The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V1, Welcome to the big screens.

yclam5729
post Sep 14 2018, 10:23 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 14 2018, 08:41 AM)
Bro this year on time to see u again, later 3pm will hook on website to grab my Xs Max gold 256gb 😬😬
The website is down now, luckily my credit card and favourite model selected, let's see if we can get one in Apple store at 3pm.
yclam5729
post Sep 14 2018, 10:31 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 14 2018, 10:13 AM)
up processor
up ram (according to some site)
up face id speed, not sure how fast is it now.
up battery life, 30 mins / 90 mins  whistling.gif
up style, gold color
Main reason to me is screen size esp width, can't tahan X width so small that I can't see much on Waze.
yclam5729
post Sep 14 2018, 02:56 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(streamline @ Sep 14 2018, 02:49 PM)
just realize this too.

https://9to5mac.com/2018/09/12/iphone-xs-tidbits-airpower/

was expecting at least fast charging plug.
I bought PD USB-C fast wall charger and original Apple USB-C to lightning cable(RM83 for the cable), very fast charging, can get as fast as 3% in 2 minutes for <50% on my X.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 10:42 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 16 2018, 11:02 AM)
Screen protector will find from the AliExpress.
The case looking at Spigen.
Mine taobao on the way from China liao, hopefully can get before Friday, I ordered same like yours as well. Friend help me collect.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 10:44 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Sep 16 2018, 12:31 PM)
I am thinking whether to upgrade from X to XS Max... or better upgrade my SE to XR
Upgrade SE to XS Max, XR screen ppi like your SE ler, you will not like it.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 10:49 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Sep 16 2018, 08:02 PM)
Well that's what I do each year  tongue.gif , been changing iPhones every year since the 3GS....

I'll only probably stop buying when they cost like....I don't know never really thought about it...maybe 15k? lol! Fingers crossed we never reach that point, at least while I'm still alive.

If anyone needs my support in any "boycott buying iPhones" movement, you will definitely not be able to count on me bahaha

Luckily I haven't been sucked that deep into the Apple ecosystem.....yet, although I've been dragged slightly deeper as I will be getting my first Apple watch in the series 4 also this year.

TBH though the only reason I'm still with the iPhones is I detest Android. So really, there isn't any other choice for me.
I am pretty similar to you but I got started iPhone 2G in 2007, resale value of used iPhone is so good allowing me to change every year. But iPhone X is going to be the most 'losses' I have on iPhone, will find out this weekend.

I am also interested in AW4, but hopefully telco in mys support esim soon else defeat the purpose of dual sim.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 10:55 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(ahwang12321 @ Sep 17 2018, 07:56 AM)
Hi guys
Can recommend me which iPhone to buy

No matter hw many times I change to Android, I still prefer iPhone..I think because of app quality..also tired with android bugs..phone will slow/lag after a year plus..using pixel 2 now.. still fast but so many problem with the phone..screen blue tint prob is still ok for me..but then come another bug..latest is no notification sound which is really annoying..only advantage of android is their camera and fast charging

Last highest model iPhone I used ip7 plus.. reason selling.. too huge.I think those bezel really big make it uncomfortable but then when I change to iphone se I feel like toy phone so small, change to 6s ..feels ok but the battery really sucks after iOS 11 .other reason is the Touch ID didn’t work that well for me but I think my finger hard to register..even pixel 2 also sometime not work.. only Samsung phone works well with my finger for some weird reason
Ever since I use FaceID I start hate touchID on my iPad Pro, felt so slow when the touch ID take sometime to detect my finger and it has to be clean and not wet. Base on your claim sound like X or XS suit your size.

But I am excited on XS Max as X width is smaller than plus size making bad for watching video or navigation. 6.5" is massive for screen viewing but the down side is weight, not one hand friendly and of course price.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 11:19 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 18 2018, 08:11 AM)
I will wait until it stable otherwise got issue later lulz

Lesson learnt
Being using for a week+ from beta 10 till iOS12 last week, much better than iOS 11.4 by far. Surprising local apps like banking and AOTG also ok, if your phone is pretty new go ahead. I have done 4 iOS device including an old iPad mini 2, felt better than iOS 11.
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 11:28 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2018, 08:07 AM)
Bro.. U will be going back to stoneage with the 720p screen and single camera with the XR. laugh.gif

U sure u wanna do that?  rolleyes.gif  and pay good money for it too. With the larger screen of the XR, the low res of the screen would really b noticeable.
The resolution is like 6, 6s, 7 or 8 326ppi. If one can accept that resolution, bigger screen with that price will be value for money, not to mention FaceID is huge different user experience. Please don't go and look at ppl's OLED iPhone screen then XR user will be ok.

XR going to be a hit as the price is merely US$50 more than 8 plus, it is a huge upgrade from 8 and not upgrade from 8 plus since the single camera, 326ppi mimic 4.7" iPhone rather than 5.5" 401ppi resolution and dual camera since 7+
yclam5729
post Sep 18 2018, 02:47 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(klmc @ Sep 18 2018, 02:38 PM)
hope the new Xs will be sub 5K while the Max closer to the X price last year.

