Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

Mollai
post May 12 2011, 10:58 AM

481 posts

Hi everyone! I didn't know there's such topics about braces.

I have ugly teeth and my family couldn't afford for sending me to the orthodontist to get my teeth fixed due to some financial issues.

Now I'm after college, thinking maybe I can save up some money to get my teeth done. Anyone can recommend any cheap and good dentist/ortho, or maybe some really nice and kind dentist/ortho who will provide flexible payment terms?

Thanks smile.gif
Mollai
post May 13 2011, 10:24 AM

481 posts

So sad. Everyone ignored my questions :'(
Mollai
post May 13 2011, 01:40 PM

481 posts

I'm from KL.

Anyone did your braces at the building opposite KLCC? That building with telekom banner (not sure whether the banner still there anot).
Mollai
post May 16 2011, 11:23 AM

481 posts

I just remembered the name of the building. It's called Angkasa Raya. But I googled the orthodontist there, I think that's the one. Maybe they shifted to Megan Avenue. Anyone did their braces there?
Mollai
post Aug 3 2011, 05:18 PM

481 posts

Hi guys..I thinking whether to do braces. Can anyone share me your story?
Mollai
post Aug 4 2011, 09:10 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 4 2011, 08:42 AM)
Actually put on braces not as pain / suffer as u thought ! My advise is go ahead ..I waste more than 1 year only decide to put on braces. Now I never regret put on braces.. Only regret why I take so lOng to make the decision .

Added on August 4, 2011, 8:46 amMengher

thank youuuu so much for the support. But i'll need to save up for some more.

Are you from KL? Where you did yours? how is your payment like?

Now I need to survey which ortho to go to. I stay in KL.
If everything goes smoothly in my plan, shall get it on next yr Feb. Or shall I make it end of this year. Well, it all depends on how much i'm able to save for my upfront payment.

This post has been edited by Mollai: Aug 4 2011, 09:19 AM
Mollai
post Aug 5 2011, 12:01 PM

481 posts

[quote=mengher,Aug 4 2011, 12:11 PM]
Mollai, Just go ahead... my case same as Sherelyn.. wasted a year time... when see my sis teeth get more straight i more jealous. Thats ntg to scare just to be worry is financial matters. I guess u can ask ard here how's de payment mode. mostly clinic acccept installment mode. U need to save up for down payment as well as additional charges for extraction, polishing, x-ray, mould & tooth brush equipment...

[/quote]

Financial matter is the only thing that is holding me back. I need to save up at least 3k first I think. I would like to go survey which doctor offers the cheapest plan. Is the consultation fee expensive??

[quote=Sherelyn,Aug 4 2011, 12:59 PM]
Sherelyn,

thumbup.gif ya.. i did see many changes lo.. u will see it soon... just wait .. lol...

U will go & check it..really care abt ur braces... then can u eat normal bk ? or take soft food only?

[/quote]
I can eat as usual la ... the 3rd day ald eat rice Lu .. smile.gif ..just everytime finished my food will feel like a lot of food stuck ar the braket ! Thinking if go overseas will so troublesome ..

Added on August 4, 2011, 1:12 pmMollai

I work at Kl .. I done mine at lim dental , pudu with dr. Yenny Huang . U need to pay at least 50% of the braces cost .. Then the balance can pay by installment one ..

Consultation + mould : rm80
X-ray : rm99 ( tung shin) the clinic can xray as well but expensive .. So normally they refer patient to tung shin.
DamOn mx :rm 6000 (deposit:rm3k + installment rm300* 10 times )
Conventional braces is rm4600
Damon Q :rm 7k (dep : rm4k + installment rm300* 10 times
extraction : rm80 per tooth
Those price not include retainer

[/quote]

OMG..so expensiveee... Which one you're doing? I'm thinking Ong from Kepong. Seems to be cheaper.

