5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V1, Welcome to the big screens.

celciuz
post Oct 1 2018, 09:28 PM

14,033 posts

[attachmentid=10051166]

It has arrived but no case yet πŸ˜‘ sigh. Should I turn on or wait until case arrive haha...
celciuz
post Oct 1 2018, 09:31 PM

14,033 posts

Airbag for phone?

celciuz
post Oct 1 2018, 11:26 PM

14,033 posts

Potong steam... was admiring the steel portion until I spotted this tiny dink dry.gif. Ok there's no way I'm gonna use it without a case dry.gif.

celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 06:14 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Oct 1 2018, 11:50 PM)
for sure you need a case bro
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 2 2018, 12:13 AM)
Oops heart pain, please use with the case.
Sian cause I just opened it up and haven’t even used yet πŸ˜… was pretty careful with it then noticed this πŸ˜‘
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 06:56 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 2 2018, 06:50 AM)
To me RM50 is ok. But yeah, one of the drawbacks of being an early adopter is that accessories are harder to come by and expensive in the beginning, but once the floodgate opens, then it multiplies in numbers and gets cheaper...
Gosh, that's bad. The ding came out of the box?
Yeah, unfortunately. But doesn't make sense for me to return the unit... charging seems ok, Wi-Fi seems ok to. But need to until my case comes then I will start using it tongue.gif.

I think if I put case on i will never notice it la...

Googling around... seems the silver version can be polished off, while the black and gold can't since its PVD on the color. Another reason to consider the silver.
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 07:04 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 2 2018, 07:00 AM)
If it's a scratch and not a chip off, then yes, you could polish it. But if it is a chip off then not much you can do.

Ya, I suppose you can live with it, just a little painful though smile.gif
Yeah, just need to close one eye tongue.gif. Side note for future owners, while I was googling... you need to be careful when handling the SIM tray and not accidentally scratching the body instead >_<. Saw some people scratched the body cause misalign the hold. Lagi sakit..

I was looking at my phone again, if the lights doesn't hit the area or I don't look it close enough say < 2 feet, then very hard to notice it. (The band is also a freaking finger print magnet). Now... my case better arrive today >_<. Then need to DIY the original "screen protector" until my RhinoShield TG arrives.
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 08:06 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 2 2018, 07:29 AM)
Heh heh, yeah, nothing much you can do about it unless you wanna return it to T&L. But once your case goes on, can't see it di.
I will be ordering the RhinoShield Mod NX eventually πŸ˜‚ the band area is colored so it will be covered.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 2 2018, 08:03 AM)
Agreed. You can easily missalign when inserting the sim eject needle. Have to be very careful when removing sim card tray. The rear back glass and the side are finger print magnets as per all iPhones but is it me that the IPhone X, XS Max is one of the worse?
Coming from aluminum body iPhone, this steel and glass finish is one heck of finger print magnet. It looks posh but... finger print magnet πŸ˜…
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 09:43 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(kuntaker @ Oct 2 2018, 09:04 AM)
This one can claim warranty?
Not sure to be frank, this is definitely a "defect" but its minor. Not sure Apple would allow this to be claimed? But this is HK set, so pretty much if I claim I need to send it back to T&L then back to HK to get another unit... all in maybe 1 months+ gone. I'm gonna enjoy the device instead biggrin.gif. But today still using my old 6 Plus since waiting for the case to arrive.

Unless this unit has charge issue or radio signal issue then different story. Last time my friend bought Maxis set, got dust under screen also unable to replace the unit on the spot.
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 09:48 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 2 2018, 09:43 AM)
Mine cosmetic they won’t replace for you.
Only walk in to Apple store then got exchanged set
Wow Apple Store will layan for these minor cosmetic defect? But then again now with the #chargegate and radio reception unit... I think this minor cosmetic is acceptable provided don't face those 2 issues *consoling myself haha!* Side note, is exchanged set = new retail set or refurbished (brown box)?

Haven't dealt direct with Apple Store before... why Msia no Apple Store sad.gif I think our neighbor BKK has one right?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 2 2018, 09:49 AM
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 10:49 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Yen8on3 @ Oct 2 2018, 10:01 AM)
This is a manufacturing defect out of the box. Why don't you try giving both Apple and T&L a call?
Best time to test their after sales customer services
We can also put to rest Hong Kong dual SIM set has any warranty in Malaysia
Definitely no warranty at Malaysia at the moment as the XS Max has not been launched here yet. Besides I think T&L could claim for me, but it will take time since I need to ship back to T&L, back to HK, HK to Msia, then to my place. So rather enjoy using the phone instead hehe.

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 2 2018, 10:04 AM)
should have taken an unboxing video to safeguard and ease the claim

sometime extra effort can lessen hassle to all
bangwall.gif I wanted to do an unboxing video, but was thinking how to hold the camera and too lazy to dig out my tripod. So forget it terus open haha.

I guess those unboxing when their unit arrive might want to consider taking a video.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 2 2018, 10:50 AM
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 11:00 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 2 2018, 10:57 AM)
i surprised to read this coz thought will got sifu here remind u.

arghh, i should have remind u all on all this and extra rebate $$
Hur hur, should have mentioned about the Shopback for the additional 2% bruce.gif and yes the unboxing video is important if want to dispute for out of the box cosmetic defects.
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 01:35 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 2 2018, 11:51 AM)
If you really want to claim, better raise the issue with T&L now, stating you just received the phone and unboxed and found the flaw rather than waiting a few more days.
Don't plan to claim, but since you mentioned this I dropped a message to T&L through Qoo10. Lets see how they respond to me laugh.gif .
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 01:49 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 2 2018, 01:44 PM)
Not too sure, seem like QC 3.0 more faster than PD.
Will test again on QC.

