Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Maximum WiFi Speeds, ... or why my wifi so slow? (Home Networking)

views
     
SilentVampire
post Sep 17 2018, 11:10 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



Yet another excellent guide. Will link to this thread on the TM thread. Thank you, and good job.
SilentVampire
post Sep 18 2018, 12:06 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(JohnLai @ Sep 17 2018, 11:55 PM)
https://www.ekahau.com/wp-content/uploads/2...Analysis_WP.pdf

Read part 1, ignore part 2.

EDIT: The pdf has simple explanation on why it is impossible to get full wifi link speed.
*
Very good PDF guide. Cheers. Will be a bit too technical for newbies though tongue.gif
SilentVampire
post Sep 19 2018, 10:47 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(samkian @ Sep 19 2018, 04:08 PM)
Wow...now I understand
*
See the link on my signature to read more.

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Sep 19 2018, 10:43 PM)
Thank you for making the effort to do this, I learned quite a bit.
*
Click the link on my signature to learn more.
SilentVampire
post Sep 21 2018, 10:49 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(cyberic @ Sep 21 2018, 09:08 PM)
Nice guide 👍
*
See my signature for more.

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Sep 21 2018, 09:49 PM)
using my galaxy s8+ / laptop / tenda ac18

i get:
s8+
2.4ghz - dl 100mbps ul 110mbps

5ghz - dl 430mbps ul 212mbps

laptop(killer 1435)
2.4ghz - dl 100mbps ul 100mbps

5ghz - dl 400mbps ul - 200mbps

both are 2x2 mimo... and maximum i can get...
*
Yes, that is expected, and normal.
SilentVampire
post Oct 6 2018, 04:07 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(LonelyHart16 @ Oct 6 2018, 02:27 PM)
SO what exactly do I have to do to get at least full 500mbps or 800mbps speed from unifi using wifi?

Sit right next to my 802.11ac router with my device? lol
*
No point. Get a decent router and have a device that can support it. No point sitting next to your router.
SilentVampire
post Oct 11 2018, 10:37 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 11 2018, 09:27 AM)
I am currently using a ASUS RT-AC1300UHP wireless router. I have already upgraded the LAN cables from BTU to router for Gigabit. Unifi has been turboed to 500Mbps. Checked wireless channels and configure it to use a channel where it is not congested. I haven't tested the LAN cable yet but I am absolutely sure it can hit close to my targeted 500Mbps. WiFi 5Ghz max I got was 280Mbps and then I found out that my phone's WiFi hardware, it is only single streaming at 433Mbps so it is about right. 2.4Ghz I can get around 70Mbps to 80Mbps (connected at 92Mbps).

Phone is a Huawei Mate 9 Pro. Haven't tested with my laptop yet for both LAN and wireless.
*
Configure to a channel that is not congested? 1, 6, or 11? Your phone wifi is not streaming at 433Mbps though, as that is a theoretical max value of 1x1 MIMO. You should try a speedtest on your phone to see real value. By the way, the max speed on wireless for the router is only 300Mbps, so you might need to change router.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Oct 11 2018, 10:37 AM
SilentVampire
post Oct 11 2018, 12:23 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 11 2018, 11:19 AM)
But this router's WiFI is 2x2 MIMO for 5ghz at 867Mbps, so theoratically real world speed I should be able to get higher right? I feel that my WiFi speed is limited to my phone's Wifi capabilities since it is only 1x1 MIMO. I'll need to get a 2x2 MIMO WiFi phone to test and see if I can breach 300Mbps on WiFi at home.
*
Yes, thereotically you should get higher. Set the channel bandwidth for the router to 80MHz, and see if that change things.
SilentVampire
post Oct 11 2018, 12:33 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 11 2018, 12:25 PM)
I have set mine to 80Mhz....still maxed out at 280Mbps XD but yeah will wait till I can get a better phone to test then I can do some conclusions. Cheers biggrin.gif
*
No worries. Just to let you know that the AC1300UHP does max out at 300Mbps. If you still can't go any higher than 300, it is expected. Click the link to my sig and see list of compatible routers for the 500Mbps speed.
SilentVampire
post Oct 11 2018, 02:15 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 11 2018, 01:51 PM)
Hi bro, your phones WiFi 5ghz definitely have two spatial streams (2x2 MIMO). I was surprised that my Huawei Mate 9 Pro only has one spatial stream sad.gif
*
Yes, only one so max speed will only be 433Mbps unfortunately.
SilentVampire
post Oct 22 2018, 10:41 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(lamda @ Oct 22 2018, 11:27 AM)
hi guys,

just a quick question, im using stock TM wifi c1200, my package is 300mbps.. i only can get ard 150-200mbps only.. both side ( router archer c1200 + receiver archer t4u ac1200 ) should got more than 300mbps. not sure what i missed. is the the router is not good? floor plan is apt house, range ard 10-15ft from pc to router.

even tested using my mate 10 pro also never got 300mbps..
*
You hit the nail on the head. Your router is not good enough.

