> Ng Seng Foo: Hand-made Pau In Subang Jaya, Char Siew, Mui Choy, Nam Yu pork News

TSironmaid89
post Sep 2 2018, 10:22 AM, updated 8y ago

Ng Seng Foo started working at New Paradise Restaurant from the age of 14 and now he helps manage and make the steamed buns at this Subang Jaya outlet.

Good pau is hard to come by. Especially hand-made ones. This place in USJ6, which makes its steamed buns by hand, is a gem.

It’s an off-shoot of New Taste Paradise in Bercham, Ipoh which has been drawing customers with their rustic hand-made or sau kung pau for the last 30 years.

Originally a home-based business, it has expanded to become a proper restaurant that also serves noodles and economy rice.

Opened for six years in Subang Jaya, this place is run by the founder’s daughter, Yeow Cok Fong and their long-time apprentice, Ng Seng Foo.

This coffeeshop, located at the Goodyear Court 2 flats, is a good fit for them as their hand-made goods have created an appreciative customer-base from among the residents.

Machine-made pau is a dime a dozen. The difference in taste and texture is significant — the ones made by hand have an off-white colour, are not perfectly shaped but the skin has a delightful, not overly fluffy texture with a slight bite.

Moreover, when you bite into a hand-made pau, the skin does not stick to your teeth.

The char siu pau is good with tea or hot cup of coffee.

Here, they serve a total of 13 varieties of steamed buns. Popular savoury fillings are their char siew, mui choy and nam yu pork. Unusual flavours include chicken curry and kung po chicken, inspired by the spicy dish served in restaurants with dried chillies.

The sweet versions include the classic red bean, lotus paste and custard. They also serve a kaya pau where they cook the filling themselves.

Some of the items like red bean and lotus pastes are brought down from Ipoh since it is made in bulk over there.

Go for their char siew pau. What sets this bestseller apart from the others... a juicy, generous pork filling with a very distinct fragrance of wine. Ng tells us that Shao Xing rice wine and yellow glutinous rice wine lees are added.

The glutinous rice wine is a nod towards the family’s Hakka heritage. Even the filling is a nice balance of chopped meats and fats. Don’t be surprised, if you end up eating a few buns in one sitting. That’s what we did!

Their mui choy pau is popular with the olden folks

The mui choy pau is also highly sought after. Limited quantities are made daily. Originally, it wasn’t too well received when it was first introduced.

After a few tweaks, it was reintroduced and it has been a runaway success, especially with the older folks. Unlike other spots, the mui choy is moist with a hint of rice wine aroma, mixed with a little minced meat.

You also have their nam yu pork pau, another addictive bite. Inspired by the Hakka kaw yoke dish, you get thick chunks of pork belly accompanied with a brownish sauce flavoured with nam yue or fermented bean curd.

As each bun is handmade, each one has their own unique shape (left). The nam yu pork bun is unusual as it contains a thick piece of pork belly (right).

As everything is prepared on the spot, the steamed buns are incredibly fresh. From 6am onwards, you’ll see either Ng or Yeow deftly making the buns. Ng who is now 27 years old, started working for the Yeoh family back when he was 14. It was only after three years that he was allowed to make the steamed buns.

The dough is prepared in batches while the fillings are made a day ahead. Once the buns are shaped, it’s left for 30 to 45 minutes to allow it to proof further.

When ready, the buns will be steamed for 10 to 15 minutes. Usually they stop making the buns by 11am.

If you don’t want to miss out on the steamed buns, especially if you want large quantities to haul home, Ng recommends that orders are placed ahead. As limited quantities of fillings are made each day, it’s hard for them to cope with a huge influx of orders.

Once you have scored your pau, relish them at home. Since no preservatives are used, store them in the freezer and steam the buns when you want to eat them.

We warn you that it will be hard to resist reaching out for one more steamed bun... until they are all gone!

New Paradise Restaurant
@ Restoran Wai Kwan
P.00.001, Good Year Court 2
Jalan USJ6/1
Behind USJ7 Komuter Station
Subang Jaya
Tel: 016-4217826/016-5660777
Open: 7am to 2pm
Closed alternate Mondays of the month

https://www.malaymail.com/s/1668299/worth-t..._medium=twitter
herojack41
post Sep 2 2018, 10:27 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

Wonder if kangkung pao still exist or no.
Michael_Light
post Sep 2 2018, 10:28 AM

473 posts

Cha Siu Pao
KorkorBesar
post Sep 2 2018, 10:35 AM

When will local hawkers start preparing their own version of Shanghai soup pau?
buysellaccount
post Sep 2 2018, 10:40 AM

127 posts

the one in bercham is pretty good. the bun itself is good, filling is meh but the bun is very nice to bite and chew on.
kaiserreich
post Sep 2 2018, 10:41 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(KorkorBesar @ Sep 2 2018, 10:35 AM)
Then sell Rm2 each for such small size? kena scold expensive, profiteering, report to KPDNKK.

Shanghai soup pau require a lot of work yo.