After reach on 99% this is take extremely slow to reached 100%. Maybe is iOS power protection
iPhone doesn't support QC 3.0 right, so it should be using the standard 2.4A charging?
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 01:58 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 2 2018, 01:56 PM)
they will change for you 1:1 now bro, considering it is still very early...Β  thumbup.gif
yes even on older models, normally 95 to 100 takes much longer..... i.e 90 to 95 takes 8 mins.... 95 to 100 might take 20+ mins..
Not sure about this, if 1:1 then I will consider... anybody with the receipt (am at work now, receipt's at home)? Is there a contact number for the Malaysia branch which I can call to? I tried their Facebook but I think its the HK branch haha...

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 2 2018, 01:58 PM
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 03:56 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 2 2018, 03:43 PM)
lol, scared the power button will very fast gg. reminded me the era of iphone 4 which home button easily spoilt
When you raise the phone, it will wake up already... then recognize your face and unlocked based on my limited hands on ytd tongue.gif
celciuz
post Oct 2 2018, 04:57 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 2 2018, 04:05 PM)
I personally prefer Tap to Wake vs Raise to Wake smile.gif
Haven't got time to play around yet... just unboxed ytd and found the potong steam dink haha! Today then will explore further.

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 2 2018, 04:06 PM)
actually this type of face scan via video camera quite violet our privacy. we never know how the phone react to server and the surrounding was capture 24/7 via the so call facial scan

i got one time throw a warning statement to my koliq using iphone 6 or 7 which home button with finger scanner. i told him u had conveniently set ur big thumb print biometric into apple server. congrats! But,  most android phone only use index finger

privacy and security always a concern.  smile.gif
I think this has been debated for the finger print since the 5s introduction. The data is encrypted in the processor itself, nobody can access it at all. Lets say your touch id button spoil, then you can say good bye to finger print function as the processor is paired to one finger print sensor for the security.

I expect the face detect so have similar level of safety la smile.gif.
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 07:04 AM

14,033 posts

Good morning! My simple and cheap phone case, Ringke Fusion. Nice when it’s new but starting collecting scratches already πŸ˜… oh well, gotta show the gold off πŸ˜‚

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 3 2018, 07:07 AM
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 07:10 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 3 2018, 07:07 AM)
Yeah, that's the bane with transparent cases, nice to show off the back but will also show all the scratches and micro scratches laugh.gif
That is why I looked for a cheaper alternative tongue.gif but this is surprisingly good quality stuff. Always a big fan of Spigen but decided to try out Ringke instead. Will eventually change to SolidSuit wood back plate cause I like the wood feel haha, but... that will cover up the entire phone already.

Not used to the physical buttons for locking (coming from 6 Plus... to protect the home button haha)... I enabled the Assistive Touch but set to 15% opacity when idle... then set to long touch for lock screen, double tap for mute and 3D touch for screen shot tongue.gif. Tada no need to use physical button haha.

Another question, for the photo and video compression do you guys use the high efficiency? Does it mean when I import to computer it will be automatically converted? or that format can be read easily now by Windows 10?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Oct 3 2018, 07:12 AM
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 11:27 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Oct 3 2018, 08:01 AM)
Old type rhinoshield scratches the stainless steel edge due to the casing design with sharp edges connect to the phone. If you compare apple casing got microfiber inside or other casing is soft rubber instead hard shell especially rhinoshield mod with two piece design which scratches even further, I think solid shield don’t have this problem but later the plastic will rupture because it’s two piece design also. I have been using rhinoshield different type since iPhone 6 era and end with iPhone X era
I not sure about whether they revised the design and tackle this issue or not but since then I give up hope on the brand casing already
I have only used RhinoShield SolidSuit so far, backed their project on KS previously. My SolidSuit didn't scratch my 6 Plus' aluminum fortunately. But this time around am considering the Mod NX, mainly cause I want to use the lens attachment tongue.gif.

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 3 2018, 08:03 AM)
Ringke is pretty cheap and good, I used it for my Note 5 previously. It does turn yellow after a few months though so that's one thing to look out for. And no, I don't use HEIF but if not mistaken when you import to your pc running Windows 10, the file will automatically be converted to JPEG.
Yeah, can't wait!! smile.gif
So this new format is the future, maybe I'll stick with that. I see I could download extensions to enable Windows 10 support for them.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 3 2018, 08:56 AM)
Bro.. Where to buy the Ringke? Any local sellers here?
Seems all good with mine. No wifi and charging issues.
I bought from Shopee seller but it went out of stock the moment after I placed order.
https://shopee.com.my/product/22454543/1510067653/

___

Coming from 6 Plus with 1 GB RAM only, this system feels so much nicer... my game in background don't get refreshed so often haha. Previously whenever I go to Safari or camera, it will be refreshed dry.gif.
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 04:32 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Oct 3 2018, 04:26 PM)
so anyone encounter low reception issue?
I set-up my phone as new + I did the network reset... Didn't notice any significant drop compared to my previous iPhone.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1186sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:21 AM