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Oct 22 2018, 11:52 AM)
This has been such a great informative topic but being an old man, I can't quite wrap my head around some of the terms so I appreciate any help that I can get.

In relation to my parents' place, they are currently on the Maxis 100 mpbs package (just upgraded) with the default modem/router combo. Primary use of internet is more for browsing and streaming videos via youtube, malaysiakini, etc.

Our issue is mainly due to reception as the router is awkwardly placed in a room on one end of the house (not centrally). Unfortunately, relocating the router is not an option. As a result, some rooms on the other end of the house get really lousy wifi reception (walls, various other interference, etc.).

I'd like to know:

1. Would upgrading to a better, more powerful router help?
2. If yes, what router do you recommend? Importantly, can it work with Maxis?
3. Do you know of any company/consultant who can provide advise and possibly assist on installation?

Thank you and keep up the knowledge sharing.
*
1) Yes, it will.

2) All if not most router will work with Maxis. As for what router, depends in your budget. Do you use Maxis VoIP/phone as well? If you do, it will be a bit difficult to configure.

3) Try to Google and see, but keep in mind they won’t be cheap.

SilentVampire
post Oct 23 2018, 10:22 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(wira1979 @ Oct 23 2018, 09:25 AM)
Thanks so much. I plan to get the Asus RT-AC86U. Should be OK for my purpose?

Also, the Maxis does come with the VoIP/phone but hardly anyone uses it.
*
Should be more than enough. If no one uses it, I wouldn't bother with it then. If you still want to use it, you have to bridge it to the Maxis router.
SilentVampire
post Oct 23 2018, 05:54 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(wira1979 @ Oct 23 2018, 05:21 PM)
Cheers again. Will do a bit more research before pulling the trigger.

Am currently choosing between buying a powerful router or a wifi mesh system (i.e. Asus Lyra).

Decisions ...
*
If it is a normal two-storey home, a powerful router would suffice, unless you want full wireless connectivity and have cash to burn.
SilentVampire
post Oct 24 2018, 11:46 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(mintgadget @ Oct 24 2018, 10:15 AM)
I was wondering will iPhone Xs/Max obtain full gigabit wifi speeds with 4x4 MIMO (in real life)?
*
Nope. It is only 2x2 MIMO. See here: https://www.apple.com/my/iphone-xs/specs/

802.11ac Wi-Fi with 2x2 MIMO

4x4 MIMO is only for LTE.


This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Oct 24 2018, 11:48 AM
SilentVampire
post Nov 2 2018, 08:18 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(zhuhang @ Nov 2 2018, 02:49 AM)
hey OP. How does MU-MIMO affects the link speed / actual speed?

From your guide, I can assume these speeds on WiFi: (paired with the corresponding wifi adapter)
AC1200/1300 - N300+AC867 (2x2 5GHz) - 500Mbps
AC1750/1900 - N450+AC1300 (3x3 5GHz) - 7xxMbps/800Mbps
... (4x4 5GHz) - 1Gbps

Am I right?
*
See here for a quick guide: https://www.duckware.com/tech/wifi-in-the-us.html
SilentVampire
post Nov 20 2018, 04:46 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(arvind13 @ Nov 20 2018, 01:57 PM)
I'm on Unifi 300Mbps...Will this Tenda AC10U be suffice to get the max speed or should I get something else.  😀😀
*
See my signature for a better suggestions for list of compatible routers for 300Mbps. I recommend another router, preferably the Tenda AC18.
SilentVampire
post Dec 4 2018, 03:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(meltan @ Dec 4 2018, 12:53 PM)
Meaning that my phone which reaches 300mbps is actually maxed out?
*
Yes, in a way. It won’t go to 867Mbps, maybe max at 300Mbps.
SilentVampire
post Dec 12 2018, 05:26 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(noisemonkie @ Dec 12 2018, 04:59 PM)
After scouring through the threads at LYN, if (this is a big IF) I go for TP-LINK Archer C3150:

1. Will it just be an overkill?

2. Or will It consider future proofing?

3. Better router = better coverage, no?

Many thanks again for any feedback given.
*
1. Nope, it won’t be an overkill.

