Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023
wywy2020
Feb 10 2019, 11:51 AM
i am living with my relative with stay just next house to mine. can i know if wifi powerline work so that i can extend my wifi to his house? there is also another product wifi extender in the market. may i know which work the best in this situation, wifi powerline or wifi extender?
wywy2020
Jul 11 2020, 04:27 PM
Hi Sifu here, I am moving into a new double storey terrace house where my relative next to my door already with Unifi. I plan to share the wifi with him and share the bill monthly. Appreciate your advise if this is possible and what are the device i need to boost the wifi signal just in case? i have heard of repeater, extender, mesh? Which is more suitable for me for my purpose?
This post has been edited by wywy2020: Jul 11 2020, 04:28 PM
wywy2020
Jul 11 2020, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 11 2020, 04:28 PM) Mesh WiFi will give you the best performance. But they don’t come cheap though saw the video on the setup where the setup is done through installing apps in phone. will the wifi works after setup if the phone is not in the house? In other words, does the mesh wifi rely on the said phone? or the apps can be deleted and even the phone owner not in the house, the family member still can use the wifi without problem? sorry for the dumb question.....
wywy2020
Jul 13 2020, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jul 12 2020, 04:55 PM) if you care to get the same speed as your unifi subscription then drill and use a LAN cable thru the walls . . set AP mode on the second wireless router. All other solutions i think you will lose speed . lose speed due to use of wifi? if on LAN cable speed will be maintained?