Better don't make it.
SuperTuhan
post Sep 2 2018, 10:41 AM

278 posts

Yip Chee mei tai pao still legend

I tot there will be Anna Ohura pao... Which is way bigger.. But no one come up with it
ah_suknat
post Sep 2 2018, 10:42 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Absolutely....
SUScitacitata
post Sep 2 2018, 10:42 AM

482 posts

Yan yuk char siew bao
Spectreoutreach
post Sep 2 2018, 10:45 AM

856 posts

mui choy and nam yu pork. Unusual flavours include chicken curry and kung po chicken, . interesting , want to try .
nintendo86
post Sep 2 2018, 10:46 AM

24 posts

Good bussiness
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 2 2018, 11:01 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Michael_Light @ Sep 2 2018, 10:28 AM)
Cha Siu Pao

SUSprince12
post Sep 2 2018, 11:05 AM

46 posts

Looks delicious
ihm11
post Sep 2 2018, 11:05 AM

62 posts

is there any pau with salted duck egg yolk inside?
Mackiddo
post Sep 2 2018, 11:16 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

<parking for reference when i’m in kl year end>
tahfeikei
post Sep 2 2018, 11:28 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

JimbeamofNRT
ListenToTheWind

i never knew this existed!!!

This post has been edited by tahfeikei: Sep 2 2018, 11:38 AM
Blofeld
post Sep 2 2018, 11:36 AM

4,703 posts

vexus
post Sep 2 2018, 11:54 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

USJ 7 takda komuter station. Is MRT station. Apalah malaymail
ashburn98
post Sep 2 2018, 11:58 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Whole article no mention about prices.

Anyone visited this shop or the original in Bercham Ipoh that knows the prices?
netmatrix
post Sep 2 2018, 12:07 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Sep 2 2018, 10:41 AM)
Yip Chee mei tai pao still legend

I tot there will be Anna Ohura pao... Which is way bigger.. But no one come up with it
Yip chee mei already rubbish. The skin to thick and the inside so little. I haven't eaten this for like 15 years. Maybe when i pass by taman konek i will get it.
DarkNite
post Sep 2 2018, 12:21 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Sep 2 2018, 10:41 AM)
Then sell Rm2 each for such small size? kena scold expensive, profiteering, report to KPDNKK.

Shanghai soup pau require a lot of work yo.

Better don't make it.
THIS! thumbup.gif
SUSrevious
post Sep 2 2018, 04:27 PM

I want to learn how to make pau from him.. 😎
JimbeamofNRT
post Sep 2 2018, 07:10 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Sep 2 2018, 11:28 AM)
JimbeamofNRT
ListenToTheWind

i never knew this existed!!!
u not kaki makan lang ... u noe onli mcdee ... lol
buysellaccount
post Sep 2 2018, 07:20 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jeffwkh @ Sep 2 2018, 04:09 PM)
usj6 have commuter station?
there's a rapidkl lrt station right in front of it. RIGHT IN FRONT.
kcchong2000
post Sep 2 2018, 07:21 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Sep 2 2018, 07:20 PM)
Is LRT not komuter. The reporter also took dunno the difference.
buysellaccount
post Sep 2 2018, 07:24 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 2 2018, 07:21 PM)
me too. komuter meant ktm now i know.
jumpercable
post Sep 2 2018, 07:39 PM

Already got already what
jumpercable
post Sep 2 2018, 07:40 PM

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Sep 2 2018, 07:20 PM)
QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 2 2018, 07:21 PM)
If they are well educated I don’t think they will be reporters.
zororo
post Sep 2 2018, 07:42 PM

366 posts

Not that nice la... And have to sit down to eat....
kamfoo
post Sep 2 2018, 08:21 PM

846 posts

last time 50sen only....
SUSIPushProperty
post Sep 2 2018, 08:26 PM

67 posts

who selling none man make pau ??
fkinmeng
post Sep 2 2018, 08:31 PM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Sep 2 2018, 11:54 AM)
LRT, not MRT.
kcchong2000
post Sep 2 2018, 08:39 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(jumpercable @ Sep 2 2018, 07:40 PM)
If they are well educated I don’t think they will be reporters.
Not necessarily. The reporter is reporting which not on education basis and more in information basis. A simple LRT and komuter also dunno is prone to attitude on not research better. Typical malas attitude.
jumpercable
post Sep 2 2018, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Sep 2 2018, 08:39 PM)
Not necessarily. The reporter is reporting which not on education basis and more in information basis. A simple LRT and komuter also dunno is prone to attitude on not research better. Typical malas attitude.
You got a point there.
jumpercable
post Sep 2 2018, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(vexus @ Sep 2 2018, 11:54 AM)
Last time they got one reporter is the mad-woman feminist some more.
fu'house
post Sep 2 2018, 11:34 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Sep 2 2018, 11:58 AM)
Whole article no mention about prices.

Anyone visited this shop or the original in Bercham Ipoh that knows the prices?
Roughly RM 3 something years ago.

Anyway the Bercham restaurant is thumbs up 8/10. Recommended. Other recommended food from there is mixed rice, stuffed tofu, meatballs.

Add on. The last picture shows price list for some, no?

This post has been edited by fu'house: Sep 2 2018, 11:38 PM
tahfeikei
post Sep 3 2018, 08:10 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,247 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Sep 2 2018, 07:10 PM)
u not kaki makan lang ... u noe onli mcdee ... lol
eh....where got....i is DBKL.....sumua sapu one

drool.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Sep 5 2018, 11:21 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Sep 3 2018, 08:10 PM)
eh....where got....i is DBKL.....sumua sapu one
drool.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif