First Time Parents, To Buy List

TSlowlowc
post Nov 26 2018, 06:56 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Nov 24 2018, 08:56 PM)
bought the kooper balero car seat RM 999 at tce baby fair today

initially target combi 360 which is RM1699 + free kid tableware RM250 ++ seems quite a good offer, but feel the size is quite small not really can tahan till 3 year old. But mesh cushion is really nice.

save the budget for other... blink.gif
too tired and heavy...restock diaper , wiper through shopee ...seems price no much different
What brand of baby wipes you're using?
I bought Aleva Natural big packet, plan to use it first in case baby allergy. Also bought Fiffy and Pureen to see if baby is okay with these brand.

I was torn between buying which top to toe wash for baby - Johnson? Pureen? Anakku? Or Cetaphil Baby Range? I myself have been using Cetaphil for years. Those selling at baby expo are in big bottles so I didn't buy cause want to buy a few brands in small bottle and see which one fits.

Also looking for baby massage oil cause I read it's good for baby's sleep.

Is baby powder still recommended these days? I might buy the pure cornstarch type if needed.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Nov 26 2018, 06:58 PM
TSlowlowc
post Nov 27 2018, 10:05 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(neenee @ Nov 26 2018, 09:57 PM)
I replaced Pureen wet wipes with K Mom. K brand seems more natural and my baby is ok with it, I also use it to wipe her hand and face. But price is about double of Pureen. Earlier she has some nappy rashes with pureen. Body wash Im using Buds head to toe since new born till now, personally like it.
Luckily I bought Pureen in small quantity only. If allergic, I will use it for cleaning up table only. Will check out K Mom and Buds. Thanks.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Nov 27 2018, 10:13 AM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 4 2018, 10:19 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(neenee @ Nov 26 2018, 09:57 PM)
Body wash Im using Buds head to toe since new born till now, personally like it.
QUOTE(coca^cola @ Nov 27 2018, 11:22 AM)
I’m using buds too.
Hi, I went to check Buds. Which top to toe are you using? I saw two for infant - one is with clear see through bottle (liquid color like honey) and another in non-see-through white bottle.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 4 2018, 10:20 AM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 5 2018, 12:50 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(nevv @ Dec 4 2018, 02:14 PM)
Expectant parent here.

Thanks for the to-buy-list TS. We are also in the midst of preparing for the grand entrance of our baby wub.gif

Regarding item no.2: Baby cot.
What do you guys think about a Korean style bumper bed instead of cot for newborn?

Been getting a lot of feedback from friends/relatives about the baby cot end up collecting dust at the corner of their house. Because newborn baby end up sleeping on the same bed with the parents unsure.gif

* Apologies if I should be creating a new thread to ask about this.
Hi, I am thinking whether to get baby cot or this too!Price starts at RM999 for the basic to RM1600 for bigger and more versatile type (baby expo). A korean tv show shows celebrities using this for their babies. Hubby thought it will be good and later can use it as play area for toddler, or fold and keep away when not in use. But I wonder how a few pieces of normal foam can cost so much.

Also need to consider when taking baby in and out, you will have to squat down.

Most probably I will still get a baby cot from Ikea.

QUOTE(Castreal @ Dec 4 2018, 03:12 PM)
Congratulations!
Third time round father here, sorry for the long post, here are my 5 cents:
Other things to consider buying (which others might have posted as well):
- Bottle/ nipple brush (we use K-mom)
- Bottle wash liquid
- Diaper Wipes
- Diaper Cream
- Diaper bag
- Swaddle (i'd recommend Love to Dream swaddles,can get from Mothercare. Works well especially at night)
- Head to Toe wash
- hooded towels
- Laundry detergent (baby clothes)
- Wash-cloths, Burp Cloths
- Bedding (pillow,bumpers, covers)
- Nursing wear (mamaway seems to be popular)
- Breast pads, nipple cream
- Ice packs to keep breast milk cold.
- Milk bags to store breast milk.
- Baby Mobile toy to keep them entertained.
- Nighlight
Thanks Castreal, for adding to the list. In fact, I need to buy a bigger fridge soon to keep baby food, breast milk and weekly worth of grocery (I don't think I can go grocery as frequent as previous time).