Am I hoping for too much I wonder ...
Without GST & SST at least you can save 6% but when I took a look at Apple Store MYS yesterday, iPad 20118 already kena 6% SST, so most likely XS same price X last year. I compare XS price in SG, same price as last year X. So your hope is online pricing so long you can wait, Lazada etc should have discount as demand is poor.
yclam5729
post Sep 19 2018, 02:50 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 19 2018, 07:10 AM)
Love the Chinese reviews
He said exactly what I want, just except for dual sim slot in China.
Exactly, after watching felt like cancel my order and wait for HK unit sold online.
yclam5729
post Sep 19 2018, 04:29 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 19 2018, 02:54 PM)
Keke no issue for me.. My starhub line can convert to esim and extra slot for celcom line πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡
I thought iPhone esim different from Apple Watch, Singapore not in the list of 10 countries, you sure it supports now?
yclam5729
post Sep 20 2018, 10:20 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(1likegadg3t @ Sep 20 2018, 09:49 AM)
XR is a joke only good thing is the specs (same with the big bro). You cant even watch 1080p youtube video in that screen..its the same resolution of iphone 4. Better buy the XS or if you can afford the XS max..its a good a choice.
iPhone 4 resolution is 960x640 while iPhone XR is 1792Γ—828. They share the same PPI but not resolution. For someone who owns iPhone X like me, of course it is quite impossible to go back to LCD screen with 326 ppi quality. But I don't think XR screen will look bad. I compare iPhone X and iPhone 8 screen few days back, it is not hell of the different just OLED looks warmer.

XR is actually quite a good pricing for one that want to goto FaceID design with full screen designer, much more affordable, to me it is good for those with budget constraint. It has upside and downside compare to 8+ last year as Apple upgrade XR from 8 instead 8+ which make XS/XS Max buyer looks great. I am sure it is the best value for money and losses the least when one want to upgrade a year or so later.

Sure you can watch 1080p with screen resolution less than 1080p, I watch 4k video on my ipad pro when my ipad pro is not near to 4k as well.

No offend bro, just sharing my different point of view.

I can't wait to get myself XS Max tomorrow but it is a burn to my pocket as I am sure I can't sell iPhone X as close I sold my 7+, 6S+ etc.. like previous years. Losses expected close to 2k each phone.

This post has been edited by yclam5729: Sep 20 2018, 10:21 AM
yclam5729
post Sep 20 2018, 10:57 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 20 2018, 10:43 AM)
You have a point there. Might as well get the XS if you could afford it or get an Iphone 8 for that money.
There is no international warranty for iphones. Go through Apple's terms and conditions of the warranty again.
For your convinience.

Apple's One Year Limited Warranty Policy
If you are using the Iphone 7, the XS will do just fine. But not if you are using the 7+. I went from the 7+ to the X and I fret the small screen.
I have claimed warranty twice on iPhone X bought in Sg Apple Store. I have also confirmed last year iPhone has international warranty when I asked last year except Taiwan and other very few countries due to the countries regulation. But again, always call/chat with Apple and keep the record before you buy overseas when Apple claim there is international warranty. The warranty rules may change year after year.

For China/HK iPhone which has different sim slot and probably radio, i think repair still can happen except the warranty is due to the 2 which may take longer unless Apple claim no warranty for the iPhones bought from those 2 countries in the 1st place.
yclam5729
post Sep 20 2018, 01:28 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 20 2018, 01:18 PM)
Actually 4gb of ram, in the first time for an over 10 years.
Tomorrow is a great day πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Yup am excited about it as well, miss the 4GB ram last year on X, this year finally got it. A12 is my most excited 7nm processor, the very 1st in the world!
yclam5729
post Sep 20 2018, 04:19 PM

575 posts

Mine XS Max status just changed to Ready for pickup, but yet receive the barcode from Apple email, anyone received it?
yclam5729
post Sep 20 2018, 05:38 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 20 2018, 05:17 PM)
My barcode just came in my email.
Hang in there bro.
Will be in ur mail soon
I got the email with barcode as well, looks like the units are ready for pickup.
yclam5729
post Sep 21 2018, 09:01 AM

575 posts

My new toy, too bad I am not in Sg this year, friend help collect.

yclam5729
post Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 21 2018, 09:08 AM)
Congratulation , how come he help u unboxing?
Because I asked to, to check for scratches and able to power up.
yclam5729
post Sep 25 2018, 04:35 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(Criollo @ Sep 25 2018, 03:38 PM)
Sold my iPhone X for 3500 -.- I guess paying RM2k is still acceptable for meΒ  sweat.gif
Where did u sell it? I want to sell my X with 256GB.

This post has been edited by yclam5729: Sep 25 2018, 04:36 PM

0.1085sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:47 PM