2. Yes, it will be future proofing.

3. Much better coverage if you use C3150.

It is a very stable and good router, and definitely worth it.

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Dec 12 2018, 05:16 PM)
Hi, TP-Link Archer C3150 will be good for you.
Need to ask the guy SilentVampire to comment as he is using this C3150.
You're using Hypptv?

If you want speed and coverage of 300Mbps upstairs.
Then I suggest you to get Deco M5 which are able to support 300Mbps.
The problem is that if wanna use Hypptv with Deco need to buy a separate Smart Switch.
https://www.blacktubi.com/guide/make-any-ro...-work-on-unifi/
*
Cheers for the tag.

SilentVampire
post Dec 18 2018, 09:43 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(crittertoo @ Dec 18 2018, 06:31 PM)
got turbo ed to 800 Mbps

Huawei HG8240w (modem) --> Linksys WRT 1900 ACS (router) -- > Linksys 16 port Gigabit Switch -- > Cisco 2700 with 2.4 and 5 GHZ radio

Max speed i can get via wifi from iphone X (5 GHZ radio) being 3 feet away from ap cisco 2700 = 92.7 Mbps download / 82.3 upload.

Max speed i can get via wifi from iphone X (5 GHZ radio) being 3 feet away from Linksys WRT 1900 ACS =  90 Mbps download / 81 upload.

I have double confirmed the Iphone X wifi connection is via the 5ghz band

Question

1)92.7 Mbps download speed on 5 GHZ is PATHETIC.....can anyone help ?
*
Seen your other post. Did you consider trying with another router?

QUOTE(skeletonboi @ Dec 18 2018, 09:26 PM)
hi
i'm using archer t9uh wireless adapter and archer c9 router.
but both of my download and upload speed can only achieve around 200mbps. upload speed has no issue as the unifi 800mbps only provide 200mbps upload speed.
tested ethernet cable with the same pc, can achieve 800mbps download speed.

i have no idea where is the problem coming from. i placed my wireless adapter under my router, which is put on top of the shelf, short distance in between. plugged into usb3.0 port as well.

after reading post on earlier page,
even stock tm unifi ac1200 is achieving 200mbps for 300mbps package. it seems impossible for 800mbps package and ac1900 user to achieve above 200mbps.
*
I am assuming you are using 5GHz AC? Set it to any channel above 130 and to 80MHz, and see if that helps.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Dec 18 2018, 09:47 PM
SilentVampire
post Dec 18 2018, 09:44 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 17 2018, 04:44 AM)
Currently using Dlink AC1200 router that TM supplied. Just wondering, in my hostel got 10-11 devices connected to the network, if all of them connect to the 5ghz band will there be some bottleneck issues?

Was told by some to use 2.4ghz network for devices like phones and tablet to reduce a supposed "congestion" on the 5ghz band.

But does it really work that way?
*
Nope. Doesn’t work that way at all. Your speed might however go down if those devices decide to stream video or do anything taxing to the CPU, as the router is very basic.
SilentVampire
post Dec 19 2018, 07:26 AM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Senior Member
5,667 posts

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(skeletonboi @ Dec 18 2018, 10:42 PM)
highest channel is 48.
set to channel 48, 80mhz, ac only. still the same.
is that possible arising from bandwidth limit of the wifi? but i couldnt find the setting to adjust the bandwidth for my tplink c9

any problems with the setting below? everything is in default
user posted image
*
Seems like everything is normal. Not sure exactly what is going on.

QUOTE(crittertoo @ Dec 18 2018, 11:55 PM)
Changed to TM default router - same Mbps with the WRT 1900 ACS. I enabled the WRT 1900 ACS wifi as well, same results  about 90 Mbps over wifi to the apple iphone X. I enable the 80 Mhz channel on the WRT 1900 ACS 5 GHZ radio as well.

I will get TM fellas to get my connection speed to about 800 mbps, right now. it's only about 550 Mbps, all using dintek cat 6 patch cables, still no dice sad.gif

Once the Mbps gets to about 800 Mbps, I will get some Cisco engineers to look at the damn Cisco 2 X AP 2600 and 1 X 2700. I am pretty sure it's got to do with the Cisco MCS and DATA rates. It's been almost more than a decade since I config Cisco IOS sad.gif

Thanks for you help
*
Could be the Cisco IOS configuration issue as you say. Good luck.

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0259sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd October 2021 - 05:48 AM