TSlowlowc
post Dec 6 2018, 09:38 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Dec 6 2018, 12:31 PM)
No problem. As for fridge, we own a 600+ litre fridge, and during confinement, it was packed to max! Like what you mentioned, you will most probably have time only for weekly grocery, unless you stay/work (hubby) next to a Grocer/Market, and weekly shopping means filling up the fridge fast.

As for the IKEA Cot, do be aware that the sides of cots cannot be lowered down, the position is fixed.
May I know 600L fridge is used for how many people's grocery? I am planning to change to 450L type (my old one is less than 300L) but now I wonder if it will be enough..

For the cot, yeah, I'm aware of that. I read on Babycenter that drop side baby cot is banned in certain countries due to safety reason? Do you have any baby cot brand to recommend?

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 6 2018, 10:31 PM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 10 2018, 01:28 PM

918 posts

A question here; what do you bring back for baby to sleep on, if balik kampung?
I look at the plastic playpen, but not very interested with it. They looks wobbly?

Will a bionic bed better suited?

Bionic Bed

or this?

Foldable crib

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 10 2018, 01:36 PM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 17 2018, 07:36 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Mrs.A @ Dec 10 2018, 01:58 PM)
Both will require co-sleep with the parents which actually a big “No” for me. How about chicco zip and go travel crib? I use innovi coccoon and switch to baby Bjorn once he’s bigger.
Thanks for the info. I was planning to have it on a separate bed in the room.
TSlowlowc
post Dec 17 2018, 07:37 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Richkierich @ Dec 17 2018, 05:26 PM)
Thanks, we did apply yuyi oil but only on stomach and feet. Will try the back if she gets fussy again. We also tried sleeping on side but when she is frustrated, she doesn't like it. Thanks for the input though. For now, we just try to feed her before she gets extremely hungry, else she will be too frustrated to suck.  Sometimes she falls asleep when sucking and end up didnt suck enough, so wakes up super hungry and cry. We really tried our best.
Might be a good idea for you to start on a new thread because this thread is for to-buy list for parents. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 17 2018, 07:38 PM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 19 2018, 02:35 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Dec 18 2018, 06:19 PM)
Can anyone recommend me a baby waist carrier, my kid likes to be carried front facing and unstrapped.
Ergobaby seems like a popular brand. Maybe you can research on that.
But comments from my friends, the more you carry them, the more they are less prone to stroller and will always prefer to be carried.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 19 2018, 02:37 PM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 20 2018, 01:35 PM

918 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 20 2018, 01:41 PM
TSlowlowc
post Dec 24 2018, 11:18 PM

918 posts

I missed out baby lotion. What is baby lotion/oil to recommend?
TSlowlowc
post Jul 13 2019, 11:31 PM

918 posts

Hi all, my little one is 6 months old now and I think I should update this thread. These are the things I would recommend to have.

1. Electric Breast Pump - If you have the budget, definitely go for double breast pump! At first I thought the difference between single and double is the time only but no. Double pump actually yield more milk.

2. Baby Cot - We had Ikea's Sundvik. It's ok, but now my baby can roll over, it seems a bit small for him to move around. If have the 1k, 2k budget and would like your baby to sleep longer in cot, go for those bigger type.

3. Baby Seat - We went for Graco and love it!

4. Playpen - for bringing along when we travel or go back hometown. We bought My Dear RM270+, so far so good. Can fold into a cylinder size for traveling. Need to buy matress for it, make sure to buy mattress 'for playpen' not cot.

