Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

hammetts
post Jan 3 2024, 11:18 AM

66 posts

Dear Sifus, I really need help to set up my home Router connection

House type: Landed
Size of house: 2 Storey bungalow (live with in laws)
Features required: Need advise
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 2 smart tv, 3+ pc, 10+ phone
Internet Speed: 500mbps
Current Router Location: 2nd floor, on the floor
Currently using original AR2140 maxis router.

Question
1) I need to extend coverage to 1st floor to 4 rooms + 2 kitchen area. Can i buy TP link (ax55) easymesh router as main, and use the current AR2140 as mesh to expand coverage on 1st floor?
2) advise on mesh model
I really need help on setting up the router or mesh.

Thanks in advance/

This post has been edited by hammetts: Jan 3 2024, 11:34 AM
hammetts
post Jan 12 2024, 08:41 AM

66 posts

Hi, Does anyone has experience setting KAON AR2140 (maxis free router) as repeater using easymesh function? my main router AX53

Ive tried but kinda fail. its detect AR2140 as mesh but when i tried the coverage it was the same whether its on or off.

FYI i use this step

Steps:
1) Connect a laptop to LAN port of the AR2140
2) Navigate to the address http://192.168.1.254 using your preferred browsers (Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge)
3) Login as administrator into the web GUI
4) Using the navigation menu that is displayed on the left side of the AR2140 web GUI, click on NETWORK and then WAN Mode to access the menu to switch the operation mode of the AR2140
5) Select the button Bridge (Repeater) and a new submenu Friendly Name will appear
6) You can change the Friendly Name to any name as identification of the MESH nodes to be displayed in the web GUI. Eg: Kitchen's MAP, Bedroom, Living Hall AP, etc.
7) Click on APPLY button and the AR2140 will reboot automatically and ready to be setup to pair to a master/controller node using the WPS button

This post has been edited by hammetts: Jan 12 2024, 08:43 AM

0.0208sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:55 PM