[quote=dreams218,Aug 4 2011, 06:42 PM]
ya~not as pain as imagined=.=
i've use more than 1 year to think ... let ppl call me sau ngar mui =.=
regret y take so long tooo... should make the decision long time ago
but just scared ppl say yerrrrr ~ the teeth like dirty only
actually no one laugh at all XD
i also so nervous to know my teeth changes...=.=
i thought is that my teeth stop moving ad= = because i feel nothing different with b4 i wear braces = =

[/quote]

I don't mind being called names. Just monetary issues holding me back sad.gif

I think there's something wrong with my quotations sad.gif

This post has been edited by Mollai: Aug 5 2011, 01:12 PM
Mollai
post Aug 8 2011, 02:08 PM

481 posts

Recently i realized my gums are easily bleeding. sad.gif wonder whether this will affect my plan for braces in future sad.gif
Mollai
post Aug 9 2011, 04:59 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
Mollai

This problem won't affect one ... I also have same problem at certain place . Doc said it is normal .. Due to my teeth condition that place is difficult to clean .. But after ur teeth straight enuf , ur gums will b healthier . smile.gif

Added on August 8, 2011, 2:35 pmStuffi

I not sure can or not ..I think it's depends on ur teeth condition ..  As most of the time doc. Need to use ur molar teeth/ wisdom teeth to push infront teeth inward .You need to consult with orthodontist / dentist
QUOTE(deadangel @ Aug 9 2011, 02:40 PM)
it is better to have a consultation with dr.bcoz one of my fren have this problems so he unable to brace...but different ppl different case..no worries:0
Aww.. my problem actually existed for quite a long time. Maybe a year? But I didn't consult any doctor. sad.gif
Hopefully mine is not serious so that I can do braces. I'll need to wait for my money to come in then I can make appointment with some orthodontist.

Wanna ask roughly how much they charge for consultation? I'm thinking Ong in Kepong, bcuz he seems to have a reputation of offering the cheapest braces in town. Or am I wrong?
Mollai
post Aug 11 2011, 03:30 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 11 2011, 09:40 AM)
Mengher

I rmb doc say during braces , extraction is more easier than before braces as our teeth ald loose a bit ma... So should be not so pain la... Don't worry !

Added on August 11, 2011, 12:57 pmMollai

U can refer to pages 124 post # 2475 ... but mine including mould la... Previously I go smile clinic for consultation is ar rm30 if I not mistaken la...
yawn.gif Dr Yenny from pudu right? Wow, damon quite expensive there. Hm.

So before you did braces, did you went other ortho to quote prices?
Mollai
post Aug 12 2011, 10:32 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 11 2011, 06:36 PM)
Ya ... Just ask around la .. How's clinic Damon 3 is rm7500 include clear retainer , but x-ray+ mould + photo = rm 340 / and I go smile clinic for consultation before .. But long long time ago la .., Damon 3 around rm6.5 not include retainer .. But is too far for me .. Hehe ..
Omg....so expensive? sad.gif
My budget it 5k + most 6k.
And I would prefer to do Damon, cuz as I heard that Damon doesn't need extraction. cry.gif

Anyone did theirs in kepong Ong's?
Mollai
post Aug 15 2011, 04:29 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 12 2011, 11:35 AM)
Mollai

For damon Some case might need extraction .. Like me.. Its depends on ur teeth condition lo ... Ya... But deposit I use credit card to pay then request to easy payment for 18 mth .. Each 6 to 8 weeks adjustment rm300 + crd cd easy payment rm 200++  ... so still can afford lo ...
Wowww...i'm not using credit card. so i'm thinking pay 2k cash then the rest see how much... So i need to consult any ortho maybe next month.

Added on August 15, 2011, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(Sherelyn @ Aug 12 2011, 11:35 AM)
Mollai

For damon Some case might need extraction .. Like me.. Its depends on ur teeth condition lo ... Ya... But deposit I use credit card to pay then request to easy payment for 18 mth .. Each 6 to 8 weeks adjustment rm300 + crd cd easy payment rm 200++  ... so still can afford lo ...
Wowww...i'm not using credit card. so i'm thinking pay 2k cash then the rest see how much... So i need to consult any ortho maybe next month.

