What the benifit of using Xbox Live?
TScolorwolf
May 31 2007, 09:01 AM, updated 19y ago
I heard the news about MS ban mod Xbox for accessing Xbox Live. I can't make up my mind whereter getting a unmod or mod Xbox 360 due to my budget.
What the benifit for silver members for accessing Xbox Live beside downloading movie traiers, game demo, gametag pictures & Dashboard theme.
Hope some Xbox 360 owner can state other benifit so that easier for me to make decision.
lowyatguy
May 31 2007, 09:02 AM
Benefit im not sure...but disadvantage of not having LIVE i know la.... "No LIVE = No LIFE"
Pepperboy
May 31 2007, 09:04 AM

just to inform u... even with live u have to stick with malaysia or singaporean gamers if u want lag-free game.. u basically can't just online and randomly play with ppl.. u have to stick with the usual gaming hours..
Kite
May 31 2007, 09:07 AM
Dark Tipper
yup, if you play with dudes from overseas (US , Europe ) , u better play offline yes, LiVE experience is good , only if you come to a lag free game and willing to subscribe to live
hairyLGS
May 31 2007, 09:09 AM

Actually... playing games with your XBox purchased games that isn't from the marketplace chances of lag going LIVE is there. You should be okay playing with players from here, Singapore, Australia, Japan, China areas...
But if you purchased games from Marketplace XBox Live Arcade games, playing across the ocean isn't a problem at all... the lag isn't that bad. Tried a few games like UNO, Texas Hold' Em is lag free. Not sure about others though...
pmsoo
May 31 2007, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ May 31 2007, 09:09 AM) Actually... playing games with your XBox purchased games that isn't from the marketplace chances of lag going LIVE is there. You should be okay playing with players from here, Singapore, Australia, Japan, China areas... But if you purchased games from Marketplace XBox Live Arcade games, playing across the ocean isn't a problem at all... the lag isn't that bad. Tried a few games like UNO, Texas Hold' Em is lag free. Not sure about others though... weird, i play GoW and COD3 with random players oversea all the time nvr seem to lag to me im pretty sure they dont lag too my point is, its not that bad la got good times and bad times
zio
May 31 2007, 10:06 AM
A couple of good points about Live:
1. Game demos Try it before you buy it, what more do you want?
2. Online play You might be playing only with Asians but you are still playing with other people. Gone are the days when console is all about playing alone. Now you can play with your friends without worrying about whose house to go to, split screens etc
For example, Gears of War would not be such an awesome game without the online play.
michael9413
May 31 2007, 10:21 AM
eh... i also played with overseas ppl... not not really lagging la... sometimes la.. depends on connection sometimes...
CerebralRogue
May 31 2007, 10:22 AM

The 360 without Live is kinda crippled. Silver alone brings you the friends lists, downloadable demos, XBLA games, trailers and more. With Gold then of course you get the online multiplayer stuff. The lag you face depends on a few conditions like individual game network code, TMNuts connection, host bandwidth etc. But playing with local and SG players are usually a smooth experience.
SUSleenaz
May 31 2007, 11:49 AM
and u can order pizzas from itally if u want
samurai20
May 31 2007, 11:55 AM
& u can seee many ghey online..
SUSmayatsan
May 31 2007, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(leenaz @ May 31 2007, 11:49 AM) and u can order pizzas from itally if u want  wtf???? kepala otak ko bleh order pizza dari italy......gile sakaiii...waakk ela
chapree
May 31 2007, 12:21 PM
I used to stuff for LYN Editorial and troll at LYN Forums
If you want to play with people, you have to consider the Gold membership.
cannavaro
May 31 2007, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(CerebralRogue @ May 31 2007, 10:22 AM) But playing with local and SG players are usually a smooth experience. Let me add to that. Other lag-free (sometimes minimal lag) hosts: Players from Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, Australia, Philippines.
hairyLGS
May 31 2007, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(pmsoo @ May 31 2007, 09:34 AM) weird, i play GoW and COD3 with random players oversea all the time nvr seem to lag to me im pretty sure they dont lag too my point is, its not that bad la got good times and bad times  Sometimes I play COD3 with people from U.S. not always lag... but sometimes it does. So can't say it works for everyone... maybe your line very keng... chuckle... my worst case scenario would be R6V... that one can't really play... DOA4 also... problem is, when the host from overseas see you red line, kick you out... T_T
used2bcow
May 31 2007, 01:30 PM

Games for windows Live....2 in 1...akakaka.
madmoz
May 31 2007, 01:33 PM
reality is but an illusion caused by the lack of LIVE.
heheh modified that from one of my all time uni phrases (i.e. substitute LIVE with good weed heheh)
acougan
May 31 2007, 01:34 PM
TS, look at it this way, buy unmodded, after a while, dont really like it, can sell off with an OK price buy modded (and possibly get banned), after a while, dont really like it, sell off but the price sure not so laku
Kite
May 31 2007, 02:07 PM
Dark Tipper
acougan.. nope .. selling my ori also not doing well  hehe but it is a good experience can play with friend .. provided the game got good multiplayer...
Hamster X
May 31 2007, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(Kite @ May 31 2007, 09:07 AM) yup, if you play with dudes from overseas (US , Europe ) , u better play offline yes, LiVE experience is good , only if you come to a lag free game and willing to subscribe to live  QUOTE(Pepperboy @ May 31 2007, 09:04 AM) just to inform u... even with live u have to stick with malaysia or singaporean gamers if u want lag-free game.. u basically can't just online and randomly play with ppl.. u have to stick with the usual gaming hours.. These thing aren't certainly going to happen. Frequent lag yes, but it also depends on the games. Playing GRAW you can lag out playing with someone living in the same city as you do and yet in Halo 2/Halo 3 Beta sometimes playing with Americans you can get a Yellow Bar, meaning a slight lag but not until you can't play. The community here's big enough for Xbox Live to be worth the price anyway. The trash-talkers here and Singapore are somehow a lot less than those Americans who claims he's lagging as the host.
Eisenmeteor
May 31 2007, 04:14 PM
Well..I buy this console coz of Live,not the games though..
Still GOW is god..!! Although i sucked at it...
It's not going to be an xbox if it doesnt have Live..
horray
May 31 2007, 04:54 PM
The whole concept of Xbox360 is clearly rest on its LIVE feature which in my opinoin is far superior than other consoles. I never thought playing online can be so much fun. I especially enjoy GOW Co-op online which is absolutely awesome. Without LIVE, gaming life is definitely boring! Get unmodded box and I know you will not regret it.
Rocky
May 31 2007, 06:49 PM
Without Xbox Live we don't have this community where local players can play together, trash talk & laugh till their pants dropped.  You get to mixed along with new friends through Live. It's useless to get a modded console where you play alone by yourself (where got syok!). That's why 6 million players around the world subscribed to Xbox Live and still growing. Peace!!!