Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

jocsp
post Oct 12 2008, 12:31 AM

28 posts

hello all,

i'm planning on getting braces but i have phobia visiting the dentist...

i would like to know if there are any good dentists around Petaling Jaya which are fairly priced for doing braces.. please let me know.. thank you! smile.gif
jocsp
post Oct 12 2008, 03:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(fiza_love @ Oct 12 2008, 04:16 AM)
i'm doin my braces at seksyen 14 pj...near jaya one n digital mall...
did my braces(damon,not damon 3 though whistling.gif ) at rm2700 sweat.gif  and every appointment rm70
metal braces with getah one will cost rm1700,every appointment rm70 too..
but basically both will end up cost the same because damon needs less appointment(once every 6-8 weeks)..
the metal one needs monthly checkup so every month pun kena bayar rm70
hello,

is the dentist friendly? my teeth is actually ok.. it's just that i have a tooth which grew on my upper gums and according to the dentist, she said that i have to wear braces to pull the tooth down. she quoted me RM2700 for the upper jaw only. i'm not sure what type of braces used but she said it's the most basic one.. i'm not sure if this is the market price, that's why i would like to find out more about this.. by the way, the dentist is located inside one utama shopping mall..

any other recommendations people? smile.gif

This post has been edited by jocsp: Oct 12 2008, 03:44 PM
jocsp
post Oct 12 2008, 07:04 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(fiza_love @ Oct 12 2008, 04:39 PM)
there are two dentists at my clinic, dr loo and dr foo.
my dentist is dr loo and he's a gentle dentist(well, for me he is smile.gif )
he always tries his best to answer every question that i asked him...
i think 2700 for upper is quite expensive but is it the full payment?do you still need to pay every appointment?
and if it the most basic one i think it is the getah one(i dunno what its name actually..hehe biggrin.gif )
yeah, i think u shud wait for other people's recommendation too..
good luck~! rclxm9.gif
yea, it is the full payment.. but i didn't wanna do it there first because i wanna scout around and see if i could find a better deal..hehe..
thanks for all the information! biggrin.gif
jocsp
post Jun 21 2009, 11:59 AM

28 posts

hey ppl,

just got my braces installed two days ago and i'm getting ulcers already! sad.gif

is it normal to get ulcers and the braces is actually hurting my lips.. what can i do about this?

pls advise..

thanks smile.gif
jocsp
post Jun 21 2009, 03:12 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jun 21 2009, 02:22 PM)
What type of braces are u using?
If u hv dental wax, just roll a small portion of the dental wax and stick it on that particular bracket tat scraped your lips/skin, to pretend further irritation. To treat your ulcer, use bonjela or ointment that your doctor gave you to treat your ulcers.

Just in case if your doctor didnt give u any dental wax or ointment, Mayb you can call up your clinic to ask for help?
hi nikki,

yup i have the dental wax but then im afraid i will accidentally swallow it when i'm eating or drinking something..

am using the self-ligating one which i think it's also known as the damon one rite..

also, i'm feeling the pain already which i guess my teeth is starting to move rite? i can hardly eat anything sad.gif

by the way, the whole process costs me about RM5600 inclusive of tooth extraction and xray..not sure if the retainer is included or not..

is the price reasonable? didn't really do much research on the price though..
jocsp
post Jun 21 2009, 03:55 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jun 21 2009, 03:38 PM)
I think for damon is consider cheap cos I did mine for 5.8k excluding retainer, xray and extraction...
maybe it varies depending on the location and the clinic itself.. but i think the price for damon also should be around there right from what i see from the reviews from some of the people who had braces before..

kentcp, thanks for the info smile.gif

This post has been edited by jocsp: Jun 21 2009, 03:57 PM

0.0528sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:05 AM