5. Baby bath tub - Using Ikea's cause it already has anti slip bottom.

6. Baby bath tub stand - Definitely get one if 1. the person going to bath the baby has back or knee problem or 2.The mother delivered via c-section. After c-section quite hard to squat down. Just make sure to test if it's sturdy. I bought an iron shelves from Ikea and used it as stand.

7. Baby bath support - very useful for first time parents handling newborn. Depending on baby's size. If baby is premature/underweight, best to get the pillow type. If baby is normal size, use the netting type.

8. Baby blanket - we bought the baby sleeping bag. Turned out too warm for baby. Just buy a flannel type for colder temp and the muslin type for non-airconditioned room.

9. Baby mattress - addon with mattress waterproof liner.

10. Diaper changing mat - Ikea. The one made from all plastic, easy to clean.

11. Diaper changing table - we didn't buy but use my workdesk as changing table, with the changing mat on top of it. Diapers put into drawer. Very handy.

12. Baby stroller - Got Combi Cozy for rm720 during promo. Now i wish we had buy Combi Handy cause it's higher. Combi is light and easily folded in 2 steps. But it takes up a lot of car boot space. Also not suitable for putting shopping stuff on it because it's very light.

13. Newborn diapers - pls ask around if your friends have any leftover, so you can use and see if your baby is suitable. Don't buy too much. My favorite if Mamypoko Airfit and Merries. But both are expensive. Genki is ok and cheaper, but cutting is small. My baby is wearing Mamypoko S, but need to wear M for Genki.

14. Feeding bottle - which one is good Tommy Tipee, Avent or any brand? Glass or non-glass? Or I should wait after baby's birth since I will be latching while on maternity leave. - We had bought Avent, MAM, Dr Brown, Kuku and found Simba is the only one my baby can take. My baby was premature and cannot stand quick flow teats. Simba is the only one we found to have the smallest size teats - Double S, and it's PPSU material.

15. Sterilizer. Some friends say it's a must, some say just use hot water. Which one to believe? What brand to recommend? My budget is RM200+-. - Definitely buy the one with dryer function. Because steam sterilizer will produce a lot of water droplet, they dry up very slowly.

16. Milk warmer. - If you're feeding breastmilk in bottle, definitely buy one. Dipping them in hot water is slow and sometimes require changing water, waste of time.

17. Baby clothing - just buy a few long sleeves and long pant plus a few short rompers. Get a few newborn, then 6-12mth size

18. Thermometer - get the traditional Omron armpit thermometer. We bought an expensive no-contact infrared thermometer, but it's too sensitive, keep showing our baby having 'fever'.

19. Pacifier - buy one especially if baby likes to use mummy as 'human pacifier'.

20. Yuyi oil - We bought TYT because it's not 'spicy' on skin. Some other mummy recommended Tropika Minyak Telon

21. Baby carrier - I bought a Moby wrap but only manage to use it for short time after my baby learns how to turn his head around. Wouldn't stay still. Buy a non-wrap type carrier if you plan to bring baby anywhere especially travel and shopping. Hispter is not reommended becauce they're not ergonomic.

22. Baby monitor - since baby still sleeps in our room (in his cot) haven't buy one.

23. Plenty of wet wipe. But buy small packs to test and see which one is suitable for baby. Pureen failed, Anakku ok. Favorite is Wetty.

24. Baby bottle brush - buy the one that can be rotated.

25. Baby bottle liquid washer

26. Baby detergent - we used NUK

27. Again for breastfeeding mummies - breastpad, milk storage bottle (if pumping), nursing bra and handfree pumping bra.

28. Baby toiletries - just buy one organic head to toe. We used Buds

29. Nappy cream - have 2 types. One milder version to prevent like Aleva and Buds. Another stronger version (contains zinc oxide) to cure like Sudocream.

30. Baby nail clipper

31. If have budget get a ROckaroo or Mamaroo. Very helpful if your baby like to be in motion.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jul 13 2019, 11:34 PM

0.0236sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:30 PM