30k to 50k. Above this value, it will triggered Bank Negara which later goes to LHDN.
dagnarus
post Sep 18 2018, 05:58 PM

328 posts

10k usd before it will be flagged.

flag also does not mean action will be taken. just duly noted
jfarm86
post Sep 18 2018, 05:59 PM

286 posts

Did you keep track of the cash? Any issued receipt?

5k per transaction is not much unless you try to bank-in few times a day. Bank won't know where the money come from out of sudden so they will notify them for audit.

Since you said you did filing tax annually, I don't think there's any issue unless you report less than the earned amount.
dagnarus
post Sep 18 2018, 06:02 PM

328 posts

AMLA > Audit

In terms of pain in the ass.
PrincZe
post Sep 18 2018, 06:14 PM

3,050 posts

Just do 100k per deposit. Very small number
TSAvangelice
post Sep 18 2018, 06:26 PM

5,272 posts

thanks for the replies guys. appreciate the info.

I have an ocbc account and a maybank and Hong leong.

ocbc for home loan
Maybank for cards
Hong leong for stock broking and car loan.

I sometimes have the paranoia that local banks are prone to report compared to international banks?

0.0288sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:24 PM