This post has been edited by Mollai: Aug 15 2011, 04:29 PM
Mollai
post Aug 16 2011, 09:51 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(day2dayshopaholic @ Aug 15 2011, 08:59 PM)
Thanks for price structure
But this was back in 2007!!! Now the price fluctuated alottt
Mollai
post Aug 12 2013, 11:33 AM

481 posts

Im planning to put on braces. Any good ortho to recommend? Hopefully not too expensive too.

Area around gombak, kepong, kl, pj also can.
Mollai
post Aug 15 2013, 07:51 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(LookingforHome @ Aug 12 2013, 02:23 PM)
Expensive... any price range?
Traditional metal - 3.5k-6k (metal to ceramic)
Self-lig- about 6-10k (metal to clear)

Nowadays, treatments are pretty affordable with deposit of <2k, monthly installments at 100-300/month....

Kl
http://www.mao.org.my/list-kualalumpur.htm

Selangor
http://www.mao.org.my/list-selangor.htm
How I wish if it was as easy as you said. My case is pretty severe. First ortho I went to consult was Dr Hou in Kepong, she said my case have to go for surgery which cost about 40-50k shocking.gif (surgery is to adjust my jaw, because I have an underbite)

Then I consulted Dr Lim in Selayang (LKM Dental), he said he could do braces for me, fix my underbite, but my outstanding jaw will still be there unless I go for surgery to fix it. He quoted me as below

6500 - Brackets
180 - Xray
700 - Screws (I need to put two screws on the side on my lower jaw.. anyone had this too?)
1200 - Extraction of my lower jaw wisdom teeth
300 - Extraction of my upper jaw wisdom teeth
300 - filling and other stuffs before I do the braces

Total = 9180

And this is not including other miscellaneous stuffs.

So damn expensive cry.gif

Mollai
post Aug 15 2013, 10:40 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(LookingforHome @ Aug 15 2013, 08:40 AM)
Don't be too sad. You can try to read this forum: 

http://www.bracesreview.com/forums/traditi...races-only.html

http://saybraces.blogspot.com/2011/05/unde...races-only.html

Or to check out with other orthodontic specialists
thanks...

never thought my case will be so expensive..... sad.gif

Mollai
post Aug 28 2013, 12:44 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(Cikida D @ Aug 22 2013, 04:23 PM)
i have the same problem too!! i went to one clinic at Kepong, not sure whether u r referring to the same clinic or not. is it the one at Murni?

have u found out any cheaper clinic for the braces?

i went to gov clinic, they do extraction for any tooth (even wisdom tooth) for the same fee : RM5. (i went there for scaling RM3 only, tapi x best cz its open on weekdays on tuesday n thursday je for sg buloh's clinic)
The one i went kepong is nearby the HSBC bank. Same lot i think.

I think i will postpone my braces plan first.. wait I earn more sin. sad.gif

But government clinic, trustable anot one
Mollai
post Jun 23 2014, 11:58 AM

481 posts

I have an underbite.

Anyone had the same issue and went for surgery?
Mollai
post Jun 30 2014, 07:47 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(nicky87 @ Jun 24 2014, 11:27 PM)
Have an underbite but no surgery... You are planning to go for surgery?
so you only did braces and got a perfect bite now?

I'm most probably going for the surgery.
Mollai
post Jan 23 2015, 01:31 PM

481 posts

Hi all,

anyone experienced rust on your brackets? I'm using the conventional metal brackets, and I had some champagne and korean makgeoli (rice wine that is abit carbonated). Then this morning, I realized that there are black spots on my brackets, which i think it's the brackets getting rusted. sad.gif

0.0512sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:51 AM